Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2019 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales / Requests **

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭SQ2

traco wrote: »
    The Scratch were the band of the weekend for me - savage energy and don't give a fiddlers but can play those instruments and put on a show.

The Scratch were definitely the highlight of my weekend, never heard of them before last week!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    I remember seeing The Streets at the Astoria in London when Original Pirate Material came out. His audience was comprised of all those belligerent drunk guys that Skinner was satirising. Got unprovokedly threatened twice and a few fights. Not a mellow evening.

Thats London for you. I was at LCD in All Points East and a guy walked straight into me assuming thinking he could barge through and then got angry when he bounced off me and tried to pick a fight. The sooner the kick those guys out of the EU the better!

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Granite Head

everlast75 wrote: »
    Did anyone see the bloke that climbed the ladder all the way to the top of the electric arena during the set in what looked to be his bare feet? Thought he was staff until i saw the two guards and security waiting for him when he got down. He was promptly escorted out of there

Yeah I saw him, I naively thought he was checking cables to speakers, they were cutting out around then.

2024 Gigs and Events: Jarlath Regan, Depeche Mode, Roisin Murphy, Pip Blom, Nouvelle Vogue, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Murder Capital, Pixies, The Stranglers, Liam Gallagher & John Squires, The Jesus & Mary Chain, DJ Shadow, Cam Cole, Fight Like Apes, The Hives, Somebody's Child, Kacey Musgraves, Sprints, Nadine Shah, Jane Weaver, Bob Log lll, Jimmy Carr, Richard Hawley, Beyond The Pale, LCD Sound System, Patti Smith, Night & Day Festival, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, The Beat, All Together Now, Electric Picnic, Bonny Prince Billy, Phospherescant, Ride, Dirt Birds, Arab Strap, Tommy Tiernan, The Last Dinner Party, John Grant, Iron & Wine x2, Therapy, Ezra Collective, Nick Cave, Peter Hook & The Light, Idles, Khruangbin, Lightning Seeds, Fontaines DC, Amble

• Registered Users Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Thats London for you. I was at LCD in All Points East and a guy walked straight into me assuming thinking he could barge through and then got angry when he bounced off me and tried to pick a fight. The sooner the kick those guys out of the EU the better!

To be fair it's a certain type of UK citizen that's like that. Worst in England I think and easier to get into trouble than in the rest of the country. And continent.

Though never ever had any trouble at festivals there and Glastonbury in particular is very mellow.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I remember seeing The Streets at the Astoria in London when Original Pirate Material came out. His audience was comprised of all those belligerent drunk guys that Skinner was satirising and who failed to realise that. Got unprovokedly threatened twice and a few fights broke out. Not a mellow evening.

Early Arctic Monkeys’ gigs suffered from this too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

No sign of bodhrandude?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Early Arctic Monkeys’ gigs suffered from this too.

Current Arctic Monkeys gigs suffer from this too.

If anything, it was a little worse on the last tour because they were getting bored during the new songs! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Roscoe P Coltrane

No sign of bodhrandude?

He wont be back home until tonight, but has been snapping photos & taking notes all weekend. The blog will be good as always!

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭Peterd66

No sign of bodhrandude?

I saw him at Johnny Marr, trying hard to mind same bodhran.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

darzog wrote: »
    I’m in complete agreement with stillill and Seathrun re the 3 Made by Music stage. It’s a beauty, but it is hampered by its location between two thoroughfares. The one from the arena to Freetown via Trenchtown and the one from Salty Dog to Freetown. Absolutely zero chance of anyone passing by, hearing something interesting and sticking around. At least it meant that the crowd at all acts I saw there were there for the music and so were respectful and appreciative...if sparse.

It now feels like two completely separate festivals running concurrently. You have the line of glittery young ants that run full pelt, hand in hand, from Hendrix to Main Stage, to Casa Bacardi, then on to Terminus and back again, and then you have the beautiful madness of Salty Dog, Jerry Fish, Trailer Park and the quality tent acts. Doesn’t bother me in the slightest though. They have zero interest in what grabs me and I have no interest in their world so we all just let each other crack on with it.

I echo others thumbs up re. decent loos all weekend, hand sanitiser dispensers always full, decent food options, lots of litter folk (being kept busy sadly), bit more of a relaxed attitude to the odd can being brought in. All good.

Might be controversial around these parts but the extension of the arena worked for me. I spent a lot more time at Salty Dog this year than at any EP I’ve been at, purely because I didn’t have to bother queuing to get back in to the Arena so hung around there a lot more. There was a pre-festival fear that lack of cans would kill the vibe at SD. All I saw was a lot of very merry people there, having the time of their lives. The end of limited free flow has effectively killed Trenchtown though. Tiny crowds all weekend. They will have to rethink that whole area...

Re. the music. Brilliantly eclectic range of acts seen over the weekend. Highlights: serpentwithfeet, Panik Attaks, Bootleg Beach Boys, Amy Montgomery, Porcelain Hill, White Reaper, Heavy Lungs, Lilac, Wolff, Johnny Marr and The Streets (nuts mc nut nuts)... Also ducked into the Cabaret Tent for the Dirty Circus and said to the guy next to me...”when my wife asks me what I’ve been up to for the last hour or so, how do I begin to tell her, I’ve just seen a woman take of her clothes and do the tassels thing to Fade to Black by Metallica.” Bizarre, but that’s our Picnic.

Brilliant meeting up with some of the boardsies at TCM. Met stillill, seathrun, scruff monkey and BaldFigo. All as sound a bunch of lads you could ever hope to meet. Saw stillill over the course of the weekend again whilst behaving myself impeccably and not so impeccably! Every interaction with random EPers was a positive one. Weather was spot on...and I for one cannot wait to do it all again. Same time next year folks.

One can only hope that your wife comforts you for what you've had to endure.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭Genghis

Been looking back over my Festable itinerary, and what can I say?

What a fantastic weekend. I missed so much due to clashes but still fitted in 23 acts across the three days, many of which were epic, all the rest (with maybe two exceptions) were better than great.

**The EP Epic**

Epic arrived early for me with Sports Team. Pure indie energy, a great sound and not at all phased by the poor crowd number. Fair play to the lad who bought the band a round of drinks;).

Loved Jarv Is. Great interaction with the audience, brilliant tunes without relying on his back catalogue, and, well lots of Jarvisness. A highlight for me, no question.

In the Epic category on Saturday were Christine & The Queens. Small crowd (for main), no doubt, but I enjoyed the set and choreography. Felt an audience connected, was surprised later to hear others were not so impressed.

Really, really enjoyed Echo & the Bunnymen. Triple play of hits, plus a Lou Reed cover left me glowing at the front row.

Sundays epicness included a very memorable Bodega set, I was blown away. Cool drumming in particular.

Courtney Barnett also highly impressive, makes a huge noise for a small unit, love her voice, lyrics and sound.

I end my EP epic section with mentioning the Show of the Picnic for me: Johnny Marr. Just one amazing set, with plenty of Smith's covers, more than I ever expected. Wonderful to hear, also some of his own and Electronic song. Loved how he handled the power outage. Marr is one cool guy, hope to see him again with a longer set.

**The Better Than Great**

Thought Richard Ashcroft put on a great show, voice in fine shape, has a very strong set list and I thought he deserved the sun down slot on main stage (arguably him and Marr could have swapped places but I think I would prefer Marr in a tent).

Gerry Cinnamon put on a good show, but I made the mistake of going to the front. Rowdy and rough crowd, moved to the back and eventually away before the end of the set. Not taking from his performance, I was impressed.

Left Gerry and caught 2nd half of Kneecap. Energy and edge in no short supply, they seemed to be in awe of the audience. Loved the video backdrop. Terminus seems like a good venue, I didn't see anything else there.

Frank and Walters are an old favourite of mine, don't think they'd ever disappoint me. I left Echo one song early to catch the last 30 mins of their set. Despite the billing (Paul at one stage asked why wasn't everyone over at E&tB, that's where they would be if not playing).

Parquet Courts were very tight, with a clearly dedicated fanbase. Best mosh of the weekend, and other than Marr, the best crowd surfing on show.

Notable mention to a few sets I didn't manage to get all of, but impressed me: Stefan Murphy at Salty Dog, and at the same venue Pillow Queens and Porcelain Hill. Also enjoyed Silverbacks, Thumper and Fonda.

**The Disappointing**

Felt In Their Thousands were a little deflated. Not sure why, they did finish well but most of the sitting audience seemed to be more into the carnival antics in the place where a Body and Soul audience would normally stand. Miles Kane was also uninspiring, glad I bailed out when I did to catch Sports Team.

I probably left off one or two acts, but have no regrets at all*. Happy with the new layout, managed to smuggle in 8 cans and a bottle of rum, didn't overly burden the Heineken bars.

Like fafy said earlier I couldn't work out how to access Minfield for anything before 12.30 Saturday, missed a couple of things still not sure how or why this was??

Didn't eat much at the stalls, but once again this year it was hard to find anyone to take cards for food. Well sorted for that at the bars, in fairness.

I will be back next year, though I wonder can it match this year?

* Well one regret. Missing TCM and boardsie meet uo. Next year y'all?

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Reggie noble

Genghis wrote: »

What a fantastic weekend. I missed so much due to clashes but still fitted in 23 acts across the three days, many of which were epic, all the rest (with maybe two exceptions) were better than great.

**The EP Epic**

Epic arrived early for me with Sports Team. Pure indie energy, a great sound and not at all phased by the poor crowd number. Fair play to the lad who bought the band a round of drinks;).

Loved Jarv Is. Great interaction with the audience, brilliant tunes without relying on his back catalogue, and, well lots of Jarvisness. A highlight for me, no question.

In the Epic category on Saturday were Christine & The Queens. Small crowd (for main), no doubt, but I enjoyed the set and choreography. Felt an audience connected, was surprised later to hear others were not so impressed.

Really, really enjoyed Echo & the Bunnymen. Triple play of hits, plus a Lou Reed cover left me glowing at the front row.

Sundays epicness included a very memorable Bodega set, I was blown away. Cool drumming in particular.

Courtney Barnett also highly impressive, makes a huge noise for a small unit, love her voice, lyrics and sound.

I end my EP epic section with mentioning the Show of the Picnic for me: Johnny Marr. Just one amazing set, with plenty of Smith's covers, more than I ever expected. Wonderful to hear, also some of his own and Electronic song. Loved how he handled the power outage. Marr is one cool guy, hope to see him again with a longer set.

Thought Richard Ashcroft put on a great show, voice in fine shape, has a very strong set list and I thought he deserved the sun down slot on main stage (arguably him and Marr could have swapped places but I think I would prefer Marr in a tent).

Gerry Cinnamon put on a good show, but I made the mistake of going to the front. Rowdy and rough crowd, moved to the back and eventually away before the end of the set. Not taking from his performance, I was impressed.

Left Gerry and caught 2nd half of Kneecap. Energy and edge in no short supply, they seemed to be in awe of the audience. Loved the video backdrop. Terminus seems like a good venue, I didn't see anything else there.

Frank and Walters are an old favourite of mine, don't think they'd ever disappoint me. I left Echo one song early to catch the last 30 mins of their set. Despite the billing (Paul at one stage asked why wasn't everyone over at E&tB, that's where they would be if not playing).

Parquet Courts were very tight, with a clearly dedicated fanbase. Best mosh of the weekend, and other than Marr, the best crowd surfing on show.

Notable mention to a few sets I didn't manage to get all of, but impressed me: Stefan Murphy at Salty Dog, and at the same venue Pillow Queens and Porcelain Hill. Also enjoyed Silverbacks, Thumper and Fonda.

**The Disappointing**

Felt In Their Thousands were a little deflated. Not sure why, they did finish well but most of the sitting audience seemed to be more into the carnival antics in the place where a Body and Soul audience would normally stand. Miles Kane was also uninspiring, glad I bailed out when I did to catch Sports Team.

I probably left off one or two acts, but have no regrets at all*. Happy with the new layout, managed to smuggle in 8 cans and a bottle of rum, didn't overly burden the Heineken bars.

Like fafy said earlier I couldn't work out how to access Minfield for anything before 12.30 Saturday, missed a couple of things still not sure how or why this was??

Didn't eat much at the stalls, but once again this year it was hard to find anyone to take cards for food. Well sorted for that at the bars, in fairness.

Food stalls only taking cash was a little bit of a hindrance , I didn’t have any and couldn’t find an atm so the other half had to pay for all the Nosh . I just bought the pints then with the card . Not a huge problem to cry about , just thought nowadays everywhere takes card

• Registered Users Posts: 3,549 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Genghis wrote: »

**The EP Epic**

**The Disappointing**

I can now reveal that the guy who bought Sports team a drink was none other than our very own Fish Fingers.

No loyalty codes yet, lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭Genghis

Stillill42 wrote: »
    I can now reveal that the guy who bought Sports team a drink was none other than our very own Fish Fingers.

Nice! I was right there, have a nice photo of it, will PM Fish Fingers ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

I miss being there.

But was happy to be there.

Electric picnic is the best run fest I've been to.

Closest similar fest would be Sziget, but EP do it so much better.

Have yet to go to Glasto, but thought I would be put off by large numbers of people attending.

What do our boardsies think, Glasto or Electric picnic for best experience? Is Glasto too crowded of does it just work as well as EP.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,985 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Loyalty codes usually go out the afternoon / evening before the tickets go on sale, cool the jets.

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭Kepler21

whelzer wrote: »
    Straight into Four Tet afterwards - was anybody here there? presume there should have been a light show?

Myself, Rubick and Mrs. Rubick were there; really enjoyed it. My son asked me when I got home about the light show, which is when I realised I couldn't remember one

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭thebusher

Great weekend but as has been said above, it feels like 2 festivals now. One is really special and one is a bit grim for me.

Again I agree on the idea of everyone doing there own thing as long as it doesn't put in or out on others. Heading into my 50s, I'm not naieve and have been round the block a bit but the blatant open drug use is out of hand. They dont seem to give a **** and dont care less about anyone they knock over or into. Seen some horrible comments on the FB banter page about tent slashing and robbing. Theres no way I'd stay anywhere but Eco now.

Delighted to meet so many boardsies at TCM and over the weekend. Loved Billie, Gerry, Dermot K. Caught The Clockworks on Saturday afternoon. Applemans vinyl lounge is a great downtime spot. Saw some of Brittany Howard and liked her lot. Bunnymen were good if a little flat for me til towards the end.

What was the Pete De Freitas comment? Sound was very muffled. Beach Boys were super on Saturday :-) Pearlt Whites after them were good craic too. Sound bleed sure is an issue in that main street type area around Today FM.

I like the Freetown addition although gutted I never made it to Spike Island.

Great weekend as always but I think our group maybe nearing the end of our run which is a shame because ATN is too left of centre music wise for most of them, they like their mainstream music and Id prefer not to have coked up teenagers racing around.

thebusher wrote: »
    Lads I jusr had a message from the dad of Finn, the kid singing with The Wha asking me to take a snap.or two cos hes not here. Im away in the morning.

If any of TCM collective are there would you take one or two for me to send on Cheers.

Great night last night

Just sent you a link to my photos of the Wha

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Reggie noble

What’s the craic with lads walking to the toilets but then when they get there they piss on the fence right beside **** loads of free piss pots , Makes no sense to me

• Registered Users Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭sweetie

What’s the craic with lads walking to the toilets but then when they get there they piss on the fence right beside **** loads of free piss pots , Makes no sense to me

Was about to sit down for a few mins st the back of the EA and copped a lad having a slash! Animals

• Registered Users Posts: 6,509 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Great weekend but as has been said above, it feels like 2 festivals now. One is really special and one is a bit grim for me.

Again I agree on the idea of everyone doing there own thing as long as it doesn't put in or out on others. Heading into my 50s, I'm not naieve and have been round the block a bit but the blatant open drug use is out of hand. They dont seem to give a **** and dont care less about anyone they knock over or into. Seen some horrible comments on the FB banter page about tent slashing and robbing. Theres no way I'd stay anywhere but Eco now.

Delighted to meet so many boardsies at TCM and over the weekend. Loved Billie, Gerry, Dermot K. Caught The Clockworks on Saturday afternoon. Applemans vinyl lounge is a great downtime spot. Saw some of Brittany Howard and liked her lot. Bunnymen were good if a little flat for me til towards the end.

What was the Pete De Freitas comment? Sound was very muffled. Beach Boys were super on Saturday :-) Pearlt Whites after them were good craic too. Sound bleed sure is an issue in that main street type area around Today FM.

I like the Freetown addition although gutted I never made it to Spike Island.

Great weekend as always but I think our group maybe nearing the end of our run which is a shame because ATN is too left of centre music wise for most of them, they like their mainstream music and Id prefer not to have coked up teenagers racing around.

Mac made the comment about Pete before “The Killing Moon” about how much he loved to play the song and he said “some day I’ll get to say it to him..”, which was a lovely touch

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Codes are being issued friday with tickets on sale 9am saturday.

Mucker46 wrote: »
    Codes are being issued friday with tickets on sale 9am saturday.

Cheers. Here's hoping they get my code right this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭thebusher

Kepler21 wrote: »
    Just sent you a link to my photos of the Wha

Very much appreciated. Thanks a mill.

What did you think of them?
    Honest answers only :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

I miss being there.

But was happy to be there.

Electric picnic is the best run fest I've been to.

Closest similar fest would be Sziget, but EP do it so much better.

Have yet to go to Glasto, but thought I would be put off by large numbers of people attending.

What do our boardsies think, Glasto or Electric picnic for best experience? Is Glasto too crowded of does it just work as well as EP.

EP these days doesn't hold a candle to Glastonbury.

Take away the many dreadful parts of EP these days (the overt corporate crap, the price gouging, the lack of free-flow, the ever-worsening crowd IMO), and Glastonbury still easily beats it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,509 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Cheers. Here's hoping they get my code right this year.

Your not the only one,I never got the email for last years code and to ring Ticketmaster (took 5 phone calls in all!!!) and got the code eventually,frustrating as hell.....

Very much appreciated. Thanks a mill.

What did you think of them?
    Honest answers only :-)
    I mostly only went to take the photos, but ended up staying till the end. I was quite impressed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭sweetie

So did anyone see the Kevin Kilbane DJ set 😊?