Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finished drinking vodka at 5am. Can I drive now?

• 14-12-2019 12:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Waternotsoda

Had Xmas party last night. I was drinking vodka until 5am. I am now in hotel lobby 12.10pm wondering if its safe for me to get behind the wheel of a car. I need to drive for an hour. Feel OK but guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

It's an hour for every drink so depends on how much you drank.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Absolutely not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Had Xmas party last night. I was drinking vodka until 5am. I am now in hotel lobby 12.10pm wondering if its safe for me to get behind the wheel of a car. I need to drive for an hour. Feel OK but guards.

Not apt username.

OP, give it a few more hours. If you're questioning, then you're at risk. And as a result, others are at risk if you drive.

Don't put someone's family at risk of experiencing tragedy, especially this close before Xmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Is the guard wearing a hat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Chances of being stopped are minimal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Probably not. Depends on how much you drunk and what time you started at. As mentioned, the body can only get rid of 1 unit an hour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

Do not feed the troll.

It's an hour for every drink so depends on how much you drank.

Incorrect, an hour for every unit. A 35ml measure of vodka is 1.4 units for example. A pint of 4.0% beer is 2.2 units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Get two Curry’s into you and drink a liter of 7up and liter of Diet Pepsi before you attempt the drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Waternotsoda

I drank a full bottle of white wine before 1am. I then switched to vodka 7up. I probably had between 5 and 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

I wouldn't think its ok from an alcohol level or that you would be a safe driver.
    You would be a danger to yourself and others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

book another night in the hotel

into to bar for a few pints and spend the rest of the day relaxing in the room

don't go near the car not worth the fallout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

I drank a full bottle of white wine before 1am. I then switched to vodka 7up. I probably had between 5 and 7.

That's about 9 units up until 1am and then a handful more until 5am.

I wouldn't drive for another few hours yet. Get some food and rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

Usually if you explain to the guards you had a few hours sleep and feel grand, they'll make an exception particularly for xmas parties. They're decent enough like that. It's not like you had vodka in your orange juice at breakfast time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Mulbert

Depends on what type of car you drive op.

9 units for the wine and 10 for the seven vodkas. You'd need to have started drinking at about 4pm yesterday to be clear at noon today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Get one of those disposable alco breath test things. You can get them in a lot of petrol stations now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,868 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Seems people here don’t go to weddings!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It’s not the guards you should be afraid of, it’s hitting some poor unfortunate driver or pedestrian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

Drink 2 litres of orange juice , a large packet of prunes , a large packet of dried apricots and a big bag of peanuts quickly. That'll get the vodka out.

You still wont need able to drive though cause you're over the limit and you wont be able to leave the toilet seat.

Does that legitimise driving while over the limit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

We've all drove the morning after a heavy night. No need for the moral high horse brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

You're on boards AH asking is it ok to drive?
    Not only must you be still pissed but surely you're off your head on drugs as well!

Liverpool match about to kick off op. Sit down and watch it over a sandwhich and an orange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

If you are in walking distance of a pharmacy, go and buy a breathlyser. Then you can be sure. I think you can also buy disposable ones for a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rtron

How hungover are you op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

So maybe 15 units over the past 12-15 hours, no chance that's all been processed away. I'm in a similar boat here, was drinking until 0330, and while I'm feeling grand I know I'm not, which is annoying as I have stuff to do. I'd have some lunch and a nice walk, leave the car where it is 'til tea time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

CFlat wrote: »
    If you are in walking distance of a pharmacy, go and buy a breathlyser. Then you can be sure.
    I think you can also buy disposable ones for a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Does that legitimise driving while over the limit?

I'd say you have a step ladder to get up onto that horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

We've all drove the morning after a heavy night. No need for the moral high horse brigade.

Actually, seems most people here have some morals and ethics.
    For those who don't care and do it anyways, they're the reason drunk driving incidents happen. Disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

Have a line of coke before you drive. That will keep you alert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

I can safely say I haven't.

Actually, seems most people here have some morals and ethics.
    For those who don't care and do it anyways, they're the reason drunk driving incidents happen. Disgusting.

I wonder how many accidents involving more than one person are caused by drink taken from the night before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

you may feel like you are safe to drive BUT there are a lot of very bad drivers out there, especially at this time of year, people are day dreaming about christmas and stressed out about buying some present for their kids, these are the sort of idiots who will crash into you. someone did exactly that to me lately, guess what happened. the guards breathalyzed both of us, i was ok as i hadnt drank in weeks but you will fail the test if something similar happens you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭4JAKE

You should be ok to drive Tuesday or Wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

BDI wrote: »
    I wonder how many accidents involving more than one person are caused by drink taken from the night before?

A huge number i was told by a guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

Ok captain edgelord

I make no apologies for detesting drink drivers.
    One put my two children in hospital a week before Christmas some years back and another ran me over, so all I say is Fcuk drink drivers, Fcuk their license, Crush their Fcuking cars and ban them forever.
    The horse isn't high enough on this subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Liamalone wrote: »
    Incorrect, an hour for every unit.

It depends on several other factors: body mass, age, ability to metabolise alcohol.

The question, as posed, is unanswerable.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    It depends on several other factors: body mass, age, ability to metabolise alcohol.

The question, as posed, is unanswerable.

Very true, it's only a guideline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

pgj2015 wrote: »
    you may feel like you are safe to drive BUT there are a lot of very bad drivers out there, especially at this time of year, people are day dreaming about christmas and stressed out about buying some present for their kids, these are the sort of idiots who will crash into you. someone did exactly that to me lately, guess what happened. the guards breathalyzed both of us, i was ok as i hadnt drank in weeks but you will fail the test if something similar happens you.

Other idiots may be thinking of problems at work, Liverpool football club, or the price of bacon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Tell the guards someone one Boards.ie said it was ok to drive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Beau Bennett

Unless you are driving a lorry, encountering guards on the road is a rare thing these days so I would just drive.

At this stage you are no more dangerous than someone using their phone while driving, which is far more popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

pgj2015 wrote: »
    A huge number i was told by a guard.

10% of alcohol related accidents according to the RSA ad on the radio. Which extrapolated from the fact that 40% of fatalities involve alcohol would lead you to believe morning after driving kills around 6 people a year.

Speed and Alcohol will always be the most heavily enforced moving road offences because they are measured by a device, not the human brain, and virtually uncontestable in court assuming the Guard turns up.

Speed is easy to slip on. Keeping up with traffic, unsuitably low limits, and so on. But you are in full control of your car.

Alcohol on the other hand you are not in control. And it's much more easily easily avoided. Just don't drive and plan your night around not having the car. I'm no lightweight but know full well that by the time my 2nd pint is finished judgement is already a little looser. Yes, there is a 99.99% chance I'd drive safely and not be caught, but it's not worth the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Drive on M'Lad

sdanseo wrote: »
    10% of alcohol related accidents according to the RSA ad on the radio. Which extrapolated from the fact that 40% of fatalities involve alcohol would lead you to believe morning after driving kills around 6 people a year.

Speed and Alcohol will always be the most heavily enforced moving road offences because they are measured by a device, not the human brain, and virtually uncontestable in court assuming the Guard turns up.

Speed is easy to slip on. Keeping up with traffic, unsuitably low limits, and so on. But you are in full control of your car.

Alcohol on the other hand you are not in control. And it's much more easily easily avoided. Just don't drive and plan your night around not having the car. I'm no lightweight but know full well that by the time my 2nd pint is finished judgement is already a little looser. Yes, there is a 99.99% chance I'd drive safely and not be caught, but it's not worth the risk.

Are you factoring in that most alcohol related deaths are at night not in the morning after having a sleep? I don’t even know how many die a year so I’m not calling you wrong I’m just wondering.

I’d have thought nearly all alcohol related deaths were young lads driving home from the nightclub down the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

BDI wrote: »
    Are you factoring in that most alcohol related deaths are at night not in the morning after having a sleep? I don’t even know how many die a year so I’m not calling you wrong I’m just wondering.

I’d have thought nearly all alcohol related deaths were young lads driving home from the nightclub down the country.

Morning after in my post meaning having had a sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Mulbert wrote: »
    Depends on what type of car you drive op.

The colour is also a factor. Somebody suggested booking another night, having a few more and having an early one tonight if it's possible. Personally, I wouldn't chance it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

No we haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Depends OP after a good solid sleep and a full Irish you wouldn't be "under the influence" of alcohol as such but it would still be in your system so you would fail the breathalyser.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸