Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Hurling (Liam Mccarthy Cup) 2019

Dónal Óg said that Kilkenny deserved to win a dozen times and followed it each time with a caveat. He's bullin' haha.

It takes more than a few perky pecs wrapped snuggly in a green jersey to beat a Cody team. Ravenous stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Scoreline flattered Limerick, they were fluting around overworking the ball constantly, Kilkenny set up their scores with direct play and took them, no fluting around and then a panicky effort going wide or a stupid loose flick.

The best full back line in the country must have had a prior engagement today because Limerick were no great shakes from 2-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭threeball

Limericks poor start put them under huge pressure. Some of that was down to themselves but fair play to KK they got the tactics right. I said in an earlier post that to have any chance they'd need to bottle up the middle and hope the fb line held up. They did it in spades on both front. Huw Lalor had a great game and was very unfortunate to concede the penalty. Padraic Walsh hurled some great stuff in the second half and protected the full back line when needed. Tj was immense as always. Not often I'd root for kk due to the amount they've won but I certainly was there. Losing that game would have been totally against the grain and a fully deserved win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭conor05

josip wrote: »
    As a Kilkenny man, I hope Wexford win tomorrow and I wouldn't mind at all if they went on to beat us in the All Ireland. They've kept the faith long enough.

Yes a Wexford v Kilkenny final be a dream come true. Old rivals but always respected eachother.

The Craic among the fans could be brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭conor05

thefloss wrote: »
    Limericks shocking shooting will lose them this game

Well the ref done everything in his power to get Limerick over the line.

Their shooting was terrible because of KK pressure.

Kilkenny hurled limerick off the pitch for 80% of the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Munsterbhoy

conor05 wrote: »
    Well the ref done everything in his power to get Limerick over the line.

Their shooting was terrible because of KK pressure.

Kilkenny hurled limerick off the pitch for 80% of the match
    Utter ****e. Byrnes missed crucial placed balls all game. KK goal for steps. Limerick as bad as we were shud have won the game. Poor start but shocking wides kept us from parity. KK were great and good luck to them but limerick beat themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Kudos to Kilkenny and Cody in particular. Got the tactics spot on and really tore into Limerick.

Like previous posters said, Lawlor was outstanding at full-back and looks like a gem. Two Walsh's played very well too, and Reid was the figurehead for every good passage of play.

A lot Limerick's bigger names underperformed though, with Cian Lynch particularly subdued. Hayes is usually the focal point for the transition from defence to attack, but he was outgunned today. Hegarty ineffective for the first time this season too. Really only the ultra consistent Sean Finn and Graeme Mulcahy stood up the plate, as did Nash when he came on.

One thing I will say though is that I didn't think Kilkenny's aggression was THAT much greater than we've seen before, and it wouldn't be something Wexford haven't seen before should we be fortunate enough to win tomorrow.

Wides were Limerick's biggest killer- something I am all too familiar with over the years with Wexford, Leinster final aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

thelad95 wrote: »
    I think the main reason for that was the superiority of Kilkenny 06-15, can’t blame that all on a long layoff.

Leinster teams do have the advantage of playing a few games in Croke park before the All Ireland series. I think it's a significant enough advantage.
    Kilkennys backs were very good I thought. But they just tacked on a few points when they had to.

boggerman1 wrote: »
    As a Tipp man I never thought I'd be so happy for kilkenny and Cody to win.they were phenomenal from the off.delighted for a certain section of limerick supporters who were fair obnoxious after the Munster final a few weeks ago.Cody is the greatest manager in gaa history and tonight's win must surely rank no.1.[/quo

What obnoxious stuff was that? I'd be very surprised and disappointed if whole sections of Limerick support were gloating. I'd say it's all in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

BloodyBill wrote: »
    Leinster teams do have the advantage of playing a few games in Croke park before the All Ireland series. I think it's a significant enough advantage.
    Kilkennys backs were very good I thought. But they just tacked on a few points when they had to.

galway used to play all there championship matches there and it didn't exactly make much of a difference

i think farrell is right i think there is a certain level of overrated coverage on the munster championship and it is pretty much on par with leinster

over the last 6 decades only in the 70s did munster dominate over leinster with 6 titles , 4 for cork 2 for tipperary every other decade is in leinsters favor bar the 90s which was 50/50

i am amazed it hasn't been discussed more in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,104 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    If tipp win tomorrow, I'll be happy with today's result's, more chance beating that Kilkenny team then Limerick.

The last people to say that were limerick, after kk bate cork.

To be fair I could see why people would feel that way, limerick on paper are the better team. But kks last two performances should be enough to make anyone worried playing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

That's disingenuous, Kilkenny not Leinster dominated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭yuridwyer

Define 'superiority' though.

As hurlers ? Not a chance.

The more the years go by, the more performances like today - win or lose - illustrate what Cody has meant over the years by his watchword.

Spirit.

If I'm reading that right are you suggesting other counties had better hurlers in that period? But Kilkenny had more spirit and that's the primary reason for success?

To be fair I could see why people would feel that way, limerick on paper are the better team. But kks last two performances should be enough to make anyone worried playing them.

I just think tipp forwards will get more space against Kilkenny and could go to town if given room. Big if that we get there how ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,043 ✭✭✭golfball37

Would have been a disgrace had KK not won that because of another John Denton type performance. Limerick are 90% grunt with limited hurling ability. I’m happy the better hurlers won today.

Dowling is a hurler and always brings it in Croke Park as evidenced by his goal. Limerick persist with Hegarty and Morrisey type players though. It’s like Ulster football.

Fantastic performance from KK a far from vintage kk but they’ll always leave everything out there for that jersey. Mullen some find and yhoty

That's disingenuous, Kilkenny not Leinster dominated.

over the last 60 years , kilkenny won 11 titles between 1960 and 1999

they dominated from 2000 to 2015 winning 11 in that time ,

so realistically take away that 15 year spell the championship was always open , offaly , galway and wexford won between them 10 all irelands before kilkennys dominance started in 2000

edit : it also could be argued that munster was heavily represented by both cork and tipperary , clare won 3 and limerick won 2 all irelands in that time . the rest were won by tipperary or cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

golfball37 wrote: »
    Limerick are 90% grunt with limited hurling ability. I’m happy the better hurlers won today.

Delete your account. There is no coming back from that embarrassment of a post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

yuridwyer wrote: »
    If I'm reading that right are you suggesting other counties had better hurlers in that period? But Kilkenny had more spirit and that's the primary reason for success?

No, my comment about better hurlers was in response to this post...https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110810113&postcount=2717

and is only referring to today's game.

My point about 'spirit' is separate, and is something that I think has been a constant through the Cody era.

Even on bad days, when we had not-great teams our lads have battled to the end.

On days like today, when we win with players not considered to be as good as the opposition's (according to a lot of commentary) I think that indomitability has been a big factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Dónal Óg said that Kilkenny deserved to win a dozen times and followed it each time with a caveat. He's bullin' haha.

It takes more than a few perky pecs wrapped snuggly in a green jersey to beat a Cody team. Ravenous stuff.

Mind if I use that as my signature ?

:D:D:D

No, my comment about better hurlers was in response to this post...https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110810113&postcount=2717

My point about 'spirit' is separate, and is something that I think has been a constant through the Cody era.

On days like today, when we win with players not considered to be as good as the opposition's (according to a lot of commentary) I think that indomitability has been a big factor.

i think this is a fair post ,

munster hurling in particular has become infatuated with puck out systems, strategies and video analysis ect ... codys teams are build on hard work and intensity

i imagine as a result there was a difference in training methods between limericks preparation and kilkennys , kilkenny were much sharper as a result tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,043 ✭✭✭golfball37

Aidric wrote: »
    Delete your account. There is no coming back from that embarrassment of a post.

Really? I dare say I’d say the same about yours, a little sore perhaps? There’s always next year as long as the Ryder cup doesn’t distract the benefactor

i think this is a fair post ,

munster hurling in particular has become infatuated with puck out systems, strategies and video analysis ect ... codys teams are build on hard work and intensity

i imagine as a result there was a difference in training methods between limericks preparation and kilkennys , kilkenny were much sharper as a result tonight

Don't include tipp in that puck out strategies talk etc, tipp play as traditional as ever hence why we are more suited to playing kilkenny should we get there.

Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭JayIre

Utter ****e. Byrnes missed crucial placed balls all game. KK goal for steps. Limerick as bad as we were shud have won the game. Poor start but shocking wides kept us from parity. KK were great and good luck to them but limerick beat themselves

Easily the worst post I've ever seen on here. "Limerick beat themselves"? Kilkenny were ten times the better team today. Would've been criminal if KK lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Colin Fennelly has the whole steps thing made into an artform, always look like you are about to strike the ball or are being fouled while simultaneously carrying the ball into into a position to take a shot at goal.

In fairness there were plenty of times today Limerick players too a nice few steps, stopped, then turned over to their stronger side. And don't even start on how they throw their handpasses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭slegs

golfball37 wrote: »
    Would have been a disgrace had KK not won that because of another John Denton type performance. Limerick are 90% grunt with limited hurling ability. I’m happy the better hurlers won today.

Dowling is a hurler and always brings it in Croke Park as evidenced by his goal. Limerick persist with Hegarty and Morrisey type players though. It’s like Ulster football.

Utter bollocks

yuridwyer wrote: »

Munster was and is always the strongest province. How many All Irelands has the rest of Leinster I'd you take Kilkenny out. They arent even competition for Kilkenny most of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭JayIre

Isn't he a genius 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭threeball

I just think tipp forwards will get more space against Kilkenny and could go to town if given room. Big if that we get there how ever.

If that's the final pairing I think it will be a great game. Neither team near 2009/10 levels but are close enough in standard that one won't dominate the other. Wexford will be dying to spoil the party.