Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Buying knives

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Merged with Buying Knives megathread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Mine are Henckels Zwilling, a block I got for €99 in the Arnotts sale last year (after spending quite a long time with my partner testing weight, balance and sharpness [which, knife freak that he is, he does by shaving his arm. Much to the raised eyebrows of the Arnotts lady). Included cleaver, chefs knife, paring knife & steel. Highly recommend.

Also a big fan of Global knives and a single chefs knife was my 'knife collection' for years till I snapped the nose off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,911 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Also a big fan of Global knives and a single chefs knife was my 'knife collection' for years till I snapped the nose off it.

I got a gift of a Global chef's knife for Christmas. I was out last night but my sister heard a thump from the kitchen just as she was falling asleep. Dragged herself down to investigate and found the dog in bed with the knife - she'd pulled it off the counter and was getting ready for a good chew. It was still in the packaging, but thank God Sinead heard her and went down.

Oh, Doggy. Why are they so magnetically drawn to the sharp and the poisonous :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

Agent_47 wrote: »
    anyone have opinions on the Kuhn Rikon black knives? Looking at the Santoku and Chef knives. They ain't cheap so asking opinions here for the professional kniveshttps://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00FG3ZCJA/ref=mp_s_a_1_34?qid=1450335849&sr=8-34&pi=AC_SX220_SY330_QL65&keywords=kuhn+rikon+knives

I brought a Kuhn rikon paring knife. It's brilliant and sharp, well balanced, light weight, comes with a protective cover. Very affordable but you have to pay for delivery as for some reason Kuhn rikon themselves don't ship to Ireland from Amazon.co.uk. Had to use one of the alternative sellers.

I'm thinking of buying a few more as they are dishwasher safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Deise Musashi

Any other brand worths considering Zyliss, Taylor eye witness, James Martin Stellar?
    What should I look for in finish. Previous knives have been the cheapest I could find but have been gifted a voucher for Christmas and looking at either a good knive set or a proper saucepan set

A lot depends on how careful Greenmachine is willing to be with his (her?) knives.

Carbon steel is traditional, takes a keen edge easily and is handy to touch up, but will stain in normal use and can rust if not minded.

Stainless steels are less prone to marks and rust (not immune!) unless you want to go with something like H1 steel which can't rust, but is mostly used for knives you see on the crew in "Deadliest Catch", great dive knives mind.

Spyderco Agua Salt, also available in folding form, great dive and rescue knives.

FB23YL.jpg

Stainless can be a good enough steel (440C and AUS8) or a very good steel (VG10, 12c27) or the current trendy "super" steel (ELMAX, Super Gold Powder Steel, S110V) and there are also "super" almost stainless and carbon steels like M390, D2, M4, 3V yadda yadda.

More important than the steel in my opinion, is the geometry, mostly determined by the grind, and also by the steel stock thickness.
    A knife full flat ground from 5mm thick stock won't cut as well as a scandi ground from 2mm stock (heat treat etc. comes into play here also so the super thin "laser" doesn't chip out or fold in use).

My preference is for decent steel (VG10 a lot) in a full flat grind and thin stock. With a decent heat treat these cut well, require little touch ups to stay cutting well and are easy to maintain.

Hand wash only!

That goes for all decent cutlery, the salts and heat in a dishwasher are no place for your tools!

As for brands, the Traditional Germans (Wusthoff, Henckels) are solidly built and will last for years.
    They do some Japanese style knives now too, which I like, as they don't have the heavy bolsters that make knives hard to sharpen and can result in a hollowed out edge.
    Most modern steel is good, any decent set will do what's needed, and most have too many knives.

What I use most in my kitchen is...

an F. Dick Utility knife, great bread knife but can also be a carver (I got mine from McDonnells.ie).

https://www.247cateringsupplies.co.uk/media/catalog/product/cache/1/small_image/295x295/c96a280f94e22e3ee3823dd0a1a87606/D/L/DL377_1_3.jpg

https://www.mcdonnells.ie/products/superior-utility-knife

a selection of utility knives, Kitchen Devil etc. are grand, thin and sharp.
    I also use F. Dick tourne paring knives as I like the hooked shape when peeling.

DL362_1_3.jpg

and my main knife is a Japanese Santoku, the HD-5 Santoku in damasteel cause I like a nice knife when I'm dicing onions :rolleyes:

Img556.jpg

http://japanesechefsknife.com/HDSeries.html#HDSeries

I'm a knife guy, I have feckin' loads of them, I spend too much money on them but I like trying new makers and styles looking for "The One".

You don't need a massive collection, a few paring knives, a good bread/utility and a main chef knife. Add specialist stuff as needed like a carver, fillet knife, larger or smaller chef's knife (I like 7-10 inch knives mostly, with some fun exceptions!) as experience points the way. Go for Victorinox, SWIBO and Dick with the Hygiplas handles, ask your local butcher, abattoir or try McDonnells and Nisbets for same.

[IMG][/img]20150515_195043_zpsazhwioqc.jpg

If you want to treat yourself, and have a better idea what's wanted, go for exotic steels, beautiful burr wood handles, damascus (pattern welded rather than wootz) steels, lighter thinner harder knives that make prep work more fun.
    If you want to work hard in the kitchen go for good solid working knives as above, they won't let you down and are great for students/young people in their first gaff, small money and easily enough replaced.
    For a treat or an upgrade, go for Wusties, Zwilling/Henckels (check the Kramer line!), Global, Misono, Shun (check Ken Onion series), Hattori etc.

You can have solid work horse for little money and heirloom pieces for crazy money.
    My kids will get Victorinox and F. Dick knives I've used and maintained, as well as the fancy lads my wife is afraid of, all good stuff if cared for and maintained.

Also, if your kit came with a coarse metal file masquerading as a steel, keep it for edging the shovels and trowels.
    Ikea do a nice ceramic steel for small money, and a diamond steel to be used sparingly if more sharpening is needed.

21-f4AWOxiL._SY355_.jpgflaksa-ceramic-sharpener-black__0097050_PE237260_S4.JPG
    The unglazed ring on the arse of a glazed coffee mug is good enough to steel your edges on, little and often... and maybe a proper sharpen every 6-12 months depending on how you cut (Slicer vs. Chopper) and cutting surface (end grain wood or slate/glass/plates....devil's work) and how much work your knives get.

Invest in lots of plasters from Aldi/Lidl, very good to stick to sliced finger tips...maybe some steri strips until the claw hand makes sense.

I like Eden Web Shop, Japanese Chef Knives Direct, chef knives to go and Heinnie Haynes for buying from, there are loads of suppliers like Amazon, Brown Thomas and Sweeney O'Rourke too.
    Mine are Henckels Zwilling, a block I got for €99 in the Arnotts sale last year (after spending quite a long time with my partner testing weight, balance and sharpness [which, knife freak that he is, he does by shaving his arm. Much to the raised eyebrows of the Arnotts lady). Included cleaver, chefs knife, paring knife & steel. Highly recommend.

Having a baldy left arm is fine

One good knife beats most "collections" hands down

...and if you like I could regrind the tip of your Global.

It may end up more Santoku shape than traditional French Chefs, but it would be useable and sharp again.

You can see an Ikea Slitbar I repaired on my Youtube videos, depending on how much you snapped off we could get her back in service.
    Message me if you want to look at that option, I do like to restore a good knife to a useful state. (Not shilling or advertising, I do these little jobs for members sometimes as a goodwill thing. These are some tip repairs I've done for Boardsies Steak knives, see how some are a little shorter and the tip drop to meet the edge instead of being a little upswept...)

20140315_145531_zpsc47d9404.jpg

A handy test if you don't want to use arm hair, or a fingernail, is the body of a BIC pen or similar, see what angle the edge catches at.
    Slicing free hanging phone book paper or a rolled piece of glossy magazine paper also works.
    I tend not to worry too much about factory edges since I will change the edge angle and level of polish to suit myself anyway, once the steel "can" take and hold an edge, that will do.

(There is a brass rod test but people don't like if you deform or chip their show knives)

Some really nice knives...

Shun Ken Onion (have some Shun, not one of these though, I see the chef on StellaCulinary uses one)

DM0508.jpg

Henckels Kramer fancy production knife#

H34891203.jpg

Bob Kramer Original

9_slide.png

A lad in the UK, Will Catcheside, who I watched on BritishBlades as he learnt to forge his own steel, build a grinder and start making some fantastic knives, should have bought early!

8919376_orig.jpg

http://www.catchesidecutlery.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Incredibly detailed reply there Deise.

Having a baldy left arm is fine

One good knife beats most "collections" hands down

...and if you like I could regrind the tip of your Global.

You are completely lovely. My partner's dad was over visiting from the frozen north a while ago and brought me a gift of a 'family knife' (they all have them) which is super sharp and as he told me 'to be used, not to be looked at' and a set of steels to keep it sharp. (Also a video of an educational pig slaughter he hosts for local kids. So he definitely likes his knives properly sharp). And because of that my Global has become my practice knife :) And, which I am very excited about, after a night where I had to basically grind the whole edge off, it no longer looks like a cr*ppy breadknife (I did awful things to that poor blade with the Global sharpening set I had no idea how to actually use). It's sharp again! And we're going to have a go at regrinding the tip soon too, just maybe not with hand held steels and my poor soft, not exactly used to hard work, hands. Thank you so much for offering though.

l4JguMC.jpg
    oDrzI32.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,911 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Any tips on how best to use an oilstone, Deise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Agent_47

Memnoch wrote: »
    I brought a Kuhn rikon paring knife. It's brilliant and sharp, well balanced, light weight, comes with a protective cover. Very affordable but you have to pay for delivery as for some reason Kuhn rikon themselves don't ship to Ireland from Amazon.co.uk. Had to use one of the alternative sellers.

I'm thinking of buying a few more as they are dishwasher safe.

Delivered through parcel motel. I picked up 4 for 3 over Christmas from Amazon. The utility knife, Chef, Santoku and carving knives.
    Now have a nice set.

... we're going to have a go at regrinding the tip soon too, just maybe not with hand held steels and my poor soft, not exactly used to hard work, hands. Thank you so much for offering though.

Not a bother, for reshaping the tip consider using second cut files to get the tip shaped as you want it.
    I use a 1" x 42" belt grinder but this can be done with hand tools.
    Fair play on saving the edge, I've seen some terrible things done with powered grinders and "grinders".

https://youtu.be/jRZW6-OCwws

This is a knife where I removed serrations at the back of the blade, and sharpened the whole edge.

Dial Hard wrote:
    Any tips on how best to use an oilstone, Deise?

How I started off as a young lad!
    Edging knives for Rabbit and Deer hunting, plus the auld lads chisels and drills (builder family who like hunting).

First off you will need two, if not three stones, medium and fine for general use, a coarse for repairing damage (like Miss Flitworth), if damage or extreme neglect has taken a toll?

Next up you can use traditional "Oil" stones, usually some form of Carborundum stone (abrasive).

You can use natural "Quarried" stones, like those used for straight razors (Belgian Coticule, a type of ruby).

Water stones, typically Japanese in origin, can be Quarried natural stones (pricey) or man made (can get 1000/6000 grit combos which is handy).

Diamond "Plates", man made, super flat, never needs flattening and is a defined grit.
    Cons = a deeper scratch pattern that needs polishing because diamond is a different shape to ruby etc. (Dodadecahedron vs. ???)

I like diamond plates, they are getting cheaper, coarse ones can be had in Aldi/Lidl.
    Never need flattening and I can finish on naturals, coticules, water stones, paper/film etc.

"Temporary" stones, as I show in my Hillbilly Sharpening video, use Automotive Wet and Dry finishing paper in numerous grits as disposable "stones".

https://youtu.be/xlKZ2OqXUd8

Right, if you have a set of oil stones that have had oil on them, continue to use a light cutting oil on them. This is basically like drilling or cutting (turning?) metal by hand, we need a lubricant to float away metal particles and to provide "slip" on the stone.

Three in One oil or any light machine oil will do, diesel will do in a pinch, or chainsaw chain oil (I've used these), but a nice light cutting oil is better.

If oil hasn't been used on your stone, don't use it.
    Soak in water (up to 15 minutes to soak a fine stone) and use a tiny sup of wash up liquid to provide slip and float off ground particles.

Never use oil on water stones or coticules, pure water only!
    Watch some Youtube videos on how to create a slurry, and thin it for polishing.

Grand so, now we are ready to sharpen/hone on the stone.

First decide on an angle to sharpen at, 20 Deg. for general use, 15 Deg. for slicers or fine knives, 25 Deg. plus for cleavers/choppers/Axes.

Fold a sheet of paper at the corner twice, 90 Deg. /2 = 45 / 2 = 22.50 Deg.
    Use this as a guide to set your angle (plus or minus).

The Japanese also often use a couple of coins under the spine of the knife to set the angle, they are high hardness knives so can take thinner angles without chipping or folding.

On a smaller knife it is possible to hit the whole edge using one "sweep" movement, like trying to take a fine slice from the stone's surface.

On a larger blade, I would "scrub" inch by inch and blend those sections later.

I usually use a 1" x 72" belt sander these days or an Edge Pro "Pro" model, the edge pro lets me set the stone angle and repeat as needed, taking out the mechanical inefficiency of human joints.

For hand sharpening the best way is to orient the stone away from yourself, this allows you to sharpen "away and back again" which minimises the play on shoulder and elbow.

I originally learnt to sharpen "Side to Side" but could not get even bevels, this is why.

I feel this is getting a bit long (not like me at all) so here's the good stuff!

Get a stone wetted up, pointed away from you, on a damp cloth to prevent slippage.
    Use some lubricant.
    Set the steel to stone edge bevel (10-40 Degrees)
    Stroke away from self applying the angle with the hand on the knife handle, pressure to stone with other hand on knife blade.

Take pressure off while drawing knife back.

Create a "burr" on one side, then repeat that number of strokes on the other side, to "flip" the bevel to the other side.

Repeat every ten strokes, left and right, to keep the bevel centered.

To refine the edge, move to a finer stone, use less pressure, flip the knife every stroke.

Final polish on finest stone, or newspaper (stropping strokes) or leather with compound (I like razor compound on leather on very flat lathe, or float glass)

Watch Murray Carter Sharpening videos, he can shave with a spoon ffs!

I have a few recordings of me sharpening stuff, I'm still learning, but the abrasive papers and a convex edge, would be plenty "down the rabbit hole" for most kitchen needs.

Globals, and lots of good knives, come with a convex edge as standard, and it is very good for supporting the carbides in softer steels.

https://youtu.be/rTKV5-ZSWcE

This chap shows the difference between Typical Western and Asian Sharpening styles, I would put pressure on the blade when grinding into the edge and finish each grit level with lower pressure stropping strokes, like Murray Carter does!

This is the Master...Murray is a Canadian, trained in Japan to be a Master Smith, World renowned kitchen knives, and he uses two stones and clay coated newsprint to sharpen.

In this video he use a knife to flatten a stone, while sharpening the knife.
    I would never try this, I flatten my stones or use diamond plates (super flat).

Murray probably spent a couple years as an apprentice just sharpening finished blades, he's one of the best in the world at this (a competition on another forum with a double blind test proved this), but his method can be used by anyone.

Medium stone, fine stone, strop. Pay attention to edge angle, pressure and stropping.

https://youtu.be/ozZF2EgnYm0

I came across this video while "researching", or drooling over very high end knives.

Basically, get a $300 Zwillings Kramer if you can afford same, but a fibrox Victorinox will deliver 90% plus of the performance in day to day use...

http://www.nisbets.ie/Victorinox-Chefs-Knife-21.5cm/C655/ProductDetail.raction = €32.99 at the moment.

c655.jpg
    http://www.surlatable.com/product/PRO-180374/Bob+Kramer+Carbon+Steel+Chefs+Knife;jsessionid=361EE493F407196EC761734899847595.slt-app-01-p-app3 = $299.95

main_variation_Default_view_1_715x715.

How Bob Kramer Sharpens is very close to how I like to do it.

The only things I do that he doesn't (and he is World Renowned, so likely I am wrong) on each stone grit, I like to make some stropping strokes at the end to straighten up the burr (cheers Murray Carter).

Driving the edge into the stone raises a burr, swapping sides flexes the burr, so from metal fatigue it will snap off, or I will strip it off using felt/cork/soft wood.

I like to strip the burr off by drawing the edge through a soft wood block, a felt block or a Champagne Cork (cause I'm so fancy).

Moving to each finer grit I drive the edge in first, to raise a progressively finer burr, and strip it by stropping on the stone, and cutting cork.

Final stage is stropping on leather with a hard substrate (backing) and some fine polishing compound (Smurf Poo if available, Autosol or Peek if stuck) or on plain news print.

After this I should have a mirror edge that cuts with no friction and prep work is a joy with a good sized razor sharp kitchen tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Hi, I'm looking to get a decent set of knives for the kitchen. I was tempted by a multi-coloured set from Tesco a while ago but they have proven to be pretty rubbish. I want to get a good set now and get rid of the other ones.

I'm unsure of prices for knives to be honest but I can say for certain that about €30 is my limit per knife. Ideally, I would like a knife that will last a good while before needing to be sharpened.

I will be mainly using them for cutting meat (nothing frozen), veg and so on. A steak knife as well, maybe? And a bread knife.

I'm living in North Dublin, if there are any shops in that region.

Thanks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

I've merged you with the knives megathread because those who know a lot about knives follow this thread, and also you should find lots of advice if you scroll back through this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,747 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Just bought a Wusthof Classic Chefs Knife as a present for the little brother... Now I'm considering ordering one for myself... Amazon wouldn't deliver to Ireland... Ended up using knivesandtools.co.uk in case anyone is interested or has experience with them in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Jubo

I've bought Wusthof knives from brennancateringsupplies.ie in Waterford before. Pretty sure you can get them from them online too.

Nisbets.ie do Wusthoff as well as other brands.
    McConnells.ie do F. Dick knives which I like (also like Swibo and Victorinox)

Many online retailers will send you kitchen cutlery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭acer911

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,145 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Ordered a Wusthoff Santoku knife, 17cm, today. Lots of chopping going to be happening soon. Hope it's ginormous!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I want to buy a proper whetstone knife sharpening kit - quite a few on amazon - anyone got any advice on what to buy?

Zascar wrote: »
    I want to buy a proper whetstone knife sharpening kit - quite a few on amazon - anyone got any advice on what to buy?

*I've merged this with the knives megathread, because the guys who subscribe to this know everything about knives and sharpening them :)

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭tomaso11

Zascar wrote: »

I'm using the one below, along with a wusthof steel and it works great

Mine has the wooden base https://www.amazon.de/Schleifstein-Rusee-Doppelseitig-rutschfestem-Silikonhalter/dp/B06VXXSDTN/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1518084663&sr=8-2&keywords=whetstone+kit

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Thanks, is the angle guide this one comes wit any use?

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭tomaso11

useless, tried once and it's on the back of a drawer. Plenty of reviews saying that it leaves marks on the blade but I didn't even give it a chance to do that

I did a sharpening course with Patrick Brennan a couple of weeks ago, and got some new Water Stones from him :D

I haven't been sharpening with bench stones in ages, so looking forward to practicing on these again.

I got a huge brick of a 1,000 grit, and a 6,000 grit, you would know Pat has trained with Murray Carter!

Patrick does source water stones from Japan, ping him a message on Facebook, and he'll sort you out.

Pat does do things a bit different from the way I learned, and his way makes more sense, so I'm switching.
    Stropping only strokes, so we don't run the nice clean edge into any metal fragments, or larger/harder bits of stone, in the surface of our water stones.

Stropping strokes should allow the edge to flow over any fragments, allowing a clean progression up the grits.

Stropping on leather can round the crisp edge achieved off the stone, mileage can vary.

There are a lot of decent waterstones available, King, Naniwa, Chosera, Shapton ... all with their fans and detractors.
    Technique is more important, that is mainly practice and muscle memory, a decent stone and decent steel will give better results.

My Birthday is coming up, so I am looking at Gyuto style knives.

I'm looking at Miyabi clad carbon steel, maybe another Watanabe - Korouchi finished, then there's Hitachi's HAP40 Steel which seems to take a great fine edge at 65/66 rockwell, there are powdered steel formulations, "virgin" carbon steels in White and Blue Paper varieties...some gorgeous handle materials and a huge range of prices.

So many options, some serious googling to do this weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I need someone in Dublin to sharpen my Kamata knife, where is a good place to go?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,145 ✭✭✭✭beertons

RasTa wrote: »
    I need someone in Dublin to sharpen my Kamata knife, where is a good place to go?

Just ask your butcher.

FxB always too busy when I'm in there.

"I'm looking to get a decent set of knives for the kitchen. I was tempted by a multi-coloured set from Tesco a while ago but they have proven to be pretty rubbish. I want to get a good set now and get rid of the other ones.

I'm unsure of prices for knives to be honest but I can say for certain that about €30 is my limit per knife. Ideally, I would like a knife that will last a good while before needing to be sharpened.

I will be mainly using them for cutting meat (nothing frozen), veg and so on. A steak knife as well, maybe? And a bread knife. "

I always recommend a good bread knife / carver, a Chef's knife, and a couple good paring knives. There are others that are useful, but that's the core set.
    Fish filleting knives, cleavers, spreaders...all optional.

1) Bread knife carver - I like the F. Dick Utility
    https://www.mcdonnells.ie/products/prodynamic-utility-knife-1

Pro-Dynamic-Pastry-Knife--10---blade--wavy-edge--high-carbon-steel--plastic-handle-27825_xlarge.jpg

2) Chef's 8"

https://www.mcdonnells.ie/products/prodynmanic-chefs-knife

Pro-Dynamic-Chef-s-Knife--8---blade--high-carbon-steel--plastic-handle-27853_xlarge.jpg

Chef's 10"

https://www.mcdonnells.ie/products/prodynamic-chefs-knife-1

Pro-Dynamic-Chef-s-Knife--10---blade--high-carbon-steel--plastic-handle-27862_xlarge.jpg

3) Paring knife - straight

https://www.mcdonnells.ie/products/prodynamic-kitchen-knife

Pro-Dynamic-Paring-Knife--3---blade--high-carbon-steel--plastic-handle-27629_xlarge.jpg

Paring Knife - Tourne (very useful)

https://www.mcdonnells.ie/products/prodynamic-tourne-peeling-knife-2

Household-Peeling-Knife--2---blade--high-carbon-steel--plastic-handle--stamped-27617_xlarge.jpg

I don't work for McDonnels, but I do buy from them, so my Wife's workmate is getting this set as a housewarming present soon!
    beertons wrote:
    Ordered a Wusthoff Santoku knife, 17cm, today. Lots of chopping going to be happening soon. Hope it's ginormous!

6.5" Santoku, not huge, but maybe more depth than a French or German profile?
    Zascar wrote:
    "I want to buy a proper whetstone knife sharpening kit - quite a few on amazon - anyone got any advice on what to buy?"

Japanese Watersones, combo stones are handy but I like single grits.
    1,000 and 6,000 is a good mix, maybe a 240 for damaged blade?
    tomaso11 wrote:
    I'm using the one below, along with a wusthof steel and it works great

Mine has the wooden base https://www.amazon.de/Schleifstein-R...=whetstone+kit"

The Germans like a good edge, I often buy from Dictum as well.

https://www.dictum.com/en/bench-stones-eaa
    RasTa wrote:
    I need someone in Dublin to sharpen my Kamata knife, where is a good place to go?"

I've met Butchers who know very little about sharpening victorinox boning knives, if you have a sushi place nearby I would ask them...

What do you have?
    Gyuto, Santoku, Sujehiki, Deba....stainless cladding or carbon, look for Patrick Brennan knifesmith of the Facebook, he could sort it out for you!

Jay Odinson on Kilkenny Knives and Tool also offers sharpening services

Dunno the name, just the chef knife for home use. It's not cutting through butternut squash like butter anymore.

No places in Dublin?

RasTa wrote: »
    Dunno the name, just the chef knife for home use. It's not cutting through butternut squash like butter anymore.

No places in Dublin?

https://www.mcdonnells.ie/services/knife-sharpening

No experience of their service, but might be worth a call to them.

I know Jay and Patrick sharpen by hand on waterstones, which is the way Japanese knives are done when manufactured.
    Actually, top Japanese knives leave it up to the buyer to finish the sharpening, to allow for the Chef's preferences.

A quick follow up, just to show my setup.

My 240 grit edge repair stone, 1,000 grit usual starter, 2,000 and 4,000 grit intermediates and an 8.000 grit polisher, my 6,000 grit not shown.

Also in the pic are a stone flattener, a Nagura (Slurry Stone) and a 10,000 grit slate stone, and a bottle of Camelia Oil (for knives, never on stones!).

IMG_20180209_204029_zps2xhakp93.jpg

IMG_20180209_204236_zpsigfbtlrn.jpg

IMG_20180209_204030_zpswaqvc0fo.jpg

Some of my kitchen kit, loves me some super hard Japanese steel, Watanabe, Shun and a Tamahagene Petty, plus some F. Dick goodness.

IMG_20180209_204407_zpsnam8pkld.jpg

Home made sink bridge, doing some sharpening this morning (daylight is best for looking at edges).
    Had to touch up some kitchen stuff for Father In Law, an AUS 8 Chad Los Banos and a Lightfoot fixed for my Cousin.

IMG_20180210_161132_zpsx8fkq3rk.jpg

My 240 Grit edge repair tool, my Brother in Law is hell on edges!
    He treats knives like tools, and not my babies!

IMG_20180210_161148_zpszje9n0yo.jpg

The Big Red Brick! 1,000 Grit stone I love to start most knives on, great feedback and performance.

IMG_20180210_161205_zpsn2fopdps.jpg

Kitchen stuff, we are lucky enough to have an Abattoir with shop locally, so we can be breaking down Primals for Summer Barbecues.

20150515_194944_zpshucpwkhd.jpg

Some Japanese Stuff, love using these in prep.

20131223_211306_zpsjeveeehk.jpg

I've not included my oil stones diamond stones, or the Edge Pro stuff (supplied stones, Diamonds plates and Chosera Waterstones on the guided system).

Free handing is fun, I'd moved away from it in the last few years but it's very enjoyable and "Zen" to just go a few hours zoned in on some edges.

How do you find the Japanese handles?

I like the Wa handles, but I really like the right handed "D" Shaped handles.

I'm usually using a pinch grip, so usually only three fingers are on the handles anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭b.gud

I feel like my knives are in need of a good sharpen so I'm looking for a decent and reasonably prices, if that's possible, wet stone. I currently have one of these but I feel like it isn't really cutting the mustard anymore, my chefs knife in particular is no where near as sharp as it used to be

• Registered Users Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Jesper

I'm looking to get a nice set of knife's for my brother as a house warming/engagement present. Neither are huge foodies but I have a nice set of Kin knife's I got in Japan and find them invaluable.
    Something that won't need constant sharpening or to much care. I see that the forum hasn't got much attention lately but any suggestions welcome!

https://www.dictum.com/en/western-design-hocho-fab/arata-hocho-2-piece-set-719378

b.gud wrote: »
    I feel like my knives are in need of a good sharpen so I'm looking for a decent and reasonably prices, if that's possible, wet stone. I currently have one of these but I feel like it isn't really cutting the mustard anymore, my chefs knife in particular is no where near as sharp as it used to be

Fire that knife ruining carbide powered pull through yoke into the bin!
    Those are the worst thing ever for a knife, eats them alive.

These look decent, or get a good diamond stone, bit coarser ( at the same grits) but never needs flattening.

https://www.knivesandtools.co.uk/en/ct/whetstones-sharpening-stones.htm

Jesper wrote: »
    I'm looking to get a nice set of knife's for my brother as a house warming/engagement present. Neither are huge foodies but I have a nice set of Kin knife's I got in Japan and find them invaluable.
    Something that won't need constant sharpening or to much care. I see that the forum hasn't got much attention lately but any suggestions welcome!

If they aren't going to put any effort into the care and maintenance of a Japanese knife, I would be inclined to go French or German.

Generally built a bit heavier, softer steel, stainless, if going in a dishwasher get the moulded plastic handles!

The likes of F.Dick, Victorinox, Forschner, Old Hickory (carbon steel so will rust), Sabatier....

Also, the likes of Henckels and Wusthoff are making Japanesey knives, similar designs but in stainless steels, so a bit higher grade option, without going all in on a Cowry-X steel handcrafted job from a master maker.

A Kramer by Zwilling is still €240 - €400 quid, but a very nice Chef's knife can be had for under €100.

zw34891-261-0$01-zwilling-bob-kramer-zw34891-261-0-01.jpg

If you were to go to Victorinox level €50 quid would set them up with possibly a couple of knives (Bread and Chef's).

vt5.2933.26$01-victorinox-fibrox-vt5.2933.26-01.jpg

€27.40

vt5.2063.20$01-victorinox-fibrox-vt5.2063.20-01.jpg

€24.00

kamgr-0200c$01-kai-shun-seki-magoroku-redwood-kamgr-0200c-01.jpg

Kai for around €70.00, Kai own Shun, Zero Tolerance, Kershaw...

zw36111-201-0$01-zwilling-gourmet-zw36111-201-0-01.jpg

Zwilling for around €50

Have a look on https://www.knivesandtools.co.uk/ and https://www.nisbets.ie/kitchenware-and-knives/chefs-knives/_/a33-2

Finally do not get one of those coarse ribbed steels, any polished steel rod like a hydraulic shaft or a long screwdriver will do in a pinch, and doesn't cause excessive wear.
    The unglazed portion of ceramic on the arse of a coffee mug will touch up an edge, stones will eventually be needed to sharpen (or wet and dry sandpaper on a flat surface will do the job).

• Registered Users Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Jesper

As a follow up I bought a set of these

Zwilling 4 Star II
    https://uk.zwilling-shop.com/Kitchen-World/Kitchen-Knives/Knife-Sets-Blocks/Knife-block-sets/Knife-block-natural-wood-7-pcs-Zwilling-33414-000-0.html

In the Zwilling store in Kildare Village. The price was €199 (down from €400 apparently). It was a special offer but they seem to rotate the knife block special offers so it could be a good option for anyone looking.
    https://www.kildarevillage.com/en/shopping/offers/zwilling/

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭pmb

I purchased two nice knives in Japan last year which I would like to have sharpened (one of which also has a slight chip in it). Anybody know where I could have this done?

Preferably in Dublin

***pmb I've merged this with the Knives megathread. A search of this thread may find what you're looking for, but if not I'm sure some of the subscribers to the thread will point you in the right direction :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

Few quick questions.

Whats the quality of the cheaper WÜSTHOF lines, Silverpoint line seems surprisingly cheap.

Is Opinel good quality, I have used the clasp knifes in the past and they seemed good, are the kitchen range good quality?

Eden Essentials seem cheaper than others, any use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

pmb wrote: »

I purchased two nice knives in Japan last year which I would like to have sharpened (one of which also has a slight chip in it). Anybody know where I could have this done?

Preferably in Dublin

Some butchers may sharpen them for you, but you'd want to trust they know what they are doing with Japanese steel.

I get my knives from McDonnells and at least a few years back they said they sharpen them as well. Behind the Four Courts.

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Phoenix3

MaceFace wrote: »
    Some butchers may sharpen them for you, but you'd want to trust they know what they are doing with Japanese steel.

I get my knives from McDonnells and at least a few years back they said they sharpen them as well. Behind the Four Courts.

McDonnells have move from that location to somewhere in Ballycoolin Dublin 15.

Guys I bought a Fixed Edge Knife Sharpener from Aliexpress and its really cool. Can't find the exact one but it has sucktion cups at the bottom to stick it to the counter. 100x better than the Any Sharp or the ones with the handle - and far easier than a proper whetstone.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Recently bought this system and went through my knives......really grinds a new extremely sharp edge.....on any knife really.
    It's a graded system in that you start off with a coarse sharpening block down to medium and fine. Diamond or whetstone blocks. No regrets. You can tell/feel the sharpness that was never there in my Sabatier probably 20 year old knives. New lease of life.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAOC-0Le8EE&t=1415s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

I like little and often when it comes to sharpening. I've a 3000 grit Japanese waterstone sitting in water on in the kitchen, I give my knives three runs either side after every use. I won't have a perfect V edge as my angle isn't going to be perfect every time but it'll be close enough and given the little and often approach it doesn't matter if I'm not always perfect. I probably have a dodgy convex grind but they are always screaming sharp. I like 3000 grit as it gives a micro serration which helps my less than perfect grind.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

Can I respectfully ask, what's the whole thing behind getting a butcher to sharpen knives?

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote:
    Can I respectfully ask, what's the whole thing behind getting a butcher to sharpen knives?

I wouldn't, most butcher knives are softer steel that is made to be tough, but deform if hitting bone.
    They will steel often to straighten up the edge, but most butchers are not dedicated knife sharpeners.

If you have expensive Japanese knives, Patrick Brennan knife maker can sharpen them, Jay in Kilkenny Knives and Tool can do it, I can do a job on it, or any custom knife makers would know how (Jamie at Triscele Forge for example).

Other option is (as Feisar does) getting a 1,000 grit water stone and a 6,000 grit stone (combo stones are available).
    Have a go yourself on a cheap beater to get a feel for it, angles don't have to be exact.
    A nice convex edge is ideal for kitchen use.

Permanent soaker stones can be kept in the toilet cistern, I am told :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Masala

Hi

Am looking at getting a set of knives just for myself in the kitchen. I enjoy cooking at the weekend etc and am always complaining at the quality of knives I have in the cutlery drawer.

So.. looking at something that I can wash and store away just for me ... no lending out!!!

Am talking about preparing chicken, vegetables (including butternut squash ) etc.

Any ideas of what to get or where?? Will Amazon sent knives in the post????

Looking at spending €100-€150 on a good 3-4 piece set.

Many thanks