Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new coronavirus outbreak China, Korea, USA - mod warnings in OP (updated 24/02/20)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Be that as it may, what are the odds that she was one of 31 reported female cases there?( Out of a population of 24 million) my point being this is now far from a Wuhan primary issue. The numbers we officially have are almost certainly grossly undereporting the actual situation.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,039 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Supercell wrote: »
    Be that as it may, what are the odds that she was one of 31 reported female cases there?( Out of a population of 24 million) my point being this is now far from a Wuhan primary issue. The numbers we officially have are almost certainly grossly undereporting the actual situation.

Ohh I agree China are still fudging the infected numbers but who knows by how much, the real fear i have is they are fudging the death numbers and misreporting wuhan virus related deaths as other things which I wouldn't put past them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭theguzman

Meanwhile in the Philippines their President has ordered mass deportations of Chinese even those without any obvious signs of sickness, 4 plane loads were sent back yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

I wear masks if I'm sick in work, or I wear them on the motorbike if the air pollution is bad, it's dusty and I want my face clean, or if it's cold. Women often wear masks to avoid getting any tan. And some people wear them to cover acne or something.

Does the virus literally just fly around on its own and that's why people say it's too small for the masks? I always thought the virus would be held in water or phlegm or something. I definitely think masks would help since I would imagine air is smaller again than the virus, and if wearing a mask on the bike stops the air from making my face as cold, it must be at least slowing it down a lot.

the masks are at their most effective when worn by someone with a respiratory infection

they might have some effect if say someone unmasked were to sneeze on you

but if they were wearing the mask instead that's where the benefit lies

its the uncontrolled sneezing, infected hands touching things, you touching things

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Three locally acquired cases today in Japan, Germany and Taiwan. None had been to China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Space Dog

VinLieger wrote: »
    The company is a car parts manufacturer with offices in Wuhan which explains it, likely she had recently been to wuhan prior to flying to germany or someone had visited shangai from wuhan before she flew to germany.

I read that her parents from Wuhan had visited her before she flew to Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

Jade182 wrote: »
    Flying into Thailand next week to begin several months of travelling around SE Asia. I was originally planning on visiting China and Korea too but they are off the itinerary until more information emerges about this.

Anyone currently in Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, or Cambodia got any insider scoop on the situation there? It's hard trying to find honest news about it as I think they don't want to scare away tourists.
    Not sure why you're more worried about Korea than Thailand......Thailand has the most confirmed cases of any country outside of China (14 I think?).

But, you'll be grand travelling any of those countries (apart from China) over the next couple of weeks unless things deteriorate rapidly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,674 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Larbre34 wrote: »
    My brother in law and his family are in Shanghai for the last 10 days, visiting local family there.

He says there is a fairly rational and pragmatic attitude in that City just now, but that if the authorities there begin to tighten up on movement and reduce information flow then he will get on a plane and come home.

I've told him that he is naive to wait for that day to come, because it could be that it is no longer his choice to leave by then and that he should book a flight out asap. Am I overdoing it with that advice?

My Bro in law got out of dodge last night, his time, on a flight for which he paid a significant premium. He's made it as far as London and plans to spend the rest of his leave there and return home as scheduled this weekend.

I told him thanks for quarantining himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

My Bro in law got out of dodge last night, his time, on a flight for which he paid a significant premium. He's made it as far as London and plans to spend the rest of his leave there and return home as scheduled this weekend.

For all you know he has the virus and it hasn't shown itself yet.

Maybe hold off on any visits over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,674 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

GooglePlus wrote: »
    For all you know he has the virus and it hasn't shown itself yet.

Maybe hold off on any visits over the weekend.

Oh I intend to. Till Easter preferably. Fortunately they don't live near us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Idjit

mikhail wrote: »
    One case in Cambodia, one in South Korea. I think you can probably consider everywhere outside of China to be fairly low risk.
    https://gisanddata.maps.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/bda7594740fd40299423467b48e9ecf6

Yes but Thailand has the highest number of cases outside of China as they rely hugely on Chinese tourism. So I am watching the spread from there through SE Asia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Idjit

Not sure why you're more worried about Korea than Thailand......Thailand has the most confirmed cases of any country outside of China (14 I think?).

But, you'll be grand travelling any of those countries (apart from China) over the next couple of weeks unless things deteriorate rapidly.

Sorry I wasn't clear, I was planning to travel to China and then fly from China to S.Korea. Since I'm not going anywhere near China, the planned trip to S.Korea wont be happening either (as a consequence of my stopover in China being eliminated, not necessarily because S.Korea is rampant with the virus).

I was reading on Thai news that roads and islands have been blocked off in certain parts of Thailand but not sure how accurate it is, this may be a translation error. Another poster has reassured me it's business as usual in SE Asia so that is reassuring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Well it seems to be business as normal here in Malaysia, that said, I haven't left my apartment since Sunday so I may not be the most reliable source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

He can wander around sneezing and singing "Come out come out..."

Shut the freaking borders
    Do not go to work if you're sick
    We need enforced quarantine for travellers from outside the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

Shut the freaking borders
    Do not go to work if you're sick
    We need enforced quarantine for travellers from outside the country

An overreaction, but I don't see the problem for a week. On the flipside, Ireland doesn't have the situation to become 'as much' of a storm outside of dublin. A good healthcare system, gps at the local level, a large rural area, and so on and so forth.

Dublin could be different I guess?

Edit: The population density is as much as London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,751 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Densely populated cities would be at risk. Same with all pandemics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,564 ✭✭✭circadian

An overreaction, but I don't see the problem for a week. On the flipside, Ireland doesn't have the situation to become 'as much' of a storm outside of dublin. A good healthcare system, gps at the local level, a large rural area, and so on and so forth.

The HSE is in absolutely no shape to deal with this. I would be extremely concerned not to mention the NHS in the UK isn't far behind so treatment and containment on these islands is not something I'd be confident in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

circadian wrote: »
    The HSE is in absolutely no shape to deal with this. I would be extremely concerned not to mention the NHS in the UK isn't far behind so treatment and containment on these islands is not something I'd be confident in.

Maybe for a first world country it might be behind, but compared to China? OR Vietnam? OR, in some ways because of culture, Japan?

Honestly, we have it lucky :P

Witchie wrote: »
    Well it seems to be business as normal here in Malaysia, that said, I haven't left my apartment since Sunday so I may not be the most reliable source.

Pretty much the same. Only been out in public twice since last Friday I think. Lunar New Year has all the travel and craziness before it, but when it's actually on, most things are closed and people are with their families at home.

That part of the reporting has been a little bit inaccurate. Talking about quiet streets as if that's abnormal and everyone is in fear across the country. They're just at home eating.

Maybe for a first world country it might be behind, but compared to China? OR Vietnam? OR, in some ways because of culture, Japan?

China has a decent Healthcare system, and people don't realise that most of its major cities are on par with developed nations. The government has the resources to throw at this kind of thing.

I agree an outbreak in Vietnam wouldn't go so well, and with confirmed infections in Thailand and Cambodia in particular I would be concerned for SE Asia.

Yes our Healthcare is better than SE Asia, better than China would be debatable considering our own system is completely overrun as it is.

In a time of no pandemic, my girlfriend got offered half a bed sharing with an 80-year-old man in a public hospital in Vietnam. Half.

What countries do you think are better equipped than Ireland or the UK to deal with a pandemic? Is any country just "ready" like that?

In a time of no pandemic, my girlfriend got offered half a bed sharing with an 80-year-old man in a public hospital in Vietnam. Half.

What countries do you think are better equipped than Ireland or the UK to deal with a pandemic? Is any country just "ready" like that?

I wouldn't say any country is just ready but some are much more capable than others to mobilise. Like I said, yes Vietnam would be different from the likes of China, Ireland or anywhere else that's developed. My point is, our Healthcare system is already overrun, hospitals are overcrowded so the poster thinking we're grand and could cope, especially in rural Ireland is misguided in my opinion.

I'd imagine other nations like Korea, Japan, Germany with well developed Healthcare systems are in a much better position to try and get a handle on this than we are if there were to be an outbreak.

Although I do wonder how severe this is in healthy people, do they still need medical assistance or could they wait it out at home as with the flu? It's very effective at spreading but I wonder how hard hitting it is to the majority of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I wouldn't say any country is just ready but some are much more capable than others to mobilise. Like I said, yes Vietnam would be different from the likes of China, Ireland or anywhere else that's developed. My point is, our Healthcare system is already overrun, hospitals are overcrowded so the poster thinking we're grand and could cope, especially in rural Ireland is misguided in my opinion.

I'd imagine other nations like Korea, Japan, Germany with well developed Healthcare systems are in a much better position to try and get a handle on this than we are if there were to be an outbreak.

Although I do wonder how severe this is in healthy people, do they still need medical assistance or could they wait it out at home as with the flu? It's very effective at spreading but I wonder how hard hitting it is to the majority of people.
    Yeh it's not really known yet. It seems to be pretty mild in most people.But a sizeable number of the deaths were in people in their 50's and early 60's ,which isnt particularly old . Most people in this age group are perfectly healthy under normal circumstances and should easily be able to survive flu.

I have a friend who is an ER doctor in South Korea. She works part time in the hospital, but does so because her rent of the nearby apartment is tied to her working in the hospital. Basically free rent if she completes 20 hours a week in the ER.

Meanwhile we have a shortage of nurses and doctors and ridiculous rents.

The apartment building across from Tallaght hospital was in NAMA. We could attract hundreds of nurses over night with a little bit of joined up thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,094 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Who has a good healthcare system?

Jaysus, give it a rest Leo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

wakka12 wrote: »

elderly man tho.. there seems to be a difference between china v elsewhere so far.
    i wonder are we seeing Eu etc getting first version and more lethal mutated version on china now..

I have a friend who is an ER doctor in South Korea. She works part time in the hospital, but does so because her rent of the nearby apartment is tied to her working in the hospital. Basically free rent if she completes 20 hours a week in the ER.

Meanwhile we have a shortage of nurses and doctors and ridiculous rents.

The apartment building across from Tallaght hospital was in NAMA. We could attract hundreds of nurses over night with a little bit of joined up thinking.

Wrong thread.
    This is for a global virus outbreak.