Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uninsured driver hit my parked car. What to do?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

MOD: I've done a bit of a clean up on some posts. You know who you are. Please don't let it happen again.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Calibos

What did I miss? Don't answer that! LOL.

I asked ACE last night if I should wait for the eyeballed real amended estimate options after a Tow/Lift before deciding which one to present to the mother and explained my predicament with going through or not going through insurance again, but as they are men of few words the reply was just that they reckoned I should go with the revised €4700 estimate..but they can arrange pickup if I still want.

I presume that short reply is implying (ie. I'm reading between the lines) that perhaps I shouldn't organise pick up until I know whether or not the parents can/will pay the €4700 estimate and get the money because if it ends up going through insurance instead, then that process and getting insurance assesors out to examine the car etc could take a while and ACE would have to store the car for the duration while all this is going on?

So I'll ring her today with the €4700 estimate and tell ACE to hold off on the Tow/Lift till I hopefully get that amount off the Mother??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,443 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Here's hoping the cost is nearer the €4750 than the €7500 estimate and they do the right thing and pay for you to get your car repaired back to how it was before.

Taking without consent and driving uninsured each carry up to €5000 fines on summary conviction, driving unaccompanied €2000 and there's still the driving without a licence and failure to produce offenses for the youth to deal with.

Courts tend to look far more favourably on people who take responsibility for their actions and make reparations. Expensive a lesson as it is it would still be very much in the youth's and his parent's best interest to make sure the OP is fully compensated for the incident. A court is likely to take compensation paid into account when setting any monetary or other penalties.

Hoping it works out for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭9935452

Nah. I don't believe that at all.

p.s. The base premium may have gone up but assuming your ncb wasn't reduced you were free to shop around at renewal.

How would you explain this then.

I was rear ended 5 years ago.

I got online quotes from first ireland for having no accident/claim and one for having a not at fault claim/accident .

The one with the accident was more expensive.

All the other details were the exact same .

Insurance companies will do what they want

• Registered Users Posts: 18,295 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Here's hoping the cost is nearer the €4750 than the €7500 estimate and they do the right thing and pay for you to get your car repaired back to how it was before.

Taking without consent and driving uninsured each carry up to €5000 fines on summary conviction, driving unaccompanied €2000 and there's still the driving without a licence and failure to produce offenses for the youth to deal with.

Courts tend to look far more favourably on people who take responsibility for their actions and make reparations. Expensive a lesson as it is it would still be very much in the youth's and his parent's best interest to make sure the OP is fully compensated for the incident. A court is likely to take compensation paid into account when setting any monetary or other penalties.

Hoping it works out for you.

The driver is a minor, it is unlikely any court would impose such fines on a minor. While a court will take compensation into account again it cannot instruct in the case of a minor advise that it will be more lenient if compensation is paid.

Just like the sins of the parents should not be applied to a child neither should the sins of a child be put onto parents. The stupid little git made a terrible mistake, is it the parents fault maybe to a certain extent but for them to be expected to foot a 5K bill because of it is another issue.

Slava Ukrainii

Calibos wrote: »
    What did I miss? Don't answer that! LOL.

I asked ACE last night if I should wait for the eyeballed real amended estimate options after a Tow/Lift before deciding which one to present to the mother and explained my predicament with going through or not going through insurance again, but as they are men of few words the reply was just that they reckoned I should go with the revised €4700 estimate..but they can arrange pickup if I still want.

I presume that short reply is implying (ie. I'm reading between the lines) that perhaps I shouldn't organise pick up until I know whether or not the parents can/will pay the €4700 estimate and get the money because if it ends up going through insurance instead, then that process and getting insurance assesors out to examine the car etc could take a while and ACE would have to store the car for the duration while all this is going on?

So I'll ring her today with the €4700 estimate and tell ACE to hold off on the Tow/Lift till I hopefully get that amount off the Mother??

In reality I think you need a proper quote to send to parents. Looking at the car I am surprised that it is not capable of being driven to get a quote in a reputable body shop. I usually find big branded companies incapable of often dealing with specialist jobs like this. You may be better off going to a smaller independent crash repair shop.

These can often be more capable of repairing such a car and returning it to its original condition without using all new parts

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

In reality I think you need a proper quote to send to parents. Looking at the car I am surprised that it is not capable of being driven to get a quote in a reputable body shop. I usually find big branded companies incapable of often dealing with specialist jobs like this. You may be better off going to a smaller independent crash repair shop.

These can often be more capable of repairing such a car and returning it to its original condition without using all new parts

Rear wheel and suspension are fooked

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

€2,600 for a door and quarter alone - one third of the total. I guessed the door would cost much more than 580ish.

Ok. Texted the mother.

Thanked me for settling this out of insurance and she asked if Shane Obrien in Kilcoole could also have a look and provide a quotation. Shane is fixing her car. She said both myself and herself can both agree on who to go with and that a second opinion is no harm, what do I think.

I guess I can't really argue with that. She seems amenable and I googled Shane Obrien in Kilcoole ( https://www.greystonesguide.ie/obrien-collision-repair-centre/ ) and they sound like they are a professional outfit like Ace, so having him quote can do no harm I guess. If he bases his quote off the photo's or comes out to look at the car outside my house and uses Audotex too, the quote will likely be very similar. The mother looking for a second quote by her own guy is probably just looking for confirmation/peace of mind that I'm not trying to pull a fast one on her with the repair estimate I'm giving her, which is fair enough as I'd probably want the same if the situation were reversed.

Rear wheel and suspension are fooked

Rear wheel can be replaced and we are not talking about taking it for a spin around Mondello. Looking at the first picture of suspension I am surprised that this damage/crack was caused by a side graze impact.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Rear wheel can be replaced and we are not talking about taking it for a spin around Mondello. Looking at the first picture of suspension I am surprised that this damage/crack was caused by a side graze impact.

That's not a crack, that's a join where the sheet metal meets the cylindrical bush. The camera angle makes it look like a crack.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=502207&stc=1&d=1581174291

https://i.imgur.com/qOsa30g.png

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

The driver is a minor, it is unlikely any court would impose such fines on a minor. While a court will take compensation into account again it cannot instruct in the case of a minor advise that it will be more lenient if compensation is paid.

Just like the sins of the parents should not be applied to a child neither should the sins of a child be put onto parents. The stupid little git made a terrible mistake, is it the parents fault maybe to a certain extent but for them to be expected to foot a 5K bill because of it is another issue.

This lack of accountability and poor them mentality is what the country and criminal justice system in such a state. For me - I would not be taking the hit and replacing my car with salvage second hand parts and downgrading my car and the bill from 7500 to 5000. As for the parents, for all we know they are loaded. As for their parenting - says a lot that their child feels free enough to take their audi anf go for a jolly with his mate in it, leaves the scene of a crime and then drives like a lunatic around the town. Maybe this is the stiff lesson they all need - both in terms of parenting and cause and effect consequences. Not only has the OP’s car been ruined but his pride & joy possibly a write off, the time and worry of it all, now not having a car and the future worry about salvage/ re-insurability. The OP sounds extremely accommodating and sound - maybe bit of sympathy directed towards him and not the criminal and his family. Bleeding hearts - its lucky he didnt mash a few people on his illegal joyride
    - you can’t fix smashed bones as easily. And its not as thou the mother is just saying ok lets go with the quote.Maybe she should be reminded he can still insist on pressing charges for dangerous driving and leaving the scene - not to mention driving uninsured.

Hmm. Am I too trusting??

Mother texted back thanking me for my understanding about getting the second quote....and then jumps the gun to, 'We should hopefully get it towed to be fixed by tomorrow'. Texted her back, "To be clear, I agreed to a visual inspection and estimate by Shane before making up my mind on who I go for, not a Towing and repair tomorrow."

This lck of accountability and poor them mentality is what the country and criminal justice system in such a state. For me - I would not be taking the hit and replacing my car with salvage second hand parts and downgrading my car and the bill from 7500 to 5000. As for the parents, for all we know they are loaded. As for their parenting - says a lot that their child feels free enough to take their audi anf go for a jolly with his mate in it, leaves the scene of a crime and then drives like a lunatic around the town. Maybe this is the stiff lesson they all need - both in terms of parenting and cause and effect consequences. Not only has the OP’s car been ruined but his pride & joy possibly a write off, the time and worry of it all, now not having a car and the future worry about salvage/ re-insurability. The OP sounds extremely accommodating and sound - maybe bit of sympathy directed towards him and not the criminal and his family. Bleeding hearts - its lucky he didnt mash a few people on his illegal joyride
    - you can’t fix smashed bones as easily. And its not as thou the mother is just saying ok lets go with the quote.Maybe she should be reminded he can still insist on pressing charges for dangerous driving and leaving the scene - not to mention driving uninsured.

It has nothing to do with bleeding hearts ( apt on Valentine's day) but rather with the legal reality. The legal reality is that pre crash the car had an economic value of 6-7 k, post crash it may has a value of 2kish maybe more. The harsh reality is that an insurance acessor will consider it an economic write off after costs rise over 4k, max any insurance company will pay is 5kish plus car rental costs which will have to be vouched.

The parents may be loaded or may not this however has little impact legally and any payments while it might be considered for mitigation a judge has also to consider the minor's record. I am assuming that he was just a stupid git and has not been in trouble with the law before. As he is a minor large fines are inappropriate and no judge will impose same. It is unlikely any judge would impose a criminal record on a minor for being a stupid git

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Hmm. Am I too trusting??

Mother texted back thanking me for my understanding about getting the second quote....and then jumps the gun to, 'We should hopefully get it towed to be fixed by tomorrow'. Texted her back, "To be clear, I agreed to a visual inspection and estimate by Shane before making up my mind on who I go for, not a Towing and repair tomorrow."

I think you are too trusting and you're setting yourself up for a world of aggravation over the bill now. These people will soon be dictating to you what solution they want to pursue regardless of the hassle to you.

While it is true that the court can't order the youth's parents to pay compensation to the OP, it would be helpful for the youth (with financial assistance from his parents if necessary) to ensure the OP is compensated for the damage done.

The court won't give an equation directly linking the compensation paid to the fines or other penalties it will impose it will take it into account but I've seen plenty of district court cases adjourned with a strong hint that the court would be inclined to deal with matters in a certain way dependent on certain actions of the defendant in the interim.

While it is true that the court can't order the youth's parents to pay compensation to the OP, it would be helpful for the youth (with financial assistance from his parents if necessary) to ensure the OP is compensated for the damage done.

The court won't give an equation directly linking the compensation paid to the fines or other penalties it will impose it will take it into account but I've seen plenty of district court cases adjourned with a strong hint that the court would be inclined to deal with matters in a certain way dependent on certain actions of the defendant in the interim.

A court may take that line of a hint where the offender is an adult however it may not in the case of a minor.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

No way I'd be going with their repairer. What do you have to gain from that?

Get the car towed to ACE, tell the mother that the car is at ACE being estimated, give them the figure and that's it IMO, anything else is leaving you exposed.

No way I'd be going with their repairer. What do you have to gain from that?

Get the car towed to ACE, tell the mother that the car is at ACE being estimated, give them the figure and that's it IMO, anything else is leaving you exposed.

Thats the plan alright. ie. that letting her guy have a look and calculate an estimates was merely a courtesy to put her mind at ease that my guys werent taking the piss but that its my guys that are doing the repairs. With that €4700 estimate that may in fact reduce once the car is personally inspected at ACE, its getting close to a number where I might not be out of pocket much if anything going through insurance and write offs and salvage and repair And hence if she complains about me sticking with the €4700 ACE quote I can just say, well lets go through insurance then. I can also wave the €7500 estimate for new everything replaced in her face and say, I've already done her a favour by not presenting her with that estimate and that there is simply no room for negotiation on the €4700 estimate or where I will be getting the work done. I've probably given her a false sense of hope that she can get the repair bill down from €4700 but I merely agreed to her guy inspecting and assessing the car for her peace of mind that I/ACE weren't taking the piss like I said.

A court may take that line of a hint where the offender is an adult however it may not in the case of a minor.

The 17 year old may very well be 18 by the time it comes before the court. Being proactive about taking responsibility for their actions and ensuring the OP is fully compensated would help the youth either in mitigation in court or in considering if it could be dealt with under the juvenile diversion programme.

Think the Guards may have said he is an 18 year old in 6th year.

I tell you what. Arrange insurance cover by answering the any claim, regardless of fault in the last 5 years as no... and continue to the end. And then say, oh, by the way, I did have a no fault claim - see what happens.

Maybe, just maybe, the broker that told me it had an effect was being truthful. BTW, why do you think they ask you that 5 year question, eh?

There is no such thing as a “no fault claim”. If it’s the other persons fault then it’s them that claim not now. If your no claims bonus is fully intact then you are 100% truthful in answering no, I had no claims in the last 5 years.

It’s nonsense to claim otherwise.
    Yes they do.

I was 'involved' in an accident last year. When I say involved, my empty car was parked (legally) and someone ploughed into the side of it, similar to the OP.

Luckily the guy owned up and his insurance took care of everything as he didn't want to pay my €800 repair quote himself.

A copy of the final bill was sent to me by his insurers (it came in at €2000 rather than my €800 quote).

I had to let my insurance company know that my stationery car had been hit and so I was involved in an 'incident' but no claim involved on my policy and my premium DOUBLED the next renewal.

According to insurance company apparently if you are involved in an accident (even where its 100% no fault) you are deemed to be a bigger insurance risk and more likely to be involved in an accident in future, hence the premium hike.

They just put up your premium like every company tries to do. I assume you went elsewhere with your full mo claims bonus and got a cheaper quote.

They will ask the same question... 'Have you been in an accident in the last 5 years, regardless of blame.'

I’ve never been asked this. The question I have had (written online) is have you have any claims in the last 5 years, to which you would answer no.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

There is no such thing as a “no fault claim”. If it’s the other persons fault then it’s them that claim not you. If your no claims bonus is fully intact then you are 100% truthful in answering no, I had no claims in the last 5 years.

It’s nonsense to claim otherwise. People are tying themselves in knots trying to find ways to believe they have to report say yes to a question they absolutely do not have to.

If the question was “were you involved in any accident in the last 5 years” that would be totally different, but that not the question.

Exactly.

Only the policyholder ever claims on an insurance policy. If they cause an accident, THEY claim indemnity under their policy to meet your costs

If you think not reporting an incident to your insurers allows you declare to any insurer that you've had no accidents, you are wholly wrong and could land you in a heap of difficulty

I’ve never been asked this. The question I have had (written online) is have you have any claims in the last 5 years, to which you would answer no.

Maybe it's a new thing, and I don't think I'm the only one that has been asked it... 'regardless of blame'.

Think the Guards may have said he is an 18 year old in 6th year.

All the more reason for the culprit to ensure the OP is fully compensated before it goes to court then.

I actually initially put the quote/estimate between PHP script tags to keep it short and scrollable but the formatting and Hexcodes in place of euro symbols screwed up the legibility when I did that so I had to resort to posting in-line in the thread.

This can be confirmed by loading up a quote on Chill.ie. One of the questions is the 'have you had an accident, regardless of blame in the last five years.'

As i said, maybe a relatively new thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭ForestFire

This can be confirmed by loading up a quote on Chill.ie. One of the questions is the 'have you had an accident, regardless of blame in the last five years.'

As i said, maybe a relatively new thing.

If your car is hit while it is parked and you are not in it then the answer to this question....

have you had an accident, regardless of blame in the last five years.

Is no??

My parked car was hit once while I lay in bed for the night, I was in as much an accident as my neighbours that night... Which was none....