Women's football qualifying on RTE 2 - legit or sjw out of control?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Forty Seven

young women are being really damaged by social media,

Don't you have that the wrong way round?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Formula One is a good example of what happens to a sport when it isn't televised (or is limited to a niche channel that hardly anyone has easy access to). It used to be moderately popular, but now it's invisible. Kids don't accidentally stumble across it on a Sunday afternoon on BBC/RTE like they did in the past, so it's unlikely that anyone will be watching it at all in twenty or thirty years time - if it still exists. Hardly anyone, apart from a dwindling number of die-hard fans, could name a current F1 driver (apart from maybe Lewis Hamilton). When's the last time you heard a normal person talking about "yesterday's Grand Prix"?

Rubbish. Formula 1 is one of the largest sports in the world. It's moving to more a subscription-based model and they have calculated that this will bring in more revenue. When they did that for the premier league the size of the sport multiple countless fold. Your anecdotal examples don't mean anything. So a few casuals aren't seeing bits of it as they flick through the channels, they're not going to miss those people. It's ridiculous to say it "won't exist". There are so many sports of all sizes that fare just fine and F1 is one of the biggest sports. Even if it was a disaster they would just bring it back to the terrestrial channels the way it was.
    And rugby is a good example of what happens to a shite minority sport when the privately educated suits who work for the national broadcaster decide to push it like mad. Twenty years ago, the average non-privately-educated person could barely name a rugby player. Nowadays, despite nobody really understanding the stupid game, half the team are household names (although not in this household, I can assure you). That wouldn't have happened if RTE had given it the attention it deserves.

Sure, RTE have been flushing away the money on all kinds of things there's no justification for just because they can.
    I've no real interest in soccer, but I have no issue with RTE pushing the women's national team. Yes, they should push the League of Ireland too, but I don't think it needs to be an either/or situation. There's plenty of room in the schedule for both.

Other stuff will always be pushed out. Why not let people decide what they want to watch and go with the viewing figures like any normal tv channel instead of showing stuff out of "principle" or because people have decided it would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,403 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Don't have a problem with them showing it.

It's hardly going to grow in popularity without a bit of a push, televising games like this is a good start. What's the harm? What other absolutely brilliant RTE programming are you missing out on because they are broadcasting the match instead?

The quality isn't what you're used to watching compared to the men's game, fair enough, but remember most of these women hold down regular jobs and haven't been basically working and living as full time professional athletes since they were in their teens.

People who complain about it getting some attention - What's your alternative? Just ignore the games and hope that it miraculously gets better with nobody looking? The behaviour of the FAI in recent years towards the national women's side was a total disgrace - oftentimes no changing facilities or proper equipment, and that's just the tip of the iceberg - all while JD was out wining and dining and living high on the hog. It'd make you sick and partly the reason they were able to get away with it was that the women's national side was largely ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Rubbish. Formula 1 is one of the largest sports in the world. It's moving to more a subscription-based model and they have calculated that this will bring in more revenue. When they did that for the premier league the size of the sport multiple countless fold. Your anecdotal examples don't mean anything. So a few casuals aren't seeing bits of it as they flick through the channels, they're not going to miss those people. It's ridiculous to say it "won't exist". There are so many sports of all sizes that fare just fine and F1 is one of the biggest sports. Even if it was a disaster they would just bring it back to the terrestrial channels the way it was.

That's some ridiculous wishful thinking right there. F1 has always been something of a niche sport and cannot realistically be compared with the Premier League (which was built around a subscription model from its inception). Go into a pub some Sunday afternoon and ask if they can switch Milton Keynes Dons versus Accrington Stanley (who are they? Exactly) off because you want to watch the Azerbaijan Grand Prix and you'll be laughed out of the place.

It already is a disaster - compare Sky's F1 viewing figures with those of ITV and the BBC a few short years ago. The longer they leave it to fester in the wilderness before bringing it back to terrestrial television, the more difficult it'll be to win back the viewers that they lost. A whole generation of kids couldn't give a toss about it.

Its interest nowadays seems to be confined to weird middle-aged nerds with dirty fingernails who wear their baseball caps the right way around and like counting things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Randle P. McMurphy

Who won ?

Who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Don't you have that the wrong way round?
    Mixture of both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I absolutely have no problem with the promotion of womens sport, the women's world cup was decent and I hope the sport grows, certainly I hope in future they are paid a lot more than the plumbers wages they currently get.

I disagree about the wages, football is driven by market forces and they get paid what the market and interest dictates. I would guess having a women's team costs many teams money at present.

It should increase as increase and sponsorship does until then artificially inflating it is wrong.

Besides I would love a plumbers wage for playing football!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

No issue with it really. Won't cost rte buttons to show it and it might encourage young girls to play sport so from a public service point of view I think it ticks most boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Omackeral wrote: »
    Shamrock Rovers played Bohemians in front of over 7,000 people last Friday night, among them were the President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins and the Republic of Ireland National Team manager Mick McCarthy. Meanwhile RTE decided to show a re-run of The Big Bang Theory. It's been nearly 100 days (98 I think) since our national broadcaster have shown a game from our league. Gobsh*tes.

The quality in League of Ireland is shïte though. Pat Hoban is the top goal scorer in the league and couldn’t make it as a player in Division 2 in England. Michael D goes as he’s been a LoI supporter for 40 years. It’s a niche hobby though, and is mostly middle-aged men in plastic parkas chanting at each other at the games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

lawred2 wrote: »
    No issue with it really. Won't cost rte buttons to show it and it might encourage young girls to play sport so from a public service point of view I think it ticks most boxes.

How will it not cost them? Is it not the same costs vs the LOI?

It is being shown for Pc reasons, that’s clear enough, there was no real public demand for it. That said, is it such a bad thing? There was a six month old Brexit documentary the night before, heaps of repeats now, maybe the soccer will be better.
    From what I saw last night was a v poor game to be fair, Montenegro were way off the pace. Maybe some of the other games in the qualifiers will be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

To be fair, it's the public broadcaster. Not everything should be about the bottom line or common demominator.

Be careful what you wish for.

Public broadcasters should be showing programming that is in the public interest. There is little to no interest anywhere in the country for women’s football.

Long before the obvious "promotion" of ladies sport started on the mainstream channels like RTE and BBC, TG4 were showing ladies Gaelic Football

They have been doing it for the bones of 20 years at this stage I'd reckon

Now I know it's a niche station and the games are hardly prime time but it has been shown for years without a whimper of whether it was "legit or sjw out of control".
    People actually give TG4 kudos for showing it.

And I think the reason fro the difference between the reaction to showing ladies GAA and ladies soccer is simple, soccer and the people who watch/follow it still maintains a macho/ladish image.

Soccer is a lads game, played by lads, followed by lads.

I have gone to numerous soccer games in the UK and numerous Irish internationals games, and hundreds of GAA games

And the one thing that always strikes me is the difference in the crowd make up.

Attendance at a typical Irish soccer international at the Aviva will be primarily be made up of men aged from mid 20s upwards, a few father and son combinations also.
    There will be relatively few women or girls there.

The attendance at GAA games (both high and low profile) is completely different, it primarily families, you will see all ages from 8 months to 80 years old, men, women, children.

So there is far less of a backlash when it comes to girls playing GAA and a TV station promoting it than there is to girls playing soccer and the promotion of that.

What all due respect, the first part of your post is boll1x. TG4 get out to promote and show women’s GAA from the outset, that’s why people didn’t mind. RTÉ have seen BBC do something and copied it. That’s what annoys people. Also, RTÉ 1 & 2 are the main channels like you said. No one really watches TG4

wiggle16 wrote: »
    Oh get over yourself. You're happy when your particular sporting interest is on tv, paid for by tv licence fees. Now that they are carrying something you don't enjoy you're not happy to be paying for it.

I don't have any interest in sport at all, yet it's on tv all the time and even gets news coverage devoted to it. All with the privilege of paying for it like everyone else.

We are all "forced" to pay for things we don't use or get any benefit from. I'll never have kids but the tax I pay goes towards paying for schools, other people's child benefit and free GP visits for under-6's. Stuff me and all the other childless people out there will never avail of but help to fund. Should I only pay tax to the extent that I derive a benefit from the services it funds? What if I don't like children?

Those of us who get no enjoyment at all from sport have to pay the tv licence like everyone else. But that's okay with you, just as long as it's your particular interest that is catered for :rolleyes:

Yes, because we’ve a steady stream of English, Spanish and German soccer ( they don’t even show the Irish league), golf, professional boxing, MMA and American sports on Irish tv. I’m always delighted when I can watch these on RTE. You’ve caught me out. Well done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Rubbish. Formula 1 is one of the largest sports in the world. .
    That's some ridiculous wishful thinking right there. F1 has always been something of a niche sport .

i think to clarify the initial post was that he meant the global reach of F1 which is massive

And in respect to OP i just think it suits RTE's agenda in spending little to fill the primetime slots and be seen to promoting the womens game. Fair enough although Mackarel made a good point re the LOI game that had 7k attending and last nights game only had 3k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Formula One is a good example of what happens to a sport when it isn't televised (or is limited to a niche channel that hardly anyone has easy access to). It used to be moderately popular, but now it's invisible. Kids don't accidentally stumble across it on a Sunday afternoon on BBC/RTE like they did in the past, so it's unlikely that anyone will be watching it at all in twenty or thirty years time - if it still exists. Hardly anyone, apart from a dwindling number of die-hard fans, could name a current F1 driver (apart from maybe Lewis Hamilton). When's the last time you heard a normal person talking about "yesterday's Grand Prix"?

And rugby is a good example of what happens to a shite minority sport when the privately educated suits who work for the national broadcaster decide to push it like mad. Twenty years ago, the average non-privately-educated person could barely name a rugby player. Nowadays, despite nobody really understanding the stupid game, half the team are household names (although not in this household, I can assure you). That wouldn't have happened if RTE had given it the attention it deserves.

I've no real interest in soccer, but I have no issue with RTE pushing the women's national team. Yes, they should push the League of Ireland too, but I don't think it needs to be an either/or situation. There's plenty of room in the schedule for both.

While I prefer soccer, I could name half the Ireland rugby team when I was ten, not from South Dublin either, rugby was always more than a "minority" sport

The team were rubbish until around 2000 but people watched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

razorblunt wrote: »
    How will it not cost them? Is it not the same costs vs the LOI?

buttons I said

I didn't make this a LOI vs Women's game... you brought that up. Didn't even mention LOI.

For the record - I think there should be weekly live games from the LOI.

Arghus wrote: »
    Don't have a problem with them showing it.

It's hardly going to grow in popularity without a bit of a push, televising games like this is a good start. What's the harm? What other absolutely brilliant RTE programming are you missing out on because they are broadcasting the match instead?

The quality isn't what you're used to watching compared to the men's game, fair enough, but remember most of these women hold down regular jobs and haven't been basically working and living as full time professional athletes since they were in their teens.

People who complain about it getting some attention - What's your alternative? Just ignore the games and hope that it miraculously gets better with nobody looking? The behaviour of the FAI in recent years towards the national women's side was a total disgrace - oftentimes no changing facilities or proper equipment, and that's just the tip of the iceberg - all while JD was out wining and dining and living high on the hog. It'd make you sick and partly the reason they were able to get away with it was that the women's national side was largely ignored.

If you looked at the cost of the womens teams vs how much they bring in, the players would owe Delaney money. Stop trying to make out that Delaney was living the high life on money the women were owed.

The quality in League of Ireland is sh though. Pat Hoban is the top goal scorer in the league and couldn’t make it as a player in Division 2 in England. Michael D goes as he’s been a LoI supporter for 40 years. It’s a niche hobby though, and is mostly middle-aged men in plastic parkas chanting at each other at the games.

By that logic the PL must be ****e. Teemu Pukki is second highest scorer at the moment, and he couldn't make it at Celtic or Brondby. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

By that logic the PL must be ****e. Teemu Pukki is second highest scorer at the moment, and he couldn't make it at Celtic or Brondby. :rolleyes:

Your argument is flawed on a couple of levels here

Its the same argument used about Pat Hoban. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

No problem with RTE covering the womens game, my young niece usually ignores football on the TV but she was transfixed by the world cup over the summer when she realised "girls were playing" in her words. Can only be a good thing to broaden young women's sporting horizons.

Plus, makes a change from RTE fawning over the bogball incessantly too. At least the women are playing an international game and not shouldering/slapping some other gombeen just cos he's from another parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

I watched it, the whole 90 minutes, and it was ok.
    But they will not qualify from the group unless they improve.
    Too much passing forward, then a return pass to the player that gave the first pass.

Maybe the standard will pick up a bit when the trans lads start playing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Public broadcasters should be showing programming that is in the public interest. There is little to no interest anywhere in the country for women’s football.

But that raises the tricky question of what is the public interest. It shouldn't be what is the most popular or commercial option. That's not to say invariably you will have more popular programming than not, but that shouldn't be the sole case with public broadcasting.

Funny enough, with the league of ireland, I'd prefer it not being on television although it merits a certain amount of inclusion on the grounds mentioned above.

As somebody that enjoys it, I'd rather there was every encouragement to actually attend it and help the clubs financially, rather than watch it on TV, an arrangement for which the clubs recieve no payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It's both following the "making a distinction between males and females is a sin" commandment and also a classic case of bait and switch. Yeah, the name of it is "Euro 2021 Qualifier", no "Women's" in it to make it clear like they would if they were honestly trying to convey useful information that people would care about.

If you followed football at all you would know that the next mens Euros is not in 2021.

But that raises the tricky question of what is the public interest. It shouldn't be what is the most popular or commercial option. That's not to say invariably you will have more popular programming than not, but that shouldn't be the sole case with public broadcasting.

Funny enough, with the league of ireland, I'd prefer it not being on television although it merits a certain amount of inclusion on the grounds mentioned above.

As somebody that enjoys it, I'd rather there was every encouragement to actually attend it and help the clubs financially, rather than watch it on TV, an arrangement for which the clubs recieve no payment.

It's not. Even though RTE are their broadcast partners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Don't mind them showing it now and then. I'll just watch something else instead.

Just hope that the girls don't start getting all uppity down the line and go demanding equal pay to the men like the female tennis players scandalously did.. And somehow actually managed to get it! PC gone mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

lawred2 wrote: »
    buttons I said

I didn't make this a LOI vs Women's game... you brought that up. Didn't even mention LOI.

For the record - I think there should be weekly live games from the LOI.

You actually said it wouldn’t cost buttons so it was a bit all over the place.
    I didn’t make it a LOI vs Women’s either , I was simply asking how it can be produced for buttons (which I assumed your point was) for one not both.

I have no horse in this race, if anything I find the coverage, mainly the commentary on the women’s games themselves very patronising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's not. Even though RTE are their broadcast partners.

Eir have been showing matches regularly. Not sure if or when RTE will resume broadcasting games. Hopefully not, for selfish reasons outlined above.