Ever been mugged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

Cina wrote: »
    Twice, both times it was my phone.

First time was on Dame St. Guy came up chatting to me and "joking" and asking to give me a hug. He went to hug me and I pushed him away but not before he swapped my iPhone out of my pocket with a sh*tty old Blackberry that was basically the same size. Never even noticed it til I took the phone out to call a taxi after he was gone. To be honest, I was mostly just impressed with his skills.

Other time was much worse, had a .. shall we say.. non Irish taxi driver after a night out. He barely knew the way home and was rude to me throughout, constantly telling me not to get sick in his car even though I wasn't drunk. Got home and I told him I had no money on my person and I need to get some from inside (which was true). He immediately locked the doors, said he didn't trust me to come back out and to leave my phone there until I brought out the money. I refused, but he was much bigger than me and wouldn't open the car door, so I was left with no choice. Soon as I got out of the car he shut the door and took off with my phone. Pr*ck.

I even got his license plate and went into the guards the next day. Their response? "Well it's your own fault for not carrying the money on you and it sounds like you basically gave him your phone". W*nkers.

Honestly normally I'd always side with the victim rather than the gardaí but in this case I can't really blame them. If you take a taxi, you should have either cash with you or you should tell the driver to stop at an ATM on the way so you can get cash. If I were a taxi driver I'd also be p*ssed off if you were trying to go inside before paying.

I trust that you were indeed after paying the driver but I think that you were just a penny pincher who didn't want to pay an extra euro or two for the taxi to stay stationary while you'd get money from the ATM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

A more interesting thread would be "Have you ever mugged someone?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

No. Been 6'2 and 15 stone helps.

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

That awkward moment when you stopped to chat with the local lad who has a habit and the conversation turns to “don’t move ~ what’s in your pockets” he has a rummage cops a feel of your knob :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

machaseh wrote: »
    Honestly normally I'd always side with the victim rather than the gardaí but in this case I can't really blame them. If you take a taxi, you should have either cash with you or you should tell the driver to stop at an ATM on the way so you can get cash. If I were a taxi driver I'd also be p*ssed off if you were trying to go inside before paying.

I trust that you were indeed after paying the driver but I think that you were just a penny pincher who didn't want to pay an extra euro or two for the taxi to stay stationary while you'd get money from the ATM.

I didn't realize I had no money until we got home, that was my fault, no doubt. But I told him to keep the meter running whilst I was inside, so how is that any different to stopping at an ATM? Also, he knew where I lived! What exactly was I going to do? I even offered to pay him extra once I got the money instead of leaving my phone there, but he wouldn't agree to any of it, just made me leave it there, with the door locked. It was actually bordering on assault and I was pretty concerned for my safety given his aggression.

I don't disagree that I should've been better prepared and had the money on me and I've never done that since but are you really suggesting the Gardai are right here for saying I gave the taxi driver my phone when he clearly mugged me? Get real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

About 3 years ago in La Rochelle walking back to my hotel langers and alone at about 2am on a Saturday night.

I stupidly started chatting to 2 eastern european types and they knocked me to the ground before I knew what had happened and made off with my wallet (holding about €200), phone and passport. I only had a scratch from it though.

I had photocopied my passport which thankfully got me back to Ireland. Travel insurance covered the money and phone so could have been a lot worse.

I didn't realize I had no money until we got home, that was my fault, no doubt. But I told him to keep the meter running whilst I was inside, so how is that any different to stopping at an ATM? Also, he knew where I lived! What exactly was I going to do? I even offered to pay him extra once I got the money instead of leaving my phone there, but he wouldn't agree to any of it, just made me leave it there, with the door locked. It was actually bordering on assault and I was pretty concerned for my safety given his aggression.

I don't disagree that I should've been better prepared and had the money on me and I've never done that since but are you really suggesting the Gardai are right here for saying I gave the taxi driver my phone when he clearly mugged me? Get real.

Honestly they are right. Next time, drink a few pints less when in town so you remember that you need cash to pay the taxi. Or you could have even let the taxi drive you to the nearest atm from your home, for example.

Look we all have a few too many sometimes. Once, I told my taxi driver 'follow the malahide road to [my neighbourhood] please'. Sadly then I was so drunk that I fell asleep and I woke up and the taxi driver said 'so where in Malahide are you heading?' Whoopsie ! Apparently he hadn't understood me well and it was of course entirely my fault for falling asleep. So we stopped at an ATM in Malahide, then your man drove me to somewhere close to me gaff in North Dublin and of course I had to pay a tenner extra for the 'detour' via Malahide.

Entirely my own mistake. I try to drink a lot less now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Many many people might not have the money on them it doesn't give the right to the taxi driver to do what he did.

Taxi driver has a few options, drive to Garda station and report fare, report to Garda the person at such address didn't pay, sure going to the ATM in my view would be a bigger risk as you could just run off.

That was theft and no other word for it.

You can't take ones property.

Many many people might not have the money on them it doesn't give the right to the taxi driver to do what he did.

Taxi driver has a few options, drive to Garda station and report fare, report to Garda the person at such address didn't pay, sure going to the ATM in my view would be a bigger risk as you could just run off.

Fully agree with this.

His locking the doors would surely border (if not jump right into) grounds of wrongful imprisonment would it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

machaseh wrote: »
    Honestly they are right. Next time, drink a few pints less when in town so you remember that you need cash to pay the taxi. Or you could have even let the taxi drive you to the nearest atm from your home, for example.

Look we all have a few too many sometimes. Once, I told my taxi driver 'follow the malahide road to [my neighbourhood] please'. Sadly then I was so drunk that I fell asleep and I woke up and the taxi driver said 'so where in Malahide are you heading?' Whoopsie ! Apparently he hadn't understood me well and it was of course entirely my fault for falling asleep. So we stopped at an ATM in Malahide, then your man drove me to somewhere close to me gaff in North Dublin and of course I had to pay a tenner extra for the 'detour' via Malahide.

Entirely my own mistake. I try to drink a lot less now.
    I wasn't drunk though. I strongly disagree with you and I imagine most will. I'm not looking for sympathy, I was stupid not to bring money but you are a fool if you think the taxi driver committed no wrong and the guard's shouldn't have done anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 the sword

I had an incident with a taxi man in Belfast. Got a lift with one of the main cab companies, iPod slipped/slid out of my tracksuit bottoms onto the seat (was shotgunning it too, and this thing was bigger than your standard phone) without me noticing.

Realised a few minutes later, checked every pocket, football bag etc. Rang the taxi office, told them what had happened, and the car that collected me etc, asked if they would send the taxi man back.

Your guy on the line fobbed me off and said there was nothing they could do to help. The fecker would have seen it on the seat beside him surley, and the taxi office seen an opportunity and had taken it.

Only last year, dropped my phone in a taxi in Belfast (drunk as a skunk) the thing was ringing out and the next day, the taxi man answered and met me to return it, so they all ain't bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Apologies if too graphic but this is possibly my favourite comeuppance clip of all time. The sountrack puts it over the top.
    I give you, "Ah here, leave it out!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,197 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I wasn't drunk though. I strongly disagree with you and I imagine most will. I'm not looking for sympathy, I was stupid not to bring money but you are a fool if you think the taxi driver committed no wrong and the guard's shouldn't have done anything about it.

100%.. all very well in hindsight but I’d think the best scenario would be to pretend to call for someone to come out with cash, instead dial the Gardai and inform them of your location and what’s happening as well as the reg from the card on the dash....

“Look I’m outside 36 High St but no money for a taxi, he’s being aggressive he’s locked me in the car, threatening, his reg / plate is, send someone quick”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

It's illegal to mug someone. The mugger cannot take your possessions without your consent. Exercise your right to say no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭galwayllm

I've been mugged loads of time ..

I sit in Mass and then this basket comes around I have to throw my money in....

It's madness I tell ya...

I have taken taxis without cash beforehand plenty of times, you can tell your man to stop at an ATM on the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

kenmm wrote: »

They took your keyboard... The bastids

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Icbaby wrote: »
    Not mugged but apartment broken into, ransacked, beaten to a pulp, robbed, locked in a bathroom and separated from friend I lived with and bank account emptied after they held me in apt while another scut went and extracted the money. All while I could hear my friend screaming from another room (thought they were killing her). Happened in Portugal, moved home soon after, never ever stayed in a house on my own since (12 years ago).

Similar thing happened to my friend out in Citywest years ago. And it was an apartment. Couple of mugs snuck in through the underground carpark and got up to his floor. Door was open as my friend and his OH just got in the door from shopping. Tied to a chair, beaten, robbed. Guys were never caught.

Couple months later something similar happened across the apartment block except the guys were eventually chased out by some neighbours.

They promptly moved out of Citywest altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Pick pocketed in Paris.
    I'd been there for a few months and was always super careful.
    This was my last week there and I let my guard down.

Only had €40 in the wallet but it was the hassle of card replacement more than anything else.

Never felt a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭fitzparker

about 20 years ago my Mam was driving through inner city dublin and stopped at traffic lights beside a block of flats, guy came over and asked the time before trying to open her door and take the car, she sped off before he could.

got home and told my dad (hothead) who drove straight to the block of flats with a bat and found the junkie and his mates and "gave them a lesson"

Was in Madrid with a group of friends, guy comes over and asks is this my friends passport (which it was) We were pretty drunk so it never clicked how he actually got it (obviously robbed friend wallet and passport) , he tried to put it in my pocket but I was wide because he went to take my wallet with a switch, so I grabbed him by the throat and they gave the usual pity story. I hate when that happens because you want to give them a slap but start feeling guilty because they haven't hit you first.

Heading to Rome the weekend so i'll let you know how much is took on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 MichaelKnee

Not a mugging persay, but a few months back on Talbot st. an elderly man collapsed outside of the phone store (where all the gypsies hangout). I stood back to call an ambulance, and I was glad to see two Roma women kneeling down beside him, I assumed checking his pulse etc. Next of all they just got up and walked away. I looked down at the elderly gentleman and his pockets were turned out! Scummiest thing I've ever seen.

I'd say now that if I were held at gunpoint I wouldn't fear for me life, because I have never been happy in life anyway so I might just see it as a sign that me time has come. But I've never been held at gunpoint so perhaps I'll piss meself like a little baby and hand everything over. You can never predict how you'd act in such a situation.
    Similar thing happened to my friend out in Citywest years ago. And it was an apartment. Couple of mugs snuck in through the underground carpark and got up to his floor. Door was open as my friend and his OH just got in the door from shopping. Tied to a chair, beaten, robbed. Guys were never caught.

Couple months later something similar happened across the apartment block except the guys were eventually chased out by some neighbours.

They promptly moved out of Citywest altogether.

Jaysis. Perhaps it's a good idea to have a weapon at home then. Not necessarily a gun but I mean more pepperspray, a proper knife, a bat etc.

You're better off without a knife in case it's used against you.

A large pepper grinder is ideal. Even if it's just there for protection you can always say "it was the first thing that came to hand".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭Feisar

Not a mugging persay, but a few months back on Talbot st. an elderly man collapsed outside of the phone store (where all the gypsies hangout). I stood back to call an ambulance, and I was glad to see two Roma women kneeling down beside him, I assumed checking his pulse etc. Next of all they just got up and walked away. I looked down at the elderly gentleman and his pockets were turned out! Scummiest thing I've ever seen.

Doing their bit to uphold stereotypes, fair play.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

Agreed, the garda just didnt want to deal with it. I would of asked for this to be put on the pulse system or otherwise you need to make a complaint to super. Additionally get on to taxi regulator.

The phone was stolen, end of no matter what occurred previously.

Gard was a prat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Another Blanchardstown story , hah that's two today, the jerk thread and now this one. I bought a PC game in the Blanchardstown centre. Then on the way home I got attacked by three idiots. One threw a lucozade bottle at me. It hit me on the neck and swole up a few hours later. I fought off one of the fcukers. The other two ran off. Then I managed to get away, before they could regroup. I even managed to keep the pc game. But it was a shocking experience for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I get mugged every Wednesday or as I call it 'payday'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 T_hanks__

nope never happened to me and hope it never will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I get mugged every Wednesday or as I call it 'payday'.

Somebody gives you money?