Personal hygiene in the Gym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Whenever you have an issue with naked or nearly-naked people in places like that, you need to march up to them and do this:

DearQuarterlyDingo-size_restricted.gif

...and they'll soon get the message. It's the only way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

Some people would rather shower at home after the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,088 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

machaseh wrote: »
    Some people would rather shower at home after the gym.

Showers in my gym are bad. They look grand but smell of p1ss. It would probably just take a deep clean with bleach every month to keep on top of it even if some people continue to p1ss in the shower. I only use it when I’m going to use the sauna and I only use it because that’s the convention for using the sauna. Luckily I live a few minutes cycle so I just cycle home for a proper shower.

I wipe down the machines and benches after myself but I don’t get upset when other people don’t do it. You can’t control other people’s ideas about cleanliness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

I've come across some spicey lads in the gym. One of them is my friend so I had to call him out on it. You can't get away with wearing gym clothing twice, I told him. He says he tries getting two uses out of whatever attire he has. It's that really pugent, spicey smell. It's layered and matured sweat. It's discusting.

I wont go to gym unless I'm clean. I've usually showered before - not that I deliberately shower before the gym, what I mean is, that if I feel I need to shower, I don't wait and go "well, I'm going to the gym later, I'll just wait until I'm done then." No, I shower first and then shower after. Anything I wear in the gym goes in the wash. It's a pain in hole washing gym gear constantly but I'm always fresh.

I go to a budget gym. I wonder can anyone tell me if it's any different in the fancier gyms? Do you still get that spice off people those gyms?

Fancier gyms they have staff cleaning constantly so less of an issue. Nothing than can do about someone's personal hygiene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I'm not a gym goer, do they have co-ed changing rooms and showers? That seems odd.

Or is OP sneaking in there timing showers and checking towels and trying to catch a snatch of the accent?

Coz I'll be honest, that's odd too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

Reminds me of when I went to play quazar. The florescent lighting made all the droplets of urine and sperm on people's trousers and sleeves illuminate. I only had the one stain, cream from a donut if I remember correctly, I was not masturbating at that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Reminds me of when I went to play quazar. The florescent lighting made all the droplets of urine and sperm on people's trousers and sleeves illuminate. I only had the one stain, cream from a donut if I remember correctly, I was not masturbating at that time.

Ok.. I'm glad you weren't masturbating playing quazar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

razorblunt wrote: »
    They're different material.
    It's no slight on the GAA or folk wearing the jerseys, its just the jerseys themselves.
    Interestingly the training tops are fine.

They tend to be polyester, GAA shirts. Soccer shirts have gotten better in recent years but I still would not train or run in them - far too heavy.

Player issue shirts are a different thing.

Haven't tried the training tops.

A lot of posts really show how soft we've become.

Going to the gym is not exactly WW1 trench warfare. Rats, decomposing bodies, mud, shelling, machine gunfire etc.

Even farming, for example, calving cows, looking after calves with scours, dealing with dead animals, aborted calves, paring hoves, lancing boils on animals, musty hay, silage juice and smells, diesel, grease, oils, taking icy tyres off silage pits containing water rats pis*ed in, shearing sheep, cleaning out slimey drains and water courses, pulling ragwort, cleaning out manure, removing the rotten black silage from pits etc would kill some here. You could be working miles from a house and a few hours from disinfectant and cleaning.

Why do I feel this generation is in for a rude awakening.

Naggdefy wrote: »

Going to the gym is not exactly WW1 trench warfare. Rats, decomposing bodies, mud, shelling, machine gunfire etc.

Even farming, for example, calving cows, looking after calves with scours, dealing with dead animals, aborted calves, paring hoves, lancing boils on animals, musty hay, silage juice and smells, diesel, grease, oils, taking icy tyres off silage pits containing water rats pis*ed in, shearing sheep, cleaning out slimey drains and water courses, pulling ragwort, cleaning out manure, removing the rotten black silage from pits etc would kill some here. You could be working miles from a house and a few hours from disinfectant and cleaning.

Saw 1917 in the cinema over the weekend, I take it. Or are you drawing on your own experience of WW1?

You’re assuming it’s people of one generation who have been whinging. It’s not necessarily true. Genuinely can’t stand “this generation” being used when it refers to anyone of any age who the poster disagrees with.

Ww1 existing is not an excuse to be an inconsiderate arse

Well hard you are.

Well hard. Ran a farm in Belgium during WW1.

Saw 1917 in the cinema over the weekend, I take it. Or are you drawing on your own experience of WW1?

You’re assuming it’s people of one generation who have been whinging. It’s not necessarily true. Genuinely can’t stand “this generation” being used when it refers to anyone of any age who the poster disagrees with.

My own personal experience. I'm 124.

A majority of U30s. A different breed for the most part. Soft.

Well hard you are.

Well soft I ain't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

It's not about being soft. It's just a pain in the hole when you take care of yourself and other's don't. Basically you have to live in the filth of others cause they're lazy.

It's like littering. I'll walk down the road and see people just throwing their wrappers on the ground. It's not frustrating because I'm soft - it's because they're forcing their lifestyle on others. Why should I have to live in filth because of other people?

My local gym is pretty good about cleaning, indeed it can be unnerving with staff following you about after using equipment :D

Well hard. Ran a farm in Belgium during WW1.

Even the way you tag on to another posters post. Typical of this generation. Totally unable to stand on your own two feet.

You can joke all you like about farming but you wouldn't cut it.

Also the notion that I discovered WW1 through the film 1917!! I've read more and seen more on the same from the 50 anniversary 1964 series to the Judi Dench narrated World War 1 1997 excellent production. Have you seen 1917 over the weekend :D Some of you think the World began 10 years ago.

My own personal experience. I'm 124.

A majority of U30s. A different breed for the most part. Soft.

And you think the people posting about hygiene are U30? Lol. I think you’re wrong on that.

But don’t worry, that’s just something old boys think. When you were young, old boys thought you were soft, when they were young, the old boys thought they were soft. Now you think the young are soft. I wouldn’t worry.

It's not about being soft. It's just a pain in the hole when you take care of yourself and other's don't. Basically you have to live in the filth of others cause they're lazy.

It's like littering. I'll walk down the road and see people just throwing their wrappers on the ground. It's not frustrating because I'm soft - it's because they're forcing their lifestyle on others. Why should I have to live in filth because of other people?

I'm not referring to the laziness of people but some of the bizarre OCD posts, one in particular from I Love Your Vibes.

Even the way you tag on to another posters post. Typical of this generation. Totally unable to stand on your own two feet.

You can joke all you like about farming but you wouldn't cut it.

Also the notion that I discovered WW1 through the film 1917!! I've read more and seen more on the same from the 50 anniversary 1964 series to the Judi Dench narrated World War 1 1997 excellent production. Have you seen 1917 over the weekend :D Some of you think the World began 10 years ago.

Lol. Ok grandad.

And you think the people posting about hygiene are U30? Lol. I think you’re wrong on that.

But don’t worry, that’s just something old boys think. When you were young, old boys thought you were soft, when they were young, the old boys thought they were soft. Now you think the young are soft. I wouldn’t worry.

Most U30 and then a group over it with the cushy office job who live in office land where everything is nicey, nicey.. The worst thing that happens them is someone in the office is a bit passive aggressive and gives them the silent treatment. They are soft, whiny little creatures.

Well soft I ain't.

Oh gowd no. Shur, bragging about how hard and clever you are, on the internet, is a sure sign of hardness and cleverness. Classic.

Most U30 and then a group over it with the cushy office job who live in office land where everything is nicey, nicey.. The worst thing that happens them is someone in the office is a bit passive aggressive and gives them the silent treatment. They are soft, whiny little creatures.

Ok. Your issues are now with young people and office people. Lol. Ok grandad, everyone’s soft except yourself.

Your grandad thought your generation were soft, and you’ve fallen for exactly the same trick. It’s just an age thing. People are just people. They’re made of the same flesh and blood even unthinking old boys. Lol.

Ok. Your issues are now with young people and office people. Lol. Ok grandad, everyone’s soft except yourself.

Your grandad thought your generation were soft, and you’ve fallen for exactly the same trick. It’s just an age thing. People are just people. They’re made of the same flesh and blood even unthinking old boys. Lol.

If your argument is made up of 'ok grandad' and a few Lols your losing! Ok child :D

Previous generations didn't feel that way. I worked hard for anything i have be it on the land or in an office. Having seen both sides i can state from experience that the softest people I've encountered are in this upcoming generation U30. The moisturisers, number of deoderants, anti perspirants, laziness etc is pretty common among them. I see office workers. Many are so soft. A radiatoror blowing warm air at their feet, all cosied up like they were in the Antartic, mentally very soft.

Oh gowd no. Shur, bragging about how hard and clever you are, on the internet, is a sure sign of hardness and cleverness. Classic.

Who's 'gowd' when he/she's at home? El_Duderino?! I'm not bragging about how hard and clever I am. Merely pointing out that knowledge of WW1 for a lot of us doesn't start with a recently released film!

Also there are many who are hardy in both rural and urban environments. I'm just pointing out the softness of the U 30s in general, not all. And a lot who work in offices, come home do a cushy routine in the gym but really have no cutting in them. Someone who runs can do a mile under 5m 30 sec etc fair play, they have a bit of steel in them. Not larde arses on bikes in gyms pedalling on the lowest gear.

If your argument is made up of 'ok grandad' and a few Lols your losing! Ok child :D

Previous generations didn't feel that way. I worked hard for anything i have be it on the land or in an office. Having seen both sides i can state from experience that the softest people I've encountered are in this upcoming generation U30. The moisturisers, number of deoderants, anti perspirants, laziness etc is pretty common among them. I see office workers. Many are so soft. A radiatoror blowing warm air at their feet, all cosied up like they were in the Antartic, mentally very soft.

Ha. Do you genuinely think the old people didn’t call your generation soft? Serious question.

Not nearly to what's happening now. I don't want to turn this into what I did or didn't do. But myself and my local peers walked to school, had a set list of chores after school etc.

There are different pressures on teenagers and 20 somethings today. Social media pressures, pressure for points in the LC etc. Deplorably high suicide rates.

However it is my opinion, and I'll stress opinion, that in other ways the younger generation, and many older have grown soft.

There are more obese, less physically active. Everything is touch screen or remote control. The kids on the Late Late campaigning for Climate Change action (admirable) spoke about walking to school ONE day a week. Christ many of us walked every day in the 80s.

While I agree with talking about mental health, indeed suffer from depression myself. I fear that the need to talk about every emotion may actually be bad. Some things we just have to tough it out. Obviously if feeling seriously mentally unwell you have to talk. But not about feeling a bit off on a dreary Monday morning.

Some posts on the thread had about 40 things you should do in a gym. Bacteria here, germs here, boil this towel. I felt it was OTT and a symptomatic of an attitude I didn't like. Sometimes you just have to get on with it. The gym isn't a war zone!

Older generations may have made comments about the next but I never got comments that I was shirking any work etc at home. I think there is a larger chasm between many 40 somethings today and those aged 20. Their life experience is so different.

I do feel a war is inevitable in the next 30 years and perhaps the west is decadent?

He needs to give them sofities the white feather, shame them for being cowards.

Ahh are my comments hurting you?