Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doing yokes at fifty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,959 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Even though I've never done illegal drugs, I do think, if they're required for a good time, maybe change your pass times, plenty of high adrenaline fun out there to get you excited. Look after yourselves folks

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Even though I've never done illegal drugs, I do think, if they're required for a good time, maybe change your pass times, plenty of high adrenaline fun out there to get you excited. Look after yourselves folks

"I got some of the best pills in from Rotterdam, lads. 50% more excitement in them. Like Oblivion at Alton Towers apparently. None of that downhill skying shlt we've been used to."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,959 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

"I got some of the best pills in from Rotterdam, lads. 50% more excitement in them. Like Oblivion at Alton Towers apparently. None of that downhill skying shlt we've been used to."

Ah I ll stick to mountain biking, or something like that, I put enough **** into my body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭JMMCapital

**** drugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

The problems are obviously any health conditions and also the hangover or come down is much worse once you get older. When you’re young you don’t care what direction your life is going in. Go on a mad session when you get older and you climb the walls for days sometimes weeks after. Be careful and enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭justincasey

Ye go for it be ready to take the week off work.. be safe though maybe worth getting them tested.. the harm reduction tent in electric picnic found coke and valium mixed in some no MDMA at all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Anyone that does drugs is only kidding themselves whether they are 18 or 50.

Is there anyone here who would be near 50 or past it and has no interest in, or never tried drugs and no wish ever to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

anewme wrote: »
    Is there anyone here who would be near 50 or past it and has no interest in, or never tried drugs and no wish ever to?

Heading for 80 here and never ever tried illegal drugs and no wish to, ever. Not ever..No reason or desire. Taking meds for real physical ills is bad enough. No alcohol here either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Ye go for it be ready to take the week off work.. be safe though maybe worth getting them tested.. the harm reduction tent in electric picnic found coke and valium mixed in some no MDMA at all..

That's bollocks, why use one of the most expensive drugs going to bulk out Ecstacy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭justincasey

GooglePlus wrote: »
    That's bollocks, why use one of the most expensive drugs going to bulk out Ecstacy?

That's exactly what I said .. I got that information from someone who worked on the tent so believe it or not. I'm sure very small amount .. anyway there mixed with everything best stick with pure MD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,546 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Some of the most mind blowing sex I ever had was whilst buzzing on ecstasy. :D

This . Sex on a comedown was just incredible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,988 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Me but each to their own. I'm not going to judge. I used to go to raves and dance events when I was younger (45 now). I loved the music (still do). Had some brilliant nights and made some great friends.
    It might surprise you but some of the greatest writers, artists, musicians and actors would have been heavy drug users. So some of the greatest things that have affected our cultures and mindsets have been made where the user was "out of his/her mind".
    By all means live well and pay your debts as you've alluded to but I'm sure many posters on here have done that and *shock horror*... taken illegal drugs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

That's exactly what I said .. I got that information from someone who worked on the tent so believe it or not. I'm sure very small amount .. anyway there mixed with everything best stick with pure MD

I don't think that's true, it doesn't make sense at all sure if there's a small amount in whatever 1000's of pills they make, that's a lot of coke. They could use anything else that would be cheaper. Plus valium is a sedative, not exactly great for mimicking ecstacy.

Most of them are bulked out with amphetamines or PMA, which is what has killed a lot of young lads and girls recently because it takes longer to come up so they pop more.

OP you can get reagent tests for very cheap online and well worth it. You crush the pill and mix with a solution, which will go certain colours for various substances.

MDMA is harmless if dosed right and you have no underlying issues but as the previous poster said, you don't know what else is in them. Pure MDMA may be a better shout but test also.

mfceiling wrote: »

Me but each to their own. I'm not going to judge. I used to go to raves and dance events when I was younger (45 now). I loved the music (still do). Had some brilliant nights and made some great friends.
    It might surprise you but some of the greatest writers, artists, musicians and actors would have been heavy drug users. So some of the greatest things that have affected our cultures and mindsets have been made where the user was "out of his/her mind".
    By all means live well and pay your debts as you've alluded to but I'm sure many posters on here have done that and *shock horror*... taken illegal drugs!!

I've two nieces coming up into their teens and have already spoken to them about drugs being a mugs game and they should avoid at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Anyone that does drugs is only kidding themselves whether they are 18 or 50.

Either I live a very sheltered life or else there is a different breed of people out there. Personally, I am sick of hearing the 'man dies/gets messed up from drugs' story and then we are all supposed to have pity... which is complete BS. The way I see it is that if they all want to go off and mess themselves up then let them off. It's not me or my body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I've two nieces coming up into their teens and have already spoken to them about drugs being a mugs game and they should avoid at all costs.

They’ll definitely never do ‘drugs’ now that their super cool, debt paying, hi viz wearing, hill walking uncle advises against it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Those who do and those who don't.

It is gas how all the anti - ecstasy users on this thread have never actually tried it. They are knocking something they have no concept of.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 Reppohc

They’ll definitely never do ‘drugs’ now that their super cool, debt paying, hi viz wearing, hill walking uncle advises against it.

This.

The conversation came up following a tragedy in one of their schools.

Their mother asked me to have a chat with them as she was too close to the situation.

It was a "but why" conversation and they often have a lot of different elements to them, drugs just being one.

Their mother asked me to have a chat with them as she was too close to the situation.

It was a "but why" conversation and they often have a lot of different elements to them, drugs just being one.

What type of advice did you give to them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Here, as in AH? Some, for sure.

In the wider population, many more than you might think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭nutjobb

Like everything else you put into your body its all about moderation. One night out and take a couple of pills or whatever you fancy, isn't going to kill you once you know your limit and are being sensible, take one at a time and don't take any more until the effects of the last one have been fully absorbed. Knocking them back daily/even weekly for extended periods of time likely will cause damage to you mental &physical health.

Op book a weekend to Ibiza, closing parties are coming up soon. Loads of people of that age enjoying themselves over there.

IAMAMORON wrote: »

What type of advice did you give to them?

Without giving too much of our family situation away, I used real examples of how addiction can mask other issues and why certain things are as they are.

And cliched as it sounds, that good old "it's ok not to be ok" conversation in more real terms.

nutjobb wrote: »
    Like everything else you put into your body its all about moderation. One night out and take a couple of pills or whatever you fancy, isn't going to kill you

Have people not died from taking one dodgy pill?

Without giving too much of our family situation away, I used real examples of how addiction can mask other issues and why certain things are as they are.

And cliched as it sounds, that good old "it's ok not to be ok" conversation in more real terms.

Bur taking yokes at parties when your a teenager has nothing to do with addiction. Did you not explain this to them?

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Bur taking yokes at parties when your a teenager has nothing to do with addiction. Did you not explain this to them?

Spun Out is a great website for young people with some v informative articles.

Would do you no harm to read a few yourself even if you are not the target audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

As long as you have no heart problems, drink plenty of water and get the real deal. Work away :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

As long as you have no heart problems, drink plenty of water and get the real deal. Work away :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I had no interest in drugs of any sort until I started studying pharmacology. Then I got too curious and I had to try acid. It's not something I would do regularly but I take a little bit once or twice a year at festivals and it's always fun. Same approach with mdma and I don't really bother with anything else. If you buy the testing kits test your samples so you know you won't poison yourself, be careful with the dosage (sort out your doses at home before you go to the festival) and don't mix too many different substances it's relatively safe. I've never had a negative experience following this approach. Probably helps that I didn't start until I was in my mid twenties so I was a bit wiser. Acid in particular is an experience unlike anyuthing else you can do really.