Silentcorner wrote: » young women are being really damaged by social media,
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » Formula One is a good example of what happens to a sport when it isn't televised (or is limited to a niche channel that hardly anyone has easy access to). It used to be moderately popular, but now it's invisible. Kids don't accidentally stumble across it on a Sunday afternoon on BBC/RTE like they did in the past, so it's unlikely that anyone will be watching it at all in twenty or thirty years time - if it still exists. Hardly anyone, apart from a dwindling number of die-hard fans, could name a current F1 driver (apart from maybe Lewis Hamilton). When's the last time you heard a normal person talking about "yesterday's Grand Prix"?
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » And rugby is a good example of what happens to a shite minority sport when the privately educated suits who work for the national broadcaster decide to push it like mad. Twenty years ago, the average non-privately-educated person could barely name a rugby player. Nowadays, despite nobody really understanding the stupid game, half the team are household names (although not in this household, I can assure you). That wouldn't have happened if RTE had given it the attention it deserves.
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » I've no real interest in soccer, but I have no issue with RTE pushing the women's national team. Yes, they should push the League of Ireland too, but I don't think it needs to be an either/or situation. There's plenty of room in the schedule for both.
paleoperson wrote: » Rubbish. Formula 1 is one of the largest sports in the world. It's moving to more a subscription-based model and they have calculated that this will bring in more revenue. When they did that for the premier league the size of the sport multiple countless fold. Your anecdotal examples don't mean anything. So a few casuals aren't seeing bits of it as they flick through the channels, they're not going to miss those people. It's ridiculous to say it "won't exist". There are so many sports of all sizes that fare just fine and F1 is one of the biggest sports. Even if it was a disaster they would just bring it back to the terrestrial channels the way it was.
Jayda Mealy Ginseng wrote: » Who won ?
Forty Seven wrote: » Don't you have that the wrong way round?
ThomasFlynn wrote: » I absolutely have no problem with the promotion of womens sport, the women's world cup was decent and I hope the sport grows, certainly I hope in future they are paid a lot more than the plumbers wages they currently get.
Omackeral wrote: » Shamrock Rovers played Bohemians in front of over 7,000 people last Friday night, among them were the President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins and the Republic of Ireland National Team manager Mick McCarthy. Meanwhile RTE decided to show a re-run of The Big Bang Theory. It's been nearly 100 days (98 I think) since our national broadcaster have shown a game from our league. Gobsh*tes.
lawred2 wrote: » No issue with it really. Won't cost rte buttons to show it and it might encourage young girls to play sport so from a public service point of view I think it ticks most boxes.
andekwarhola wrote: » To be fair, it's the public broadcaster. Not everything should be about the bottom line or common demominator. Be careful what you wish for.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Long before the obvious "promotion" of ladies sport started on the mainstream channels like RTE and BBC, TG4 were showing ladies Gaelic Football They have been doing it for the bones of 20 years at this stage I'd reckon Now I know it's a niche station and the games are hardly prime time but it has been shown for years without a whimper of whether it was "legit or sjw out of control". People actually give TG4 kudos for showing it. And I think the reason fro the difference between the reaction to showing ladies GAA and ladies soccer is simple, soccer and the people who watch/follow it still maintains a macho/ladish image. Soccer is a lads game, played by lads, followed by lads. I have gone to numerous soccer games in the UK and numerous Irish internationals games, and hundreds of GAA games And the one thing that always strikes me is the difference in the crowd make up. Attendance at a typical Irish soccer international at the Aviva will be primarily be made up of men aged from mid 20s upwards, a few father and son combinations also. There will be relatively few women or girls there. The attendance at GAA games (both high and low profile) is completely different, it primarily families, you will see all ages from 8 months to 80 years old, men, women, children. So there is far less of a backlash when it comes to girls playing GAA and a TV station promoting it than there is to girls playing soccer and the promotion of that.
wiggle16 wrote: » Oh get over yourself. You're happy when your particular sporting interest is on tv, paid for by tv licence fees. Now that they are carrying something you don't enjoy you're not happy to be paying for it. I don't have any interest in sport at all, yet it's on tv all the time and even gets news coverage devoted to it. All with the privilege of paying for it like everyone else. We are all "forced" to pay for things we don't use or get any benefit from. I'll never have kids but the tax I pay goes towards paying for schools, other people's child benefit and free GP visits for under-6's. Stuff me and all the other childless people out there will never avail of but help to fund. Should I only pay tax to the extent that I derive a benefit from the services it funds? What if I don't like children? Those of us who get no enjoyment at all from sport have to pay the tv licence like everyone else. But that's okay with you, just as long as it's your particular interest that is catered for :rolleyes:
paleoperson wrote: » Rubbish. Formula 1 is one of the largest sports in the world. .
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » That's some ridiculous wishful thinking right there. F1 has always been something of a niche sport .
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » Formula One is a good example of what happens to a sport when it isn't televised (or is limited to a niche channel that hardly anyone has easy access to). It used to be moderately popular, but now it's invisible. Kids don't accidentally stumble across it on a Sunday afternoon on BBC/RTE like they did in the past, so it's unlikely that anyone will be watching it at all in twenty or thirty years time - if it still exists. Hardly anyone, apart from a dwindling number of die-hard fans, could name a current F1 driver (apart from maybe Lewis Hamilton). When's the last time you heard a normal person talking about "yesterday's Grand Prix"? And rugby is a good example of what happens to a shite minority sport when the privately educated suits who work for the national broadcaster decide to push it like mad. Twenty years ago, the average non-privately-educated person could barely name a rugby player. Nowadays, despite nobody really understanding the stupid game, half the team are household names (although not in this household, I can assure you). That wouldn't have happened if RTE had given it the attention it deserves. I've no real interest in soccer, but I have no issue with RTE pushing the women's national team. Yes, they should push the League of Ireland too, but I don't think it needs to be an either/or situation. There's plenty of room in the schedule for both.
razorblunt wrote: » How will it not cost them? Is it not the same costs vs the LOI?
Arghus wrote: » Don't have a problem with them showing it. It's hardly going to grow in popularity without a bit of a push, televising games like this is a good start. What's the harm? What other absolutely brilliant RTE programming are you missing out on because they are broadcasting the match instead? The quality isn't what you're used to watching compared to the men's game, fair enough, but remember most of these women hold down regular jobs and haven't been basically working and living as full time professional athletes since they were in their teens. People who complain about it getting some attention - What's your alternative? Just ignore the games and hope that it miraculously gets better with nobody looking? The behaviour of the FAI in recent years towards the national women's side was a total disgrace - oftentimes no changing facilities or proper equipment, and that's just the tip of the iceberg - all while JD was out wining and dining and living high on the hog. It'd make you sick and partly the reason they were able to get away with it was that the women's national side was largely ignored.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » The quality in League of Ireland is sh though. Pat Hoban is the top goal scorer in the league and couldn’t make it as a player in Division 2 in England. Michael D goes as he’s been a LoI supporter for 40 years. It’s a niche hobby though, and is mostly middle-aged men in plastic parkas chanting at each other at the games.
weldoninhio wrote: » By that logic the PL must be ****e. Teemu Pukki is second highest scorer at the moment, and he couldn't make it at Celtic or Brondby. :rolleyes:
Stevieluvsye wrote: » Your argument is flawed on a couple of levels here
weldoninhio wrote: » Public broadcasters should be showing programming that is in the public interest. There is little to no interest anywhere in the country for women’s football.
paleoperson wrote: » It's both following the "making a distinction between males and females is a sin" commandment and also a classic case of bait and switch. Yeah, the name of it is "Euro 2021 Qualifier", no "Women's" in it to make it clear like they would if they were honestly trying to convey useful information that people would care about.
andekwarhola wrote: » But that raises the tricky question of what is the public interest. It shouldn't be what is the most popular or commercial option. That's not to say invariably you will have more popular programming than not, but that shouldn't be the sole case with public broadcasting. Funny enough, with the league of ireland, I'd prefer it not being on television although it merits a certain amount of inclusion on the grounds mentioned above. As somebody that enjoys it, I'd rather there was every encouragement to actually attend it and help the clubs financially, rather than watch it on TV, an arrangement for which the clubs recieve no payment.
lawred2 wrote: » buttons I said I didn't make this a LOI vs Women's game... you brought that up. Didn't even mention LOI. For the record - I think there should be weekly live games from the LOI.
weldoninhio wrote: » It's not. Even though RTE are their broadcast partners.