Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

The crowd and noise is mad. Insane travelling support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭dmigsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

The Dutch players welcome Gini and VVD to the squad.

https://twitter.com/OnsOranje/status/1135679463474249729

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

As I rewatched the game and reread the match thread the comments that the penalty had ruined the game struck me as odd. Do goals ruin games now, did the semi finals not happen? I guess it's the same sentiment as handing you the league when you're four points clear in January and then dragging it up after the team accumulates 97 points.

Must say I was far more apprehensive in the build up than last year. To have the season they had and ended up with nothing would have been horrible. Great character to bring home arguably the greatest prize in club football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭fyfe79

cjmc wrote: »
    I kept hearing her about the parade and all but until I saw various fb videos I didn’t get the fuss. It looked fcuking brilliant
    Caomhin Kelleher at 20 , unsurprisingly, looks like a dog with 2 bollix . Delighted for him

Hasn't played a senior game yet and he has more CL winners medals than Buffon.

Strange world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

I guess the thinking with the penalty is that it meant that we didn't have to come out and play so diminished the tie as a spectacle. Tbh, if you weren't invested in one of the sides playing, I'd imagine it was a bit of a dud game. For me, it was incredibly tense! I don't care if the match was bad, good or otherwise. Its been a super season and that'll live with me for a lot longer than whether the match itself was any good!

Fair play to the fans of both sides who travelled over too. I've seen no reports of trouble or the type of nonsense that really could have been an issue - a few of our own fans made a tit of themselves during the semi against Barca so adding in extra fans (including loads with no tickets) could have gone wrong but it seems to have worked out fine.

Back to work today but I keep smiling to myself thinking about Hendo lifting the trophy or the super performances from Alisson, Matip, Van Dijk and Fabinho... After last season, I thought it'd be a very long time before we made the final again. Very happy to have been entirely wrong on that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,128 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

The Dutch players welcome Gini and VVD to the squad.

https://twitter.com/OnsOranje/status/1135679463474249729

This is brilliant - really shows what the CL means for prospective players.

Also, I really like this Dutch squad - more than the sum of their parts, and these videos partially show why.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    This is brilliant - really shows what the CL means for prospective players.

Also, I really like this Dutch squad - more than the sum of their parts, and these videos partially show why.

Other than winning a World Cup the Champions League medal is the one all the players want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

I normally arrive in to work about 8.15. I arrived today about 7.45 and proceded to go in to the canteen to gloat to opposition fans. It seemed that the United fans felt the most pain with my morning greetings :)

Questions to me like :

"Why are you in so early"
    "Should you not be asleep"
    "I didnt see any football last weekend"

It makes it all the more sweeter :)

Enjoy it boys , these days dont happen too often :)

Edit: I found my new desktop wallpaper :P

liverpool_champions_league_champions_2019_by_jafarjeef_dd8czcv-fullview.jpg?token=eyJ0eXAiOiJKV1QiLCJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJzdWIiOiJ1cm46YXBwOjdlMGQxODg5ODIyNjQzNzNhNWYwZDQxNWVhMGQyNmUwIiwiaXNzIjoidXJuOmFwcDo3ZTBkMTg4OTgyMjY0MzczYTVmMGQ0MTVlYTBkMjZlMCIsIm9iaiI6W1t7ImhlaWdodCI6Ijw9NTg4IiwicGF0aCI6IlwvZlwvNDA4ZmQwN2YtMjM2OS00MDdkLWE2ZGItNzI0YmViMjE4ZGRjXC9kZDhjemN2LWRmZjAzZDRkLWVkNmQtNDFiNi05MmQzLWNhMjI1NTM0NWM3OC5qcGciLCJ3aWR0aCI6Ijw9MTAyNCJ9XV0sImF1ZCI6WyJ1cm46c2VydmljZTppbWFnZS5vcGVyYXRpb25zIl19.XYpFl9NQWkPRo8dMWnQb_Z0E-nHrus81kVInzY9wDD8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

481910.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Just back from Liverpool a few hours ago. Stayed in the Adelpi with 3 other 40 somthings. We decided before the Barca game to take a chance and book travel and hotels in Liverpool thinking it could be our last chance to witness Saturday and Sunday as “young lads”.

Great craic for sure and met loads of people from Liverpool and loads of “Plastic Liverpudlians” like us in particular some gents from Denmark.

Only catching up with all the post match stuff now. Jurgans post match presser is brillan.

Allez allez allez

Fair play for surviving the adelphi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

cjmc wrote: »
    I kept hearing her about the parade and all but until I saw various fb videos I didn’t get the fuss. It looked fcuking brilliant
    Caomhin Kelleher at 20 , unsurprisingly, looks like a dog with 2 bollix . Delighted for him

Surely, most dogs have 2 bollix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I guess the thinking with the penalty is that it meant that we didn't have to come out and play so diminished the tie as a spectacle. Tbh, if you weren't invested in one of the sides playing, I'd imagine it was a bit of a dud game. For me, it was incredibly tense! I don't care if the match was bad, good or otherwise. Its been a super season and that'll live with me for a lot longer than whether the match itself was any good!

The thinking was that it handed us an advantage and it deprived all the other groups of fans their opportunity to post the jokes/memes they’d been stockpiling in the build up

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

What a weekend , never cried so much from pure emotion for our beloved club.

I normally arrive in to work about 8.15. I arrived today about 7.45 and proceded to go in to the canteen to gloat to opposition fans. It seemed that the United fans felt the most pain with my morning greetings :)

Questions to me like :

"Why are you in so early"
    "Should you not be asleep"
    "I didnt see any football last weekend"

It makes it all the more sweeter :)

Enjoy it boys , these days dont happen too often :)

Edit: I found my new desktop wallpaper :P

liverpool_champions_league_champions_2019_by_jafarjeef_dd8czcv-fullview.jpg?token=eyJ0eXAiOiJKV1QiLCJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJzdWIiOiJ1cm46YXBwOjdlMGQxODg5ODIyNjQzNzNhNWYwZDQxNWVhMGQyNmUwIiwiaXNzIjoidXJuOmFwcDo3ZTBkMTg4OTgyMjY0MzczYTVmMGQ0MTVlYTBkMjZlMCIsIm9iaiI6W1t7ImhlaWdodCI6Ijw9NTg4IiwicGF0aCI6IlwvZlwvNDA4ZmQwN2YtMjM2OS00MDdkLWE2ZGItNzI0YmViMjE4ZGRjXC9kZDhjemN2LWRmZjAzZDRkLWVkNmQtNDFiNi05MmQzLWNhMjI1NTM0NWM3OC5qcGciLCJ3aWR0aCI6Ijw9MTAyNCJ9XV0sImF1ZCI6WyJ1cm46c2VydmljZTppbWFnZS5vcGVyYXRpb25zIl19.XYpFl9NQWkPRo8dMWnQb_Z0E-nHrus81kVInzY9wDD8

Oh you’re insufferable.

Dcully wrote: »
    What a weekend , never cried so much from pure emotion for our beloved club.

Careful now you can't say "our" unless you can see Anfield from your bedroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Firmino is off to Juventes

Who?

Never heard of that player what is it got to do with Liverpool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,322 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Wheety wrote: »
    Surely, most dogs have 2 bollix?

True, should have said 2 cocks

Firmino is off to Juventes

Cheers Indy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,155 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

47981721612_9121a2753b_b.jpg

afnuxt6mc7231.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

So thats
    mane to Real
    Salah to united
    Bobby to juve
    Vvd to barca
    Fabinho to psg
    And klopp to bayern

Am i forgetting anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

i hope we are ruthless this summer,

A few really goods signing and we could be at the to for a good few years to come ,

We are stacked with midfielders but I still think as a team its where we need the most improvement ,

Also I hope we bring in one more electric forward player to rotate with the top 3 .,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

oh big shout out to the United fan who was in here at the start of April telling us that Alisson would end up costing us any silver wear,

Not only did it coincide with De Gea bad run of form but then Alisson went on to have man of the match performance n the champions league final ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

We have Potential Underacheiver who in his own words iirc hated Alisson.

Surely he has won you around now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

oh big shout out to the United fan who was in here at the start of April telling us that Alisson would end up costing us any silver wear,

Not only did it coincide with De Gea bad run of form but then Alisson went on to have man of the match performance n the champions league final ,

Your team just won the CL and that's where you mind is ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,177 ✭✭✭✭GBX

My colleague - a Spurs fan - wont answer calls or messages this morning. All I want to do is ask about work related stuff :D

GBX wrote: »
    My colleague - a Spurs fan - wont answer calls or messages this morning. All I want to do is ask about work related stuff :D

I'm sceptical. Knowing Liverpool fans you'll find someway to work football into the conversation. We really are the worst.

MD1990 wrote: »
    We have Potential Underacheiver who in his own words iirc hated Alisson.

Surely he has won you around now?

Fairly sure he said he was a city fan.