Women's football qualifying on RTE 2 - legit or sjw out of control?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

While Id be a lot more interested in Ireland against Germany or the Ukraine Im in favour of it. Sure its a bit of a Waynes World approach but I have a three year old girl who despite every effort thinks football is for boys so Im delighted to cheer on the ladies and hope she notices.
    What I hate is female friends who happily complain about equal pay between the genders in sport and then travel to view mens games or watch it on the tv but never the womens. Hopefully having womens sport on tv more regularly will eventually normalise an interest in it. I think womens Gaa and basketball are particularly entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Balmed Out wrote: »
    While Id be a lot more interested in Ireland against Germany or the Ukraine Im in favour of it. Sure its a bit of a Waynes World approach but I have a three year old girl who despite every effort thinks football is for boys so Im delighted to cheer on the ladies and hope she notices.
    What I hate is female friends who happily complain about equal pay between the genders in sport and then travel to view mens games or watch it on the tv but never the womens. Hopefully having womens sport on tv more regularly will eventually normalise an interest in it. I think womens Gaa and basketball are particularly entertaining.

What is particularly cute is letting a feminist talk about a topic she clearly hasn't an iota of understanding of...it's like watching a child struggling to walk...you wanna help but you know you can't!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

What about the success of the local 45 drive? Does that mean it should be on a primetime slot on national tv?

Nobody is forcing you to watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Nobodies forcing you to watch it.

But they are forcing us to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Men's football started this mess. Don't blame women because football is boring you brought this on yourselves. And quite frankly its revenge for all the mind numbing time devoted to football on tv.

I am not even joking.

I mean between the salary of the players their behavior to you the fans etc football has lost it plus why is it so slow?

And now you can be bored by women and invaded by sjw watching and joing you at all the games. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I have no interest in the women's game but plenty women play it and young girls too, the success of the women's WC means there's clearly some audience for it.

The majority of the TV audience were actually men, probably because there was nothing else on and it was a bit of footy during the summer.

But the real challenge from here is whether or not the average attendences improve in the domestic leagues, 2,000 average attendance for the womens league is not going to cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

And? RTÉ 'force' people to pay for other programming stuff too, like RTÉ Player and whoever Lucy Kennedy wants to arse about with this week. Oh and any amount of repeats of Fr. Ted which would usually have this slot.

It's not the like women's football is on every week.

Don't like it? change the channel or more to the point drop the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

There is hardly any representation of women in sports . Whats wrong with it, its hardly a bad thing, even if it is being pushed out there and not necessarily being 'asked' for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

I don't know how they think that putting women's football on will encourage more women to play football . It all starts with the parents. They should be bringing their kids, be it boys or girls to football or any sport to get them interested in it at a young age. I can't imagine to many women who are 18 or over, tuning in to watch womens football and then deciding to join a team . It's a bit late at that stage .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,181 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

You've obviously never actually watched an MLS game or else you don't understand football and how to analyse it. I've literally never seen a professional match where 20 players ran after the ball like it was a schoolyard.

I have and I do, B. My analysis was exaggerated for effect. Not all that exaggerated though. MLS is a load of sh*t, tbf.
    Tbh it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Edgware wrote: »
    Of course de Irish are the best supporters in de Wuuuuruld

How many rocked up to this game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Omackeral wrote: »
    Shamrock Rovers played Bohemians in front of over 7,000 people last Friday night, among them were the President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins and the Republic of Ireland National Team manager Mick McCarthy. Meanwhile RTE decided to show a re-run of The Big Bang Theory. It's been nearly 100 days (98 I think) since our national broadcaster have shown a game from our league. Gobsh*tes.

Turn your scorn to the gob****es who sold them the rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Anytime I hear 'quality' bemoaned in these threads, I presume it's the kind of expert that loudly infests every pub or schoolkid football touchline in the country: the usual experts that denigrate womens international football or league of ireland from the heights of their stint in DDSL D1 20 years ago that somehow cruelly eluded the attention of scouts because of a knee injury or bad luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

BBC brought this in a while ago and RTE is now copying them - showing the women's football qualifying on main prime time tv now. Hardly anyone watches women's football. Sure if you push it and push it then you will get artificially more viewers of it, what about all the other fringe sports and activities they could be pushing instead?

Ireland vs Montenagro Women's qualifying - not even a playoff or critical game, a by-the-numbers qualifying game. Even Ireland vs Montenagro men's qualifying would be a borderline game. Montenagro has a population of 623,000 people, it's about the population of Cork county.

I could just change the channel, but the people of Ireland are paying to subsidize this. I think it's ridiculous.

Showing the women's world Cup in it's entirety was a scandalous waste of money

sugarman wrote: »
    Yet in their our back garden, there are 4 LOI Premier Division clubs within a 10km radius of their studio where the games cost them virtually nothing and they cover sweet **** all. Their paltry 30 minute highlights show is a mess too. Eir sports have put them to shame this season showing over 30 matches to their 4 or 5.

FAI Cup Quarter Finals down for decision this weekend. Are RTE broadcasting any of them? Are they what! Better show Young Sheldon* again though...

This is legitimately what they show btw, a fcuking spin-off prequel to the Big Bang Theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

No problem with it, it's doing something for Irish sport and that alone means its more within the mandate of a public broadcaster than some syndicated US or UK comedy or drama.

More Irish sport, men and women, at all levels please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Feisar wrote: »
    It’s pure SJW signaling IMHO.
    Is the above poking fun at the terms virtue signalling and sjw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

To be fair, it's the public broadcaster. Not everything should be about the bottom line or common demominator.

Be careful what you wish for.

I've no interest in it, and most of those I know who took an interest in it during the summer were men. I appreciate it's a sport that men are gonna be better at, and calls for equal pay in the US is just laughable.

But there's always a few men who get so whiny about anything promoting women - I don't mean feminism, which can be absolutely toxic. But just stuff like this - a sport, a beneficial outlet in so many ways. The national broadcaster should be helping foster an interest. My six-year-old niece absolutely loves playing football. Nurturing this - oh noez!

Don't be such snowflakes.

Shur individual members of the public have to pay for plenty of stuff they don't want to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

As if there wasn't enough kickball on tv as it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Firblog

Let me get this right

They are showing more women teams playing football on tv to encourage more women to take up sports?

If that's so then I think they are going about it the wrong way, kinda putting the cart before the horse.

They should pump money into LOTS of high quality coaching of the girls that are playing the sports - soccer and rugby - so that they become successful, that success will encourage young girls to play that sport

It's exactly how the GAA went about improving the participation rates in Dublin isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,139 ✭✭✭✭PsychoPete

Firblog wrote: »
    Let me get this right

They are showing more women teams playing football on tv to encourage more women to take up sports?

If that's so then I think they are going about it the wrong way, kinda putting the cart before the horse.

They should pump money into LOTS of high quality coaching of the girls that are playing the sports - soccer and rugby - so that they become successful, that success will encourage young girls to play that sport

It's exactly how the GAA went about improving the participation rates in Dublin isn't it?

The only thing the FAI pump money into is their own pockets

Long before the obvious "promotion" of ladies sport started on the mainstream channels like RTE and BBC, TG4 were showing ladies Gaelic Football

They have been doing it for the bones of 20 years at this stage I'd reckon

Now I know it's a niche station and the games are hardly prime time but it has been shown for years without a whimper of whether it was "legit or sjw out of control".
    People actually give TG4 kudos for showing it.

And I think the reason fro the difference between the reaction to showing ladies GAA and ladies soccer is simple, soccer and the people who watch/follow it still maintains a macho/ladish image.

Soccer is a lads game, played by lads, followed by lads.

I have gone to numerous soccer games in the UK and numerous Irish internationals games, and hundreds of GAA games

And the one thing that always strikes me is the difference in the crowd make up.

Attendance at a typical Irish soccer international at the Aviva will be primarily be made up of men aged from mid 20s upwards, a few father and son combinations also.
    There will be relatively few women or girls there.

The attendance at GAA games (both high and low profile) is completely different, it primarily families, you will see all ages from 8 months to 80 years old, men, women, children.

So there is far less of a backlash when it comes to girls playing GAA and a TV station promoting it than there is to girls playing soccer and the promotion of that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I just wish I could name one of the players without googling it. In fairness I actually watched the game twice.

The first time I saw a through ball and then the striker chasing the ball didn't cop on that it was a through ball until it was too late and ended up tripping over herself in the box and the ball went for a goal kick after she miss hit a sitter from 3 yards into the side netting. I turned it over then.

The second time I watched it was for only about 25 seconds when I was flicking through the channels because there was not much on. I was confident enough to know that I wasn't hanging around, I might have second guessed who " mac " were. I think it's Macedonia, we were 2 nil up at the time, the match was so tedious I actually left the sitting room.

I am not sexist, I love watching off the rails and fashion shows.

Tell me if my comments are offside.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I just wish I could name one of the players without googling it. In fairness I actually watched the game twice.

The first time I saw a through ball and then the striker chasing the ball didn't cop on that it was a through ball until it was too late and ended up tripping over herself in the box and the ball went for a goal kick after she miss hit a sitter from 3 yards into the side netting. I turned it over then.

The second time I watched it was for only about 25 seconds when I was flicking through the channels because there was not much on. I was confident enough to know that I wasn't hanging around, I might have second guessed who " mac " were. I think it's Macedonia, we were 2 nil up at the time, the match was so tedious I actually left the sitting room.

I am not sexist, I love watching off the rails and fashion shows.

Tell me if my comments are offside.
    Not at all. Thinking it's shyte - fair play, just an opinion. That's not the same as moaning that it shouldn't be on in the first place.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

sugarman wrote: »
    What I do have issue with though is RTE blowing €7m covering the whole of the women's World Cup over the summer.

What nonsense is this? RTE secured their rights as part of the EBU's package that was made available to all its members. There's no way that RTE have €7m to blow on a single soccer tournament. Where are you getting that figure from?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

Oh get over yourself. You're happy when your particular sporting interest is on tv, paid for by tv licence fees. Now that they are carrying something you don't enjoy you're not happy to be paying for it.

I don't have any interest in sport at all, yet it's on tv all the time and even gets news coverage devoted to it. All with the privilege of paying for it like everyone else.

We are all "forced" to pay for things we don't use or get any benefit from. I'll never have kids but the tax I pay goes towards paying for schools, other people's child benefit and free GP visits for under-6's. Stuff me and all the other childless people out there will never avail of but help to fund. Should I only pay tax to the extent that I derive a benefit from the services it funds? What if I don't like children?

Those of us who get no enjoyment at all from sport have to pay the tv licence like everyone else. But that's okay with you, just as long as it's your particular interest that is catered for :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Zaph wrote: »
    What nonsense is this? RTE secured their rights as part of the EBU's package that was made available to all its members. There's no way that RTE have €7m to blow on a single soccer tournament. Where are you getting that figure from?

Someone down the pub surely must have told him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Formula One is a good example of what happens to a sport when it isn't televised (or is limited to a niche channel that hardly anyone has easy access to). It used to be moderately popular, but now it's invisible. Kids don't accidentally stumble across it on a Sunday afternoon on BBC/RTE like they did in the past, so it's unlikely that anyone will be watching it at all in twenty or thirty years time - if it still exists. Hardly anyone, apart from a dwindling number of die-hard fans, could name a current F1 driver (apart from maybe Lewis Hamilton). When's the last time you heard a normal person talking about "yesterday's Grand Prix"?

And rugby is a good example of what happens to a shite minority sport when the privately educated suits who work for the national broadcaster decide to push it like mad. Twenty years ago, the average non-privately-educated person could barely name a rugby player. Nowadays, despite nobody really understanding the stupid game, half the team are household names (although not in this household, I can assure you). That wouldn't have happened if RTE had given it the attention it deserves.

I've no real interest in soccer, but I have no issue with RTE pushing the women's national team. Yes, they should push the League of Ireland too, but I don't think it needs to be an either/or situation. There's plenty of room in the schedule for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Formula One is a good example of what happens to a sport when it isn't televised (or is limited to a niche channel that hardly anyone has easy access to). It used to be moderately popular, but now it's invisible. Kids don't accidentally stumble across it on a Sunday afternoon on BBC/RTE like they did in the past, so it's unlikely that anyone will be watching it at all in twenty or thirty years time - if it still exists. Hardly anyone, apart from a dwindling number of die-hard fans, could name a current F1 driver (apart from maybe Lewis Hamilton). When's the last time you heard a normal person talking about "yesterday's Grand Prix"?

That's very true actually, at least in my social circles.