Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trevor Deely case - new witness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Does anyone believe that he drunkenly fell or was blown over the wall into Dodder ? I seen that theory put forward before. I dont buy it myself.

That was the initial theory, as discussed here:

https://vocaroo.com/hQuwbLK7xgZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

tuxy wrote: »
    Yeah just wondering if anyone does know.
    I just can't see a body being swept a few KM in such a narrow reasonably shallow body of water like the Dodder and not getting snagged on something before it reached the sea. It was raining very heavily that night but even still I can't see it. But I have no knowledge on if it's possible.

A body can easily end up in Wales. Id assume if TD did end up in water it was directly into Dublin bay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Yeah it's a decent enough distance from the possible entry point to the sea.

Just under 2KM as the river flows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,850 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Yeah just wondering if anyone does know.
    I just can't see a body being swept a few KM in such a narrow reasonably shallow body of water like the Dodder and not getting snagged on something before it reached the sea. It was raining very heavily that night but even still I can't see it. But I have no knowledge on if it's possible.

If you’ve seen the Dodder after heavy rainfall you’d know that someone could, very easily, get washed out to sea.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 957 ✭✭✭80j2lc5y7u6qs9

I understand TD's sister is upset with discussion but what is online is only a reflection of what goes on offline in work places pubs etc. If there was no net it would be discussed and speculated upon anyway because it is news. People always talk about news whether TD or Mary Boyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

@ Fr Tod. Well I have followed the criminal angle (low level dealers more like). It was first presented in the press in 2017. The person who supposedly was helping AGS was ID'd on that famous crime photographer's twitter page - a post that exists still.

If you follow those articles and how they were described at the time you are left with 2 or 3 possible crime families. 2 from Rutland Grove, 1 of which went on to be a crew member of a now notorious and third Crumlin based family.

Proof though is always the problem, as is the reliability of the sources. Many have died as a result of addiction or gangland. The guards seemed pretty convinced to dig up Chapelizod not so long ago.

I think suicide can be ruled out due to the umbrella. Most likely it was wrong place, wrong time.

A friend of his that worked for aer lingus got him a free flight.. he didnt just stumble upon a cheap deal for a holiday in Alaska it was obviously planned, and it was clearly because of the girl he had met from there.

Which leads onto another possible theory that was mentioned on reddit which I wont post here.

Probably a good idea, as Reddit is full of nonsense.

If you’ve seen the Dodder after heavy rainfall you’d know that someone could, very easily, get washed out to sea.

Yeah I've never seen it during or after a storm. I just wonder are there cases of it actually happening? If so then it's a real possibility.

tdf7187 wrote: »
    Probably a good idea, as Reddit is full of nonsense.
    and it has prob been here anyway.

The food delivery company Deliveroo is to feature the face of missing person Trevor Deely on its bags

says times https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/trevor-deely-s-image-to-be-displayed-on-fast-food-delivery-bags-sister-says-1.4081926

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

You talk about opportunistic criminals, junkies etc, the poster I was reply to was not.

The poster you reply to never really went into detail about what type of criminal he believed MIB to be.

Although some would have you believe that any organized criminal or dealer is automatically on Pablo escobar money.

The poster would like to refer to the book 'freakonomics' which although referring to US based dealers, mentions that the hierarchy in the drug trade was so steep at one point that the higher level brokers of drugs sold on the street were taking such a share of the profits that street dealers were on an effective hourly wage lower than a McDonald's employee.

So a mugging possibly wasn't below the lofty standards of local Baggott St gangs/thugs after all.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭TwoMonthsOff

The Garda have to know more about MIB 1 than they are saying, surely a description of some sorts was given by Trevor's colleague, age, accent etc...

That should have been put out there at the time.

The Garda have to know more about MIB 1 than they are saying, surely a description of some sorts was given by Trevor's colleague, age, accent etc...

That should have been put out there at the time.

They were interviewed and I believe had nothing of any interest at all, which does seem odd. You would think they were close enough to that man to at least give a vague description. Usually when people don't remember something important they start to imagine what they saw and at least inadvertently give a bogus story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,234 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

20Wheel wrote: »
    The poster you reply to never really went into detail about what type of criminal he believed MIB to be.

Although some would have you believe that any organized criminal or dealer is automatically on Pablo escobar money.

The poster would like to refer to the book 'freakonomics' which although referring to US based dealers, mentions that the hierarchy in the drug trade was so steep at one point that the higher level brokers of drugs sold on the street were taking such a share of the profits that street dealers were on an effective hourly wage lower than a McDonald's employee.

So a mugging possibly wasn't below the lofty standards of local Baggott St gangs/thugs after all.

I know it's not

But your post from yesterday implied that Trevor was being watched for a period of time prior to the Thursday night.

That these criminals knew he worked in a "bank" etc
    Knew his walking route etc .

That bit I find hard to believe that he would be a premeditated target, and that a local Baggott St gangs/thug would wait for 30mins in pissing rain in full view of CCTV to attack him when in reality the area had many targets that could be attacked there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭TwoMonthsOff

. Usually when people don't remember something important they start to imagine what they saw and at least inadvertently give a bogus story.

True enough, good point.

STB. wrote: »
    @ Fr Tod. Well I have followed the criminal angle (low level dealers more like). It was first presented in the press in 2017. The person who supposedly was helping AGS was ID'd on that famous crime photographer's twitter page - a post that exists still.

If you follow those articles and how they were described at the time you are left with 2 or 3 possible crime families. 2 from Rutland Grove, 1 of which went on to be a crew member of a now notorious and third Crumlin based family.

Proof though is always the problem, as is the reliability of the sources. Many have died as a result of addiction or gangland. The guards seemed pretty convinced to dig up Chapelizod not so long ago.

I think suicide can be ruled out due to the umbrella. Most likely it was wrong place, wrong time.
    who is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,234 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

How so ?

After a wet windy night I'm sure that there were a few umbrellas strewn around Dublin City.
    A street cleaner would have just scooped it up and put it in the bin without a second thought.

Plus Clinton was visiting that day or the next day so there would have been an extra effort to get the place cleaned up.

The lack of an umbrella is of no consequence I don't think

How so ?

After a wet windy night I'm sure that there were a few umbrellas strewn around Dublin City.
    A street cleaner would have just scooped it up and put it in the bin without a second thought.

Plus Clinton was visiting that day or the next day so there would have been an extra effort to get the place cleaned up.

The clinton visit is something people forget. All wheelie bins and industrial bins were emptied prior to that.

People thinking of suicide do not go back to work to get something that will keep the rain off them. They have other things on their mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭Field east

What’s bothered me since the “cleaned up” footage was released is that they never mentioned how a man waited 30-40 minutes until Trevor Deely passes by and then he follows him around to the gate. All that was said was that he spoke with someone.

Even before that new footage they had the original of that guy looking in through the gate. Another bank worker goes in at this time while another waits for him. Just seemed like a lot of detail that was left out if they were trying to “jog” memories.

I remember that night because of the taxi strike and the fact I had to get a lift home from the boyfriend of a colleague I was “seeing” at the time. I wasn’t near that area of town but someone else might remember something strange if they were provided with a full description of what was known.

It was also stated at the time that Trevor Deely was supposed to meet a man and woman when he left the office but that wasn’t mentioned again.

Also, out of curiosity, does anyone know why the footage of the “person of interest” following Trevor on the Baggot St footage is never shown at normal speed, it’s always shown “sped up”?

Would be great if this case was finally solved.

Apart from the taxi strike it was a very wet and very windy night - the kind of night that ONLY THE MOST HARDY, IMO, would be out and about ‘doing business’

I know it's not

But your post from yesterday implied that Trevor was being watched for a period of time prior to the Thursday night.

That these criminals knew he worked in a "bank" etc
    Knew his walking route etc .

That bit I find hard to believe that he would be a premeditated target, and that a local Baggott St gangs/thug would wait for 30mins in pissing rain in full view of CCTV to attack him when in reality the area had many targets that could be attacked there and then.

A local thug could know his route. From hanging around the area.

This might separate him from randomers.

A local could additionally know that he's been to the atm, has a few drinks on him, and that it's closing time, and that there's no cabs.

Joe Public could go any direction. TD couldn't.

A garda car could be fluting around the busier Baggott St area, but odds are that won't be the case further out. In tds direction.

Thats what makes him a target.

And no ones suggesting that such a person who is in theory about to carry out a shtty street mugging is the type of mastermind that might worry about a camera. Especially when dressed in a bland way, with a hat.

Muggings are generally premeditated too, there's usually some element of ambush, isolation and escape involved.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

People thinking of suicide do not go back to work to get something that will keep the rain off them. They have other things on their mind.

We actually dont know what their thought process is. Hences why so many people cant spot the signs or notice something wrong. Outwardly there is nothing wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Waiting for coffee with his work buddy

Ringing his friend who got a voice mail

Talking to a strange man outside the bank

Forced to take holidays in December because he didn’t take them.

Going away alone.

Egged on by workmates to go to Alaska chasing some bird that was “busy with exam”

A group of them arrive at the gates to the office but he arrived alone.

Housemates were all gone home for the weekend.

The poor lad strikes me as a very lonely chap and sometimes I think if somebody had of gave him a few minutes that night or leading up to it it might have been different.

Of course they weren’t to know and it isn’t anybodies duty to make sure everybody they meet is ok.

Other times I think he got lured back to a girls house and was confronted with a few lads who planned on getting his pin and robbing him but he died by accident.

I think somebody may have tried his card though out of desperation if this happened and punched in the wrong code a few times.

Must be horrible for the family playing over what might of happened again and again knowing that somebody is out there that doesn’t even have to give names but can let them know what happened. Give them closure.

We actually dont know what their thought process is. Hences why so many people cant spot the signs or notice something wrong. Outwardly there is nothing wrong.

Not alone do his actions not fit the signs, but his appearance at the party, his phone call to his friend afterwards, and his general demeanor with family and friends at the time have ensured that the investigating team ruled this out, at an early stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

So the guards position is there is just 1 MIB.
    He can be seen seconds behind him outside Milanos.

BDI wrote: »
    Waiting for coffee with his work buddy

Ringing his friend who got a voice mail

Talking to a strange man outside the bank

Forced to take holidays in December because he didn’t take them.

Going away alone.

Egged on by workmates to go to Alaska chasing some bird that was “busy with exam”

A group of them arrive at the gates to the office but he arrived alone.

The poor lad strikes me as a very lonely chap and sometimes I think if somebody had of gave him a few minutes that night or leading up to it it might have been different.

Utter nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

tdf7187 wrote: »
    Utter nonsense.

Oh I thought it was sense, I see now that it was utter nonsense.

You'd also have to assume that if MIB was a well known criminal figure he's not gna stand in view of cctv for that long. He's not gna be persist with TD after conversing with his two work colleagues. Just again more anamolies there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

After the interview today I think we did learn that its less likely that TD was swept out to sea having entered water. I'm left then where we started with the violent altercation. Because no body has been found I have to think that that altercation happened in a vehicle or house/flat linked to some person in particular.

After that I end up with even more questions. But if someone had a struggle with a strong young man there is noise; if some people have to move a body out of a flat there is a lot of coming and going. Someone who moved through that area around Milano's as it is now or lived there heard or saw something unusual. There are always delivery people, always parents with sick children, people going to work early, street cleaners, shift workers, dog walkers, insomniacs(!) What I'm saying is that someone unconnected with this knows some small piece of it, something that niggled at the time and thought no more of it.

You'd also have to assume that if MIB was a well known criminal figure he's not gna stand in view of cctv for that long. He's not gna be persist with TD after conversing with his two work colleagues. Just again more anamolies there.

Why would you assume that.

Street thugs can be quite blatant and none too bright.

The biggest anomaly I've found in this thread is the theory that he just hopped in the dodder. Which is a theory with as much evidence or thinking as he was beamed up by aliens.

- What happened to this young man?

'opped in river innit.

- Why do you think that.

coz.

20Wheel wrote: »
    Why would you assume that.

Street thugs can be quite blatant and none too bright.

The biggest anomaly I've found in this thread is the theory that he just hopped in the dodder. Which is a theory with as much evidence or thinking as he was beamed up by aliens.

- What happened to this young man?

'opped in river innit.

- Why do you think that.

coz.

Street thug wouldnt translate as a well known criminal though.