Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do you find those fake lips attractive?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

nthclare wrote: »
    NOTHING worse than a face like a bag of spanner's :)

Or gale off coronation st as this is all I see when I see these girls destroying themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Guy Person wrote: »
    I don't think it's a ridiculous comparison. It's not about needing to get lip fillers it's about wanting them in the same way Nicetrustedcup doesn't need to get his haircut every 6 weeks but he chooses to because he wants to.
    Personally I don't give a shít if someone has huge lips or not.

In the "Why are most families houses and lives in a mess???" most posters there are criticising the OP for judging other people yet this thread has some of the same posters judging people for changing their appearance. Why does anyone care? It's their face and body not yours.
    My objection to it is genuinely coming from a place of... sadness is probably overstating it, but kinda dismay, that young women in their late teens/early 20s with perfect skin and lips and hair think they are so unattractive looking that they need to do this bizarre looking thing to their lips, and colour their skin an orangey brown (or bake it so that they'll have 50-year-old skin by 30) and paint their faces nearly like the Joker, and attach these ludicrous looking talons to their finger nails which impedes them actually doing stuff, and have industrial cleaning product applied to their hair which turns it into straw.

And even botox!

That's ****ed. They're internalising a terrible message.

(And I'm not saying the ideal is zero make-up or manicuring or hair colouring or fake tan/sunbathing - although as a paley who loves my white skin I don't understand putting fake tan on skin that white, it doesn't suit it - but of course young women are gonna do those things... it's just the extremes that are so unnecessary, and masking a girl's beauty... and cosmetic procedures at that age... nah that's too much imo).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Whatever about the lips, Christ the eyebrows! Perfectly sensible looking ladies going around with drawn on cartoon yokes. It is mesmerising and bewildering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I like big lips, and I can not lie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

Zorya wrote: »
    Whatever about the lips, Christ the eyebrows! Perfectly sensible looking ladies going around with drawn on cartoon yokes. It is mesmerising and bewildering.

Eyebrows like Burt out of Sesame Street :)

Fake lips
    Fake eyelashes
    Fake eyebrows
    Fake hair
    Fake tan
    Fake arses
    Fake tits
    Fake face caked in orange makeup
    Fake filtered photos.

Very hard to work out what the actual person looks like a lot of the time nowadays. It's particularly bad in this country in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭bitofabind

Lol at all the samey male responses around here who think lip fillers mean this.

If you notice someone's lip fillers, they have a crap cosmetic practitioner and have probably done it on the cheap, as is the case for all facial enhancements. Botox and fillers should make someone look a bit fresher, like they've just come back from a holiday or something. Not like a bad TOWIE extra.

My lips are naturally thin, I get 1ml top-ups every 8 months or so and the difference is that my face looks more symmetrical and my lips don't disappear when I smile. Equally with botox, all I get is compliments on how good my skin is from time to time. My sister, whose trained in administrating the stuff, didn't even notice.

I'm mid-30s and look better than I did ten years ago, subjective opinion of course but I feel great for it and that's all that matters really. I researched the shizzle out of it before selecting a surgery and will pay a decent amount to see an experienced doctor who takes his reputation seriously and would turn me away if I asked for a higher dose because that awful frozen / fish lips look is the result of shoddy workmanship - of which there is a lot out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I mean, to each their own and all that, but I find fake anything on a woman pretty off putting.

These are image conscious times we live in of course and if you feel some benefit from it fair enough but it's not something I personally find particularly attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Remember the woman that got fat from her ar*e lumped into her lips? She asked for botox but it was misunderstood as buttocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭tjhook

I think it's interesting that most of the responses on this thread are critical of augmentation. I remember maybe a year ago seeing a similar thread about tattoos. In that case, the response was mostly positive.

Both are body alterations. I would guess that in both cases, the person will claim it's only being done for herself, not for anybody else. And if anything, it's more likely that a person's lip fillers will disappear (for want of a better term) over time. As for looking natural, it's not like a tattoo of a bird or some Mandarin saying "Kung Po Chicken" looks particularly natural.

Neither lip fillers not tattoos do much for me, I just find the differing consensus interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Raconteuse wrote: »
    My objection to it is genuinely coming from a place of... sadness is probably overstating it, but kinda dismay, that young women in their late teens/early 20s with perfect skin and lips and hair think they are so unattractive looking that they need to do this bizarre looking thing to their lips, and colour their skin an orangey brown (or bake it so that they'll have 50-year-old skin by 30) and paint their faces nearly like the Joker, and attach these ludicrous looking talons to their finger nails which impedes them actually doing stuff, and have industrial cleaning product applied to their hair which turns it into straw.

And even botox!

(And I'm not saying the ideal is zero make-up or manicuring or hair colouring or fake tan/sunbathing - although as a paley who loves my white skin I don't understand putting fake tan on skin that white, it doesn't suit it - but of course young women are gonna do those things... it's just the extremes that are so unnecessary, and masking a girl's beauty... and cosmetic procedures at that age... nah that's too much imo).
    I think you are being presumptuous in assuming they think they are unattractive before getting their lips done or putting on fake tan etc.. I'm a 36 year old man, my younger sister is 24 and 3 of her friends that I know of have lip fillers in and my sister tells me they love them. 2 of them I knew had them anyway because it's noticeable and 1 of them I had no idea about, they must use the same methods bitofabind and SusieBlue referred too. I don't see this as a crisis or a bad thing, I see it as a trend that some people follow and others don't.
    I don't really "get it" but I don't get loads of things like tattoos, piercings, pec implants, butt implants, botox, huge muscles, people that wear glasses for fashion not for vision and probably loads more things but I know people that have those things. They are things I wouldn't do to myself but if they want to do it then let them at it, each to their own.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Pineapple1 wrote: »
    Wake me up when natural eyebrows come back in fashion. Caterpillars belong on leaves.
    Are the caterpillar ones not the natural ones ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

If you go for lip filler or an op, the only person who should notice it is you.
    If anyone else does it'll be because they stand out for the wrong reasons like the two I saw the other day. Form 10 yards away you could see something was not right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Fake lips
    Fake eyelashes
    Fake eyebrows
    Fake hair
    Fake tan
    Fake arses
    Fake tits
    Fake filtered photos.

Very hard to work out what the actual person looks like a lot of the time nowadays. It's particularly bad in this country in my experience.
    Seems like women can’t face being themselves .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

One of the reasons why I love my girlfriend is that she doesn't fall for social pressures like this ****e. Only thing she wears that's not natural is lipstick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

I mean, to each their own and all that, but I find fake anything on a woman pretty off putting.

These are image conscious times we live in of course and if you feel some benefit from it fair enough but it's not something I personally find particularly attractive.

80% of a woman's attractiveness can be wiped away with a baby wipe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭daveorourke77

You cant get rid of a birds cans with a baby wipe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

You cant get rid of a bird cans with a baby wipe.

I'd like to give it a try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭daveorourke77

I'd like to give it a try

So would I.

I'd start with dribbling on them.

Titties. Woooooooooooooooooo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

woman-crying-1020x560.jpg

tjhook wrote: »
    I think it's interesting that most of the responses on this thread are critical of augmentation. I remember maybe a year ago seeing a similar thread about tattoos. In that case, the response was mostly positive.

Both are body alterations. I would guess that in both cases, the person will claim it's only being done for herself, not for anybody else. And if anything, it's more likely that a person's lip fillers will disappear (for want of a better term) over time. As for looking natural, it's not like a tattoo of a bird or some Mandarin saying "Kung Po Chicken" looks particularly natural.

Neither lip fillers not tattoos do much for me, I just find the differing consensus interesting.

I wouldn't say tattoos are a fair comparison.

I don't have any tattoos myself but they are probably perceived to be more artistic and/or have deep meaning attached to them. They're not supposed to look natural. Their purpose is not to make you look like you won the genetic lottery. They're not masquerading as natural body parts.

Getting your lips or tits pumped full of plastic is perceived as more of a "lie" than getting a tattoo. I think that's why there's a difference in opinion lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Fake lips
    Fake eyelashes
    Fake eyebrows
    Fake hair
    Fake tan
    Fake arses
    Fake tits
    Fake filtered photos.

Fake orgasm

Edgware wrote: »
    Fake orgasm

Excellent. Spat out me Fernet and coke when I read that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,294 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Raconteuse wrote: »

And even botox!

Why 'object' to what someone does to themselves and has literally zero impact on you. Having an opinion about what is attractive or not is fine but object? None of your business.

Also saying something is ****** and internalising a terrible message is quite extreme. It can be damaging to someone if they thought that people can have quite extreme views about the way a person looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

blinding wrote: »
    Seems like women can’t face being themselves .
    Good Lord do ye not see how resentful you come across as when you keep applying the traits of certain women to women in general?
    joeguevara wrote: »
    Why 'object' to what someone does to themselves and has literally zero impact on you. Having an opinion about what is attractive or not is fine but object? None of your business.
    You could say that about absolutely anything. It's just an opinion. Don't take the word "object" so literally. Whatever about middle aged women, yes it is a bad thing when women who are only in their late teens/early 20s think so little of how they look naturally.

There's some right reverse snobbery here.