Ever been mugged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Two guys attempted to but copped on what was happening because it had happened before to a friend.

Basically one guy comes up and distracts you tries to sell you something ..like a flower or key rings. Then if you take your wallet out ..bam another guy from out of nowhere will take it.

I turned and legged it.

Another time I was in the car stuck in traffic. This guy was walking down the road trying to open all the doors of the cars while they were stuck. He had some kind of a tool.

Another time a guy ran into be (as in bumped me) then asked for my purse and phone. I gave him the purse and he ran off without taking the phone. I think i was taking too long to find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Haven't been mugged, but was pick-pocketed twice, on separate trips to Spain. First time was a random one on the street in Barcelona (surprise surprise), I didn't even notice it happening. The second one I should have seen a mile coming. Incredibly hot woman started dancing extremely close to me in a club in Valencia, was pretty much all over me. Then all of a sudden, she was gone along with my camera.

Third time (and fcuking last time I visit that sh!th0le of a country), I was wise to what was about to happen and after a bit of shouting, they went away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Nearly got mugged in Prague a few years back- myself and my wife boarding a metro and they tried to separate us by stopping me boarding once she got on ahead of me . That's where being 6'2" an weighting 17 stone comes in handy :)

Same here ...only i'm tiny but hyper aware it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Two attempted muggings, both unsuccessful.

(I seem to have attracted the most idiotic, stupidest, glass jawed, amateur muggers on both occasions)

Same here , first one swung a Stanley knife at me slicing me a one cm long cut on my chin , he got such a fright that he scared himself and ran off.

Second one at a taxi rank, stood about 5 foot 4 and demanded my phone and wallet , I shoved him over and continued on my journey to the pub.
    Apparently he had tried it a few times that evening with the taxi men eventually grabbing him and calling the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

I got muggged in a football match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Haven't found anyone stupid enough to try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

LaFuton wrote: »
    lad i kno is always saying it could be worse, could be trapped in hole in the ground filled with water.
    poor lad, i know he means well.
    Was he Timmy? He's a real hero

Ya about 10 years ago in Paris when I was working there. Pissed drunk wandering around Chatelet at all hours. Young, naive and thinking I was invincible. I hated Paris after that and swore I'd never return to what I considered to be an absolute kip at the time.

I was there last weekend for the Munster match and plan on heading back again soon. I've grown up a bit :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Icbaby

Not mugged but apartment broken into, ransacked, beaten to a pulp, robbed, locked in a bathroom and separated from friend I lived with and bank account emptied after they held me in apt while another scut went and extracted the money. All while I could hear my friend screaming from another room (thought they were killing her). Happened in Portugal, moved home soon after, never ever stayed in a house on my own since (12 years ago).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Icbaby wrote: »
    Not mugged but apartment broken into, ransacked, beaten to a pulp, robbed, locked in a bathroom and separated from friend I lived with and bank account emptied after they held me in apt while another scut went and extracted the money. All while I could hear my friend screaming from another room (thought they were killing her). Happened in Portugal, moved home soon after, never ever stayed in a house on my own since (12 years ago).

Jaysus.

Truly horrific story!

Wow! You win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Never mugged thankfully - but pickpocketed three times, once in Barcelona (does every visitor to that city tourist get pickpocketed there?), once in Rome and most recently had €100 taken off me in Corralejo in Fuerteventura a few weeks ago just after turning around from using an on-street ATM. Someone “brushed” right by me, happened super fast.

In San Francisco over 20 years ago - when I lived over there for a year - a scumbag “homie” gang type guy tried to walk right into me and knock me over on the street in a slightly dodgy part of town. He looked high on crack or something. Rather scary at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Lyan

I got mugged once. Joke was on him though, the wallet only cost me two euro.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,440 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Yeah I was mugged in lisbon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,144 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yeah a few years ago, the guy (who was from a place where Dracula was from )**** got my phone and a bit of money. Was very drunk walking home and he came out of nowhere. Reported to the police but nothing ever came of it.

Got scammed online there 2 weeks ago on a ticket I bought for an event on Facebook. They made a fake profile and convinced me they had a spare ticket they were selling and I paid them face value through PayPal and they never emailed me the ticket. They never got back to any of my messages and the morning of the event they deleted the account. got a real ticket in the end and enjoyed the show but still annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Satanist

No, never and I doubt anyone will ever try. I've been all over Europe, USA, most of South America, etc etc etc never any bother, great bunch of lads.

Twice in Australia (while drunk). Once in Hong Kong. Admittedly, I was foolish and in rather dodgy areas.

I've had some other close calls, but nothing major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

Jaysus I'm so sorry to hear that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

A lot of tough feckers on this thread, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

A lot of drunkenness on this thread.
    Eh... fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

No but I've been randomly attacked by multiple assailants twice.

For some reason I just tried to reason with them the first time, until my tooth broke and I realised they were actually hurting me. The second time I defended myself before sustaining injury, which was a better approach really.

Lots and lots of stand-offs as well. Dunno what it was about me when I was in my late teens and early twenties that made random scumbags want to fight me. Encountered very little **** since that period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,197 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was held up by a guy who said he had a syringe in the Iliac center about 25 years ago, I panicked as I tried to find cash to give the scumbag and his scummy little yoke but as we got to the door and them seeing security they bolted off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

Strumms wrote: »
    I was held up by a guy who said he had a syringe in the Iliac center about 25 years ago, I panicked as I tried to find cash to give the scumbag and his scummy little yoke but as we got to the door and them seeing security they bolted off...

Im only in ireland for 2 years but I heard from others that the area around parnell street used to be a proper kip.

Nowadays the area is grand luckily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not mugged, but worked in a video shop years ago. We’d regularly (couple of times a year) be robbed by some scumbag or other. The bosses policy was to keep a dummy tray with 20-30 quid in notes and coins under the desk. All the actual takings were kept in the back room. If we were robbed, we were to hand over the dummy tray, call the guards, pocket the actual takings as compensation and close up for the night and go home early. A most satisfactory arrangement. A robbery could be worth several hundred for whoever was on that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭Slideways

Haven't found anyone stupid enough to try

You’ve been mugged off a few times though Walter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

endacl wrote: »
    Not mugged, but worked in a video shop years ago. We’d regularly (couple of times a year) be robbed by some scumbag or other. The bosses policy was to keep a dummy tray with 20-30 quid in notes and coins under the desk. All the actual takings were kept in the back room. If we were robbed, we were to hand over the dummy tray, call the guards, pocket the actual takings as compensation and close up for the night and go home early. A most satisfactory arrangement. A robbery could be worth several hundred for whoever was on that night.

So you had a "robbery" every week then? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Yeah, was something like this;

s-l300.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

Twice, both times it was my phone.

First time was on Dame St. Guy came up chatting to me and "joking" and asking to give me a hug. He went to hug me and I pushed him away but not before he swapped my iPhone out of my pocket with a sh*tty old Blackberry that was basically the same size. Never even noticed it til I took the phone out to call a taxi after he was gone. To be honest, I was mostly just impressed with his skills.

Other time was much worse, had a .. shall we say.. non Irish taxi driver after a night out. He barely knew the way home and was rude to me throughout, constantly telling me not to get sick in his car even though I wasn't drunk. Got home and I told him I had no money on my person and I need to get some from inside (which was true). He immediately locked the doors, said he didn't trust me to come back out and to leave my phone there until I brought out the money. I refused, but he was much bigger than me and wouldn't open the car door, so I was left with no choice. Soon as I got out of the car he shut the door and took off with my phone. Pr*ck.

I even got his license plate and went into the guards the next day. Their response? "Well it's your own fault for not carrying the money on you and it sounds like you basically gave him your phone". W*nkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Haven't been mugged, but was pick-pocketed twice, on separate trips to Spain. First time was a random one on the street in Barcelona (surprise surprise), I didn't even notice it happening. The second one I should have seen a mile coming. Incredibly hot woman started dancing extremely close to me in a club in Valencia, was pretty much all over me. Then all of a sudden, she was gone along with my camera.

Third time (and fcuking last time I visit that sh!th0le of a country), I was wise to what was about to happen and after a bit of shouting, they went away

Do you remember the name of the club?

*books flight to Valencia and looks frantically for a 2005 Samsung camera*