Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I'd be mad, right? :p

I currently have a 2010 A6 3.0 TDI Quattro with just about double the mileage that I figure will have to go in the next year or so anyway as although she's running fine now, insurance and annual NCT requirements will start making it progressively harder to keep..................

I reckon you know it's a non runner really.
    10k+ to go up a year, fair enough the class above and half the mileage but in 12 months time I imagine you'll be like WTF did I do that for.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Most of the brands sell adblue at the pump but not all their filling stations sell it. Go onto their websites and they might tell you which branch near you sells it. Other than that you might have to check locally. Normally the filling stations selling it at the pump will display the price of it per litre on their display sign same as diesel, unleaded, etc.

Cheers. Maxol are the only ones with a proper search. Only shows a few which means they should be pump ones and not just bottles.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,590 ✭✭✭tossy

Someone badly parked giving out about someone badly parked, I’ve seen it all lol

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Can some tell me how Toyota can advertise that they have stopped producing diesel passenger cars when surely their deal with BMW for 2.0 diesel engines is only in its infancy or have I missed something?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

They're only supplying the engine, BMW are producing the car.
    They're technically correct as it won't have a Toyota badge, at least not one you can see easily anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Tazzimus wrote: »
    They're only supplying the engine, BMW are producing the car.
    They're technically correct as it won't have a Toyota badge, at least not one you can see easily anyway.

How does that work when BMW are supplying the engine to Toyota???

• Registered Users Posts: 73,405 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Can some tell me how Toyota can advertise that they have stopped producing diesel passenger cars when surely their deal with BMW for 2.0 diesel engines is only in its infancy or have I missed something?

Which cars are these? I thought the use of BMW diesels was a stopgap til the hybrid range was ready/old models killed off? This is finished now?

They still do diesel passenger Land Cruisers though which are fairly heavy polluters

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

How does that work when BMW are supplying the engine to Toyota???
    Sorry, meant the other way round (I'm on zero sleep)
    It's a stretching of the truth by them, but not entirely false.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Would that not have the same engine as in my own, or is it a revised version?

My older 05 A6 with the 3.0 had the chain rattle and coolant leak alright but I thought they fixed the former with the face-lift and I've had no engine issues at all with mine.

They were forever modifying it but it never really nailed it. You'd even see 2017-18 models still suffering.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,159 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Toyota's deal to fit BMW diesel engines ended about 2 years ago. The engines they used were the older N47 generation 1.6 and 2.0 engines and didn't make the newer Euro emission tests.

What Toyota passenger car comes with a diesel engine? The Landcruiser?

• Registered Users Posts: 73,405 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Augeo wrote: »
    What Toyota passenger car comes with a diesel engine? The Landcruiser?

Yep. The Hilux does too, but that’s purely a commercial vehicle (Well supposed to be anyway)

I suppose there won’t be a Berlingo Multispace equivalent produced.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

It's was a bit wild for a while alright
    https://twitter.com/finnan22/status/1216683152414072832

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

bazz26 wrote: »
    Toyota's deal to fit BMW diesel engines ended about 2 years ago. The engines they used were the older N47 generation 1.6 and 2.0 engines and didn't make the newer Euro emission tests.

Isn't the Supra full of BMW bits too? As in, lots and lots of bits? I never knew BMW supplied Toyota before.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭selectamatic

cadaliac wrote: »
    Isn't the Supra full of BMW bits too? As in, lots and lots of bits? I never knew BMW supplied Toyota before.

They did a deal in exchange for hybrid technology about 3 or 4 years ago.

cadaliac wrote: »

The Supra is a re-engineered BMW Z4.

It's a 12 year old luxobarge with massive annual depreciation and expensive running costs, it's MOT also expired a few days ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Probably pick one up here much cheaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Lads any BMW Indy recommendations around Dublin ? Have a guy who's decent but has an awful habit of putting things on the long finger, he likes to only do small bits at a time. If rather hand the car in and not get it back till it's completely done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Lads any BMW Indy recommendations around Dublin ? Have a guy who's decent but has an awful habit of putting things on the long finger, he likes to only do small bits at a time. If rather hand the car in and not get it back till it's completely done.

Motor Confidence off naas road. Top Man.

Motor Confidence near the Naas road gets good praise over on one of the BMW forums. They have a facebook page.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,224 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

MadYaker wrote: »

They always have been in the U.K. (going back at least 2 body shapes before that one) at about 6-8 years old onwards. Same for S500 etc. A feature of the market.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Regarding Motor Confidence, all I'll say is I'd much rather bring the car to Fionnsport, fair enough I'm from Cork so bringing the car to them is a convenient excuse to catch up with everyone down there, but at the same time, I don't bring a car on a 520 km round trip every time I want something done to it for the craic either.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭marcos_94

I normally use Gary at Chelmsford Motors in Ranelagh. Guy is a genius and always fits the car in. Have brought the girlfriends mini to Bloomfield motors (Mini specialists who also do BMW) and they were brilliant too

............... I don't bring a car on a 520 km round trip every time I want something done to it for the craic either.

Total non runner for 99% of folk. You are into days off work and overnight stays.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Total non runner for 99% of folk. You are into days off work and overnight stays.

People do live outside Dublin. Captainspeed has family there so makes it a trip.

I used CMC in Limerick and was happy. I also used Alpina and was far from happy. And that was after giving them a second chance after not being happy the first time. Asked for a suspension check and got an all clear. CMC found collapsed rear bushings a month later.

People do live outside Dublin.............

No doubt.
    That accepted bringing a car on a 520 km round trip for servicing etc is as I said a non runner for 99% of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

No doubt.
    That accepted bringing a car on a 520 km round trip for servicing etc is as I said a non runner for 99% of people.

Agreed but his point was he visits his family at the same time.