If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Things you just "don't get"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

Seamai wrote: »
    I've been on holidays in Italy several times in the last few years, I'm not the trendiest dresser but I find the selection of casual clothes for middle aged men in Cork woeful so when I'm abroad I usually take a look around, for the last 10 years or more the trend has been to cut clothes very tightly which flatters few. In Italy it tends to be even more extreme with guys in their 60's stitched into suits and bare ankles. I can't even get into a trousers that they class "relaxed" or "casual" fit.
    Very true. We were on holiday in Florence a couple of years ago and staying on the main shopping street with all the really high end shops. We used to laugh at the men's outfits they were ridiculous. Like a lot of what models show on the catwalks couldn't possibly be worn in normal life. I remember one men's outfit in particular, it was skintight pink trousers that ended above the ankles with a bizarre top and a straw boater hat. It didn't have a price tag, none of the shops on that street showed price tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Very true. We were on holiday in Florence a couple of years ago and staying on the main shopping street with all the really high end shops. We used to laugh at the men's outfits they were ridiculous. Like a lot of what models show on the catwalks couldn't possibly be worn in normal life. I remember one men's outfit in particular, it was skintight pink trousers that ended above the ankles with a bizarre top and a straw boater hat. It didn't have a price tag, none of the shops on that street showed price tags.

Must've been the same street where Philly went shopping for his wedding suit

h-Lacey-Wedding-001.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

I actually don't get gambling. Even the Lotto. Like I have ten euro and I could risk not having that ten euro anymore for a load more money? I'd rather just have my ten euro.

That said I have bet on sporting events twice and played the Lotto a handful of times. I once won 9 euro. But probably spent about 100 over the years for that return. I just don't understand it at all.
    It's good for fun, not financial gain.

I usually bet on the world cup and sometimes the euros. This makes me take an interest in trying to pick a winner, and then being invested in their progress. It makes it much more fun to watch. I've done well enough too, won lots of money when Greece won. Won smaller amounts backing Germany and maybe the Netherlands.

So I get betting on sporting events where you can base your choice on an opinion/inaight and not just an arbitrary guess. The lotto is silly though alright, just about fantasy really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

^^^ Wedding suit: facepalm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,467 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

boombang wrote: »
    ^^^ Wedding suit: facepalm.

Seriously disgusting suit alright. Gonna feel like a right twat in 20 years when his kids are laughing at the state of him. Is he someone famous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Seriously disgusting suit alright. Gonna feel like a right twat in 20 years when his kids are laughing at the state of him. Is he someone famous?

she should have ran when she saw him dressed like that in the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,157 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

pgj2015 wrote: »
    she should have ran when she saw him dressed like that in the church.

She'd trip over that net curtain she's wearing.

The suit is like something you'd wear for a bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

Who is he ? Her dress is stunning and he looks like a right eejit beside her . His jacket is too tight and as far as I can see he is wearing black shoes with a navy jacket .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Is that yer one out of Love Island?

Must've been the same street where Philly went shopping for his wedding suit

h-Lacey-Wedding-001.jpg
    :eek: It looks like it shrank in the wash, not sure which is worse, the trouser length or the phone wedged into his pocket. Then again, her dress is awful too.

She'd trip over that net curtain she's wearing.

The suit is like something you'd wear for a bet.
    I pity her father, no man should have to see that much of his daughters cleavage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Marty Xavier

who the **** is that guy would anyone care to share ffs biaches

I don't know who either of them are, but it looks like their kids are going to be all teeth and nose.

:D:D:D harsh but did LOL

Dunno, if most are taking the piss not knowing but its Philly McMahon, Dublin team. Decent fella by all accounts but clearly notions get the better of some of us.

Thing about all that kind of skinny pant ankle getup is that some very few can pull it off and look well, most can't, me being one. Big chunky white ankles in the middle of winter in Ireland rules you out immediately, or to narrow it down, being Irish in general. Some few semi-anorexic bronzed Fabio off the beaches of Taormina can perhaps in the right setting. The f*cking undersized velvet morning coat blazer type of thing...nah.

It's probably been said already, but I don't get the appeal of Ed Sheeran. Music that is bland and cliched from a guy that without his fame and money, most females wouldn't look twice at. Goes over my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,345 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Thing about all that kind of skinny pant ankle getup is that some very few can pull it off and look well, most can't, me being one. Big chunky white ankles in the middle of winter in Ireland rules you out immediately, or to narrow it down, being Irish in general.

I think that's part of the problem.
    If he was going for wedding in a sunny destination he might be able to get away with the look.
    However if it's a wet Winter wedding in Ireland chances are you won't be able to pull it off.

I know of this guy and he runs a men clothes shop. Does lots of wedding and some suits are made to measure.
    For the grooms sake and for his business he likes people looking their best. He's to deal with guys now who think they are fashionable but they simple can't pull off certain looks and there no talking to them.
    People of course should wear what they want, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

The dress is a bit to tarty for a wedding, not classy. Not only are his trousers to tight, his jacket is also, look at the creases around his elbow, they're in it together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I don't get the stress of Christmas. If you find I of the best times of years stressfulz what hope have you got. My sister was all worked up running around buying presents. In one way it's so generous of her and I get it but it just ruins the fun of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Sorry ladies, I know I'm going to offend a lot of ye but what's the story with leopard print? Why are you all drawn to it at the moment? It's beyond hideous, and makes you look like a sex worker (I'm being way too polite here). Doesn't matter how expensive the item is, it always looks cheap and nasty.

:D:D:D harsh but did LOL

Dunno, if most are taking the piss not knowing but its Philly McMahon, Dublin team. Decent fella by all accounts but clearly notions get the better of some of us.

Thing about all that kind of skinny pant ankle getup is that some very few can pull it off and look well, most can't, me being one. Big chunky white ankles in the middle of winter in Ireland rules you out immediately, or to narrow it down, being Irish in general. Some few semi-anorexic bronzed Fabio off the beaches of Taormina can perhaps in the right setting. The f*cking undersized velvet morning coat blazer type of thing...nah.
    I genuinely have no idea who either of them are. What he's wearing looks awful and it would look awful on some 6 foot tall bronze lithe Adonis. Her dress reminds me of one of those toilet roll covers some people used to put over the spare loo roll in the bathroom. I shouldn't make personal remarks about their appearance though. You'd wonder how she or the people around him wouldn't have pointed out how awful his outfit was when he was thinking of buying it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Who is he ? Her dress is stunning and he looks like a right eejit beside her . His jacket is too tight and as far as I can see he is wearing black shoes with a navy jacket .

Her dress is ridiculous for jaysis sake.
    I've no idea who either of them are also.

Casey78 wrote: »

I like her dress for jaysus sake !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Jeggins if I've spelled it correctly. Looked horrendous on 9/10 women, makes women arses look bigger than mine. Ah woman literally has to have the perfect bum for them to look good. I'll be prob slated for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Letwin_Larry

The GAA.

i could never get excited by a bunch of fellas up the road playing another bunch of fellas further down the road, in what is an overrated game lacking in skill, where the rules seem to change every 6 months.

and then all the attendant 'rivalry' that goes with it. sorry but i literally would not cross the road to see it.

The GAA.

i could never get excited by a bunch of fellas up the road playing another bunch of fellas further down the road, in what is an overrated game lacking in skill, where the rules seem to change every 6 months.

and then all the attendant 'rivalry' that goes with it. sorry but i literally would not cross the road to see it.

wild guess here, rugby fan?

I genuinely have no idea who either of them are. What he's wearing looks awful and it would look awful on some 6 foot tall bronze lithe Adonis.
    Casey78 wrote: »

I mentioned no less than two previous posts who he was. Granted, he looks like an absolute c*nt in that picture but the 'who is he' stuff is fairly used at this stage. I've no idea who yer one is other than his wife but...

Anyone who has had the slightest bit of exposure to Irish sporting matters or current affairs, whether they have had zero to little interest in that sport would know exactly who Philly McMahon is. If you don't know who he is put that down to your own ignorance, or in reality just talking a load of bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

The resurgence of West Britism across the country. Fed by revisionists and supposed sportspeople promoting a political ideology. And our old friends in the IT and RTE. The ideology that says British army should be remembered as “participants” in the 1916 commemorations. Barking mad lunacy upheld by groupthink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

If you don't know who he is put that down to your own ignorance, or in reality just talking a load of bollocks.

I had no idea who he was until I googled him just now.
    Ignorant no more :-)

I mentioned no less than two previous posts who he was. Granted, he looks like an absolute c*nt in that picture but the 'who is he' stuff is fairly used at this stage. I've no idea who yer one is other than his wife but...

Anyone who has had the slightest bit of exposure to Irish sporting matters or current affairs, whether they have had zero to little interest in that sport would know exactly who Philly McMahon is. If you don't know who he is put that down to your own ignorance, or in reality just talking a load of bollocks.

Actually I had absolutely no idea who he is and am far from ignorant . Don’t presume we all have the same interest or indeed the same memory as you do
    No need to get yourself all worked up because some of didn’t know Philly whatever his name is

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

You seem very upset that people don't know who he is, in keeping with the thread title I don't get that.