Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí: Provo Army Council oversees PIRA & SF

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

If any other party had links to a paramilitary organisation then questions would rightfully be asked.

But because it’s SF we are expected to ignore this, or else it’s framed as being a hatchet job on them.

This is the top man in the Gardaí saying this.

Not a normal party.

Top man in Gardai. "Our members needs a pay rise"

Top men in government "Okay well anything on SF as they are making us look bad"

Top man in Gardai "Sure here you go"

General public "Eh we ain't thick you know"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

No doubt SF would have no issues with the DUP privately meeting with UDA members for approval on policy decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,570 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

1641 wrote: »
    Well, I suppose you could put it like that. But only if you mean corrupt monoply state capitalism as practiced by the Maduro regime. The regime that SF seem to admire so much.

And a ****load of oil didn't do Maduro any good when his government's policies and mismanagement ran the state oil company into the ground. Oil being the countries biggest resource.
    Well, the poor remaining citizens are all equal now. Equally impoverished and deprived of services. Not all of them though. The governing socialist cabal have creamd off their living very well. SF should know - they like to dine with them.

Again you are highlighting mass corruption, not socialism.

Maybe stay off the alt right talking points for a bit and do a bit reading of the history of the country and see what actually went wrong.

Or if want to see a Capitalist country with a proper socialist agenda, have a look at Norway.

It's pretty amazing what they do there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I've always been very sympathetic to the nationalist community in Northern Ireland, maybe even borderline non violent republican. I can also spot bullsh1t agenda pushing a mile off (the Eoghan Harris type stuff) but people are really unwilling to face up to reality about what SF are linked to. Not every one of them is a terrorist obviously but that doesn't change what the overall organisation is linked to. Now. Not just in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

If any other party had links to a paramilitary organisation then questions would rightfully be asked.

But because it’s SF we are expected to ignore this, or else it’s framed as being a hatchet job on them.

This is the top man in the Gardaí saying this.

Not a normal party.

It was the passing out parade of new Garda and they asked Harris on his opinion from a report published in 2015. Give over :rolleyes:
    Expect more back lash lads. The public don't like being told they are ignorant/stupid etc. One lesson FG can't seem to learn.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,194 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Boggles wrote: »
    Seriously what absolute simpletons are pulling the strings at FF / FG HQ.

It's like they have learned nothing from a fortnight ago.

The more they attacked Sinn Fein the higher the polling numbers went.

It's not a complex algorithm to work out.

Get the media to print negative stories and go on boards.ie and start threads about them.

It's about as subtle as elephants scrotum.

This is the Garda Commissioner, telling it as it is. He is independent of government and political parties.

blanch152 wrote: »
    This is the Garda Commissioner, telling it as it is. He is independent of government and political parties.

Who appointed him?

osarusan wrote: »
    No doubt SF would have no issues with the DUP privately meeting with UDA members for approval on policy decisions.

If the UDA signed up to peace and were no longer involved in any paramilitary activities, would it matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

BanditLuke wrote: »

Jaysus you're serious.

Thought it was satire for a moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bowie wrote: »
    If the UDA signed up to peace and were no longer involved in any paramilitary activities, would it matter?
    ah here

• Registered Users Posts: 27,194 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It was the passing out parade of new Garda and they asked Harris on his opinion from a report published in 2015. Give over :rolleyes:
    Expect more back lash lads. The public don't like being told they are ignorant/stupid etc. One lesson FG can't seem to learn.

Just because people don’t like being told they are ignorant or stupid doesn’t mean it isn’t true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

Gatling wrote: »
    I wonder if like venezuela if SF think they will loose an election they will hand out AK47s to loyal Militias
    With a FF or FG Goverment we would be very like the rest of South Americas corrupt Goverments, :p

• Registered Users Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Yes it would matter.

You know that as well as I do.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Emmersonn wrote: »
    With a FF or FG Goverment we would be very like the rest of South Americas corrupt Goverments, :p

SF won't be anything different except they will blame all their failures as fake news

Just because people don’t like being told they are ignorant or stupid doesn’t mean it isn’t true.

That should be Fine Gaels Slogan for the next election.

Really captures their arrogance.

You should bring it up at the next party meeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I don't particularly like SF or their past but every time I see this sort of stuff trotted out against them it just makes me decide to give them a preference somewhere on my ballot sheet.

They renounced violence to enter normal politics decades ago. People voted for them out of substantive concerns about issues like health and housing. Debate them on these issues instead of this film flam. The public deserves better than being treated like children with this sort of bogeyman politics.

I don't think I'm the only one who finds this counterproductive either.
    I think having oversight of a political party by champagne marxists who look to Venezuela and the Soviet union as their nationhood template is worrysome

The protest vote voted for them over and above their core vote
    That's all that happened
    What would happen if there was another election soon might be that they pick up the seats of the people they transferred to rather than take any of the roughly half the country plus that is centrist
    Those that didnt vote for them on feb 8th were two things (1)not a protest vote rather a considered vote and (2) not marxists
    The considered vote and the non marxist vote has to date kept this country from the rails even when world wide recession had it on the rails

• Registered Users Posts: 18,225 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That should be Fine Gaels Slogan for the next election.

Really captures their arrogance.

You should bring it up at the next party meeting.

Maybe they could, but there would no one holding a gun to thier head to do so.

Are IRA supporters going to start ending their speeches in the dail with 'up the 'ra' like the way the yank politicians throw in 'God Bless America'?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

It's sour grapes. FF/FG are bratty kids didn't get their way and they are kicking off. It's sad. I hope it continues.
    Anyone who doesn't vote FF/FG is ignorant and stupid on a scale of The Greens to PBP is it? Not good to have the media shilling for FF/FG, not in a democracy.
    The arrogant dirt in FF/FG have no business in government if that's the attitude.
    They asked Harris his opinion on a document published in 2015. As I say, sad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Calling all the experts ‘stupid’ is fun.

Anyone who thinks that putting out more of this stuff will help instead of looking at the real reasons people voted SF is beyond stupid

Maybe they could, but there would no one holding a gun to thier head to do so.

Are SF supporters going to start ending their speeches in the dail with 'up the 'ra' like the way the yank politicians throw in 'God Bless America'?

Why would SF supporters be giving speeches in the Dail? That's a fúcking weird thing to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

If SF were in government and were found to be sharing information with the leadership of an illegal paramilitary organisation then I presume that would be treason?

BanditLuke wrote: »

Conspriracy theories are great. If anyone knows the inner workings of the IRA it is the Gardai.

Some of whose members colluded with the IRA according to a former IRA member.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/garda%C3%AD-and-dublin-elite-colluded-with-ira-says-ex-insider-1.2025505

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

From today’s Irish Times: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/harris-agrees-with-psni-that-army-council-still-oversees-both-sinn-féin-and-ira-1.4180689

So that’s the official stance of An Gardai, the PSNI, and the UK government.

I wonder how people feel about our government being potentially overseen by the Provisional IRA Army Council.

All the experts agree that, as Gerry Adams put it, “they haven’t gone away you know”.
    The UK government have not stopped Sinn Féin going into power in the North so why should there be an issue in the south? The electorate has voted, that needs to be respected instead of this forever judging Sinn Féin in the past, they are created to move forward from the troubles. The current government in Ireland are killing more people on a daily basis then the IRA are. So they shouldn't be in power either going by that thought process.

Why would SF supporters be giving speeches in the Dail? That's a fúcking weird thing to say.

I meant IRA supporters. Post now corrected.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Anyone who thinks that putting out more of this stuff will help instead of looking at the real reasons people voted SF is beyond stupid

There is a very strong possibility that SF will be in power in the not too distant future, this needs to be discussed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Bless

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭1641

Again you are highlighting mass corruption, not socialism.

Maybe stay off the alt right talking points for a bit and do a bit reading of the history of the country and see what actually went wrong.

Or if want to see a Capitalist country with a proper socialist agenda, have a look at Norway.

It's pretty amazing what they do there.

I am highlighting the socialist country that SF has constntly defended and has close links with. I am not aware of them referencing Norway as an example (which is in the European social democratic mainstream - quite different).

As for alt-right talking points - that is the usual diversionary rubbish. It is Sinn Fein that has courted links with Venezeula (and not with Norway)

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/views/ourview/sf-duo-at-farce-inauguration-caracas-tops-coalisland-for-sinn-fein-897352.html

And it was under the socialist administration there, that SF so admires, that the economy was run into the ground, services destroyed and the rule of law ruined. Here are some articles from The Guardian (that alt-right fortress):

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/dec/06/on-the-road-venezuela-20-years-after-hugo-chavez-rise
    https://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2020/feb/15/venezuela-schools-collapse-amid-economic-crisis

There is a very strong possibility that SF will be in power in the not too distant future, this needs to be discussed.

If these threads continue, it's a fúcking shoe in I reckon.

i wouldn't expect the guards to love the idea of sf in charge, but thats not to say they are wrong

but i find it interesting that you never hear a whisper of who might the people involved be?

is it really that tightly kept a secret?

If SF were in government and were found to be sharing information with the leadership of an illegal paramilitary organisation then I presume that would be treason?

Yes, but SF are the IRA right, so the IRA would be the government? :rolleyes: