School summer hols are upon us. What to do now with the kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Get them smartphones OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Glebee wrote: »
    Send them to the bog to foot turf...

Thinning turnips is another option.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Gerry G wrote: »
    Myself and my wife both work, luckily enough we are on shifts so it works out a bit better but my jaysus the summers are long when we have a generation of kids who don't know how to entertain themselves anymore and a generation of parents too afraid to allow their kids to roam freely as we used to
    You'd still have to be at home though even if you let them "roam freely". I never remember a situation where I was allowed out to go play with my mates and there was nobody at home. From 12/13 years of age, sure. At 10? Nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Working at the airport SUCKS during Summer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

spurshero wrote: »
    You would wander why some people have kids . They seem to want everybody bar themselves to mind them.

Do you have kids?

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Get them smartphones OP.

Wash your mouth out =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭spurshero

Do you have kids?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,472 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Can you send theme to spend time with the cousins for a week or two then return the favour when yourself or the other half have some time off?

Alternatively, when one if you is home during the day, send them out to play. Regular check back in times and ask permission if going to hang out in friends house. You know, just like we did and survived!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Coláiste Lurgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

How do families with two working parents cope?

I trained the dog to mind them , all was fine until one evening the three year old cocked his leg to piss up against the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Thank frick Lufthansa brings my son to all the family across Europe, he has good craic and I have it quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Now this is the kind of thing in talking about. They're 10 (boy) and 8 (girl)
    https://www.smythstoys.com/ie/en-ie/outdoor/garden-games-and-accessories/swingball/all-surface-pro-swingball/p/125788 Lots of fun, great to get the aggression out too!

This camp thing.

https://starcamp.ie/kids-summer-camps-ireland-2/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

biko wrote: »
    Coláiste Lurgan
    In my time you went there to speak English! 10 is the youngest Irish colleges take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Get 2 treadmills and hook them up to your mains electricity. 1 banana per hour should do them as they pay you back for your years of hard work.

Two really seems like more of a hobby scale endeavour, I plan to power the nation with banks of rowing machines and a few of the older kids manning the whip and the big drum to keep the pace.

spurshero wrote: »
    Yes.

Tell me what you do so?

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Can you send theme to spend time with the cousins for a week or two then return the favour when yourself or the other half have some time off?

Alternatively, when one if you is home during the day, send them out to play. Regular check back in times and ask permission if going to hang out in friends house. You know, just like we did and survived!

No cousins living in Ireland I'm afraid. I used to love going to my cousins back in the day. I live in the countryside surrounded by farmers so it's not the safest place for a 10 and 8 year old to roam freely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

theteal wrote: »
    I was going to say, cutting turf. That's what we did. Great times!

not very eco friendly though, chimney sweep ?
    BeerWolf wrote: »
    Working at the airport SUCKS during Summer :(

been delayed 27 hours for your flight (last summer) sucks even more

"Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others" - Winston Churchill

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Take them to local GAA matches ... we used to love them, especially the Junior B’s!!!

Could they build a fort in the garden, make up complicated games, reading challenges the library has them over the summer have their friends over and they goto their friends the next week, there is an endless amount of things to do.

How are they going to learn to entertain themselves if they are constantly entertained?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,472 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

No cousins living in Ireland I'm afraid. I used to love going to my cousins back in the day. I live in the countryside surrounded by farmers so it's not the safest place for a 10 and 8 year old to roam freely

Ah, I see where you're coming from. Tis a pity about the cousins. Looking back, I think that's how my mother's generation got a bit of break! Basically we'd all sorta go round the family houses and do a stint hosting til summer was over . How much land have you round the house? Is there no way they can go for romps across the fields? You can give them a little bit of freedom surely? Perhaps less than they think you're giving. Despite recent awful court cases your kids really aren't in any more danger than you or I were. Sometimes we've got to do what our parents did: boot us out and ignore the whinging about being bored and there being nothing to do.

The cousins and I used to love making dens and cubby houses in sheds or even a ditch. Necessity being the mother of invention and all that. I'm not saying don't get them involved in organised stuff by any means but a couple of hours a week in the great outdoors using their imaginations and entertaining themselves (with you or Mrs knowing where they are and what they're at obviously ) would be fantastic for them and you if you could pull it off safely !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Nikki Sixx

Charge up the IPad I’d imagine would be most parents’ solution to the problem.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm gonna give my lad a stick. With a nail on the end of it. So he'll be well able to fend for himself should the worse come to pass.

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Get them smartphones OP.

iPhones OR Android depending on what the clique they're in are into.

honeybear wrote: »
    Take them to local GAA matches ... we used to love them, especially the Junior B’s!!!

Yeah, they play hurling and camogie for the local club so again, I have that one covered

Nikki Sixx wrote: »
    Charge up the IPad I’d imagine would be most parents’ solution to the problem.

Sad isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Is there a swim camp nearby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

If only Jimmy Saville was alive you could write to "Jim'll fix it " for a few ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

biko wrote: »
    Is there a swim camp nearby?
    I know it would be going through the motions but they could go swimming in Dublin Bay.
    Get a built in tan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

mariaalice wrote: »
    Could they build a fort in the garden, make up complicated games, reading challenges the library has them over the summer have their friends over and they goto their friends the next week, there is an endless amount of things to do.

How are they going to learn to entertain themselves if they are constantly entertained?

Unfortunately Tusla doesn't like kids under 10 alone at home for 10 hours 5 days a week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Problem solved:

hqdefault.jpg