Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been mugged?

• 18-01-2020 8:44pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

I can honestly say I've never been mugged and that might be because I look so young and dark skinned. People must think I have no money.

My Irish friends on the other hand have had their wallets, purses grabbed at night by junkies. Someone even had her phone stolen last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Maybe you've never been mugged cuz no one can see you at night being dark skinned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

AllForIt wrote: »
    Maybe you've never been mugged cuz no one can see you at night being dark skinned.

WOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You usually have to go out to be mugged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

WOW

It's called sailing close to the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Got pickpocketed by North Africans in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭MoashoaM

That's what I call receiving a mug on my birthday.
    "Ah my family mugged me"

I've never been mugged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,809 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I've been mugged a few times in the nineties when I lived in Glasgow, was trying to score some hash one time and my money and boots were taken hahaha, had to walk back in my socks. Twas my fault for walking into dodgy areas when there was a hash drought.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,544 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Mugged for fifty percent of my income over the pittance of 35k on a weekly basis !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Felt mugged off a few times after opening your threads! Me own fault, I suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

My mate from Oman was walking me back to my hotel in Bali when he was"accidentally" knocked against a guy. Realised his phone had been nicked. Drunk Irish woman (me) grabbed the mugger by the throat against the wall, squeezed his throat and said " give him back his phone or I'll f**kin kill you". He handed the phone back and we walked off.

Am a badass who will get myself killed someday by acting first thinking after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Lyan

I look so young and dark skinned.

I'm calling 999.

No, random attack on the street years ago when ex and i walking home, he got punched. Jumped in the middle and tried to calm your man down and de escalate
    Scary stuff he was off his face or something

Saw a guy trying to nick a woman's well up ahead of me before. She roared at him and fought him off and he ran off. Fair play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

Leave the kid alone FFS.
    At least he starts threads and livens the place up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Yes, in Paris by a lad on a moped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

I was once attacked in Baldoyle by a group of p.............

They knocked me to the ground and were probably after my money and phone and so on. Luckily a taxi that happened to pass by stopped and they let me in and drove off.

They didn't manage to steal anything but it was scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

a few times, unfortunately, and usually by the ‘type’ that is stereotypes and yes I saw it coming but couldn’t do anything against it. Gone one item back once - lost the head and followed the junkie on a bike to his appartment - all the way up to the 3rd floor and then got the police. Totally stupid as I knew he had a knife and I’d be a long time paying hospital bills for a shredding of my intestines. Still get occasional moments of fear and flashbacks and occasionally find myself freezing in fear when I am in a place that unexpectedly reminds me of where I was attacked “ mugged”. Am far less tolerant of ‘petty criminals’ as a consequence. Cant imagine what it must be like to be old and feeble and vulnerable and pushed aside and barged past by heavies at your door or listening in fear in a dark isolated bungalow to someone prowling outside and then forcing your window open. We live in dark days where criminals have free reign and crime pays and the industry of free legal aid facilitates generations of abuse and crime under the guise of ‘human rights’. There are very few victimless or petty crimes and I strongly believe our government should be protecting is from scum and not rewarding them with jokeathon legal aid for 3,5,10,20,60,80,120 past convictions and not locking them up and keeping us safe.

They found a way to tax our houses and water overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

I was walking home one night listening to my Walkman( long time ago) and i felt a shove on my back then another shove.i turned around to a guy standing there with a hammer in the air.
    He said something to me but i couldn't hear him lol so i said what? as i took out the earphones.
    Give me money!!!!
    I said i have none and took off running.i outran the c u n t anyway.and that was it.
    The irony of it all was i was coming back from karate class :)

I was walking home one night listening to my Walkman( long time ago) and i felt a shove on my back then another shove.i turned around to a guy standing there with a hammer in the air.
    He said something to me but i couldn't hear him lol so i said what? as i took out the earphones.
    Give me money!!!!
    I said i have none and took off running.i outran the c u n t anyway.and that was it.
    The irony of it all was i was coming back from karate class :)

Id say "run away" was the first lesson they taught you tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Witchie wrote: »
    My mate from Oman was walking me back to my hotel in Bali when he was"accidentally" knocked against a guy. Realised his phone had been nicked. Drunk Irish woman (me) grabbed the mugger by the throat against the wall, squeezed his throat and said " give him back his phone or I'll f**kin kill you". He handed the phone back and we walked off.

Am a badass who will get myself killed someday by acting first thinking after.

Sounds like you should have been walking him back to his hotel.

Got jumped in Brazil by 3 vato locos,one guy had the base of a broken bottle in his hand and was milliseconds away from making swift and brutal contact with the back of my head, think overhand cricket fast bowler effort.

Anyway I turned around just in time see him,started backpedaling,shouting,throwing punches, none of which landed, next thing I tripped on the rough uneven pavement.

( anybody who's been to Brazil will probably remember the mosaic pavement,missing huge chunks sporadically, probably ripped up to utilise in the robbing of gringos)

At the point I decided for the amount of cash I had on me it just wasn't worth it and shouted "OK OK OK",put my hand in my pocket and threw about the local equivalent of 20 euro in a few mixed small bills at the ground . The vatos scooped them up and were gone so fast the even left a few small notes on the ground after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,656 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

One of my children was mugged a few years ago.
    Garda witnessed it and ran after the woman, and arrested them.

Surprise, surprise.
    There was an outstanding warrant for their arrest.

The court case followed a few months later.
    Their solicitor was all boo hoo, poor girl, would hate if anyone stole her bag your honour.
    She's had a tough life, your honour.
    She's so sorry your honour.

Sorry, despite 60+ previous convictions?
    Probation book, bye bye, waste of a morning in court watching the same old same with the previous cases.

That was over 6 years ago.
    I will never forget what she looks like, what her name is, the impact her actions had on my child, it took ages for them to regain their confidence.

She had better hope she never ever, ever, meets me again, because she'll be sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,406 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It depends on your definition of being mugged.

My friend and I were staying up in Dublin one weekend in the 90s. We went out for divorce and then got offered a bit of cannabis resin for 20 punts on O'Connell Street. Went back to to our hotel to smoke it and got happy high.

The next day my friend told me actually, we had smoked a lump of peat briquette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

I pay tax in ireland. Does that count as being mugged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Two attempted muggings, both unsuccessful.

(I seem to have attracted the most idiotic, stupidest, glass jawed, amateur muggers on both occasions)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

I was mugged by some Asian looking chaps in Toulouse France. They got nothing thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Thankfully, never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

A Roma kid attempted to pick my pocket but I stopped him, to a string of abuse from him and his asshole father who suddenly emerged (don't blame the boy - I'd say he was about seven years old).

And a lad in Dublin with his friends grabbed my phone outside TCD - then turned around and gave it back to me "coz it's shoite". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

bluewolf wrote: »
    Saw a guy trying to nick a woman's well up ahead of me before. She roared at him and fought him off and he ran off. Fair play

In fairness, if you're just walking around with a well you're asking for trouble.
    It's going to be carnage for your average well owner once the water charges come in - you won't be able to take them anywhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

lad i kno is always saying it could be worse, could be trapped in hole in the ground filled with water.
    poor lad, i know he means well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Someone managed to nick my wallet once, so I robbed a van and drove it through the front wall of the local gunstore and started piling up on weaponry. I had also nicked a shopping trolley from dunnes stores which came in dead handy for the thousands of rounds of ammunition.

Anyway, long story short, I managed to get through to general Kirby who was able to track the microchip in my wallet via spy satellites. Next stop, I stole an amphibious plane from dunlaoghaire harbour and learned to fly on the fly as I flew.

Minutes later I parachuted out of the plane onto lambay island with my weapons trolley. Managed to kill everyone on the island and threw a pipe through the chest of the pickpocket.

As I rowed off the island, naked from the ankles up, in a peal green boat I laughed and told nobody "I'll be back"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Nearly got mugged in Prague a few years back- myself and my wife boarding a metro and they tried to separate us by stopping me boarding once she got on ahead of me . That's where being 6'2" an weighting 17 stone comes in handy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Two guys attempted to but copped on what was happening because it had happened before to a friend.

Basically one guy comes up and distracts you tries to sell you something ..like a flower or key rings. Then if you take your wallet out ..bam another guy from out of nowhere will take it.

I turned and legged it.

Another time I was in the car stuck in traffic. This guy was walking down the road trying to open all the doors of the cars while they were stuck. He had some kind of a tool.

Another time a guy ran into be (as in bumped me) then asked for my purse and phone. I gave him the purse and he ran off without taking the phone. I think i was taking too long to find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Haven't been mugged, but was pick-pocketed twice, on separate trips to Spain. First time was a random one on the street in Barcelona (surprise surprise), I didn't even notice it happening. The second one I should have seen a mile coming. Incredibly hot woman started dancing extremely close to me in a club in Valencia, was pretty much all over me. Then all of a sudden, she was gone along with my camera.

Third time (and fcuking last time I visit that sh!th0le of a country), I was wise to what was about to happen and after a bit of shouting, they went away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Nearly got mugged in Prague a few years back- myself and my wife boarding a metro and they tried to separate us by stopping me boarding once she got on ahead of me . That's where being 6'2" an weighting 17 stone comes in handy :)

Same here ...only i'm tiny but hyper aware it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭corner of hells

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Two attempted muggings, both unsuccessful.

(I seem to have attracted the most idiotic, stupidest, glass jawed, amateur muggers on both occasions)

Same here , first one swung a Stanley knife at me slicing me a one cm long cut on my chin , he got such a fright that he scared himself and ran off.

Second one at a taxi rank, stood about 5 foot 4 and demanded my phone and wallet , I shoved him over and continued on my journey to the pub.
    Apparently he had tried it a few times that evening with the taxi men eventually grabbing him and calling the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,811 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

I got muggged in a football match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Haven't found anyone stupid enough to try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

LaFuton wrote: »
    lad i kno is always saying it could be worse, could be trapped in hole in the ground filled with water.
    poor lad, i know he means well.
    Was he Timmy? He's a real hero

Ya about 10 years ago in Paris when I was working there. Pissed drunk wandering around Chatelet at all hours. Young, naive and thinking I was invincible. I hated Paris after that and swore I'd never return to what I considered to be an absolute kip at the time.

I was there last weekend for the Munster match and plan on heading back again soon. I've grown up a bit :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Icbaby

Not mugged but apartment broken into, ransacked, beaten to a pulp, robbed, locked in a bathroom and separated from friend I lived with and bank account emptied after they held me in apt while another scut went and extracted the money. All while I could hear my friend screaming from another room (thought they were killing her). Happened in Portugal, moved home soon after, never ever stayed in a house on my own since (12 years ago).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Icbaby wrote: »
    Not mugged but apartment broken into, ransacked, beaten to a pulp, robbed, locked in a bathroom and separated from friend I lived with and bank account emptied after they held me in apt while another scut went and extracted the money. All while I could hear my friend screaming from another room (thought they were killing her). Happened in Portugal, moved home soon after, never ever stayed in a house on my own since (12 years ago).

Jaysus.

Truly horrific story!

Wow! You win

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Never mugged thankfully - but pickpocketed three times, once in Barcelona (does every visitor to that city tourist get pickpocketed there?), once in Rome and most recently had €100 taken off me in Corralejo in Fuerteventura a few weeks ago just after turning around from using an on-street ATM. Someone “brushed” right by me, happened super fast.

In San Francisco over 20 years ago - when I lived over there for a year - a scumbag “homie” gang type guy tried to walk right into me and knock me over on the street in a slightly dodgy part of town. He looked high on crack or something. Rather scary at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Lyan

I got mugged once. Joke was on him though, the wallet only cost me two euro.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,634 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Yeah I was mugged in lisbon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,005 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yeah a few years ago, the guy (who was from a place where Dracula was from )**** got my phone and a bit of money. Was very drunk walking home and he came out of nowhere. Reported to the police but nothing ever came of it.

Got scammed online there 2 weeks ago on a ticket I bought for an event on Facebook. They made a fake profile and convinced me they had a spare ticket they were selling and I paid them face value through PayPal and they never emailed me the ticket. They never got back to any of my messages and the morning of the event they deleted the account. got a real ticket in the end and enjoyed the show but still annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

No, never and I doubt anyone will ever try. I've been all over Europe, USA, most of South America, etc etc etc never any bother, great bunch of lads.

Twice in Australia (while drunk). Once in Hong Kong. Admittedly, I was foolish and in rather dodgy areas.

I've had some other close calls, but nothing major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

Jaysus I'm so sorry to hear that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

A lot of tough feckers on this thread, fair play.