Brock Turnpike wrote: » Nobody has yet to answer the question... Does being called by your full first name, rather than a shortened version of it, have any professional benefit in the workplace?
Stevieluvsye wrote: » Like what kind of benefit B?
Brock Turnpike wrote: » That's exactly what I'm asking, Steven. What benefit do these "call me by proper title, ye little BOLLIX" professionals think they will receive?
Brock Turnpike wrote: » Do people actually believe that having your full name used in a professional setting is of benefit? Genuine question.
0lddog wrote: » No its not. Just saves typing. Get yourself a shorter handle
[Deleted User] wrote: » Benefit for the patient/client perhaps. 'Anto, how's the Anaesthetic proceeding?' Doesn't sound quite as reassuring as... 'Dr Higginbottom, how is the Anaesthetic proceeding?' Same if you're giving life altering business advice and the like... 'Well, Rasher, you legend, how do you think my client will benefit from this type of pension plan?'
Mrs OBumble wrote: » Yes, I do. Grownups have grown up names. Kids have kiddie names.
Stevieluvsye wrote: » From this comment i have marked in bold for you Ray, this and this alone, tells me the type of person you are.
Brock Turnpike wrote: » Good morning. How do you all feel about this? A friend of mine once asked a good friend of his, whom he one prior to working with him, to call him by his full name in work. Is this acceptable? Should I start asking work colleagues/friends to call me Brockleton in professional environs?
Zaph wrote: » I work with a guy who's been with the company for a good while. He started in IT support where he was always Andy. A few years ago he moved to a different, non-support role and "reinvented" himself as Andrew. However old habits die hard, so to older staff like myself he'll always be Andy, and we always address him as that. It probably drives him mad.
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » Yes, I hate people doing that on boards.ie. Way too overfamiliar. I just think “You don’t know me!”.
castletownman wrote: » I find it childish when grown men, often with a wife and kids, still go by their childhood nickname in any capacity, not just professional environs. Cop on ta f*ck.
Omackeral wrote: » It's called the Wibbs Special.
BDI wrote: » If I called somebody a shortened version of their name I would comply and call them the full version if it upset them. But I would think they were aholes because of this.
Brock Turnpike wrote: » Wow. You sound like fun.
Edgware wrote: » There was a new girl in the office. Her name was Virginia so they called her Virgin for short but not for long
Ray Palmer wrote: » But the truth is you are the ahole for not calling them by their name in the first place and a bigger one for being "upset" they correct you.