Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School summer hols are upon us. What to do now with the kids?

• 26-06-2019 1:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

Summer hols again, 2 months of trying to figure out what the hell to do with the kids again. Any tips and ideas for good days out that don't cost a fortune or anything would be even better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Just don’t take them to Ikea. Please.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Let them roam free and play with the traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Coal Mine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

Just don’t take them to Ikea. Please.

Not in a million years. I've been there once, never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

late term abortions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Glebee

Send them to the bog to foot turf...

Coal Mine?

Do you know where I could find one? If their faces get all black do they run the risk of being branded as racist?

Glebee wrote: »

That constitutes child abuse. My folks used to make me do that and I still cant forgive them fully. The bog is hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Gerry G wrote: »
    Do you know where I could find one? If their faces get all black do they run the risk of being branded as racist?

Doubtful but they run the risk of being profiled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was just thinking Today that my nice trips to town during the day are over for the next few weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Westwood

Theirs things called summer camps 🙄 that cost anything up to €100 for the week, average maybe €75 X 8 weeks = 600, money well spent IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Cul camp
    Local rugby club summer camp

Good value

Cul camp
    Local rugby club summer camp

Good value

Yep, they've done them all, still only takes up about 2 weeks though and only for a couple of hours per day

I'm looking for alternative ideas, I know all about the camps etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

How do families with two working parents cope?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It's a f*cking pain in the hole.
    I've had to make my own calendars, pull in every favour, use leave, parental leave and we still don't have the second month sorted yet :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Coal Mine?

I was going to say, cutting turf. That's what we did. Great times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

OPW used to have a free visit to different sites first Wednesday of each month but don’t know if it’s running this year.

Myself and my wife both work, luckily enough we are on shifts so it works out a bit better but my jaysus the summers are long when we have a generation of kids who don't know how to entertain themselves anymore and a generation of parents too afraid to allow their kids to roam freely as we used to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

That constitutes child abuse. My folks used to make me do that and I still cant forgive them fully. The bog is hell

Not at all, great days, harden them up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Do Chimney sweeps still use climbing boys

theteal wrote: »
    Not at all, great days, harden them up!

All I got from the back was a sore back and midget bites. Horrible horrible place. Turf mouldy sandwiches and luke warm tea. Hours of hardship and endless lines of turf. Child abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What age are they?

Nothing like coming up with a project that you can all work on, something that would be of interest to them and something that would also be fun. Building things is great fun, a garden shed, tree house, renovating their bedrooms, creating a room for them in the attic/basement, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Myself and my wife both work, luckily enough we are on shifts so it works out a bit better but my jaysus the summers are long when we have a generation of kids who don't know how to entertain themselves anymore and a generation of parents too afraid to allow their kids to roam freely as we used to

It really seems like TV is the perfect answer to all those problems.

jester77 wrote: »
    What age are they?

Nothing like coming up with a project that you can all work on, something that would be of interest to them and something that would also be fun. Building things is great fun, a garden shed, tree house, renovating their bedrooms, creating a room for them in the attic/basement, etc.

Now this is the kind of thing in talking about. They're 10 (boy) and 8 (girl)

It really seems like TV is the perfect answer to all those problems.

I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Lots and lots of trips to the library to keep their summer full of reading.
    Perhaps they could take up a new musical instrument - keyboard, guitar can be self-taught (depending on age).
    Drawing, colouring, art.

Let them get bored themselves too so that they can hopefully discover new things to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Hahahahahahah! They are yer problem now, just started my own holidays, two months of going to toilet when I actually need to, not being pulled by 34 little people in every direction, no trying to stay on top of neverending paper work. See ye in September folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Get 2 treadmills and hook them up to your mains electricity. 1 banana per hour should do them as they pay you back for your years of hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭spurshero

You would wander why some people have kids . They seem to want everybody bar themselves to mind them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Get them smartphones OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Glebee wrote: »

Thinning turnips is another option.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You'd still have to be at home though even if you let them "roam freely". I never remember a situation where I was allowed out to go play with my mates and there was nobody at home. From 12/13 years of age, sure. At 10? Nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Working at the airport SUCKS during Summer :(

spurshero wrote: »
    You would wander why some people have kids . They seem to want everybody bar themselves to mind them.

Do you have kids?

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Get them smartphones OP.

Wash your mouth out =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭spurshero

Do you have kids?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Can you send theme to spend time with the cousins for a week or two then return the favour when yourself or the other half have some time off?

Alternatively, when one if you is home during the day, send them out to play. Regular check back in times and ask permission if going to hang out in friends house. You know, just like we did and survived!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Coláiste Lurgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I trained the dog to mind them , all was fine until one evening the three year old cocked his leg to piss up against the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Thank frick Lufthansa brings my son to all the family across Europe, he has good craic and I have it quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Now this is the kind of thing in talking about. They're 10 (boy) and 8 (girl)
    https://www.smythstoys.com/ie/en-ie/outdoor/garden-games-and-accessories/swingball/all-surface-pro-swingball/p/125788 Lots of fun, great to get the aggression out too!

This camp thing.

https://starcamp.ie/kids-summer-camps-ireland-2/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

biko wrote: »
    Coláiste Lurgan
    In my time you went there to speak English! 10 is the youngest Irish colleges take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Get 2 treadmills and hook them up to your mains electricity. 1 banana per hour should do them as they pay you back for your years of hard work.

Two really seems like more of a hobby scale endeavour, I plan to power the nation with banks of rowing machines and a few of the older kids manning the whip and the big drum to keep the pace.

spurshero wrote: »
    Yes.

Tell me what you do so?

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Can you send theme to spend time with the cousins for a week or two then return the favour when yourself or the other half have some time off?

Alternatively, when one if you is home during the day, send them out to play. Regular check back in times and ask permission if going to hang out in friends house. You know, just like we did and survived!

No cousins living in Ireland I'm afraid. I used to love going to my cousins back in the day. I live in the countryside surrounded by farmers so it's not the safest place for a 10 and 8 year old to roam freely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

theteal wrote: »
    I was going to say, cutting turf. That's what we did. Great times!

not very eco friendly though, chimney sweep ?
    BeerWolf wrote: »
    Working at the airport SUCKS during Summer :(

been delayed 27 hours for your flight (last summer) sucks even more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Take them to local GAA matches ... we used to love them, especially the Junior B’s!!!

Could they build a fort in the garden, make up complicated games, reading challenges the library has them over the summer have their friends over and they goto their friends the next week, there is an endless amount of things to do.

How are they going to learn to entertain themselves if they are constantly entertained?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

No cousins living in Ireland I'm afraid. I used to love going to my cousins back in the day. I live in the countryside surrounded by farmers so it's not the safest place for a 10 and 8 year old to roam freely

Ah, I see where you're coming from. Tis a pity about the cousins. Looking back, I think that's how my mother's generation got a bit of break! Basically we'd all sorta go round the family houses and do a stint hosting til summer was over . How much land have you round the house? Is there no way they can go for romps across the fields? You can give them a little bit of freedom surely? Perhaps less than they think you're giving. Despite recent awful court cases your kids really aren't in any more danger than you or I were. Sometimes we've got to do what our parents did: boot us out and ignore the whinging about being bored and there being nothing to do.

The cousins and I used to love making dens and cubby houses in sheds or even a ditch. Necessity being the mother of invention and all that. I'm not saying don't get them involved in organised stuff by any means but a couple of hours a week in the great outdoors using their imaginations and entertaining themselves (with you or Mrs knowing where they are and what they're at obviously ) would be fantastic for them and you if you could pull it off safely !