Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greta and the aristocrat sail the high seas to save the planet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,509 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

blueshade wrote: »
    I find Greta's parents a bizarre pair. They seem to take no responsibility for their children's problems, they seem to have a kind of weird mix of detachment from their illnesses on the one hand and on the other hand seem happy to exploit their children for financial gain. The kids have had their personal data sold in their mother's book, which now has Greta's photo on the cover, well...Greata is going to sell more copies than her mother. She claims that when Greta was 9 or so she decided to become vegan and declared that the family weren't going to fly anymore because of her fears about the environment. What parent allows than nonsense and feeds their child's paranoia? The parents are awful, they've exploited Greta and now they're doing the same with their other daughter. The parents are hoping to launch their other daughters singing career off the back of Greta's fame.

Dunno. They area show business couple who have to pay the bills like the rest of us and that life means travelling between venues and having to drag the children along with you. Someone with Gretas condition does benefit from having a stable and defined environment and unfortunately the mother appears to have neglected her daughters at a time in their lives when they could have done with her support. Obviously with hindsight the Aspergers diagnosis could have been made earlier and to be fair its not the parents fault most parents will not know about the condition and how to deal with it. The interesting consequence is that Greta managed to bind her mother to the kitchen and prevent her flying away and that's not a bad outcome from Gretas or her sisters point of view being able to command their mothers attention.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

That website is very short on information. Who is Jim O'Brien? What are his qualifications apart from being a self-employed PR consultant. Who are the other people involved in ICSF?

Look up his employment history - Cement Roadstone Holdings. Why would that matter you ask? But so what - well those carbon credits hit the bottom line and work their way into the cost of your new house or pavement outside your house.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,366 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Look up his employment history - Cement Roadstone Holdings. Why would that matter you ask? But so what - well those carbon credits hit the bottom line and work their way into the cost of your new house or pavement outside your house.

So he has a degree in electrical engineering. Not exactly relevant to climate change science. What about the other people he talks about? "Irish scientists, engineers and other professions". Who are they?

Why not? There is no such thing as a climate science degree, the subject touches on almost every discipline of science, which is most useful for getting grants to support your work.

Have you met the Connellys yet? They have a few papers on the subject if you would like to take the time to read and critique them. Greta says we should listen to the scientists. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Not exactly relevant to "climate change science"? The man is an engineer, FFS - a real one!

Why not? There is no such thing as a climate science degree, the subject touches on almost every discipline of science, which is most useful for getting grants to support your work.

Have you met the Connellys yet? They have a few papers on the subject if you would like to take the time to read and critique them. Greta says we should listen to the scientists. :)

I'm not sure what your point is? Who are those people? Why are you linking to them? What have they said that you find important?

jimgoose wrote: »
    Not exactly relevant to "climate change science"? The man is an engineer, FFS - a real one!

Yeah. And one of the "Connellys" is a teacher. A real teacher!

I'm not sure what your point is? Who are those people? Why are you linking to them? What have they said that you find important?

I doubt you interested in their papers you might like to get some more background on them and an introduction to their work in a recent interview with them on Paddy Holohan's No Shame Podcast.

No, I'm not watching a youtube video. Please set out your argument in your own words and feel free to quote any credible sources.

Are you implying that Paddy is not credible?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Are you suggesting Paddy is the source, or is it those he is interviewing?

Firing up a 1 Hr 44 minute video and suggesting people review before questioning the participants is nonsensical.

No. I'm stating that you are unable to make a credible argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Buy your own subscription to the Koch information network. :rolleyes:

You can also get information from the Irish Climate Science Forum.
    Well the ICSF would be a good recommendation then - seeing as the institution was inaugerated by hosting the Koch-funded Cato linked climate denier, Richard Lindzen.

Do you view funding by the Koch's as discreditable in any way?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

I can't take anything AOC says seriously. Roll on the next election when she is out on her ass.

Except she won't be, she'll go even further.

What exactly is your issue with her? All she does in this clip is repeat predictions he said or statements he made so he can confirm. Or do you not like that a liberal is making Big Oil look bad? Like they need the help...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Dickerty wrote: »

What exactly is your issue with her? All she does in this clip is repeat predictions he said or statements he made so he can confirm. Or do you not like that a liberal is making Big Oil look bad? Like they need the help...

She appeals to a particular constituency- in the same manner that Gretta does (albeit, Gretta has a broader appeal- but it encapsulates the same cohort).

The bigger issue is a complete and utter disillusionment with the current global leadership- and out of this disillusionment, a grasping for someone, anyone, who is willing to stand up, to put themselves on a pedestal, and who seems to represent the ideals that most people aspire towards (despite the simple fact that they may not be willing to put their hands where their mouths are).

Idealism is all well and good- however, it has a cost associated with it- and the failure to acknowledge that there is a cost and it must be bourne both by individuals and corporate bodies- tarnishes the feel good message that people are so happy to buy into.

Gretta is selling a message in irrefutable, easily digestible chunks, that appeals to the masses. She is very conveniently selling this message in a black and white manner- with little acknowledgement that the world isn't black and white- its a series of compromises, and its this complete lack of acknowledgement of this basis tenet of life, how by choosing A we give up on choosing B, or accept that B is vastly more expensive than had we not chosen A- is unfortunately selling snake oil to the masses.

The fact that we are causing untold damage to the environment, to our health- and to the future well being of the planet- is irrefutable. Its a very easy message to sell- because you'd want to be a complete conartist to try and deny it. The difficult bit is drilling down into the implications and costs of how to remediate the damage we are causing. A complete lack of looking at the bigger picture- is simply irresponsible- and indeed- focusing on the little things- while noble, is also naïve.

If Gretta's message does not bear fruit- and there is no indication that it will, as most people are only too happy to pay platitudes to her message, but not cold hard cash, the reason it will fail- is precisely because its naïve and not thought out properly.

The entire global political system is based on playing off one constituency against another- alongside a healthy dose of self preservation for politicians whenever any one constituency risks the game of consensus, and it is only a game.

Nothing short of a seachange- a global seachange, will bear fruit- and it will involve some foul medicine for the masses that they are not being prepared for.

Will people still be willing to protest when there is an actual cost spelled out to them?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Have you looked at rents and property prices lately? Everyone is already paying a massively inflated cost of living - and it's entirely down to economic/political manipulation, to exploit the population - nothing to do with material concerns like climate change.

Policies like the Green New Deal work to eliminate those exploitative rent-seeking costs placed upon society - and provide decent well paid work for anyone who wants it, working to implement policies/projects fighting climate change, while at it - that means maintaining a good standard of living for everyone, and making it way more affordable - especially compared to the exploitative present.

If enough government resources worldwide were put into the right R&D programs and infrastructure projects, I think there is a fair chance of achieving a Closed Carbon Cycle economy relatively quickly, while maintaiing/expanding current standards of living - there is a lot of low-hanging-fruit out there, in terms of technology for renewable energy generation and storage (without overreliance on rare earths), and carbon sequestration combined with reproducing it as usable fuel again.

We pretty much are barely doing anything, right now. The difference between what the private sector is doing now, compared to what governments worldwide could be doing with exponentially greater ability to command resources, is enormous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Dickerty wrote: »

She will be out on her arse. Her constituents have cottoned on that she doesn't give a rats about them and wants to push her own national profile. She won't be re-elected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 559 ✭✭✭PostWoke

Idealism is all well and good- however, it has a cost associated with it

Would you say this cost is more or less than complete environmental collapse?
    Gretta is selling a message in irrefutable, easily digestible chunks, that appeals to the masses.

Ah shure aren't you smarter than everyone else just like your mammy always said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭thelawman

thelawman wrote: »

She is of course joking about her travelling the wrong way.

Current domestic situation in Chile has led to the conference being moved.
    Chilean President Sebastian Pinera announced on Wednesday that his country would have to pull out of hosting the meeting, as well as a summit of Asia-Pacific leaders, because it is dealing with violent anti-government protests.

Expect she will have to fly to Spain if she is to make the conference. Her detractors will enjoy that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Will be a joke if her and her team fly into madrid after all the fuss. She should stay in South America and do a tour raising awareness instead of flying thousands of miles for the sake of a 60 second speech which will just be repeating what she said the last time.

On youtube at the moment there is a drive to plant 20million trees by raising 20 million dollars, think after 1 week they are up to 13million. This all came from a youtuber making a joke about how he would celebrate getting 20milllion subscribers. Every doller donated = a tree planted. It's a pity Gretta wouldn't set up a foundation of her own or go in partnership with current legit charities that provide employment for people around the world planting trees. She would bring serious attention and anyone could afford to something positive if the cost is only 1 dollar

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Expect she will have to fly to Spain if she is to make the conference. Her detractors will enjoy that.

Hard to know what will drive them crazier, a plane or ...another yacht! They hated that yacht :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Hard to know what will drive them crazier, a plane or ...another yacht! They hated that yacht :)

The Club of Rome and the rest of Gretas behind the scenes string pullers are starting to realise that Gurning Greta is doing more harm than good to the advancement of their power grabbing agenda.Doubt we will be hearing Greta repeating the same tired old slogans for much longer. I hope she doesn't go off the rails when she realises how used she was by her parents, NGOs and foundations.

anything greta does is grand as long as it annoys the sceptics on boards.

lads ye are one step away from "trigger the libs" as justification

step back from the ledge will ye.

anything greta does is grand as long as it annoys the sceptics on boards.

lads ye are one step away from "trigger the libs" as justification

step back from the ledge will ye.

Greta has time for the sceptics on Boards.
    She gave them a shout out yesterday.

https://twitter.com/GretaThunberg/status/1190067742243606529

Greta has time for the sceptics on Boards.
    She gave them a shout out yesterday.

https://twitter.com/GretaThunberg/status/1190067742243606529

theres no mention of boards.ie on that tweet

can you verify or rescind that post please

theres no mention of boards.ie on that tweet

can you verify or rescind that post please

I can yeah, just doing it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Would Greta's level of English be common for kids/teens in Sweden?

When you think about the average Irish kid....12 years of learning Irish...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

The Club of Rome and the rest of Gretas behind the scenes string pullers are starting to realise that Gurning Greta is doing more harm than good to the advancement of their power grabbing agenda.Doubt we will be hearing Greta repeating the same tired old slogans for much longer. I hope she doesn't go off the rails when she realises how used she was by her parents, NGOs and foundations.

What does Gurning Greta mean?

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    What does Gurning Greta mean?

It's just a shallow and fatuous insult based on nothing at all bar an attempt to appear clever and funny.