Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doing yokes at fifty

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

anewme wrote: »
    Spun Out is a great website for young people with some v informative articles.

Would do you no harm to read a few yourself even if you are not the target audience.

I prefer to read espionage novels if I am honest. I am not sure how well I would take to teenage propaganda either, what is in them? When I was a teenager I only read adult magazines that my sisters read, like Marie Claire, Vogue and Hello. That was after I did my homework of course... and after I had finished with my Hot Press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,332 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Also buy your stuff on the web, then there's no need to mix with knackers or morons. Plus I get a good laugh out of watching An Post deliver my stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

killanena wrote: »
    As long as you have no heart problems, drink plenty of water and get the real deal. Work away :)

On the water thing, if OP is just having a mushy night in with a loved one, they don't need to be chugging water, just enough to stay hydrated. More than they would normally drink during a night, which realistically would be 0.

If they're planning on getting teeth chattering, face pulling, eye rollingly, "TAPS AFFFFFFF" munted, then yes, hop that water inta ye.

OP, be warned, if you do get your hands on some yips, don't go into hero mode, and think "Speckled Doves, man, I used ta ate 10 o' them on a night out and be grand." Pills are now stronger than ever before. Start with a quarter, and see how you get on.

Take magnesium the morning before to help with jaw clenching, eat well (not greasy food, but fruit, veg, meat, dairy, carbs, protein, yadda yadda) during the day to ensure you have the energy to burn, and ensure you have time to rest before you go back to the real world. 5-HTP the next day might help get the serotonin back to base level.

There's a lot of scaremongering, but if you don't be a pleb about it, you'll most likely be fine. Your mileage may vary, and I'm not a doctor though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭anewme

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Spun Out is a great website for young people with some v informative articles.

Would do you no harm to read a few yourself even if you are not the target audience.

I am not sure how well I would take to teenage propaganda either, what is in them?

It's a website written for young people by young people and tackles issues that face young people.

It's been recommended by organisations who get mental health queries from teenagers who ask for help.

You've probably taken a few too many of those little pills back in the day that they've left you a bit paranoid if you see a website set up to tackle issues faced by young people as propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Dutchy

MadYaker wrote:
    Also buy your stuff on the web, then there's no need to mix with knackers or morons. Plus I get a good laugh out of watching An Post deliver my stuff.

A dangerous game ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

nutjobb wrote: »
    Like everything else you put into your body its all about moderation. One night out and take a couple of pills or whatever you fancy, isn't going to kill you once you know your limit and are being sensible, take one at a time and don't take any more until the effects of the last one have been fully absorbed. Knocking them back daily/even weekly for extended periods of time likely will cause damage to you mental &physical health.

Op book a weekend to Ibiza, closing parties are coming up soon. Loads of people of that age enjoying themselves over there.

You are saying that you are incapable of enjoying yourself without taking drugs?

You got problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Bur taking yokes at parties when your a teenager has nothing to do with addiction. Did you not explain this to them?

this has been the last word of some young folk; death or disability. Not about addiction .

Dutchy wrote: »
    A dangerous game ?

Definitely less risky than buying it off some guy on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Dutchy

MadYaker wrote:
    Definitely less risky than buying it off some guy on the street.

This is very true. Thought there was a delivery hack.

Between 2004 and 2015, 117 people died from ecstasy tablets in Ireland.

Another 89 people during that time died from what are known as new psychoactive substances, or legal highs, such as party pills and synthetic cocaine.

So over 200 families needlessly impacted. Scary numbers.

It's a website written for young people by young people and tackles issues that face young people.

It's been recommended by organisations who get mental health queries from teenagers who ask for help.

You've probably taken a few too many of those little pills back in the day that they've left you a bit paranoid if you see a website set up to tackle issues faced by young people as propaganda.

Your always throwing digs in at the end of your chats, why do you do that? You told loads of people to fúck off last night when they challenged your opinion and now you are telling me I probably have latent mental issues cause I liked to party 20 years ago? Your a bit judge " mental " yourself if I am honest.

I still party by the way. Paranoia is a state of mind, it is not a consequence, do they state that on the teenage websites you are reading?

Do you tell your nieces and nephews to fúck off every time they don't agree with you, or furthermore do you finish all your conversations with unnecessary
    sardonic remarks?

On the water thing, if OP is just having a mushy night in with a loved one, they don't need to be chugging water, just enough to stay hydrated. More than they would normally drink during a night, which realistically would be 0.

If they're planning on getting teeth chattering, face pulling, eye rollingly, "TAPS AFFFFFFF" munted, then yes, hop that water inta ye.

OP, be warned, if you do get your hands on some yips, don't go into hero mode, and think "Speckled Doves, man, I used ta ate 10 o' them on a night out and be grand." Pills are now stronger than ever before. Start with a quarter, and see how you get on.

Take magnesium the morning before to help with jaw clenching, eat well (not greasy food, but fruit, veg, meat, dairy, carbs, protein, yadda yadda) during the day to ensure you have the energy to burn, and ensure you have time to rest before you go back to the real world. 5-HTP the next day might help get the serotonin back to base level.

There's a lot of scaremongering, but if you don't be a pleb about it, you'll most likely be fine. Your mileage may vary, and I'm not a doctor though.

Some good advice here, id add that you shouldn't bother with pills anymore. They are all mad strong now and you can get clean high purity crystalised mdma everywhere and it's relatively cheap. Get some of that and start with about 50 micro grams, wait an hour and see how you feel. You can always take more but you can never take less.

Another 89 people during that time died from what are known as new psychoactive substances, or legal highs, such as party pills and synthetic cocaine.

Especially considering the amount of road deaths from speeding and alcohol abuse.

Where did you get those figures from? It would be nice to check them , I love statistics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Over 11 years more people die on roads in 1 year so what's the scary part?

My dad did E for the first time recently enough at EP. He's in his mid sixties. He does it every year it at now. Once a year at a festival seems like a great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

How many died swimming, horse riding, parachuting, mountain climbing? I hope these pleasurable activities get the same outrage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Cupp3r

My dad did E for the first time recently enough at EP. He's in his mid sixties. He does it every year it at now. Once a year at a festival seems like a great idea.

Never mind the health implications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,531 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

killanena wrote: »
    As long as you have no heart problems, drink plenty of water and get the real deal. Work away :)

Not exactly. I remember the first death to make headlines in England in the 90s leah Betts , i think .
    Drinking too much water was a contributing factor iirc because she thought thats what you had to do.
    Good luck op on whatever you decide.

Cupp3r wrote: »

He gets the stuff tested in advance. Would you believe alcohol is actually worse for you.

Your always throwing digs in at the end of your chats, why do you do that? You told loads of people to fúck off last night when they challenged your opinion and now you are telling me I probably have latent mental issues cause I liked to party 20 years ago? Your a bit judge " mental " yourself if I am honest.

I still party by the way. Paranoia is a state of mind, it is not a consequence, do they state that on the teenage websites you are reading?

Do you tell your nieces and nephews to fúck off every time they don't agree with you, or furthermore do you finish all your conversations with unnecessary
    sardonic remarks?

The fck off was to a poster who asked "are you a lobster? " fck off should always be the stock answer to that question irrespective of who asks it.

you tried your best then to be patronising and belittling when I mentioned I spoke to my nieces. Firstly you asked what exactly I said to them ( not your business anyway) and when told then you sneered at the website decreeing it as propaganda because it does not suit your narrative.

Apologies if the pill comment was a tad harsh. Seems you can give it but cant take it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

That’s what I’ve decided to do, and I’m in my mid-50’s. Get some mdma and head off to a festival for the weekend. Or I might have a little dab if I’ve to attend the funeral of any of my former in-laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭nutjobb

Have people not died from taking one dodgy pill?

Any examples of this? I personally have never heard of a story like this, only from what we were told in school by teachers.

Could happen if someone has some other medical condition but that would be an anamoloy.

nutjobb wrote: »
    Any examples of this? I personally have never heard of a story like this, only from what we were told in school by teachers.

Could happen if someone has some other medical condition but that would be an anamoloy.

No idea, it was a question. I would have heard it same way you did. Heard it more than once.

Here’s a report from last year. Very sad.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/girl-15-died-after-taking-12510564.amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭nutjobb

Graces7 wrote: »
    You are saying that you are incapable of enjoying yourself without taking drugs?

You got problems

Where did I state that?

The problem I have is people can read but chose to blindly ignore what was said because they can't control their emotions and reply in a logical manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

10 a year is more than I would have expected.

Wonder how many died from MDMA during the same period?

Cupp3r wrote: »

The health implications are completely overhyped by the anti-brigade. It is actually one of the most safest narcotics available, especially when you consider the amount of it that is consumed.

The concept that it is dangerous for older people to take it is not actually really true. The raised BPM occurs when you are dancing at raves for 4 hours on the trot. Ecstasy gives you great energy and increase adrenaline and thus your heart beat. If you tried dancing for 15 minutes at 55 years of age you might be knackered, you need to be careful that you hydrate correctly and that you relax after, especially if are dancing for maybe too long. Your heart will not be used to it unless you are a fitness fanatic who likes running 10k's every week.

I have taken it on camping weekends in Wicklow and in pubs in Rathdrum. You don't walk around the pub at 189 BPM. I have sat in sitting rooms listening to Bach or Mahler on ecstasy, not at 189 BPM either, but I was loved up and loving the music. It all depends on the " buzz" you are on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,957 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

IAMAMORON wrote:
    The health implications are completely overhyped by the anti-brigade. It is actually one of the most safest narcotics available, especially when you consider the amount of it that is consumed.

I ll stick to my doctors opinion

Wanderer78 wrote: »

So you should. But your doctor will tell you not to take them and that they are illegal and highly dangerous. If told otherwise you could sue your doctor's ass for bad advice if you suffered any negative consequences. The profession is obliged to inform you of the safest option for your wellbeing.

They will also tell you to eat more porridge and get more exercise.

Doctors get out of their heads too... believe.

I am always forthright and honest when I visit the doctor with a health issue. I tell them all my habits, no matter how bad, they need to see the full picture. Anytime I have ever spoken about any drug usage I get the greatest of bollickings, they are obliged to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Wanderer78 wrote: »

To be honest, doctors are looking at using MDMA to treat different ailments. True, it's at microdoses.

The same way, I was once advised by my doctor to drink a beer a day, as it's a diuretic, and keeps my kidneys and bladder functioning optimally.

There's no way a doctor was advise you to bate back 17 pints, a rake of Jager, and wellie full of peach schnapps, nor would any advise you to double drop.

It's about dosage, and risk vs reward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,531 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

He gets the stuff tested in advance. Would you believe alcohol is actually worse for you.

Where do u get pills tested ?