Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael TD sues Dublin Hotel after falling off swing

• Registered Users Posts: 8,075 ✭✭✭Odhinn

According to herself she only wanted medical bills covered. However the medical bills were 7k and she was looking for 64k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

People who strived for independence and a vision of a better/fairer Ireland held the country back? No way. They didn't hold the country back. The holding backers came years later.

don't get sucked in by an obvious pathetic troll attempt

eejit has been doing the rounds for a long time on boards, just add to ignore list and don't engage

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

If you're wanting a business to reimburse you for medical bills you incurred while doing something silly, there are better ways of going about it than to sue them for negligence, claim a lack of supervision and signage that instructed a 38 year old how a swing worked contributed to their woes.

Then followed by spurious claims about not being able to run "at all", and the onslaught of headaches as a result of the swing.

All the time, with the full knowledge of another FG party member who soon after became a minister.

Leo initially telling us that he was sure that "the courts will do the right thing" which is pure unadulterated sit on the fence talk, then (apparently after hearing candidates were being met with a barrage of abuse on the doorsteps by a disgruntled electorate), tell us he "was angry" proves that Leo didn't or couldn't give a fcuk about one of his TDs telling lies in a personal injury claim, he just got angry after gauging public opinion.

A textbook case of not being sorry - just sorry you got caught.

Ireland incorporated in a nut shell.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Suckit wrote: »
    Leo has a busy year ahead of him

Every year is a busy year for Radser. He works tirelessly for the people of Ireland. He does waste his time sorting medical cards for individuals, getting people jumps in the planning permission process, or getting a road resurfaced. But he sticks to the important work of solving the nations big problems, and making it a better place for his fellow citizens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Every year is a busy year for Radser. He works tirelessly for the people of Ireland. He does waste his time sorting medical cards for individuals, getting people jumps in the planning permission process, or getting a road resurfaced. But he sticks to the important work of solving the nations big problems, and making it a better place for his fellow citizens.

Not sure if serious...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭mikemac2

I just remembered the case of Senator Ned O’Sullivan from Kerry. Heard him on the radio a few months back

The hotel he stayed in had one of those showers in the bath that you must climb into. He fell and got very badly injured
    Senator Ned O’Sullivan from Kerry spent more than a month in hospital after the fall three years ago which left him with a fractured sternum, 13 broken ribs, a punctured left lung, and the loss of the use of the lower left lobe of his left lung.

He was unconscious for a time was discovered when his wife returned from shopping. Had to spend a month in hospital and two months recovering

Despite the fact the bath was high and narrow and there doesn’t seem to a support rail he did not sue
    Mr O’Sullivan said he waited a number of years to raise the issue as he did not want it to be seen as part of a compensation claim, which he has decided not to pursue. He said he chose not to pursue a claim because he “didn’t want to be seen setting an example”.

His goal wasn’t compo or even a headline grabbing demand to change every hotel room in Ireland. Just a reasonable request when new hotels are being built or existing hotels are being refurbished to install walk in showers
    Mr O’Sullivan has called on hoteliers involved in new builds or refurbishments to include walk-in showers.

A politician trying to change things which is what they are supposed to do. I guess that’s leadership

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/senator-ned-osullivan-calls-for-hotels-to-fit-walk-in-showers-after-fall-889863.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

So, moral of the tail, if you vote for the right politicians you will get one's of integrity?
    Or, following from the Maria=>FG-bad brigade no one should vote FG, applying the same logic, Ned=>FF-good - everyone should vote FF?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Odelay

mikemac2 wrote: »
    I just remembered the case of Senator Ned O’Sullivan from Kerry. Heard him on the radio a few months back

The hotel he stayed in had one of those showers in the bath that you must climb into. He fell and got very badly injured

He was unconscious for a time was discovered when his wife returned from shopping. Had to spend a month in hospital and two months recovering

Despite the fact the bath was high and narrow and there doesn’t seem to a support rail he did not sue

His goal wasn’t compo or even a headline grabbing demand to change every hotel room in Ireland. Just a reasonable request when new hotels are being built or existing hotels are being refurbished to install walk in showers

A politician trying to change things which is what they are supposed to do. I guess that’s leadership

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/senator-ned-osullivan-calls-for-hotels-to-fit-walk-in-showers-after-fall-889863.html

Fair play to him. Swinging Marie take note!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Not sure if serious...

See the poster's initials.:)

TROL

One of the best on boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

So, moral of the tail, if you vote for the right politicians you will get one's of integrity?
    Or, following from the Maria=>FG-bad brigade no one should vote FG, applying the same logic, Ned=>FF-good - everyone should vote FF?

Yawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,305 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Not sure if serious...

Ah come on.. of course he's not. How does he continue to get such mileage from people on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

The Rape of Lucretia goes to quite a bit of effort. I have to admit being taken in by some of his previous posts.

I really don't understand this. How can one waste so much time winding people up?

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

janfebmar wrote:
    Sad thing is that the people in the other parties in Ireland would be even worse, if you look at Bertie , Brian Cowen, the shinners etc

Why do u say that. Did Bertie fall off a horse? Or did Cowen fall off a bar stool? Just asking.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

Mrsmum wrote:
    Should hotels put sidebars on all beds in case people fall out of bed in the middle of the night due to not being supervised ?

Slso what about proper instruction on how to sleep in a bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I think for the sake of the nation it'd be good if the current crowd (Coveney, McGuniness, McEntee, even wee Leo) stayed in place for continuity as regards Brexit - they've been doing a decent job in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Nah, it'll be forgotten in a week unfortunately. All she/he has to do is try and weather it until the next scandal/opportunity to deflect comes up (although he's rapidly running out of easy-win social referenda to use!)

FG have ALWAYS been as bad if not worse than FF (which is some achievement!). Look back at things like the Lowry scandal for example. The only difference is we haven't seen as much of it as they historically never get into power, except as a protest vote against FF (as they did in 2011).

Ill be doing the inconceivable up to recently, of giving FF a vote come the next election. If it achieves nothing other than FG and primarily Varadkar losing power, Ill be delighted!

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jeju

She wants to draw a line in the sand, careful everyone she might topple

• Registered Users Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭ Augustus Chubby Veteran

Jeju wrote: »
    She wants to draw a line in the sand, careful everyone she might topple
    she might need some supervision in drawing that line now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

TCM wrote: »
    Why do u say that. Did Bertie fall off a horse? Or did Cowen fall off a bar stool? Just asking.

Chancers. Bertie did not have a bank ac when he was minister for finance, and explained his good finances by winnings on de horses. As for Haughey...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

lawred2 wrote: »
    Ah come on.. of course he's not. How does he continue to get such mileage from people on here.

In fairness poster is a good troll. Im pretty sure people are aware of it and still get sucked in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    FG have ALWAYS been as bad if not worse than FF (which is some achievement!). Look back at things like the Lowry scandal for example. The only difference is we haven't seen as much of it as they historically never get into power, except as a protest vote against FF (as they did in 2011).

For me neither serve the Irish people. FF are pro publicans, banks and builders and FG are Europes lapdog, Richard Bruton had a top EU job after being Taoiseach, Phil Hogan has top EU job, Bruton and Coeveny have attended Bildeberg.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

giphy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Goddammit

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I think for the sake of the nation it'd be good if the current crowd (Coveney, McGuniness, McEntee, even wee Leo) stayed in place for continuity as regards Brexit - they've been doing a decent job in fairness.
    What exactly have they done that anyone else couldn't do?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

JeffKenna wrote: »
    What exactly have they done that anyone else couldn't do?

Nobody else delivered porn to the farmers for massive amounts of money

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Coveney is one of the very few cabinet members I'll credit in the current government. He makes an excellent Foreign Minister. In fact, I think this government would be a hell of a lot more palatable if he was Taoiseach; but, in their wisdom, the parliamentary party went for Leo the wise.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Tis time for us to move on from parties such as ff & fg, only thing is, we re not actually ready for that, so on we go, with not much changing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

boombang wrote: »
    I really don't understand this. How can one waste so much time winding people up?

You'd be surprised how empty some people's lives are

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Tis time for us to move on from parties such as ff & fg, only thing is, we re not actually ready for that, so on we go, with not much changing

Who do you suggest people vote for?