Calling people by their full names in professional environs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Nobody has yet to answer the question...

Does being called by your full first name, rather than a shortened version of it, have any professional benefit in the workplace?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Does being called by your full first name, rather than a shortened version of it, have any professional benefit in the workplace?

Like what kind of benefit B?

That's exactly what I'm asking, Steven.

What benefit do these "call me by proper title, ye little BOLLIX" professionals think they will receive?

That's exactly what I'm asking, Steven.

What benefit do these "call me by proper title, ye little BOLLIX" professionals think they will receive?

Fcuk all i'm guessing B. I know a chap (pr!ck) who works in KPMG who goes on like this. Doesn't like when people who are not as senior as him make conversation with him, a bit i'd say like that poster Ray Palmer

PS
    If you spell my name like that again i'll put your head through a fcuking wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,087 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Do people actually believe that having your full name used in a professional setting is of benefit? Genuine question.

Yes, I do. Grownups have grown up names. Kids have kiddie names.

Benefit for the patient/client perhaps.

'Anto, how's the Anaesthetic proceeding?' Doesn't sound quite as reassuring as...

'Dr Higginbottom, how is the Anaesthetic proceeding?'

Same if you're giving life altering business advice and the like...

'Well, Rasher, you legend, how do you think my client will benefit from this type of pension plan?'

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

0lddog wrote: »

No its not.

Just saves typing.

Get yourself a shorter handle

Well 0, as your post demonstrates, it’s not even necessary to address another poster by either name or initial when you reply to them.

Benefit for the patient/client perhaps.

'Anto, how's the Anaesthetic proceeding?' Doesn't sound quite as reassuring as...

'Dr Higginbottom, how is the Anaesthetic proceeding?'

Same if you're giving life altering business advice and the like...

'Well, Rasher, you legend, how do you think my client will benefit from this type of pension plan?'

This isn't about hospital settings. It's office based.

What is coming across is: addressing someone as Mr. Miss or Mrs a bit old fashioned but some want to somehow maintain the professional distance the more formal Mr Miss or Mrs implies while addressing the person by their first name.

There is definitely a bit of power-play going on with that for some not for all. They would want to be a bit of a saddo to be trying a power play like that though.

Yes, I do. Grownups have grown up names. Kids have kiddie names.

Wow. You sound like fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

You've asked two different questions though.

to answer your original post, where you give the example of a friend of yours,

lets just say his name is James, but all his outside work friends call him Jimmy, next thing, you have a new guy in the office calling him Jimmy - familiarity breeds contempt, and James might feel that it'll undermine his Authority or wouldn't be taken as seriously by those he might be supervising.

The question as to whether or not being called your full first name has any professional benefit - That would be doubtful TBH, as long as you were using whatever you called yourself during applying for the job, it should have no bearing either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭bitofabind

What's weirder is when colleagues you barely know adapt weird nicknames for you instead of calling you by your actual name. For example, calling Jessica "Jess" or calling Charlotte "Charlie" completely out of the blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

From this comment i have marked in bold for you Ray, this and this alone, tells me the type of person you are.

Well what does it tell you?

The only time I saw grown adults act like school kids was in a factory. Apparently acting like you are in a bawdy comedy from the 70s is still a think in such environments.

Are you saying name calling and intimidation are acceptable everywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,910 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I don't care what version of my name people use.
    However I have a policy of addressing other people by the name/version of name that they prefer.
    This policy works for me and avoids any ill feeling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Are you talking about his full name, as in first and second name or just his first name?

If it's the later, what's the issue? If it's the former, then that's somewhat odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Good morning.

How do you all feel about this? A friend of mine once asked a good friend of his, whom he one prior to working with him, to call him by his full name in work. Is this acceptable?

Should I start asking work colleagues/friends to call me Brockleton in professional environs?

You sure have an odd idea of what full name means

My full name is Mrs Petunia Wurple + associated letters of college etc.

Mrs Wurple is a short version

Petunia for even shorter.

P is a diminutive, a made up version.

Does your friend want to be Mr Anthony O'Connell, or just that you don't make up a name for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Charlie Murphy!!!!

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

Zaph wrote: »
    I work with a guy who's been with the company for a good while. He started in IT support where he was always Andy. A few years ago he moved to a different, non-support role and "reinvented" himself as Andrew. However old habits die hard, so to older staff like myself he'll always be Andy, and we always address him as that. It probably drives him mad. :D

That is some serious office bants you have there.

Yes, I hate people doing that on boards.ie. Way too overfamiliar. I just think “You don’t know me!”.

It's called the Wibbs Special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,260 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I find it childish when grown men, often with a wife and kids, still go by their childhood nickname in any capacity, not just professional environs. Cop on ta f*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,103 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I find it childish when grown men, often with a wife and kids, still go by their childhood nickname in any capacity, not just professional environs. Cop on ta f*ck.

Surely on their own time it’s grand. If they’re relaxing and having a laugh, not taking themselves too seriously, then there’s a great chance they’ll go by their less formal nickname.

I know plenty of oul lads (i'm talking pensioners) who go by their nicknames while out having a pint with buddies. What's the problem?

Why don't you cop the fcuk on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Omackeral wrote: »
    It's called the Wibbs Special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

If I called somebody a shortened version of their name I would comply and call them the full version if it upset them. But I would think they were aholes because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

BDI wrote: »
    If I called somebody a shortened version of their name I would comply and call them the full version if it upset them. But I would think they were aholes because of this.

But the truth is you are the ahole for not calling them by their name in the first place and a bigger one for being "upset" they correct you.

BDI wrote: »

At least both people would be on the same page :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,087 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Wow. You sound like fun.

You explicitly asked for my opinion. I gave it. So you respond with childish abuse. I guess we can at least see why you needed to ask the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

There was a new girl in the office. Her name was Virginia so they called her Virgin for short but not for long

Edgware wrote: »
    There was a new girl in the office. Her name was Virginia so they called her Virgin for short but not for long

Hmmmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    But the truth is you are the ahole for not calling them by their name in the first place and a bigger one for being "upset" they correct you.

You struggle with human interaction or love a row. Or both.