Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doing yokes at fifty

• 07-09-2019 9:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭

I'm getting on in years, but have decided that before I really put the the feet up I'd like to have another session. No interest in coke. Was talking to a few similarly aged friends of both sexes and they also seem eager. Something like an Underworld gig would be great.

Any other people in their late forties or early fifties who wouldn't mind another session?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

I don't understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Can I ride with you in your B.M.W?
    You can sail with me in my yellow submarine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I'm coming up on fifty and have absolutely no idea what you are on about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

Absolutely go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,415 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

anewme wrote: »
    I'm coming up on fifty

easy there....

But what are we going for.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Hell of a come up, I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A 10 Day Skag awaits

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Work away.

I remember hosting a party one night, I was mid twenties, and a few heads around 40 arrived. They were great craic, still friends with them all now. If I knew any 20 year olds, I'd be over there now, living the dream!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I thought I was following along until I got as far as "Underworld gig".

Edit: Holy **** they're still going https://www.songkick.com/artists/462490-underworld . Haven't heard from them since the 90s.

No I'm not doing anything...just going to have a nice weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

The OP would like to take yokes with a few friends at a rave and enjoy the experience to good electronic music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

She said "I don't believe ya"
    I said "It's fcuking true"
    I swapped him for a bag of yokes in 1992

Well, thanks for that OP. I've got an earworm for the night now.

Yes! Bottled when games mattered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Barry's hotel?

Yes! Bottled when games mattered

Never did yokes at 30 or 40, no interest at 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Dante7 wrote: »
    I'm getting on in years, but have decided that before I really put the the feet up I'd like to have another session. No interest in coke. Was talking to a few similarly aged friends of both sexes and they also seem eager. Something like an Underworld gig would be great.

Any other people in their late forties or early fifties who wouldn't mind another session?

Fabswingers.com

That's what the auld wants at work are using.

Makes for interesting water cooler chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

The real Dante’s Peak

What is this about?

Will be hitting big 5 0 soon and would hate to think I'm missing out on something

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

What is this about?

Will be hitting big 5 0 soon and would hate to think I'm missing out on something

I think you're supposed to drop a few yokes and eat the inside of your cheeks while underground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

Im like you op, only younger. I made a strict decision never to bother with any drugs when I was a teen but sometimes think maybe I should have.

I reckon the thought is better than the outcome. Think of it as looking forward to Christmas.. the looking forward is the best part...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,426 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I’d advise any “oldies” who are looking to start experimenting get your hearts checked first. Just to be sure.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 Reppohc

Drugs, like youth, are wasted on the young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Enjoy buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Whenever I go to the Netherlands for festivals or clubs or whatever the lads I'm with are mid-40s to early 50s, they seem grand with it. Stuff is strong these days, good yokes are made to be taken in halves now (a full good pill is a strong double-drop nowadays) so be careful and dose low.
    If you have a heart condition or high blood pressure stay away.

OP this isn't scientific but I reckon you'd find pills are different now than how they were in your day.

The first time I tried them I remember being seriously underwhelmed, this would have been 12-14 years ago. And it's even worse now
    So either the quality is falling, or pills from the 1990s were way overrated.

Personally I think the standard has fallen, because nominal prices have remained the same, there doesn't even seem to have been an adjustment for inflation. It's still a tenner a pill.

I don't know the biochemistry of it all, but even increasing the "dosage" doesn't result in a proportionately better high: you hit a brick wall after maybe 2 pills, it's like you stop absorbing the magic ingredient. I'm sure there's some pharmacokinetic explanation for this.

Tl:DR honestly don't even bother with regular pills if you're after some great last hurrah. They're fine on a casual basis but instead, go after some "pure" MDMA, however you take it.

Oh and whatever you do, don't go near the rickshaws. You might as well try fetching a bucket of steam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

Drugs are for scumbags. Go for it OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

What is this about?

Giving them drugs, taking their lives away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

E, acid and the like are a young man's game. Everybody knows there are only 3 ways for an older man to relive his youth.

1 Go for mad sessions of drink and drugs
    2 Leave your wife for a younwan
    3 take up cycling and wear skintight lycra clothes to show off your big belly

Number 3 is also acceptable clothing to wear to an Underworld gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭gigantic09

https://youtu.be/U2YDZOItGWU

Go for it OP. Few of us went to Carl Cox last summer for 'a last Hurrah' and had a great time. Soon time to plan another one :), you're never too old.

No idea what drugs are.

Fifty thus year and never taken any drugs, never even smoked a joint.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 Reppohc

Illegal drugs or all drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭.G.

I'm in.
    grindle wrote: »
    Whenever I go to the Netherlands for festivals or clubs or whatever the lads I'm with are mid-40s to early 50s, they seem grand with it. Stuff is strong these days, good yokes are made to be taken in halves now (a full good pill is a strong double-drop nowadays) so be careful and dose low.
    If you have a heart condition or high blood pressure stay away.

I took a beetle many moons ago, best yoke I've ever had, spent the first 20 minutes fairly sure I was going to die, the rest of the night was euphoric :D

You know what I find funny..when you're talking to someone a bit older like your mam or aunt or someone and they refer to hash as The Hash!

I've only smoked weed around a handful of times but I find it funny when people refer to it like The Thing or The Stuff like the films!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

A bunch of us mid to late forties took yokes (lobs) on a saturday in Dingle a couple of months ago. We started at 11 am, visited a fair few pubs, all turned out well..... lol.

Reppohc wrote: »
    Illegal drugs or all drugs?
    Illegal of course.

People can still get involved in bar brawls, piss on the public street, engage in all kinds of scurrilous and dangerous behaviours and be entirely anti-social whilst still being upstanding members of the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭auspicious

No I don't think so. Drugs have been comsumed in every civilisation since the dawn of man for all sorts of reasons.
    I think you allow the nanny state to hold your hand.
    Unfortunately too many scumbags are involved in the sale of drugs.
    Oh and alcohol is a drug. Ten thousand people per year in the U.S. die from prescription drugs.

Tammy! wrote: »
    You know what I find funny..when you're talking to someone a bit older like your mam or aunt or someone and they refer to hash as The Hash!

I've only smoked weed around a handful of times but I find it funny when people refer to it like The Thing or The Stuff like the films!
    Tammy! I think you were actually watching the movies The Thing and The Stuff

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0090094/
    https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0084787/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

You were too high on "The Hash" to realise they are not movies about drugs!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Get some real MDMA. It was actually initially conceived by scientists who were trying to tackle issues of depression in old aged people, I respect you are middle aged.

Get your pals over and throw on some tunes you like and enjoy yourself. There will be plenty of water in the tap and you can even enjoy a few drinks etc, although I would not go overboard.

If your hell bent on going to a gig like underworld etc I would suggest you check out their website and see where they are playing. Although mind you I can think of better acts to party to. Get you arse down to Ibiza for a few nights. Clubs like Revision do big nights with the likes of Richie Hawtin, Carl Cox, Sasha and John Digweed etc etc.

Stay in a nice hotel and get out of your barney with a few of your mates. You don't have to party for 9 hours to get a kick out of it, you can always leave early if you think it is crap.

So I've decided on the following:

An Extended trip to New Zealand or Australia

Hiking: South America Or Ethopia

Cruise: Antarctica or Galapagos

So, I've never done any YOKES so moneys no object.

ideas for 50th welcome!

Guy Person wrote: »
    Tammy! I think you were actually watching the movies The Thing and The Stuff

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0090094/
    https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0084787/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

You were too high on "The Hash" to realise they are not movies about drugs!

No Guy, that's not it :D

I can't remember The Thing tbh but The Stuff did have a bit of a thing about addiction though I think it was more about consumerism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

No idea what drugs are.

Fifty thus year and never taken any drugs, never even smoked a joint.

...... well back in 1993.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Naughty Naughty, Very Naughty

STB. wrote: »
    I guess you had to be there and on drugs but that looks unbearably boring to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

Never did yokes at 30 or 40, no interest at 50.

And then you die. Never having experienced doing yokes at an Underworld gig. I'll give it a whirl.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

The babe in the Shamen video is sooooo sexy. I love her.

Guy Person wrote: »
    I guess you had to be there and on drugs but that looks unbearably boring to me.

Oh ffs Guy. Stop ruining our buzzz :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Go for it. I've done thousands of them but not for about 15 years. I'll revisit them one of these days, I just need a good excuse like you.