Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Personal hygiene in the Gym

• 31-01-2020 9:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Seriously, I don't know what it is but there are a large minority of men in this country who have need a serious sit down and have someone explain to them the basics of personal hygiene but there is a cohort of men who go to the gym who are over stepping the line.

I'm talking about fellas pulling stinky nasty ass wet towels out of their gym bag and drying themselves after they ran around the shower for 5 seconds. I would love for one of this people to comment on here as to why they think it's acceptable and why they don't think they need to wash their towel and dry themselves with a wet towel that has been in their bag for two days.

Without making generalisation, and before everyone gets their knickers in a twist and I know not all cases and #notallmen etc etc etc but this appears to more prevalent with men from outside the pale. I'm sorry but country lads are rough when it comes to personal hygiene and personal grooming. It's the same attitude with country people about turning on the heating, turn off the immersion, not refilling the oil in the rental apartment. What's the deal with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

La de da de da Mr. I Shower at the Gym.

Perhaps they are just jumping in the shower to cool off after their workout and will have a proper shower at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Oil in an apartment... You were doing so well till that. 2/10 for effort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Here's an idea. Why not politely ask one of them next time you see this in the gym. It needn't be confrontational; just start with "If you don't mind me asking, and purely out of curiosity, why do you...."

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,631 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Perhaps stop ogling men and sniffing their ass towels in the changing room? Their habits will be less upsetting then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

It needn't be confrontational; just start with "If you don't mind me asking, and purely out of curiosity, why do you...."

"... stink. Why do you stink?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

try going to the gym in jeans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Seriously, I don't know what it is but there are a large minority of men in this country who have need a serious sit down and have someone explain to them the basics of personal hygiene but there is a cohort of men who go to the gym who are over stepping the line.

I'm talking about fellas pulling stinky nasty ass wet towels out of their gym bag and drying themselves after they ran around the shower for 5 seconds. I would love for one of this people to comment on here as to why they think it's acceptable and why they don't think they need to wash their towel and dry themselves with a wet towel that has been in their bag for two days.

Without making generalisation, and before everyone gets their knickers in a twist and I know not all cases and #notallmen etc etc etc but this appears to more prevalent with men from outside the pale. I'm sorry but country lads are rough when it comes to personal hygiene and personal grooming. It's the same attitude with country people about turning on the heating, turn off the immersion, not refilling the oil in the rental apartment. What's the deal with that?

What type of knickers do you wear Drew Alive Archive ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

"... stink. Why do you stink?"

That kind of thing, yes. With a pleasant tone and a smile. The OP would soon get their answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

I run on the roads. A gym is too laden with perspiration and it makes it difficult to breathe.

A swimming pool is fine though.

But, seriously, who in their right mind would be looking at other people's muff lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Its actually a huge public health issue.

Its not just that people sweat there its just its unusual for a place to get so many different bodies touching the same surface area for so long and in such intimate places.

Yoga mats for instance. If you don't bring your own they are full of bacteria usually going back years.

Also some gyms are rubbish at public sanitation.

My advice is bring a sanitizer spray and spray down the equipment you use and wipe it with a baby wipe. Then dry with a clean towel. If you ask at reception they might have a spray they can give you. Do the same thing after using it.

Always wash your hands before a workout or touching things. But also if you can't wash your hands use a sanitizer.

Shower soon if you can. Protect your feet as if you were in a swimming pool. Be aware if you have broken skin or a rash ..cover it and don't let it touch surfaces.

Don't share towels etc. Dont share bottles or make up or brushes. Women often use the bathroom in a gym to do make up ...make up is usually full of bacteria ...so ladies wipe it (the counter top) down after.

I want to convince gyms in Ireland to provide sanitizers for all pieces of equipment to encourage people to use them.

Also look at the gym itself ....gym staff are notoriously lax on cleaning ....look around does it look clean and tidy? do you see people cleaning regularly?

Also this is very important when you wash your gym clothes ....do a hot wash ...if its under 60 degrees it doesn't kill all bacteria. And use a specialized washing liquid ....low acid ones cut through the oil to release bacteria and have something in the liquid to kill bacteria.

If you put your gym clothes on a LOW wash with just normal laundry detergent ...its not killing bacteria and its not going to break up the oil from your body to realize the bacteria at all ...so ew.

Perhaps they are just jumping in the shower to cool off after their workout and will have a proper shower at home?
    Showers in gyms are filthy tbh.

Cleaner to do it at home. People go into gym showers with cuts with no bandage on them.

By the way people get skin infections from gyms all the time ..and every cold going. No 1 place to get them maybe apart from hospitals. So i don't why everyone is slagging the op tbh. He has a point. Gyms are filthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

I'm more concerned with the guys who leave the toilet seat rim down, pi$$ all around it and couldn't be bother to wipe it down or flushing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Its not just that people sweat there its just its unusual for a place to get so many different bodies touching the same surface area for so long and in such intimate places.

Yoga mats for instance. If you don't bring your own they are full of bacteria usually going back years.

My advice is bring a sanitizer spray and spray down the equipment you use and wipe it with a baby wipe. Then dry with a clean towel. If you ask at reception they might have a spray they can give you. Do the same thing after using it.

Always wash your hands before a workout or touching things. But also if you can't wash your hands use a sanitizer.

Shower soon if you can. Protect your feet as if you were in a swimming pool. Be aware if you have broken skin or a rash ..cover it and don't let it touch surfaces.

Don't share towels etc. Dont share bottles or make up or brushes. Women often use the bathroom in a gym to do make up ...make up is usually full of bacteria ...so ladies wipe it (the counter top) down after.

I want to convince gyms in Ireland to provide sanitizers for all pieces of equipment to encourage people to use them.

Also look at the gym itself ....gym staff are notoriously lax on cleaning ....look around does it look clean and tidy? do you see people cleaning regularly?

Also this is very important when you wash your gym clothes ....do a hot wash ...if its under 60 degrees it doesn't kill all bacteria. And use a specialized washing liquid ....low acid ones cut through the oil to release bacteria and have something in the liquid to kill bacteria.

If you put your gym clothes on a LOW wash with just normal laundry detergent ...its not killing bacteria and its not going to break up the oil from your body to realize the bacteria at all ...so ew.

Good lord. How often do you get sick?

Rufeo wrote: »
    Good lord. How often do you get sick?
    Haven't been sick in years. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

"Gym" , shortened from gymnasium, derived from the Greek word gumnazieum , meaning to exercise naked.
    How would you cope ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

While there's people who do odd things at gyms, you seem a little OCD personally.

Two pet hates

Not wiping down equipment after use
    Hogging benches in the dressing room

Not a hate as don't care but it's pure comedy to see lads who do the towel shuffling dance while trying to put their jocks on. Looks ridiculous, clearly never played a team sport or been a communal shower, like who the hell is looking when you're getting dressed anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Joking aside, I think alot of people in Ireland need some education around personal hygiene and grooming, Seems to be a hangover from the days where sex education was something you had to figure out for yourself and that also applied to grooming and personal hygiene. Now we have YouTube and so many fashion channels that people will be more aware but it's a bar of soap, wash your bits and pieces, shower everyday, brush you damn teeth ffs and don't leave a wet towel in your bag and carry it around with you for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

My advice is bring a sanitizer spray and spray down the equipment you use and wipe it with a baby wipe.

The gym I go to has a couple of bottles of sanitizer spray in each room, paper towels too...often though you get up to look for it, it’s not there and it’s not obvious where it is.. Or who has it..

What I’d like to see is a mini spray, maybe hooked up to each machine or close, a 50 cl plastic refillable one that could be in easy reach to use...people have enough to be bringing to the gym with them too so maybe more ‘encouragement’ and spray within easy reach...

Fireball81 wrote: »
    Not as hate as don't care but it's pure comedy to see lads who do the towel shuffling dance while trying to put their jocks on. Looks ridiculous, clearly never played a team sport or been a communal shower, like who the hell is looking when you're getting dressed anyway.

Too true.

"Gym" , shortened from gymnasium, derived from the Greek word gumnazieum , meaning to exercise naked.
    How would you cope ?

I would be fine and get on with it.

Obviously today if you came naked you would be arrested.

By the way i am dead on what i say. Gyms themselves know it.

There was a study that showed public gyms are dirtier than public toilet seats.
    They found the average exercise bike is 39 times dirtier than a cafeteria tray. Treadmills contain 74 times more bacteria than a public bathroom faucet and the worst offender were free weights, with 362 times more bacteria than a public toilet seat.
    https://fitnessvolt.com/16398/study-finds-gym-equipment-bacteria-public-toilet-seats/

Strumms wrote: »
    The gym I go to has a couple of bottles of sanitizer spray in each room, paper towels too...often though you get up to look for it, it’s not there and it’s not obvious where it is.. Or who has it..

What I’d like to see is a mini spray, maybe hooked up to each machine or close, a 50 cl plastic refillable one that could be in easy reach to use...people have enough to be bringing to the gym with them too so maybe more ‘encouragement’ and spray within easy reach...
    I would like to see the same.

Its all about awareness of public sanitation and normalizing it.

Gyms are now making staff take sanitation courses etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

I’m a culchie.

I live about a six minute walk from my gym. I’d much prefer to shower at home.

KiKi III wrote: »
    I’m a culchie.

I live about a six minute walk from my gym. I’d much prefer to shower at home.

Same here, there are only two showers at what’s a pretty huge gym and I live 3 minutes drive away so it’s a quick sink wash with some shower gel, a change and home and in the shower in 5 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

Strumms wrote: »
    Same here, there are only two showers at what’s a pretty huge gym and I live 3 minutes drive away so it’s a quick sink wash with some shower gel, a change and home and in the shower in 5 mins.

Sink wash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

try going to the gym in jeans

And an Aran jumper....

And an Aran towel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

Sink wash?

Ffs....

A sink wash....I hope that's just hands and face and not....

Swonnicles.

Neames wrote: »
    Ffs....

Swonnicles.

I stand in the sink.

Sink wash?

This is what I’m talking about

Christ life must be hard work worrying about so much needless stuff. Clean freakish stuff like this is definitely one for the dealbreaker thread.

The worst has to be people who put their towel on the floor to stand on and then pick it up and start drying themselves!

Neames wrote: »
    Ffs....

Swonnicles.

The fact that someone even have the phrase sink wash in their vocabulary would give you an idea of the type of mentality your dealing with. I lived worth country lads when I was travelling, rough, rough and even more rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

A good reason why generation snowflake get the sniffles every 2 mins. If you sanitise everything you end up with no immunity to anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I remember being pretty disgusted at how few people wiped down equipment. You’re doing exercise and therefore sweating. Especially any equipment where there’s ass or lower back contact, it will get damp. Just have a small towel and some water with you. Antibacterial spray not needed, just remove the sweat with the water and towel. It’s so easy.

Bring a hand towel and stop sweating all over everything. Scumbags
    And PUT YOUR WEIGHTS AWAY, YOUR MAMMY DOESN'T WORK HERE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Gyms are disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Gyms are disgusting

And expensive.

I'd rather go for a run and do weights at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

There’s a special place in hell for people who excercise in GAA jerseys and don’t wash it regularly.
    Those jerseys manage to hold on to a lot of stink for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The worst of all are the auld fellas who use the hairdryer to dry their arse, ballbag, and pecker.

You’d also see this behaviour in golf club locker rooms.

Fûcking animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

Odd how you know these guys are from 'beyond the pale'. I wasn't aware that people had their car registration numbers tattooed on their rear ends and in my experience most people don't actually have conversations in the locker room of gyms, unless they know each other.

Certainly in any gym I've been to in Dublin or Cork, the locker room's usually fairly non talkative.

Also, oil fired heating in an apartment? Where are you living?!
    And immersions!? How quaintly 1970s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,169 ✭✭✭antimatterx

I never shower in the gym, they are Vile facilities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Can someone tell me why some people wear big hoodies in the gym. Then they're subsequently drenched in sweat

What's the reason behind that

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Can someone tell me why some people wear big hoodies in the gym. Then they're subsequently drenched in sweat

So they can be Rocky, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

It's (allegedly) to do with the heat, your body retains the heat and warms up faster so you can go pure macho man as soon as possible. I'd imagine some wear it to avoid having to do a warm up.

But I agree, people should be kicked out of gyms for not wiping the equipment after themselves. I bring 2, one for wiping the equipment and one for me. Sorry, I used to. Don't go to the gym anymore, but it's well due time to start going again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

God love you. You sound like a tortured soul! Being that worried about so many things isn't good for you.

Serious question, do you have OCD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

razorblunt wrote: »
    There’s a special place in hell for people who excercise in GAA jerseys and don’t wash it regularly.
    Those jerseys manage to hold on to a lot of stink for some reason.

Oh? what about Soccer jerseys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Oh? what about Soccer jerseys?

Auld lads with bellys in faded Liverpool Candy or Man U Sharpe jersies :) Kinda gross and at the same time you appreciate how important these relics are to these gents.

I never saw as many people afraid of a bit of sweat from another person. I’ll give ye a but of advice, never ever have nothing to do with farming as you would die in minutes judging what’s being said here.....
    The worst of all are the auld fellas who use the hairdryer to dry their arse, ballbag, and pecker.

You’d also see this behaviour in golf club locker rooms.

Fûcking animals.

What’s wrong with it? Best use there is for a hair dryer. No man should be drying the hair on their head with one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

People will be so weak from a lack of exposure to germs, have no immunity and end up dying from using too much sanitizer.

Naggdefy wrote: »
    God love you. You sound like a tortured soul! Being that worried about so many things isn't good for you.

Serious question, do you have OCD?
    No. I just am involved in the industry right now.

People who go to the gym probably realize most of the times they have gotten sick its something they brought home from the gym.