Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Never had even the slightest bit of interest in one myself, but over the past week, I've been looking at the prices and have become strangely curious myself. I see a few around a grand or 1.5, and from what I've read online, people reckon the fact that you very rarely see them listed with new batteries or reconditioned batteries fitted, that they aren't actually failing all that frequently!

I see a crowd in Clare who do reconditioned kits and I think the cost for a Prius is around 550 for a repaired one with 3 months warranty, or 900 for reconditoned with 12 month warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,121 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I'm considering a bangernomics prius. Are they worth it or does a potential battery problem rule them out. I've heard that battery failures are very common after 10 years and expensive to fix.

We have one with 250k on the clock, 2008 mark 2 prius and the battery is fine.
    Grand cars, certainly more reliable than a newer diesel as there's less to go wrong.

Try aim for a Tspirit spec as they came with nicer stuff eg cruise control, ac and backup camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭djan

CoBo55 wrote: »
    They bare absolutely no resemblance to a Passat in any shape or form, bog hopper heaps of ****e I wouldn't be seen dead in one.

Majority of the general public wouldn't tell a difference between the two if you debadge it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,033 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Yeah because Passats are savage yokes kid. Especially dose tee dee red eyes.

Back in 1998 compared to the competition they were a great car, couldn't tell you what was on the boot tbh. The boss was happy with the lack of fuel receipts being thrown over his desk.

djan wrote: »
    Majority of the general public wouldn't tell a difference between the two if you debadge it!

From a driving perspective I was talking about. The Bora boghopoer is nothing more than a polo, horrid yokes. I'm finished with this now as it's ruining the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

From a driving perspective I was talking about. The Bora boghopoer is nothing more than a polo, horrid yokes. I'm finished with this now as it's ruining the thread.

was the bora not the golf in saloon form? there was also a polo saloon so i dont think the bora was anything like a polo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,475 ✭✭✭vandriver

Check it's not a clocked ex-taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,475 ✭✭✭vandriver

Check it's not a clocked ex-taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Comes in and derails the thread.

Talks utter bollocks.

Gives out about derailing the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-s320-new-nct/22186238

YWU3ZTFiNjRiMGM3MzZjOTUwNTk3MWEwZjc1YTZjZjnP4K_nRJ4GNYLatBkjJ9aaaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjY3NTM5MDB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

14 months test, load of recent work done, €1400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Hero777

YWU3ZTFiNjRiMGM3MzZjOTUwNTk3MWEwZjc1YTZjZjnP4K_nRJ4GNYLatBkjJ9aaaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjY3NTM5MDB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Road tax isn't 1800 quid is it? That has to be a mistake. If so it has to be a hard pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hero777 wrote: »
    Road tax isn't 1800 quid is it? That has to be a mistake. If so it has to be a hard pass

Why wouldn't it be???? That's the tax system....
    It's a 3.2 petrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Gorgeous car

That's just a sin!
    Bloody car costs less than 1 years motor tax :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

That's a beaut.

Imagine turning up out of the blue in that and telling someone you got it for 1400 bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,117 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I'm considering a bangernomics prius. Are they worth it or does a potential battery problem rule them out. I've heard that battery failures are very common after 10 years and expensive to fix.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-prius-taxed-04-2020-and-nct-05-2020/22187766

That any use? Years tax and NCT

Edit ad is gone :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Fcuk I owe you a lot of pints now Duke....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭grogi

Mad_Mike wrote: »
    Gorgeous car

That's just a sin!
    Bloody car costs less than 1 years motor tax :mad::mad::mad:

That's exactly why it costs as much as it costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Now €400, someone buy it!

20 year old Jap import, good luck with getting insurance on that! Would like it though!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Jeez that's a beauty. Great find.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Jeez that's a beauty. Great find.

It's up to €1600 lads. He must read this forum:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

gman2k wrote: »
    20 year old Jap import, good luck with getting insurance on that! Would like it though!

At that price, just stick it in your Nans name and drive it TPE.

The want is huge. If I got that i would have to get rid of the e10

Edit:

New owner since 02/06/2019. Sale 25/05/2019.

Now of course that could be a "tax sale". But the fact there's new photos up as well would give me pause that someone bought a lemon and are trying to off load.

Cracking bus though.

Very very thirsty and the service intervals are ridiculously short, be very careful as many services are skipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Very very thirsty and the service intervals are ridiculously short, be very careful as many services are skipped.

For 400 I think you could overlook that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

bear1 wrote: »
    For 400 I think you could overlook that.

The cheeky bugger has it back up to €550 now.

There's definitely something amiss there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Maybe getting offers of 200, so changing strategy - ask 550, get 400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭selectamatic

The 2.2 td engines in those are not fussy with regards to servicing at all.

They're not too bad on diesel either considering their size and the auto box.

The only thing to look out for is to make sure the cooling system is in good order because if they boil they can crack the head.

This is especially true in the case of the estima as since the engine is mid mounted it tends to run a bit hotter than the front mounted Toyota td engines.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/kia-picanto-1-0-petrol-2008/22200479

OGYxNDcxMzcxMDRhMDVlYWY0YjZkMWFlYzZlMDUzYzdrDSw9ZjwNqwgddZfA0Iq0aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjY4NTk2NDB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

This is cheap. 08 Picanto, NCT till May 2020, tax till July and its €1k