Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Hurling (Liam Mccarthy Cup) 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

C__MC wrote: »
    So that's it for 2019
    A year that was disappointing really apart from laois and wexford

Galway, Clare and cork never hit the same heights as 2018. Limerick will rue a brutal opening 20 mins against kilkenny and way ward shooting.

Full credit to tipp, they were magical when needed.
    They have some great players and finish the decade with 3 titles. Healthy enough. Good talent coming through, they'll be knocking about for a bit

Kilkenny took 4 this decade. But since 2016, the well has dried. No flair to a great hurling county, skill level isn't as high. Hard work and cody toughness keeps them alive. They are very much back in the pack I would think.

It would appear the next decade will see titles scattered amongst Munster counties and galway?

In fairness, i think we were probably spoilt with one or two of the recent championships. You cant be expecting vintage all irelands every year, well you can i suppose, but you'll be disappointed now and again. Still leinster was epic it has to be said, Laois was a great narrative and we got 2 terrific semi finals. Not so bad when you think about it i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭Brian017

C__MC wrote: »
    I might add we need the hurling final back to September, minor back to 18 and separate weekends for semi

Tradition is hard bet

The Celtic Cross instead of the corporate GAA logo on the pitch for the finals? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Nor I.

We know from 2013 that there is a precise dimension input for a sliotar. That's what the system requires.

But how does Hawkeye distinguish the ball from the hand that is holding it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭C__MC

Brian017 wrote: »
    The Celtic Cross instead of the corporate GAA logo on the pitch for the finals? :P

And a pitch invasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭Field east

Nor I.

We know from 2013 that there is a precise dimension input for a sliotar. That's what the system requires.

But how does Hawkeye distinguish the ball from the hand that is holding it ?

Also , there are three relevant positions in relation to the crossbar and the sliotar traversing it is
    (1) the crossbar ‘edge ‘ on the playing field side
    (2) the crossbar’ edge’ on the other side
    (3) the middle of the crossbar

Likewise, re the sliotar, there are 3 relevant points as the ball traverses the crossbar. Ie
    (1)The mid line of the ball
    (2) the leading surface of the ball as it approaches the crossbar
    (3) the surface opposite to two above

The above 6 parameters presents NINE choices as to when there is a point scored
    My guess would when point one re the sliotar crosses point 3 re the crossbar.
    I wonder which one is it? P
    When the Hawkeye failed to take account of the sliotar dimensions earlier on it would not surprise me if the issue as to when a point is scored is still a bit ‘up in the air’ eg as soon as point 2 re the sliotar traverses point one re the crossbar- by ,say , just one mm , then Hawkeye records that as a Ta. Just saying. It would be most unfair if that is the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,985 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Good lord is he still denying it? Won't do himself any favors. Best to just accept it and move on.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Field east wrote: »
    Also , there are three relevant positions in relation to the crossbar and the sliotar traversing it is
    (1) the crossbar ‘edge ‘ on the playing field side
    (2) the crossbar’ edge’ on the other side
    (3) the middle of the crossbar

Likewise, re the sliotar, there are 3 relevant points as the ball traverses the crossbar. Ie
    (1)The mid line of the ball
    (2) the leading surface of the ball as it approaches the crossbar
    (3) the surface opposite to two above

The above 6 parameters presents NINE choices as to when there is a point scored
    My guess would when point one re the sliotar crosses point 3 re the crossbar.
    I wonder which one is it? P
    When the Hawkeye failed to take account of the sliotar dimensions earlier on it would not surprise me if the issue as to when a point is scored is still a bit ‘up in the air’ eg as soon as point 2 re the sliotar traverses point one re the crossbar- by ,say , just one mm , then Hawkeye records that as a Ta. Just saying. It would be most unfair if that is the case

That must be a great icebreaker at parties :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Good lord is he still denying it? Won't do himself any favors. Best to just accept it and move on. The bitterness being shown doesn't reflect well.

Just listened to entire interview with Richie and I don’t know what ur on about but he ain’t bitter.. he said several times he must just get up and get on wit it.. he came across really well... spoke well of Cathal Barrett and Tipperary... obviously loves his hurling considering what he has to do to be able to play... so despite what u think I actually think that interview will go down well with those who listen to it

I’m not from either Tipp or KK

Let him come back next year and we'll let him retire on a much happier note ; only a 10 point win for Tipp!

I hope it's not the last we see of him. He's been an excellent player for kilkenny. Sour way to go out if that's the end for him. He's been declining for a few years now though, the game has moved on and he's been swallowed up. It'll be a hard road back for him and it's hard to see him being a regular in the team going forward.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,550 ✭✭✭✭cson

Look, the sending off was the correct call but was very harsh. Of course a manager is going to be upset and complain over it, especially when worse offenses have gone unpunished all year. Congrats to Tipp the better team won on Sunday, and they've been the best team all year. Let's move on.

This contradictory nonsense is very prevalent in the narrative, even Duignan was saying it today. It simply can't be harsh & at the same time the right call. They're mutually exclusive concepts. The correct call isn't harsh, its simply correct.

Equally you can't hang James Owens for making the correct decision on the basis of the failings of his peers in prior matches.

There's not been near enough introspection from Shefflin etc; the spotlight should be on Richie Hogan for making a challenge that puts the referee in a position to send him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I hope it's not the last we see of him. He's been an excellent player for kilkenny. Sour way to go out if that's the end for him. He's been declining for a few years now though, the game has moved on and he's been swallowed up. It'll be a hard road back for him and it's hard to see him being a regular in the team going forward.

Fair play to him if he puts his body through the rigour for another year. Great player. I can understand why he wouldn't want that red card to be his last act. One more year i'd say. Cody too. Going to be some championship next year but we'll winter well beforehand.

cson wrote: »
    This contradictory nonsense is very prevalent in the narrative, even Duignan was saying it today. It simply can't be harsh & at the same time the right call. They're mutually exclusive concepts. The correct call isn't harsh, its simply correct.

Equally you can't hang James Owens for making the correct decision on the basis of the failings of his peers in prior matches.

There's not been near enough introspection from Shefflin etc; the spotlight should be on Richie Hogan for making a challenge that puts the referee in a position to send him off.

Shefflin has been brutal as a pundit/analyst. Himself and Sean Cavanagh were great players but are rubbish to listen to... they should be got rid of and ya can add Donal Og as well

Haven't heard one Kilkenny pundit, ex player etc come out and say it was a deserved red yet. Incredible really. Shefflin, Tyrell, Tommy Walsh, Richie Power, Herrity, JJ, Brennan, Larkin. Funny that not one can accept it was justified. It's ridiculous really. You'd expect some to defend it with blind loyalty but everyone is just mad stuff altogether. Poor form really.

Fair play to him if he puts his body through the rigour for another year. Great player. I can understand why he wouldn't want that red card to be his last act. One more year i'd say. Cody too. Going to be some championship next year but we'll winter well beforehand.

KK won’t get out of Leinster next year

I think they will. Dublin to miss out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭mistermiyagi

Lookit, at this stage I think the fairest outcome is that Tipperary do the noble thing and offer Kilkenny a replay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Almost every passage of play contains offences that are ignored or not punished as per rules, this is hurling today. So within that context and bearing in mind the many similar incidents in this and recent seasons where no red card resulted, some might say deciding to start issuing reds for it in an all ireland final is harsh. Of course, to the letter of the law Owens was correct in his decision

The correct call isn't harsh, its simply correct.

You're absolutely wrong.

If the penalty for overcarrying the ball is death, and the sentence is carried out then that is the correct call. According to your logic.

It's a bit harsh, though.

You ought not to make emphatic statements that a more finely-tuned mind would baulk at.

QED

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Haven't heard one Kilkenny pundit, ex player etc come out and say it was a deserved red yet. Incredible really. Shefflin, Tyrell, Tommy Walsh, Richie Power, Herrity, JJ, Brennan, Larkin. Funny that not one can accept it was justified. It's ridiculous really. You'd expect some to defend it with blind loyalty but everyone is just mad stuff altogether. Poor form really.

Crazy carry on that lads think that a deliberate forceful strike to a players head is acceptable. Cody has a lot to answer for really. He advocates the refs "letting the game flow" bs.

Hogan lined Barrett up and done him. It was a dirty stroke.

Shefflin has been brutal as a pundit/analyst. Himself and Sean Cavanagh were great players but are rubbish to listen to... they should be got rid of and ya can add Donal Og as well

In fairness to Sheflin he offers very little in terms of analysis. He's just waiting in the wings for Cody to retire so that he can take over. Might be waiting a while though as I don't see Cody going anytime soon. He's building a good team, Lawlor and Browne have been great finds and Mullan and Donnelly look like superstars in the making. Kilkenny aren't going away anytime soon.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Good lord is he still denying it? Won't do himself any favors. Best to just accept it and move on. The bitterness being shown doesn't reflect well.

Maybe , for some people, the shoulder extends down to the elbow

In fairness to Sheflin he offers very little in terms of analysis. He's just waiting in the wings for Cody to retire so that he can take over. Might be waiting a while though as I don't see Cody going anytime soon. He's building a good team, Lawlor and Browne have been great finds and Mullan and Donnelly look like superstars in the making. Kilkenny aren't going away anytime soon.

I think youll find Eddie Brennan might have something to say about the KK job when cody steps down.

Re poor analysts, Ursula Jacob is as bad as any of them. Really hard to listen to and doesnt really add anything. McGrath and Tyrell are good.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    That must be a great icebreaker at parties :)

Especially when you introduce it after everybody have had a few Budweiser’s. You get much more head scratching

I think youll find Eddie Brennan might have something to say about the KK job when cody steps down.

Re poor analysts, Ursula Jacob is as bad as any of them. Really hard to listen to and doesnt really add anything. McGrath and Tyrell are good.

I like Ursula think she's decent.

I like Ursula think she's decent. Tyrell is a bit old to be wearing no socks on the Sunday Game. I suppose he lost them giving socks out about the red card.

Her accent though...

Ffs everytime i see the Hogan incident it gets worse. 1000 per cent a straight red.

Her accent though...

I know. Very sexy..

Whatever chalks your cue, I suppose.

What does Cyril Farrell be talking about?