Finished drinking vodka at 5am. Can I drive now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Where would one acquire one of these? Asking for a friend......

(and how do you actually know they're properly calibrated?)

I also bought a tester in Halfords last year. Used it about a month ago when I'd had 7 pints the night before work. I did start drinking early, around 7 and finished at 12. I tested myself the next morning and there was next to nothing in my system. Left my house at 9.15, heading to work and was stopped and bagged just outside Monasterevin at 9.30. Passed and waved on. I can't see how they could sell something that doesn't work. You do need to look after them though.

Of course there are numerous variables as to how over or under the limit you may be the next morning. I've had 2 pints of lager and used it and it showed .03 which is below the legal limit. My gf used it once after 2 pints of cider, the same, .03 and she wouldn't be a big drinker like some people :)

Don't put someone's family at risk of experiencing tragedy, especially this close before Xmas.

Yeah, do it in the New Year or maybe even hold off til February, kill everyone then. Much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

antix80 wrote: »
    No, but monster can dilute it. Brekkie roll soaks up alcohol still in the stomach.

You CANNOT dilute it.

All extra food does (assuming you eat BEFORE you drink) is make you keep getting drunk for longer, slowing down the absorption. It will still be absorbed.

Puking it out will only work if you do it in the first few minutes or so after drinking (what would be the point in drinking it in the first place?). It's liquid and enters the bloodstream very rapidly.

This is science. Fact. That a breakfast roll makes you feel better does not make it stop being a fact.

bubblypop wrote: »
    When you know you have to drive the next day, You can go out, not drink or stop drinking early.

Where’s the fun in that? Relaxing the very over the top limit would be a far better solution even the old limit which is common in many counties would be much better.

Maybe, in your case, learning to have fun without alcohol maybe an even better solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Don't understand the logic of thinking you're unlikely to be stopped. If you even tip another car then the guards will likely be on the scene regardless. You might think your able to control the car but you have no control over other drivers. Even if you're not at fault you'll be screwed. Anyway you're likely over the limit so you shouldn't drive for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

nthclare wrote: »

Supposedly Kilkenny is the worst place to drive home from on a Sunday morning.

There was a checkpoint on the link road to the motorway last Sunday, passed through it around 12 midday, the Gardai were walking a lad across the road to the squad car, four passengers still sitting in his car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

There was a checkpoint on the link road to the motorway last Sunday, passed through it around 12 midday, the Gardai were walking a lad across the road to the squad car, four passengers still sitting in his car.

He'll probably be off the road for a year or two then have to get taxis every morning to work and his freedom curtailed.
    If he has a family who rely on his ability to drive them around now and again, that's gone too.

No doubt the rest of his palls in the car will be fighting about who's going to be the first man to bring him to work every morning and take him home.

Will they feck

I know a few lads who drove home from KK after a major session last weekend luckily for them it was Saturday morning and not Sunday going by the above.
    nthclare wrote: »
    He'll probably be off the road for a year or two then have to get taxis every morning to work and his freedom curtailed.
    If he has a family who rely on his ability to drive them around now and again, that's gone too.

No doubt the rest of his palls in the car will be fighting about who's going to be the first man to bring him to work every morning and take him home.

Will they feck

He might pass in the station. I’ve seen on two occasions at least friends fail and the side of the road and pass in the station after, sound guards giving the max time they could before the test etc helps too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

He might pass in the station. I’ve seen on two occasions at least friends fail and the side of the road and pass in the station after, sound guards giving the max time they could before the test etc helps too.

I'd genuinely hope this isn't the case. Any garda doing this is endangering other road users. I'd class them as incompetent, not sound.

There's no excuse for drinking and driving. Do one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,813 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

If ever in doubt about being over the limit walk to the nearest garda station if possible, explain situation and ask to be breathalysed.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I'd genuinely hope this isn't the case. Any garda doing this is endangering other road users. I'd class them as incompetent, not sound.

There's no excuse for drinking and driving. Do one or the other.

Thankfully it is the case, there are some sound guards out there with a bit of sense who know well bagging in the morning is a joke interfering in people going about their business and want to do their best to not do anyone.

Another example would be our local guards would always give at least one warning to someone over the limit before doing them, in fact it’s very very rare for the local guards to bag anyone as it turns the town against them.

It’s guards out from the city who do the odd bit of bagging around the area and always in the same spot. Another guard who was coming out bagging too regularly caused uproar and pressure from numerous people meant he was “moved on”.

Thankfully it is the case, there are some sound guards out there with a bit of sense who know well bagging in the morning is a joke interfering in people going about their business and want to do their best to not do anyone.

Our local guards would always give at least one warning to someone over the limit before doing them for instance too, in fact it’s very very rare for the local guards to bag anyone as it turns the town against them.

It’s guards out from the city who do the odd bit of bagging around the area and always in the same spot.

Doesn't happen.

What doesn’t happen?

Well, you made two claims, firstly if the guard breathalyses someone & they are over, the guard just gives them a warning.
    Secondly, your local guards don't breathalyse anyone at all, some other guards do it.
    So, something is wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Yeh ive been stopped in Kilkenny on the Dublin road a few times. Best avoid it amd heading cross country until Gowran. Hit the motorway there.

I hate people with this attitude. You don’t give a **** about the danger to other people, only about you not getting caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭opfleet

If ever in doubt about being over the limit walk to the nearest garda station if possible, explain situation and ask to be breathalysed.

You can't do that. Every test has to be accounted for. They can only test if at a MIT, drivers involved in a RTC, or if the Garda belives the driver has alchohol consumed. If any Tom, Dick or Harry just rocks up at the station, they will be told where to go.

Well, you made two claims, firstly if the guard breathalyses someone & they are over, the guard just gives them a warning.
    Secondly, your local guards don't breathalyse anyone at all, some other guards do it.
    So, something is wrong

They would know someone has drink on them without bagging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I cant believe anyone would actually do this? What a waste of garda resources. Like they've nothing better to be doing?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

There should be an uber thing where you can hire someone to drive your car with you in to where you need to be.

Another guard who was coming out bagging too regularly caused uproar and pressure from numerous people meant he was “moved on”.

More rubbish from you!

There should be an uber thing where you can hire someone to drive your car with you in to where you need to be.

When I lived in london I'd see ads for a service where they come to where you are on a scooter, then drive you home in your car. The scooter would fold up into the boot and then they'd ride that back to wherever after dropping you off. Seemed like a good idea, dont know if its still around though

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    When I lived in london I'd see ads for a service where they come to where you are on a scooter, then drive you home in your car. The scooter would fold up into the boot and then they'd ride that back to wherever after dropping you off. Seemed like a good idea, dont know if its still around though

I remember they doing it as a joke piece on Top Gear too, but did mention that it was a real thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Think it started in Germany. Must be at least 15 years since I first heard of it. Great idea, especially with the newer battery operated ones you’d think it would be flying. Wouldn’t be surprised if it was insurance red tape of the scooter lad driving your car getting in the way of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,813 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I cant believe anyone would actually do this? What a waste of garda resources. Like they've nothing better to be doing?

Yeah probably too busy writing up 1 million phantom alcohol tests ;)

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

More rubbish from you!

It’s absolute fact, you appear to live a fairly sheltered life if you think this sort of stuff doesn’t happen particularly in rural areas.

Lol, you are very naive if you think Gardai get 'moved on' for actually doing their job!
    He either get a new job, or promoted or a transfer, all of which he looked for himself. He did not get moved on for doing his job.
    And whoever told ya that is trying to keep ya happy, wink wink

And FYI I'm from a rural area.

Edit, also, individual Gardai do not have discretion when they 'bag' someone, it is written in law, & they do not decide themselves.

Think it started in Germany. Must be at least 15 years since I first heard of it. Great idea, especially with the newer battery operated ones you’d think it would be flying. Wouldn’t be surprised if it was insurance red tape of the scooter lad driving your car getting in the way of it.

It only really works in cities and probably only within relatively short distances. The people who brought a car in the first place probably live too far away to use it.

They've a thing here as well called tipsy tow offered on nights like new years eve and paddy's day. They tow your car and drive you for free within a 10 mile radius. I'd say you'd be waiting ages for it to arrive though. Best off just getting an uber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭The Undecided One

Waste of resources??? Are you for real??? So it’s better to have people guess if they are still intoxicated rather than go to a garda station and get properly checked over?

It takes a few minutes for a test, road side tests are done in about a minute with a portable brethalizer, while clearing up a RTC takes hours and WAY more resources.

Think this through again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

As an aside, here’s a story which is particularly harsh. Pal of mine got done on a stag...about two hours after getting there. Got there about three pm on a Saturday and he parked in a pay and display area. He had three pints and was told by one of them lads that it was pay and display and should move it. He tried to move it about 50 feet around a corner to non pay and display, what he didn’t realise was that it was a one way street and he entered it, squad car going by at the time. Stopped, questioned, bang of beer, breathalysed, game over. Got the full ban, judge didn’t want to know about it. Had a serious impact on his life and job.