Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Brexit discussion thread X (Please read OP before posting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

If ''No Deal Brexit'' passes into law, is it there for good? Even with a new PM in place. Does it confirm once and for all that there can never be a 'No Deal Brexit''
    No deal is the default exit regardless of any votes held in Westminster. This is what the UK are currently sailing towards and *will* happen (despite the recent WM vote) unless they either revoke Art 50, accept the WA or ask and receive an extension.
    It is really the ask for an extension law. When it passes it forces Johnson to ask for an extension from the EU until 31st January 2020. So it postpones a possible no deal Brexit (or clean break exit) until that date.

I think we can expect an election during that time. If the Tories gain a clear majority then Johnson has probably enough support to exit at the end of January. If the Tories lose, then Labour will probably try to enter into fresh negotiations with the EU. If the Tories only gain a narrow majority then we'll get something like the repeat of what is happening now with another law to force a request for an extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Shelga

Is Boris Johnson winning a majority in a GE now the only route to a no-deal Brexit?

A GE which results in a similar parliament makeup as today solves nothing.

A second referendum seems to be politically impossible.

Are the EU going to keep granting extensions just because parliament don’t want to leave without a deal, if they fail to agree an alternative?

I can see Labour putting in their manifesto that they will enter fabulous new negotiations that will result in a brilliant, unicorny socialist utopia Brexit- the EU need to be very clear ahead of any general election that May’s deal is the only one available. We’re all so fed up of this rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,142 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I'm running off years of living here and what real people really think. If you are basing your opinions on headlines and newspaper photos then I would refer you to the chances trump had of winning the election.

And yes. I voted remain but we are leaving so I would rather they get on with it. I don't want to spend 2020 going through anymore of this nonsense. Let the cards fall where they may.

Brexit will roll on for the next ten years.

I'm not sure you've thought this true. Frankly cards falling or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

VinLieger wrote: »
    They are but your average brexiteers arent that smart
    So Forty Seven's main problem with the EU is with a completely different institution?

Got it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Hold on, what has the ECtHR got to do with the EU? I thought they were separate institutions.

If it has an E in the acronym then apparently it was voted on that the UK leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,789 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

So Forty Seven's main problem with the EU is with a completely different institution?

Got it.

Brexiteer's problems are with Europe.

Plain and simple.

Shelga wrote: »
    I can see Labour putting in their manifesto that they will enter fabulous new negotiations that will result in a brilliant, unicorny socialist utopia Brexit- the EU need to be very clear ahead of any general election that May’s deal is the only one available. We’re all so fed up of this rubbish.
    I think what Labour want is a sort of CU/SM with significant say over the rules (unlike Norway / Iceland) and in addition some form of control over migration. I don't think there's a problem with the CU/SM but I could see a lot of discussion over how much say the UK would have and what level of control they would have over immigration from EU countries. Definitely better from the Irish perspective than no deal.

Although Corbyn has said that he would not rule out a second referendum, I don't think he himself is in favour of one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

I voted remain but we are leaving so I would rather they get on with it. I don't want to spend 2020 going through anymore of this nonsense. Let the cards fall where they may.

You do realise that "getting on with it" means you'll spend all of the "20s" going through this nonsense - especially if the UK leaves without a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

The Dutch refused to extradite a major drug dealer as his cell in Liverpool wasn't up to scratch.

Not the point but being in the ECHR didn't make a difference then. I'm sure a country like the UK could come to some arrangement regarding extradition. It does work both ways.

From reading this article, all the British authorities had to do was assure the Dutch Court that he would not be sent to 3 named prisons because the conditions were some of the 'worst conditions inspectors have seen'.

By the way, it is assumed that people are innocent until proven guilty in most jurisdictions.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/may/10/dutch-court-blocks-extradition-of-man-to-inhumane-uk-prisons

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2018/jan/19/liverpool-prison-worst-conditions-inspectors-report

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,643 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Below standard posts deleted. Serious comments only please.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

A second referendum seems to be politically impossible.

Are the EU going to keep granting extensions just because parliament don’t want to leave without a deal, if they fail to agree an alternative?

I think a 2nd referendum is now more than likely. Anything bar a Conservative majority in the upcoming election will lead to a referendum.

Yes, the EU will keep granting extensions forever, costs very little compared to No Deal disruption, as long as the possibility exists that the UK will someday cop on and agree a deal or bin Brexit. The EU has been known to keep kicking the can down the roads for 25 years when it suits them, like Norway and Switzerland joining, or Sweden adopting the Euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

You do realise that "getting on with it" means you'll spend all of the "20s" going through this nonsense - especially if the UK leaves without a deal.

And it looks like Phil Hogan is going to be the next EU Trade Commissioner. Good luck to any British (or US) trade negotiators facing a team of Hogan and Sabine! They won't take any old nonsense.

Yes, the EU will keep granting extensions forever, costs very little compared to No Deal disruption, as long as the possibility exists that the UK will someday cop on and agree a deal or bin Brexit. The EU has been known to keep kicking the can down the roads for 25 years when it suits them, like Norway and Switzerland joining, or Sweden adopting the Euro.
    Or Turkey's application to join the EU. I agree there's never been a fear that the EU would turn down an extension request.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

nc6000 wrote: »
    Except for Sammy Wilson, he takes his motorbike on the ferry to Scotland then makes his way over 600KMs down to London.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/dup-s-wilson-happy-to-vote-down-may-s-brexit-deal-1.3757338[/QUOTE

Goes to show the depth of his animosity towards the rest of the country. For some reason the image of Sammy on a motorbike immediately conjured up an image of the village people

Corbyn has said that he would not rule out a second referendum, I don't think he himself is in favour of one.

Corbyn explicitly said in a speech on the 2nd that in the next election Labour would offer the people the final say on Brexit with realistic options for both sides including an option to remain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

“We will do everything we can in the coming weeks to prevent no deal. We want a general election so the people of this country can decide their future and we are very clear that we would in the Labour manifesto include a public vote under a Labour government with the option of remain or whatever alternative parliament has come to.

“If it’s no deal, then we vote to remain. If it’s any other deal, then our party’s democratic processes will decide what position we take.”

Think that's what Zub is referring to, from Corbyns speech in Salford earlier this week. Seems clear enough to me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Duane Dibbley

I think a 2nd referendum is now more than likely. Anything bar a Conservative majority in the upcoming election will lead to a referendum.

But what would be in the referendum besides leaving with Clean break ( no deal ) and remain? The could do that with a GE . Labour remain , Cons ( Brexit No Deal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Shelga

Actually I think I'm wrong, will the EU reopen the WA if the UK's red lines are removed? I assume if they did, it wouldn't be another 2 year negotiation, no one has the will for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Forty Seven

Got it.

Nope. I merely highlighted the fact that Theresa May's deal ties the UK into something she herself wanted out of after Abu Qatada.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/apr/25/uk-must-leave-european-convention-on-human-rights-theresa-may-eu-referendum

This is an issue for many. It is the EU pushing for us to stay in it as part of a deal and a U turn in government policy and the conservative manifesto if we do. It is a valid point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,142 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Nope. I merely highlighted the fact that Theresa May's deal ties the UK into something she herself wanted out of after Abu Qatada.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/apr/25/uk-must-leave-european-convention-on-human-rights-theresa-may-eu-referendum

This is an issue for many. It is the EU pushing for us to stay in it as part of a deal and a U turn in government policy and the conservative manifesto if we do. It is a valid point.

Exactly on the money.

She. Herself.

So why are you upset about Mays red lines.in fact you should me pissed with them. Being a remainer. Her red lines made no sense.

I'm sorry, but if you think this won't be news for the next decade at least (whatever happens), then you have another think coming.

Of course it will but let me ask you this. Would you rather have the GFA discussed over the last ten years or would you rather they were still trying to agree it?

Sometimes you just have to take the plunge to make things happen, like Ian Paisley eventually did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Is there any way for Johnson to force an election apart from a two thirds majority vote in the commons?

Actually I think I'm wrong, will the EU reopen the WA if the UK's red lines are removed? I assume if they did, it wouldn't be another 2 year negotiation, no one has the will for that.

Labour do, and the EU won't mind punting for a couple of years.

But Labour are not going to win a majority, so the terms of the referendum will have to be agreed by the Bollocks to Brexit party, who would probably prefer the question to be May's WA vs. remain, since remain is more likely to win that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

MadYaker wrote: »
    Is there any way for Johnson to force an election apart from a two thirds majority vote in the commons?

There is some talk of him introducing a one-line bill calling for a GE next monday and that requires only a simple majority. Problem with this, i think, is that by proroguing parliament (assuming its not overturned by the courts) it might not have enough time to be passed and - not 100% on the details - but the opposition can also introduce amendments that could potentially alter the bill in a way the PM might not like. Doesnt sound a great option, but like i said, i'm not 100% up to speed on what exactly it entails.

I'm not so sure of this. The UK would certainly take an economic hit in the event of a no deal brexit and there would be a period of disruption and adaptation but it would stop being news fairly quickly.

Ireland took on significant debt in the aftermath of the financial crisis. We went from being a comparatively low national debt country to a comparatively high debt one relative to GDP. I don't want to get into whose fault it was but the point is that we are still paying for it now. For example problems in the housing market can be traced back to the financial crisis in Ireland but few are interested in this today because it is not news.

The same thing will happen with no deal in the UK if that occurs. There will be a period of news stories reporting chaos at Dover, business closures, redundancies etc. But these will die down. Economic problems will remain due to Brexit but over time will stop being attributed to brexit. Britain being outside the EU trading on WTO terms will be the accepted norm and problems will be blamed on politicians and policies of the day rather than Brexit. This might seem unfair but it is the way it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,882 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

There is some talk of him introducing a one-line bill calling for a GE next monday and that requires only a simple majority. Problem with this, i think, is that by proroguing parliament (assuming its not overturned by the courts) it might not have enough time to be passed and - not 100% on the details - but the opposition can also introduce amendments that could potentially alter the bill in a way the PM might not like. Doesnt sound a great option, but like i said, i'm not 100% up to speed on what exactly it entails.
    It's what's called a 'notwithstanding' bill. Basically "Notwithstanding the FTPA, the Government will hold an election on xx/xx/xxxx".
    That's how you get around statute law. Make another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭A Shropshire Lad

Good to see British democracy in action today, as the latest Bill will be debated and then voted on by the unelected House of Lords

There will be a period of news stories reporting chaos at Dover, business closures, redundancies etc. But these will die down. Economic problems will remain due to Brexit but over time will stop being attributed to brexit. Britain being outside the EU trading on WTO terms will be the accepted norm and problems will be blamed on politicians and policies of the day rather than Brexit.

Well, no, because in order to fix Dover, business closures, redundancies, food and fuel shortages, capital flight, sterling in the gutter etc the UK will need a trade deal with the EU pronto.

And the price for entering talks will be €33 billion, guarantees on EU citizens rights and a solution for the Irish Border.

The UK red-tops will melt down, and EU talks will be front page news for a decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Ireland took on significant debt in the aftermath of the financial crisis. ...

The same thing will happen with no deal in the UK if that occurs. There will be a period of news stories reporting chaos at Dover, business closures, redundancies etc. But these will die down.

Yes, but those are just the effects of "no deal" - equivalent to Ireland's bail-out. But once Ireland was bailed out, that was the "end" of it (apart from the lingering consquences that you describe). For the UK, though, they'll go through all of that and then arrive back at this same point: having to agree a deal, and having to decide amongst themselves exactly how closely they want to align themselves with the EU to get that deal done. Cue howls of "we didn't fight for Brexit just to hand everything back to Brussels" - and media sensationalist reporting of same.

listermint wrote: »
    Exactly on the money.

She. Herself.

So why are you upset about Mays red lines.in fact you should me pissed with them. Being a remainer. Her red lines made no sense.

They made perfect sense, to leavers. Who unfortunately won a referendum and are hell bent on following it through regardless of the cost.

Me pointing out that the ECHR and the ECtHR are in fact quite a sticking point in this mess is merely a reflection of the idea posted here by many that the UK is somehow misguided and just hating anything EU. It is seen as capitulation. It's not all about the backstop.