Finished drinking vodka at 5am. Can I drive now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Bought a decent calibrated tester a number of months ago. I was pleasantly surprised of how much I could drink without putting me over.
    Where would one acquire one of these? Asking for a friend......

(and how do you actually know they're properly calibrated?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

For all the posters giving out about people being on moral high horses, I have a question.

Do you condone driving while over the legal alcohol limit?
    Yes?
    No?

No. But we simply dont know if the OP was over the limit.

I'll say it again. The majority of us have drove the day after a heavy session not knowing if we are in a fit condition. Thats where the big mac comes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭antix80

10fathoms wrote: »
    Tool

You realise the op's trolling, right? It's basically MLM trolling at this stage where other people are also trolling, further contributing to the op's returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Once you get undressed and into bed you’re fine and can get dressed and then drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Where would one acquire one of these? Asking for a friend......

(and how do you actually know they're properly calibrated?)

Got it in Halfords, was around €120 I think and had a cert with it. There could be a discrepancy between mine and a cops but it's a good guide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭antix80

Once you get undressed and into bed you’re fine and can get dressed and then drive

I find a few sips from a pint of ice water, followed by a short rest with your head on the bar is usually sufficient to get you home, assuming it's a straight run and there aren't too many traffic lights. Just make sure not to put on your headlights so the guards don't see you. You're grand to drive but might fail the breathyliser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Weltsmertz

Biggest issue with driving a long distance after a heavy nights drinking is tiredness. OP may or may not be over but chance of nodding off for a few seconds and crashing would be high enough on an hour's drive.
    If an option would find a quiet spot and have a few hours sleep in the car.

For all the posters giving out about people being on moral high horses, I have a question.

Do you condone driving while over the legal alcohol limit?
    Yes?
    No?

I believe the limit is too low. There should be a limit over which I would oh condone driving over but our limit is stupidly low.

You would have to laugh at people claiming they never drive the morning after a heavy night, it’s totally impractical for most people not to drive the next day be it going to work, going to get food, going home after a night out away etc etc,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

No. But we simply dont know if the OP was over the limit.

I'll say it again. The majority of us have drove the day after a heavy session not knowing if we are in a fit condition. Thats where the big mac comes in.

True and that's why I bought a decent tester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Actually, seems most people here have some morals and ethics.
    For those who don't care and do it anyways, they're the reason drunk driving incidents happen. Disgusting.

Thanks for the multi quote. Helps with the ignore list

It's common enough. Was at a wedding recently. A fewf people checking out and driving longish distances at 1pm had been in the residents bar till 4:00am -6:00am

True and that's why I bought a decent tester.

Subsidised ones would be a great idea if it even saved one life or prevented serious injury. Maybe the VFI could be convinced to get onboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Not one for drink driving myself father, but thought this was fitting..

b]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

In the morning, it is most likely that there is no alcohol in your stomach. The alcohol is in your bloodstream.
    What do you think food is going to do?
    How will it affect the alcohol in the bloodstream?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Sleep will get you. I was driving back from Dublin with my friend who was driving he literally fell asleep at the wheel next thing the car slides left and only a guard rail saved us from going off a side bank. We had a heavy session up there he only had a few hours sleep. Funny back then in reality could have been a nasty accident.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

antix80 wrote: »
    Usually if you explain to the guards you had a few hours sleep and feel grand, they'll make an exception particularly for xmas parties. They're decent enough like that.
    Years ago a coach on the way home from a work do go stopped at checkpoint. The lads gave abuse to guards because "ya can't touch us"

Next day the guards setup a checkpoint close to where they worked. Got loads of them.

I believe the limit is too low. There should be a limit over which I would oh condone driving over but our limit is stupidly low.

You would have to laugh at people claiming they never drive the morning after a heavy night, it’s totally impractical for most people not to drive the next day be it going to work, going to get food, going home after a night out away etc etc,

You do no-one forces you to drunk alcohol? And definitely no-one forces you to drink it until very late?
    When you know you have to drive the next day, You can go out, not drink or stop drinking early.

bubblypop wrote: »
    You do no-one forces you to drunk alcohol? And definitely no-one forces you to drink it until very late?
    When you know you have to drive the next day, You can go out, not drink or stop drinking early.

The voice of reason. Have you ever been to a wedding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Yester

If you remove a pint of blood before you start drinking and then inject it back in the following morning, it will dilute the alcohol in your bloodstream and you will be safe to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,813 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Problem for weddings is that everyone ends up in the residents bar until the early hours then in the morning the hotel wants you out by midday.

Best then to go for a walk if it's not raining or sit in the car but lots of people will just start up and chance it.

Tiredness and lack of sleep can be much more dangerous than being slightly over the limit.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Problem for weddings is that everyone ends up in the residents bar until the early hours then in the morning the hotel wants you out by midday.

Best then to go for a walk if it's not raining or sit in the car but lots of people will just start up and chance it.

The cops love putting checkpoints close to one they know there’s been a wedding in too. But then again, anyone that’s caught only has one person to blame and it’s not the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,813 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

The cops love putting checkpoints close to one they know there’s been a wedding in too. But then again, anyone that’s caught only has one person to blame and it’s not the Gardaí.

Yeah and you'll generally find a checkpoint outside a town notorious for stag and hen parties. Like catching fish in a barrel.

I've heard that the hotels and pubs in Carrickonshannon came together to stop the gards setting up early morning checkpoints as it was giving the town a bad name and affecting business. Apparently according to a local publican early checkpoints are no longer a problem!!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I will never, ever understand why many people find this in some way sneaky or underhand.
    Putting a checkpoint where you suspect people will be driving over the alcohol limit just makes sense if you want to enforce drink driving.

Weltsmertz wrote: »
    The voice of reason. Have you ever been to a wedding?

i have. why?

I will never, ever understand why many people find this in some way sneaky or underhand.
    Putting a checkpoint where you suspect people will be driving over the alcohol limit just makes sense if you want to enforce drink driving.

Exactly. It just makes the person driving over the limit after a wedding even more stupid.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

We've all drove the morning after a heavy night. No need for the moral high horse brigade.

I haven't.

I haven't.

Ye ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

Its like this adults are responsible for their own decisions actions.
    If you want to go out and get hammered and drink a day's wages because its your thing fire away.

If you're stupid enough to get caught over the limit, you'll be even more stupid if you try to defend yourself.

Just wait it out, have a big dinner and drink plenty of tea or water.

It might be boring hanging around until its out of your system, but that far outweighs lengthy time off the road and your freedom to go where you like when you likegone over a piss up.

Supposedly Kilkenny is the worst place to drive home from on a Sunday morning.

nthclare wrote: »
    Its like this adults are responsible for their own decisions actions.
    If you want to go out and get hammered and drink a day's wages because its your thing fire away.

If you're stupid enough to get caught over the limit, you'll be even more stupid if you try to defend yourself.

Just wait it out, have a big dinner and drink plenty of tea or water.

It might be boring hanging around until its out of your system, but that far outweighs lengthy time off the road and your freedom to go where you like when you like.

Supposedly Kilkenny is the worst place to drive home from on a Sunday morning.

Yeh ive been stopped in Kilkenny on the Dublin road a few times. Best avoid it amd heading cross country until Gowran. Hit the motorway there.