Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trevor Deely case - new witness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 MilitaryRoad

sugarman wrote: »
    ...then goes onto be a wild conspiracy theorist :pac:

Well in that case of Jon Jonsson, you'd have to suspect that he was playing high steaks poker in a city where you have a lot of intricate drugs gangs and even lower level drug dealers who use use events such as this to launder drugs money. It seems to me that there was something like this going on with TD and shady characters hanging around outside his workplace in the early hours of the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

The Canal and basin was searched by Garda Sub Aqua Team

The Irish Times 3- part articles

Part 1
    https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-part-1-1.2120358

Part 2
    https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-part-2-the-search-1.2119911

Part 3
    https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/the-disappearance-of-trevor-deely-part-3-living-with-loss-1.2119923

Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 16:48 Updated: Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 16:51

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/fresh-appeal-over-trevor-deely-19-years-after-he-went-missing-1.4108436

A renewed appeal has been made by the Garda for information on missing person Trevor Deely the 19th anniversary of his disappearance.

In a statement on Saturday, the Garda said detectives at Pearse Street Garda station are appealing for any information that could assist the investigation.

“Even the smallest piece of information, which may seem insignificant, may assist the investigation.”

No mention of new witness

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭oneilla

How much coverage was there of "the last person to see Trevor was an yet to be identified man standing outside BOIAM" back in December 2000 ?

This guy may have no idea that the guy he talked to for a few seconds late that night is the same guy on the posters.

For every missing person poster you see or hear about do you look into the circumstances and go back over your memory to figure if you might have interacted with them ?

If the answer is no then put yourself in the shoes of MIB in December 2000.

There was this article from December, 2000:

Video trio may hold answer to mystery

GARDA are now looking at the last pictures of young banker Trevor Deely, taken by a closed circuit TV camera, in a bid to unravel his mysterious disapparance.

Trevor, 22, was last seen as he walked home from an office party in Dublin, but family and friends have been unable to trace him despite extensive searches and a high-profile poster campaign.

He was picked up on CCTV video footage at the Bank of Ireland on Baggot Street at 4.14am on December 8. The video footage shows a couple walking ahead of him and a person walking behind him, but so far gardaave been unable to trace these people who may be able to help them plot Trevor's subsequent movements.

And then this from February, 2001:
    Gardai need witness 'from eight to 80'

At 3.30am, Trevor left the club and minutes later arrived at the back entrance to the BIAM building where he intended to collect an umbrella for the journey to Serpentine Avenue.

The security camera recorded his arrival, but when the footage was examined another man was spotted beside the railings at the front of the laneway leading into the back entrance.

Trevor had a cup of tea, chatted with a colleague working the nightshift and then left the office at 4am. Again he was recorded on the security camera leaving at 4.02am. Despite media reports which stated that the same man was visible again on the video footage, the Sunday Independent can confirm that there was no sign of the man. There is no shelter in that location and given the weather it is highly unlikely that he would have remained there for very long.

The most direct route to the next point where Trevor was spotted was down Wilton Terrace to Baggot Street Bridge.

The most natural route to take then would have been down Baggot Street to Jury's Hotel and out Merrion Road to Serpentine Avenue. It arguably would be the safest route, well lit and possibly more populated, however sparsely. However, Trevor decided to take a darker and potentially more dangerous route.

He crossed Baggot Street Bridge and headed down Haddington Road. Just beyond the junction he was recorded on the security camera above the Bank of Ireland ATM. He was holding the distinctive umbrella he had collected at BIAM. Significantly, although his stride was a bit unsteady, the umbrella remained upright without any sign of being blown to either side. Thirty seconds later a man in dark clothes and a woollen hat passed and about a minute after that a well-dressed couple walked by. The man held an umbrella in one hand and again it was steady, with no sign of high winds.

Is the man in the woollen hat the same as the one recorded at the back entrance to BIAM? We consulted an expert, who examined both sets of footage. He pointed out the fact that there seemed to be a reflection from the jacket of the man at the rear of the BIAM, indicating that he was wearing a leather jacket. This was not true of the man seen passing the ATM of the bank on Baggot St Bridge. The expert conclusion was that the recordings were of two different men.

The couple recorded passing the ATM on Baggot St came forward to help with the enquiry. But unfortunately they had no memory of seeing Trevor or any incident.

There was one other figure on the footage, that of a young woman, who was scantily dressed considering the weather conditions. She has not come forward.

Trevor had passed a security camera at 4.14am. This was the last sighting of the young man. Nothing has been heard from him since and his bank account has remained untouched.

Despite an unprecedented publicity campaign, no member of the public has come forward with any information.

In the city of Dublin, in shops and on lamposts it is almost impossible to escape the image of Trevor Deely and his very distinctive boyish good looks. It is disturbing to pause and consider that the poster contains the photograph of a young man who has disappeared without trace and left his family devastated and living an unending nightmare.

There was the man with the assured walk behind the couple. His body language was not one of a drunk. It is inconceivable that he is not aware that a man who walked ahead of him that night has gone missing. Apart from the media attention, if the man has ever walked the same direction again he is confronted by images of Trevor all the way down the road. There may be others that know something and for other reasons may not want to come forward, like the scantily-dressed girl on the ATM footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Is there any footage of the scantily clad woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I wonder if they were even able to tell the Garda what they said to the mib?

Still think any communication should be released in the media between them no matter how innocuous

I wonder about this too, no matter how innocuous whatever conversation MIB had with the two bank colleagues it would still reveal something. Like was he a grifter trying to bum a smoke or beg for money, was he a pimp offering services or was he just asking them did they have a good night out, etc? Thing is you have to ground this in the fact that the two lads work there so they know everyone who has access to that secure building and there is a stranger hanging right outside their workplace at 3 in the morning. Its not what you could describe as normal behaviour as he stands there looking in the gate with them directly behind them, surely you'd take some sort of interest if some lad who has no business being at your workplace is standing there looking directly into it at 3 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Surely if the man in Black had been a “regular” known face around the area he would’ve been identified early in the investigation?

Example “Oh yeah that’s paddy so and so, he is often around here after he finishes his night shift”

But nobody seems to have a clue who he is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 MilitaryRoad

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I wonder about this too, no matter how innocuous whatever conversation MIB had with the two bank colleagues it would still reveal something. Like was he a grifter trying to bum a smoke or beg for money, was he a pimp offering services or was he just asking them did they have a good night out, etc? Thing is you have to ground this in the fact that the two lads work there so they know everyone who has access to that secure building and there is a stranger hanging right outside their workplace at 3 in the morning. Its not what you could describe as normal behaviour as he stands there looking in the gate with them directly behind them, surely you'd take some sort of interest if some lad who has no business being at your workplace is standing there looking directly into it at 3 in the morning.

He didn't seem in any way threatened by them or in fear of them. Then you can't let go of the fact that these guys were acting like they were about to abduct someone or were up to something, but TD doesn't look like the intended target going by the CCTV footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Day Lewin wrote: »
    I imagine that the sex workers in the area must have been questioned about this; whether they'd seen TD passing, for instance - or if he'd ever been a customer - but the Guards and the family and friends all seem unanimous that the latter was NOT the case.
    And it was such a dirty night, even the streetwalkers were not to be seen.
    Of course. It was 4am on a wet and windy morning. Street prostitution in that general area had ceased to occur long before the period of time concerned (circa.2000).
    I am of the view that Trevor entered water - not accidentally or because of some criminal act - and his body was eventually washed out to sea or lies entombed somewhere at the bottom of Dublin Bay.
    The sad ending of this young lady's life came to my mind.Blaithnaid Timothy. How many remember the particular case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Coconut12

There were a lot of murders and abductions of prostitutes in that area of Leeson St and Grand Canal in the year 1998/2000. So a lot of shady characters in the area where he worked and route taken home at that time

All on google in the papers

chicorytip wrote: »
    Of course. It was 4am on a wet and windy morning. Street prostitution in that general area had ceased to occur long before the period of time concerned (circa.2000).
    I am of the view that Trevor entered water - not accidentally or because of some criminal act - and his body was eventually washed out to sea or lies entombed somewhere at the bottom of Dublin Bay.
    The sad ending of this young lady's life came to my mind.Blaithnaid Timothy. How many remember the particular case?

Street workers hadn’t ceased at that time in that area ! Google it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Coconut12 wrote: »
    There were a lot of murders and abductions of prostitutes in that area of Leeson St and Grand Canal in the year 1998/2000. So a lot of shady characters in the area where he worked and route taken home at that time

All on google in the papers

How many murders were there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

chicorytip wrote: »

Others who lived and worked there tell a very different story. You can even find a post about a trip in a taxi there recently. In addition the murder of a woman in 1998 in the area is linked to heroin debt and prostitution. Your claim in regard to street prostitution in the area is incorrect.

Happy4all wrote: »
    How many murders were there?

Sorry I’ve no idea as I’m not a cop ! What a bizarre question

It’s all on google if you want to check it out and on the Irish Times

Gardai yesterday appealed for help from possible witnesses to the abduction of a young woman from the Baggot Street area of Dublin…

JIM CUSACK
    Wed, Sep 27, 2000, 01:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,238 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Sorry I’ve no idea as I’m not a cop ! What a bizarre question

It’s all on google if you want to check it out and on the Irish Times

Gardai yesterday appealed for help from possible witnesses to the abduction of a young woman from the Baggot Street area of Dublin…

JIM CUSACK
    Wed, Sep 27, 2000, 01:00

Purest sign of an clown on the internet.

Makes a statement and tells people to Google it if it needs to be clarified.

No need to be rude. I can’t attach links and yes it’s all there in the reported media - not exactly a statement of mine .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    Others who lived and worked there tell a very different story. You can even find a post about a trip in a taxi there recently. In addition the murder of a woman in 1998 in the area is linked to heroin debt and prostitution. Your claim in regard to street prostitution in the area is incorrect.

Brazzers are still in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭tara73

it's probably said dbefore, but anybody knows why the two work colleagues were outside of the gate, seemingly waiting? It's quite strange so many people waiting in front of that gate with the person inside disappearing in the next few hours...

so were they there taking on another shift? Can't imagine there would have been starting another shift at 4am.

Were they out for a smoke? Doesn't look like. were they there to take an umbrella too? so weird first Trevor going into his work place and then 2 other colleagues show up. Trevor taking the umbrella makes sense. But what were the others doing?

And why apparently nobody knows their names, let alone seen them or talking about the evening meeting the MIB? There are family, friends, this Karl Pender on the documentary, but not this collegues who spoke to the MIB? I find this very weird I have to say as they are crucial to the case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Is there any footage of the scantily clad woman?

Trevor passes lamppost at 04-14-25

30 secs later

Man passes lamppost at 04-14-55

28 secs later

Single female passes lamppost at 04-15-23

35 secs later

Couple passes lamppost at 04-15-58

trevor-deely-cctv.jpg

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

And it’s “a” clown and not “an”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,238 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

And it’s “a” clown and not “an”

Touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I also find it strange that the two work colleagues were literally standing beside MIB at the gate but as far as I know they’ve never given an account of the night and their memories of MIB - was anything said etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,435 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I also find it strange that the two work colleagues were literally standing beside MIB at the gate but as far as I know they’ve never given an account of the night and their memories of MIB - was anything said etc.

Course they gave an account.

The gardai said as much

Trevor passes lamppost at 04-14-25

30 secs later

Man passes lamppost at 04-14-55

28 secs later

Single female passes lamppost at 04-15-23

35 secs later

Couple passes lamppost at 04-15-58

trevor-deely-cctv.jpg

And thats the cctv we have access too. Id guess if you were to look at it the hour before and after TD went missing you'd see a lot more foot traffic. The area would be busy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,435 ✭✭✭✭noodler

And thats the cctv we have access too. Id guess if you were to look at it the hour before and after TD went missing you'd see a lot more foot traffic. The area would be busy enough.

Yeah, the area likely wasn't as quiet as the few isolated snippets weve seen would lead you to believe.

noodler wrote: »
    Yeah, the area likely wasn't as quiet as the few isolated snippets weve seen would lead you to believe.

Thats the narrative a lot of people are operating on. Cold, dark, wet and isolated. An errie sort of setting. But it was more than likely busy enough with a fair amount of footfall in the area. Thats what makes it all the more puzzling. Also the cctv is so poor you can barely identify TD arriving at BOIAM. Nothing to go on really. It would be great to see some closure for the family.

AGS could do worse than publishing what sort of crime / business the witnesses were involved in. To me that could really help jog memories of other potential witnesses that they would have had dealings with in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

It's seems cold case detectives on YouTube did an episode on Trevor only a couple of months ago. They seem to put a lot of credence into the bank target theory.

Pinch of salt. A lot of them are head bangers like leroy bluffins.

If TD was colluding with gangs to defraud BOI there would be evidence.

yes, and why is there only one still image available? there must be footage of what they did at the gate, when they arrived, did they talk to MIB, how they left. It's just: they were work colleagues-alright, no more questions from anybody. why not??
    who released the footage anyway? the guards? media? unknown source? I have the feeling there's just one story shown to the public, this MIB, first at the pillar, than at the gate. If they are so sure the work colleagues have nothing to do with it, why showing just one eerie still pic with three people standing outside of the gate instead of just withholding that pic. It started all kind of unnecessary?) speculation (and still does for me).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Am I correct in saying that of those visible on CCTV 2 have not come forward? The MIB who is at the gate and follows him (according to AGS) at Haddington Road and the “scantily clad” woman also at Haddington Road.

sugarman wrote: »
    I believe they were trying to get in themselves to collect their belongings but had no way in.

yes, and the last thing I would try to do, especially if I have no own keys and apparently no connection to the security guy to let me in, to walk to my work place at 4am after the christmas partyin in lashing rain, possibly quiet drunk, in the hope to collect 'my things'. what kind of things at all..?all you want to do normally is to head home in the shortest time and fall into your bed.