Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uninsured driver hit my parked car. What to do?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

My premium went up 25% after I reported a no fault claim. The broker told me it was because of the claim.

My premium went up EXACTLY 25.00%, not 24.99%, or 25.01% - 25.00%.

Now they may not stipulate as such (BTW, I've 100% NCB protection myself).

Take the following example, where your full NCB still gives you 60% discount.

Assume your premium last year was €1,000, and €400 after NCB discount. Now this year your premium is (because, actuary calculations and other weird and wonderful stuff) is €1,250 - after 60% NCB your premium this year is €500 (25% increase) - and you're happy because you still get your 60% NCB. :rolleyes:

I hope you moved elsewhere and took your maxxed out NCB with you.

I suspect your broker wasn't being entirely truthful.

Insurers don't increase premiums where no claim has been made against your policy, end of...Anyone who experienced an increase was for some other reason, such as starnard rate increase across the board

I tell you what. Arrange insurance cover by answering the any claim, regardless of fault in the last 5 years as no... and continue to the end. And then say, oh, by the way, I did have a no fault claim - see what happens.

Maybe, just maybe, the broker that told me it had an effect was being truthful. BTW, why do you think they ask you that 5 year question, eh?

I suspect your broker wasn't being entirely truthful.

For what reason? And why do you think they ask the question in the first place, because they like the sound of your voice and want to keep the conversation going?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,233 ✭✭✭✭endacl

galwaytt wrote: »
    Not quite so: you're entitled to be put back to the pre-crash condition with no loss - including depreciation. The whole point of insurance is to protect you from loss.

I've been through this personally and refused to let my insurer handle it as they just wanted to settle and write off our car. I stepped in and dealt with the other party's insurer directly. They eventually settled for €6k to repair - not replace - an 05 Saab, and I put it back on the road.

I then advised our insurer the case was closed and had been settled in full.
    As the owner if an 05 Saab, I may be in touch for details if I ever find myself in the same position!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭Calibos

Jesus! Dont count your chickens.....as they say.

Car still not picked up or personally inspected by ACE yet but they sent me the Audotex estimate with the text of the email reading, ‘side panel is alloy as per system and will need to be replaced’

The total of the estimate is €7450!!!

What the hell is going on!! When I called down yesterday and the reception guy rang the workshop, the head guy said he had seen my email and photos and his provisional estimate was €2500 with a chance of ‘some’ Change once he saw the car in person. In other words I wouldnt have been surprised If the estimate went up to €3000 for example.

Do Ace think they are doing me a favour replacing everything because someone else is paying. Normally that would indeed be proper and right but as the 13 pages of this thread testify, this is a bit of an unusual scenario

I’ve emailed back asking if theres some mistake?

I’ll be amazed if the kids parents can come up with €7500 So it looks like I might indeed have to go through insurance, and go through the economic write off malarkey that ends up costing me a few grand if I want this car back on the road.

FffuuuucccKkkkk

Calibos wrote: »

Which is more than the car's economic value sadly. I presume it's suspension work that's causing that price.

At work on mobile at the moment. I’ll post the estimate PDF later from the computer unless thats not the done thing and/or unfair to ACE.

I dont think ACE are trying to do me or the other party Or anything like that, but all new everything might shift this into insurance Economic write offs, salvage buy backs and costing me money to make up the shortfall territory....and adds a load of hassle and time delay arguing with insurance until the money comes through and the work can be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Insurers don't increase premiums where no claim has been made against your policy, end of...Anyone who experienced an increase was for some other reason, such as starnard rate increase across the board

Yes they do.

I was 'involved' in an accident last year. When I say involved, my empty car was parked (legally) and someone ploughed into the side of it, similar to the OP.

Luckily the guy owned up and his insurance took care of everything as he didn't want to pay my €800 repair quote himself.

A copy of the final bill was sent to me by his insurers (it came in at €2000 rather than my €800 quote).

I had to let my insurance company know that my stationery car had been hit and so I was involved in an 'incident' but no claim involved on my policy and my premium DOUBLED the next renewal.

According to insurance company apparently if you are involved in an accident (even where its 100% no fault) you are deemed to be a bigger insurance risk and more likely to be involved in an accident in future, hence the premium hike.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

According to insurance company apparently if you are involved in an accident (even where its 100% no fault) you are deemed to be a bigger insurance risk and more likely to be involved in an accident in future, hence the premium hike.

That's 100% true. It is all about probabilities for the insurance cover provider.

Seems to be a lot of suspension parts listed on the estimate which might not be needed when they actually do the in person inspection, but the Alloy body thing in the email probably means its a few grand higher than the initial 2500. Means I cant ring the mother yet with an estimate to see if they can pay because even I dont know how much this is going to cost to the closest 500 yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭seagull

Would it be worth seeing if you can source body panels from a scrapyard to try and keep the price down? That's assuming you wind up having to go down the insurance route and pay the difference yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Jesus! Dont count your chickens.....as they say.

Car still not picked up or personally inspected by ACE yet but they sent me the Audotex estimate with the text of the email reading, ‘side panel is alloy as per system and will need to be replaced’

That generated estimate is very detailed and covers every detail including time and consumables etc. with genuine Audi parts.

You probably could do it for 2.5k, but they need a comprehensive estimate that is at the maximum to work with when deciding.

Nothing to do with ACE, they just tell the software where the damage is.

All I can say, is thank fcuk I didnt ring the kids mother and tell her the provisional estimate was 2500. Imagine having to call her back and say, ‘opps, its actually 7500’. I’d be getting a call from an Angry Nigerian gentleman accusing me of trying to scam his wife! LOL.

All I can say, is thank fcuk I didnt ring the kids mother and tell her the provisional estimate was 2500. Imagine having to call her back and say, ‘opps, its actually 7500’. I’ be getting a call from an Angry Nigerian gentleman accusing me of trying to scam his wife! LOL.

:pac::D

That's just a starting point, an assessor would look closer at the car and knock it down a bit.

Pretty sure it's a write-off though :o - get a cash repair quote and see if it's worth buying back.

That generated estimate is very detailed and covers every detail including time and consumables etc. with genuine Audi parts.

You probably could do it for 2.5k, but they need a comprehensive estimate that is at the maximum to work with when deciding.

Nothing to do with ACE, they just tell the software where the damage is.

So You are saying I dont need to panic yet and just need to wait till its personally inspected by ACE...and have a good chat about the implications of new, salvage parts wrt to the affordability for the kids parents or insurance write-offs for me.

Like I said, I wasnt suggesting ACE was doing anything wrong, just that I was shocked and confused by the 2500-7500 difference in verbal/printed estimates.

It might still all work out and I get the car back with all new parts because even at 7500 the parents are thrilled to not have this go through insurance......but the higher the eventual real cost the less likely it is they can/will pay without going through insurance which is where this accident starts costing me money to get the car back on the road despite an insurance payout and me not being at fault in any way. Like I’ve said a few times now, its absolutely worth it for me to make up a 2 grand settlement/write off salvage/ repair cost shortfall for example in order to hold onto my barely run in 40000km (26,000mile) 2007 TT......but it’ll sting like a motherfcuker!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

grogi wrote: »
    That's 100% true. It is all about probabilities for the insurance cover provider.

Its 100% bollocks.

I'm at this business long enough not to take one side of the story as Gospel

So You are saying I dont need to panic yet and just need to wait till its personally inspected by ACE...and have a good chat about the implications of new, salvage parts wrt to the affordability for the kids parents or insurance write-offs for me.

I wouldn't be at all surprised if the door and rear quarter parts alone make up close to half of that quote.

You have the prices there, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Needles73

It won’t be suspension work causing that price. Is it not mostly mk4 golf suspension?

Needles73 wrote: »
    It won’t be suspension work causing that price. Is it not mostly mk4 golf suspension?

Seems to be a fair bit (wishbones and that) shared with Golf V, A3, Beetle, Jetta...

I wouldn't be at all surprised if the door and rear quarter parts alone make up close to half of that quote.

You have the prices there, no?

Nearly finished work and home soon. Do you reckon its OK to post the PDF estimate here?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,666 ✭✭✭mondeo

That car is a write off if ever I have seen one, as I said before..... Over 7k to repair it ? I knew it was gonna be scary trying to fix that thing up. Wanna be mental paying that, I don't see that kids mother giving you that vast sum when it's market value is a lot less. It's scrap my friend, hate to break your heart but it is what it is.

Nearly finished work and home soon. Do you reckon its OK to post the PDF estimate here?

It's going to have your details on it, so no, I wouldn't...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

one thing to bear in mind if insurance companies get involved
    with that amount of damage they probably classify on their system as a cat c write off
    even if you keep the car and repair yourself you might have issues insuring the car again, a lot of insurance companies will not insure written off cars that are put back on the road

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Post the Audatex here if you wish. The first page will have your details on it, probably be best if you edit that out.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

robtri wrote: »
    one thing to bear in mind if insurance companies get involved
    with that amount of damage they probably classify on their system as a cat c write off
    even if you keep the car and repair yourself you might have issues insuring the car again, a lot of insurance companies will not insure written off cars that are put back on the road

Usually no issue with putting economic write-off back on the road as long as it's a certified repair. I was always of the opinion that it was an economic write off. I was also of the opinion that while the underages drivers parents might want to compensate it would not be feasible and the prosecution will go ahead anyway.

OP if you want to repair it I think there is a dismantler in NI that specialises in high end cars, if not you may be able to source body parts out if the UK. However lots of repair shops do not want to use body parts from dismantlers as panels have to be cleaned down and take more work than new panels.

Looking at the damage the rear panel may be repairable along with the skirt the bottom . However that is all depending on if the chassis and door pillar are ok. However I would check a few high end dismantlers in NI and the UK you might even be lucky enough to get the panels off the same colour car

Slava Ukrainii

Got another estimate from ACE there.

He said the first PDF one assumed everything needed to be replaced with new genuine audi parts just so everything was covered. ie. Like one of ye said where the Audotex Software just assumes everything potentially damaged in the accident needs replacing including, all the relevant suspension components, the rear quarter panel which in the TT wraps all the way forwards down the Windshield pillars, and a replacement 18" Turbine Alloy.

The second estimate he said includes a repaired rather than replaced rear quarter panel and Alloy and is for €4750. Still in Cat D write-off territory as far as insurance is concerned but more likely to be a figure the kids parents could come up with.

However, all 3 estimates, the verbal €2500 one, the shocking €7500 one and the €4750 one are all still sight unseen estimates. The first based on photo's, and the second two based on Software.

I guess I still have to wait till they arrange the Tow/Lift and get it down to ACE and get to see exactly what does and doesn't need replacing/repairing, which would amend all three of those estimates to one degree or another.

This is the €4750 Estimate with repaired Quarter panel and alloy (still includes all suspension parts replaced)

Cost Summary
    Total Labour €1,617.00
    Total Paint/Material €438.81
    Total Parts €2,018.51
    Additional Costs €110.00
    Grand Total Exc VAT: €4,184.32
    13.5 % VAT: €564.88
    23 % VAT: €0.00
    Grand Total Inc VAT: €4,749.20
    Excess: TBA
    Repair Information
    LABOUR Time Basis 10 WU = 1 HR. Price = €55.00/HR
    Repair / Guide
    Number Description Work Units
    44 05 19 00 R + R REAR WHEEL (WHEELS) 2.0
    57 51 19 00 R + R RIGHT DOOR 3.0
    57 29 55 50 RENEW RIGHT DOOR 22.0
    INCLUDES: R + R ATTACHED PARTS
    63 69 19 00 R + R REAR BUMPER COVER 9.0
    INCLUDES: R + R TAILLAMPS
    66 76 19 50 R + R R/R WHEELHOUSE SHELL 2.0
    (WHEEL REMOVED)
    66 31 19 00 R + R RIGHT OUTER SILL TRIM 3.0
    66 29 19 00) R + R R/SILL TRIM 6.0
    (OUTER SILL TRIM REMOVED)
    NO NUMBER RENEW INSERT PANEL R/SIDE PANEL 9.0
    42 72 19 00) R + R R/R COIL SPRING 3.0
    (WHEEL REMOVED)
    42 11 19 03) R + R R/R LOWER CONTROL ARM 4.0
    42 11 55 51 RENEW R/R LOWER CONTROL ARM (REMOVED) 1.0
    42 35 19 00) DETACH + REFIT R/REAR UPPER CONTROL ARM 1.0
    42 35 19 00) R + R R/R UPPER CONTROL ARM 1.0
    (WHEEL AND COIL SPRING REMOVED)
    (CONTROL ARM DETACHED)
    42 52 19 01) R + R R/R AXLE RADIUS ARM 11.0
    (WHEEL REMOVED)
    INCLUDES: R + R COIL SPRINGS,
    DETACH + REFIT SHOCK ABSORBER AND BRAKE
    CALIPER
    Assessment Number: BS004147 Full Report
    Version: aceab001/1 Printed: 13/02/2020
    Audatex System Using Manufacturer Times PAGE 4 OF 6
    DOES NOT INCLUDE: ALIGN FRONT AND REAR
    42 52 55 50 RENEW RIGHT REAR AXLE ARM (REMOVED) 4.0
    42 67 19 00) R + R R/R WHEEL HUB AND BEARING 5.0
    (WHEEL REMOVED)
    INCLUDES: R + R BRAKE DISC
    51 01 75 01) RUST PROOFING BODY SHELL PART 2.0
    51 01 75 50 INJECT PROTECTIVE WAX RH FRONT DOOR 1.0
    CAVITAY (ASSEMBLY OPERATION)
    44 12 55 50) RENEW R/R WHEEL (WHEEL REMOVED) 2.0
    44 05 93 50 BALANCE R/R WHEEL (WHEEL REMOVED) 1.0
    2208 REPAIR R/LOWER SILL TRIM 9.0*
    2581 REPAIR REAR BUMPER 3.0*
    3482 REPAIR R/R SIDE PANEL 65.0*
    1000 REPAIR INITIAL PULL 10.0*
    1000 CHECK FINAL CHECK 3.0*
    1000 CHECK WHEEL ALGN ADJUST 15.0*
    Total Work Units 197.0
    Total Panel / Mechanical Labour 19.70 HRS €1,083.50
    PAINT WORK Time Basis 10 WU = 1 HR. Price = €55.00/HR
    Repair /Guide
    Number
    Description
    Work Units
    1482 RIGHT DOOR NEW PART PAINTING 16.0
    2208 R/LOWER SILL TRIM REPAIR PAINT PLASTIC 12.0
    2581 REAR BUMPER REPAIR PAINT PLASTIC 14.0
    3482 R/R SIDE PANEL REPAIR PAINTING <50% 14.0
    742 R/F WING SURFACE-/BLEND PAINT 5.0
    1000 MACHINE POLISH SURFACE-/BLEND PAINT 5.0*
    PREPARATION FOR PRE-PAINTING 31.0
    Total Work Units 97.0
    Total Paintwork Labour 9.7 HRS. €533.50
    MATERIAL COST - PAINT COST
    Total Paint Cost €377.71
    Sundry Paint Material €43.10
    Pre-Painting Sundry Materials €18.00
    Total Excluding Pearlescent Uplift €438.81
    Pearlescent Uplift @ 0.0% €0.00
    Total Paint And Material Cost €438.81
    PARTS
    Price Valid: 01/01/2020
    Version: aceab001/1 Printed: 13/02/2020
    Audatex System Using Manufacturer Times PAGE 5 OF 6
    Guide No. Description Part Number Bet. Held Date Price
    1482 RIGHT DOOR 8J0 831 052 A 0% €582.29
    1526 R/DOOR MOUNTING KIT 8J0 098 619 0% €56.41
    3490 R/SIDE PANEL INSERT 8J0 809 384 C 0% €90.63
    4202 R/R WHEELHOUSE CVR 8J0 810 172 E 0% €46.44
    4236 R/W-HOUSE SHIELD MTG 8J0 098 629 0% €28.15
    9182 R/WHEEL HUB/BRG 3G0 598 611 A 0% €103.81
    9306 R/R WHEEL BRG HSG 3C0 505 434 K 0% €368.56
    9376 R/R TIE ROD 1K0 501 529 H 0% €69.89
    9384 R/R AXLE STEERING 1K0 505 224 K 0% €78.96
    9388 R/R UPP CONTROL ARM 5Q0 505 323 C 0% €118.79
    9552 R/R WHEEL 8J0 601 025 CR 0% €435.00
    Sub Total €1,978.93
    Deduction from RRP (0.0 %) €0.00
    Sundry Parts (2 %) €39.58
    Total Parts €2,018.51
    NB - COLOUR CODED ITEMS/TRIM - PART NUMBERS MAY DIFFER
    Extras
    Description Betterment Price
    EPA 0% €10.00
    BONDING KIT SIDE €20.00
    RECOVERY Specialist 0% €80.00
    Total Extras €110.00
    Calculation 13/02/2020
    Labour
    Total Panel/Mechanical €1,083.50
    Total Paintwork €533.50
    Total Labour €1,617.00
    Total Paint/Material
    Costs
    €438.81
    Total Parts €2,018.51
    Additional Costs
    Cost of Specialist €110.00
    Total Additional Costs €110.00
    Grand Total Excl VAT €4,184.32
    VAT @ 13.5 % €564.88
    VAT @ 23 % €0.00
    Total VAT €564.88
    Grand Total Incl VAT €4,749.20

This is the €7500 Estimate with new everything

Cost Summary

Total Labour €1,941.50
    Total Paint/Material €488.91
    Total Parts €3,977.79
    Additional Costs €110.00
    Grand Total Exc VAT: €6,518.20
    13.5 % VAT: €879.96
    23 % VAT: €0.00
    Grand Total Inc VAT: €7,398.16
    Excess: TBA

Repair Information
    LABOUR Time Basis 10 WU = 1 HR. Price = €55.00/HR
    Repair / Guide
    Number Description Work Units
    57 51 19 00 R + R RIGHT DOOR 3.0
    57 29 55 50 RENEW RIGHT DOOR 22.0

INCLUDES: R + R ATTACHED PARTS

53 55 53 00 REMOVE PARTS R/SIDE PANEL 22.0

INCLUDES: REMOVE BUMPER, TAILLAMP,
    QTR WINDOW, SIDE TRIM, LOCK CARRIER
    COVER, BOOT TRIMS, SILL TRIM, FRONT AND
    REAR SEAT BELT, C-PILLAR TRIM, FRONT
    SEAT, BOOTLID SEAL, SEAT CUSHION, SEAT
    BACKREST, WHEELHOUSE SHELLS, DOOR SEAL,
    SWITCH ELEMENT AND FUEL FILLER LID

53 55 55 00 RENEW RIGHT SIDE PANEL 87.0
    53 55 59 00 R/SIDE SECTION 33.0

(FITTING OF PARTS)
    INCLUDES: FIT REMOVED PARTS, RENEW IF
    NECESSARY,
    CHECK LIGHTING SYSTEM
    DOES NOT INCLUDE: APPLY UNDERSEALANT ON
    REAR WHEELHOUSE

42 72 19 00) R + R R/R COIL SPRING 3.0

(WHEEL REMOVED)

42 11 19 03) R + R R/R LOWER CONTROL ARM 4.0
    42 11 55 51 RENEW R/R LOWER CONTROL ARM (REMOVED) 1.0
    42 35 19 00) DETACH + REFIT R/REAR UPPER CONTROL ARM 1.0
    42 35 19 00) R + R R/R UPPER CONTROL ARM 1.0

Version: ACEBRA01/1 Printed: 13/02/2020

Audatex System Using Manufacturer Times PAGE 4 OF 6

(WHEEL AND COIL SPRING REMOVED)
    (CONTROL ARM DETACHED)

42 52 19 01) R + R R/R AXLE RADIUS ARM 11.0

(WHEEL REMOVED)
    INCLUDES: R + R COIL SPRINGS,
    DETACH + REFIT SHOCK ABSORBER AND BRAKE
    CALIPER
    DOES NOT INCLUDE: ALIGN FRONT AND REAR

42 52 55 50 RENEW RIGHT REAR AXLE ARM (REMOVED) 4.0
    42 67 19 00) R + R R/R WHEEL HUB AND BEARING 5.0

(WHEEL REMOVED)
    INCLUDES: R + R BRAKE DISC

51 01 75 01) RUST PROOFING BODY SHELL PART 2.0
    51 01 75 50 INJECT PROTECTIVE WAX RH FRONT DOOR 1.0

CAVITAY (ASSEMBLY OPERATION)

44 12 55 50) RENEW R/R WHEEL (WHEEL REMOVED) 2.0
    44 05 93 50 BALANCE R/R WHEEL (WHEEL REMOVED) 1.0
    2208 REPAIR R/LOWER SILL TRIM 9.0*
    2581 REPAIR REAR BUMPER 3.0*
    1000 REPAIR INITIAL PULL 10.0*
    1000 CHECK FINAL CHECK 3.0*
    1000 CHECK WHEEL ALGN ADJUST 15.0*
    Total Work Units 243.0
    Total Panel / Mechanical Labour 24.30 HRS €1,336.50
    PAINT WORK Time Basis 10 WU = 1 HR. Price = €55.00/HR
    Repair /Guide
    Number

Description

Work Units
    1482 RIGHT DOOR NEW PART PAINTING 16.0
    3482 R/R SIDE PANEL NEW PART PAINTING 27.0
    2208 R/LOWER SILL TRIM REPAIR PAINT PLASTIC 12.0
    2581 REAR BUMPER REPAIR PAINT PLASTIC 14.0
    742 R/F WING SURFACE-/BLEND PAINT 5.0
    1000 MACHINE POLISH SURFACE-/BLEND PAINT 5.0*
    PREPARATION FOR PRE-PAINTING 31.0
    Total Work Units 110.0
    Total Paintwork Labour 11.0 HRS. €605.00
    MATERIAL COST - PAINT COST
    Total Paint Cost €427.81
    Sundry Paint Material €43.10
    Pre-Painting Sundry Materials €18.00
    Total Excluding Pearlescent Uplift €488.91
    Pearlescent Uplift @ 0.0% €0.00

Audatex System Using Manufacturer Times PAGE 5 OF 6
    Total Paint And Material Cost €488.91

PARTS

Price Valid: 01/01/2020
    Guide No. Description Part Number Bet. Held Date Price
    1482 RIGHT DOOR 8J0 831 052 A 0% €582.29
    1526 R/DOOR MOUNTING KIT 8J0 098 619 0% €56.41
    3482 R/R SIDE PANEL 8J8 809 844 0% €1,980.14
    3862 R/S WINDOW BOND KIT D 169 300 M1 0% €8.44
    3863 SIDE WINDOW PRIMER D 009 200 02 0% €5.69
    3865 CUTTING FILAMENT 357 853 999 B 0% €10.41
    3866 CLEANING SOLUTION D 009 401 04 0% €4.74
    3868 APPLICATOR D 009 500 25 0% €2.07
    4202 R/R WHEELHOUSE CVR 8J0 810 172 E 0% €46.44
    4236 R/W-HOUSE SHIELD MTG 8J0 098 629 0% €28.15
    9182 R/WHEEL HUB/BRG 3G0 598 611 A 0% €103.81
    9306 R/R WHEEL BRG HSG 3C0 505 434 K 0% €368.56
    9376 R/R TIE ROD 1K0 501 529 H 0% €69.89
    9384 R/R AXLE STEERING 1K0 505 224 K 0% €78.96
    9388 R/R UPP CONTROL ARM 5Q0 505 323 C 0% €118.79
    9552 R/R WHEEL 8J0 601 025 CR 0% €435.00
    Sub Total €3,899.79
    Deduction from RRP (0.0 %) €0.00
    Sundry Parts (2 %) €78.00
    Total Parts €3,977.79

NB - COLOUR CODED ITEMS/TRIM - PART NUMBERS MAY DIFFER

Extras

Description Betterment Price
    EPA 0% €10.00
    BONDING KIT SIDE €20.00
    RECOVERY Specialist 0% €80.00
    Total Extras €110.00

Calculation 13/02/2020
    Labour

Total Panel/Mechanical €1,336.50
    Total Paintwork €605.00

Total Labour €1,941.50
    Total Paint/Material
    Costs

€488.91

Audatex System Using Manufacturer Times PAGE 6 OF 6
    Total Parts €3,977.79
    Additional Costs

Cost of Specialist €110.00

Total Additional Costs €110.00
    Grand Total Excl VAT €6,518.20

VAT @ 13.5 % €879.96
    VAT @ 23 % €0.00

Total VAT €879.96
    Grand Total Incl VAT €7,398.16

This is the €7500 Estimate with new everything ...

IF you go through insurance an Assessor will be required to go through everything in detail. The above is pretty meaningless based off of photos.

Do you know for sure the 'driver' is insured though. Will their insurance company pay out on an uninsured thief (albeit the son of the insured). I would have thought not.

Edit. Actually, it'll probably be treated as stolen and may be covered.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,053 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

For the love of christ please dont everyone start quoting the estimates in their replies!