If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

saabsaab wrote: »
    She claimed that her body had too much electricity! Whatever that was supposed to be?

I know alot of old people that claim this.

My husbands grandad could grab on to live electric fences and not get shocked by them...either that or he had a very high pain threshold :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Monkey2019 wrote: »
    I know alot of old people that claim this.

My husbands grandad could grab on to live electric fences and not get shocked by them...either that or he had a very high pain threshold :D

I'd say calloused hands that don't conduct that well. I've met many old farmers with hands like that. Tough as old boots unlike my soft hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭lunamoon

When my son was about a year old he was upstairs in his cot having a nap. I was downstairs cleaning and noticed the calpol was missing. I had this split second day dream (nightmare?) that he had it and opened it. I went upstairs to check on him and he had an open bottle of calpol. If I had been 2 seconds later he’d have emptied it into his mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Many years ago I met a girl who claimed that any watch she wore would stop within a day or so. I asked if it happened with a digital watch too and she said it didn't matter they all stopped.

She likely wears watches on her left wrist and had a murmur/irregular heartbeat.

They are known to distort the bodies natural magnetic field and in many cases, because the heart leans slightly to the left, wearing a watch on the left wrist can cause a magnetic pull on the watch battery and essentially fry it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

I'd say calloused hands that don't conduct that well. I've met many old farmers with hands like that. Tough as old boots unlike my soft hands.

Oh that's a good point actually - never thought of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭mumo3

Had the strange sensation I'd won win on the lotto went to scan my euromilions ticket one day in the local spar and machine read "please present ticket to cashier" handed my ticket to the cashier told them what the machine said, he honestly turned to me and said "no way you must have won a really big prize" I nearly got sick with excitement and said "do you think" and he turned to me and said "no the machines broken, it has that message on it all day" and burst out laughing.... turns out I didn't win a thing!! But I did laugh, he got me good little fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

A really stupid one but today I was walking into town when I noticed an old man up ahead of me standing outside a shop. I dont know why but in my head I said to myself that he's going to ask me what time it is. As I walked past him he called after me and asked me for the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭8valve

tupenny wrote: »
    You think you heard a noise.. wow

No, I distinctly heard it. Would I have gone to the bother of relaying the tale otherwise?

Read my post again, including the big words this time...get help with them, if necessary.

Happy new year, you fu(king troll. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

mumo3 wrote: »
    Had the strange sensation I'd won win on the lotto went to scan my euromilions ticket one day in the local spar and machine read "please present ticket to cashier" handed my ticket to the cashier told them what the machine said, he honestly turned to me and said "no way you must have won a really big prize" I nearly got sick with excitement and said "do you think" and he turned to me and said "no the machines broken, it has that message on it all day" and burst out laughing.... turns out I didn't win a thing!! But I did laugh, he got me good little fecker

I would have kicked his head in.

Considering the recent news re Commemorations I thought this would be at home here too..

There is a Village I know of that is rumored to have a ghost figure that appears to some. The figure is said to be in uniform and a 'Tan' or 'Auxie' that died there and appears near a corner on the way out of the village. Not said to do a lot but stands and stares at those unlucky to see him. .he is said to disappear after a few seconds.

Local lads after a bit too much or a Garda waiting to do a checkpoint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Came home this evening from work to find my bedroom window ajar. I am certain it was closed yesterday. The only two people who live here is myself and my girlfriend and it wasn't touched. There's not a possibility it would open by itself. We live on the second floor in a building in Dublin, with no way to climb in from the outside bar a ladder.

Wouldn't mind but my girlfriend said her house keys have gone missing since just after Christmas and she can't find them. If you don't see me online tomorrow, you'll know what happened!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

I live in my own, nobody else has keys to house as I've recently changed locks...only moved in in november.
    Came home the other evening and the rug in front room was folded over on itself.....definately wasn't like that when I left.
    No idea what happened, no windows left open, no fireplace and the door to room was closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Considering the recent news re Commemorations I thought this would be at home here too..

There is a Village I know of that is rumored to have a ghost figure that appears to some. The figure is said to be in uniform and a 'Tan' or 'Auxie' that died there and appears near a corner on the way out of the village. Not said to do a lot but stands and stares at those unlucky to see him. .he is said to disappear after a few seconds.

Is that a mid lands village.

Came home this evening from work to find my bedroom window ajar. I am certain it was closed yesterday. The only two people who live here is myself and my girlfriend and it wasn't touched. There's not a possibility it would open by itself. We live on the second floor in a building in Dublin, with no way to climb in from the outside bar a ladder.

Wouldn't mind but my girlfriend said her house keys have gone missing since just after Christmas and she can't find them. If you don't see me online tomorrow, you'll know what happened!

If it were me, I'd be changing the locks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

368100 wrote: »
    I live in my own, nobody else has keys to house as I've recently changed locks...only moved in in november.
    Came home the other evening and the rug in front room was folded over on itself.....definately wasn't like that when I left.
    No idea what happened, no windows left open, no fireplace and the door to room was closed

The both of you should buy a Neos camera on Amazon for twenty quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Probably just Charlie Flanagan trying on his new clobber.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,793 ✭✭✭✭maccored

On night last November I got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom. As i approached it, the door was about halfway open and I could see a soft glow reflecting on the wall. When I got to the door and opened it fully, the glow was gone and the bathroom pitch dark. Theres a small window, but with trees outside so you cant see the sky or the moon. no idea what it was though my girlfriend, when staying a few weeks earlier, saw much the same thing. I didnt get up thinking I wanted to see what she saw - I got up because I wanted a piss and what she had told me wasn't in my brain at all.

Is that a mid lands village.

No, not this Ghost. The Village is in Co Clare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

razorblunt wrote: »
    The both of you should buy a Neos camera on Amazon for twenty quid.

Thanks! I wasn't even aware of that brand...have a ring doorbell that works with alexa but their other cameras are very expensive so this is a great option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

No, not this Ghost. The Village is in Co Clare.

which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭CPTM

Mam passed away just after I turned 18. She had just given me a birthday card which wasn't really a birthday card aside from the message she wrote inside. The front had a picture of a white owl sitting on the branch of a tree.

Dad started dating someone a few years later. For my 21st, she gave me a card which had the same picture of that white owl on the branch. It read: "I'm sure your mother will find her own way of telling you just how proud she is of you today". I didn't realise the coincidence at the time. Only when we were moving house and I was clearing out my drawer of memory stuff did I see the two of them. Weirdest thing that's happened me so far anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

CPTM wrote: »
    Mam passed away just after I turned 18. She had just given me a birthday card which wasn't really a birthday card aside from the message she wrote inside. The front had a picture of a white owl sitting on the branch of a tree.

Dad started dating someone a few years later. For my 21st, she gave me a card which had the same picture of that white owl on the branch. It read: "I'm sure your mother will find her own way of telling you just how proud she is of you today". I didn't realise the coincidence at the time. Only when we were moving house and I was clearing out my drawer of memory stuff did I see the two of them. Weirdest thing that's happened me so far anyways.

Genuinely unnerving.
    Is that lady still in your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,116 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

2 different women bought a random card with an owl on the front as a birthday card.

And for your 2 significant birthdays too.

I'm not buying this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭CPTM

Genuinely unnerving.
    Is that lady still in your life?

Yes they've been married now for almost 10 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

NIMAN wrote: »
    2 different women bought a random card with an owl on the front as a birthday card.

And for your 2 significant birthdays too.

I'm not buying this story.

No hard feelings, but I've noticed you don't seem to buy many stories. Telling us you don't buy the story doesn't add anything to the story (or thread). You seem to pop up in the psychic forums just to tell people that none of it is real too.

Maybe just leave the person with the thought that their dear mom is messaging from beyond the grave and if the truth is that it's a coincidence, or they're making it up, well it's no harm done really. We're never going to know anyway.

On topic, one night I wrote a song about the Kray twins. Next morning I was startled awake by what sounded like a rough, gangster voice. No one was there. I don't live near people. I suppose it was my unconscious. I'm sure they both have better things to do. Mind you, it was a **** song.

Other strange things have happened to me. Not gonna reveal them right now-I'll leave you all in gripping suspense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

got caught putting my finger in a cake at work, not my own native fingies but one of my collection i carry in my pocket for keypads :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,405 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Sheridan81 wrote: »
    No hard feelings, but I've noticed you don't seem to buy many stories. Telling us you don't buy the story doesn't add anything to the story (or thread). You seem to pop up in the psychic forums just to tell people that none of it is real too.

Maybe just leave the person with the thought that their dear mom is messaging from beyond the grave and if the truth is that it's a coincidence, or they're making it up, well it's no harm done really. We're never going to know anyway.

There is absolutely no harm in believing things on an individual basis, it can provide comfort to people.

However 'psychics' should be called out at every available possibility as they are nothing short of charlatans that can cause real damage to peoples lives and their mental states with their lies and cons. It is absolutely undeniable that it's all complete rubbish.

Anything on an individual basis is fine but when you start to effect other people's lives you should absolutely be called out on it.

As for this thread, although I don't believe in anything paranormal I really enjoy reading it and long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I was like that when I was younger. ie ordinary wrist watches. Even the ones that you wind up.
    NB not worn a watch for decades so no idea if it is still so,

The reason was yes too much electricity; same as when I brushed my long hair sparks would fly,

I just googled and yes it is valid, Sorry cannot post links from this machine but google " why wrist watches stop working on some people" . Explains it perfectly

She claimed that her body had too much electricity! Whatever that was supposed to be?

Graces7 wrote: »
    I was like that when I was younger. ie ordinary wrist watches. Even the ones that you wind up.
    NB not worn a watch for decades so no idea if it is still so,

The reason was yes too much electricity; same as when I brushed my long hair sparks would fly,

I just googled and yes it is valid, Sorry cannot post links from this machine but google " why wrist watches stop working on some people" . Explains it perfectly

Did a quick google but didn't see any scientific explanation? It did say that this 'explanation' dated from the 19th century as an excuse for bad watch repair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,050 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Feck you anyway lads. I was reading this thread and thought I could hear a noise in the house. Checked the dog and she was panned out in the kitchen.
    Still could hear noises occasionally upstairs but knew that there couldn't be a snowballs chance in hell that there was someone up there.
    Anyway I sat down in the living room and within minutes I could hear noises upstairs again.
    Feck this I says I'm going up. Checked my daughter's rooms and all ok. Bathroom was fine. Walked into the spare room and there was the reason for the noise....a bird flying around the room!!
    I had left open the attic hatch and it obviously had got in through the roof and made it's way into the spare room.
    I opened the windows and chased it out...after it had shìt all over the quilt!!