Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Higgins roasted for pace for the first goal. Not the first time this year either. I fear he has lost the yard of pace and teams could target him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

charlie14 wrote: »
    Difficult to know if it was others not wanting to take it, or instructions coming in for him to take it. Madness either way as this type of scenario should be worked out long before crossing the white line. There is enough pressure in a situation like that for a kicker without the shenanigans that seemed to go on.

Certainly very strange.

Anyway, had a feeling it wasnt going to be an easy game. A lot of problems in the squad that were evident before this game. The wide count v NY was concerning and defensive frailties were there in the league too.
    Some more senior players in the squad not at the pitch of the game today, and as has already been mentioned, serious problems with the free taking and general forward play.
    Qualifiers might be interesting, but feel like everyone might be a bit over the novelty of the scenic route at this stage. Would have been much better going the Connacht way tbh. Wouldn't be surprised by another early exit, but likewise they could pull it together somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,635 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Barlett wrote: »
    I was in front of it , Loftus wanted to take it , but DOC as captain decided McLoughlin should take it & it was the wrong call - but look you won’t win many games without designated free takers

Fair enough if that is the system in Mayo that it is the captains call.
    For me at least that should be a management call based on distance and position made well prior to a game so there is no questions or added pressure.

Anyone think it could have been a game for Seamie O'Shea? Always kind of felt he did well in these gritty sort of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PressRun wrote: »
    Anyone think it could have been a game for Seamie O'Shea? Always kind of felt he did well in these gritty sort of games.

He's still injured.

Wasn't in the match day squad.

I'd the great pleasure of chatting with Pearse and Cian Hanley's father.A gentleman.

seligehgit wrote: »
    He's still injured.

Wasn't in the match day squad.

I'd the great pleasure of chatting with Pearse and Cian Hanley's father.A gentleman.

Yes, I heard, but just more commenting that it is a shame that he wasnt available as it could have been the sort of game he does well in.

irishgeo wrote: »
    Higgins roasted for pace for the first goal. Not the first time this year either. I fear he has lost the yard of pace and teams could target him.

Great man for going forward, but when run at directly by a strong physical ball carrier he has a problem. Roscommon spotted that and targeted it. Got there first goal from it. That will not be missed by other managers down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

km79 wrote: »
    Im ready for the keeper debate and those who think Cillian doesn’t walk into this team

Best keeper in the country ON THE BENCH
    Horan is too smart for his own good and too slow doing his job on the line

Clarkes decent now but come on. If Cluxton or Beggan played for ye you'd have won by 4 regardless of the kick out. Keeping is about more than shot stopping these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭SeanJ09

I don't think it had anything to do with pace to be honest. Superb footballer but hes never been a good man marker and has got roasted like that on several occasions on big days throughout his Mayo career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭franglan

Roasted by Creggers who is well over 30 at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,326 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Well that's disappointing.

It's a pain in the hole.

Even though I'm not as worried about the back door as I was last year because the team has been somewhat refreshed and are not a road weary as other years it still a pain in the hole.

The plan was to win Connacht, go into the Dublin group, get out of that, win the SF and beat Dublin in the final

Now that is all over the place.

When is Cillian back, they need his frees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

The result rests squarely on Horan. His lack of faith in this evening's subs bench was clear when they weren't really used. Also why wasn't Harry moved off of Cox or taken off as he was getting an utter roasting.

Would it have been worth a punt throwing Regan back on just to take the free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Did Horan even use all his subs ? Don’t think so
    Not the first time either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Does anyone not think it was weird that hennelly had no extra ball for kickouts for the first 20 minutes. We conceded 1.1 due to delayed poor kick outs . It was only when hennelly was wasting time trying to find a lost ball that the mayo management kicked 2 balls onto the pitch .
    We lost valuable time and couldn’t kick out early .

Sometimes I think management are just asleep .
    I watch pre match warmups as it is something I’m interested in . Tonight the lathargic nature of their warmup was very worrying and it came home to roost .Doniee Buckley came to mind .
    Poor match by 2 equally poor performing teams .
    Roscommon just had a It more hunger .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Does anyone not think it was weird that hennelly had no extra ball for lockouts for the first 20 minutes 😦. We conceded 1.1 due to delayed poor kick outs . It was only when hennelly was wasting time trying to find a lost ball that the mayo management kicked 2 balls onto the pitch .
    We lost valuable time and couldn’t kick out early .

Sometimes I think management are just asleep .
    I watch pre match warmups as it is something I’m interested in . Tonight the lathargic nature of their warmup was very worrying and it came home to roost .
    Poor match by 2 equally poor performing teams .
    Roscommon just had a It more hunger .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

franglan wrote: »
    Roasted by Creggers who is well over 30 at this point.

Cregg is probably the best out and out athlete on the Roscommon team. Higgins was never going to be able to deal with him running at full tilt.

Not going to play the poor mouth, Mayo were easily the second best team in Ireland coming into today but the brutal schedule that's incoming with I think six matches in seven weeks or so if Mayo make the Super 8s will likely cook them. There's a lot of mileage in key positions and that's the exact opposite of what that team needs. The best team to never win the AI.

Syferus wrote: »
    Cregg is probably the best out and out athlete on the Roscommon team. Higgins was never going to be able to deal with him running at full tilt.

Not going to play the poor mouth, Mayo were easily the second best team in Ireland coming into today but the brutal schedule that's incoming with I think six matches in seven weeks or so if Mayo make the Super 8s will likely cook them. There's a lot of mileage in key positions and that's the exact opposite of what that team needs. The best team to never win the AI.

Yep, 5 weekends in a row starting 22nd June should they make the Super 8s. Indeed a punishing schedule for those veteran players. JH & co have big 4 weeks management wise ahead.

There own fault, there inability to score from more then 30 metres is shocking. It hasn't improved in the past 5 years. No score at all from Diarmuid OÇonnor or Mcloughlin, Doherty with 1 free, Diskins only contribution was conceding a free for Roscommon.

A team just has to defend that line and let mayo play with the ball outside that line and then hit them on the break when they mess up the pass. Not once did the Roscommon goalie come close to having to make a save.

Except from Coen, maybe Boland, too many of the forwards as per usual were not up to it. I think Aiden O'shea on his own might of prevented us losing by double scores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

jr86 wrote: »

Still think the forwards look bare without COC, but given what's available its probably the best selection Mayo have. Regan has had an up and down Mayo career to date but he's bringing in some good form, and he's probably the best free-taker without COC.

As I feared unfortunately. Going behind early was always going to be an uphill struggle. If we're honest there is not one match winner in that forward line that started today.

Still think mayo can sneak into super 8s but without any top forwards it'll be one hell of an uphill battle from there

Fair play to Ros. Last 8 the last two seasons were bizarrely written off to high heavens

As I feared unfortunately. Going behind early was always going to be an uphill struggle. If we're honest there is not one match winner in that forward line that started today.

Still think mayo can sneak into super 8s but without any top forwards it'll be one hell of an uphill battle from there

Fair play to Ros. Last 8 the last two seasons were bizarrely written off to high heavens

14 wides and thats with Roscommon playing with 14 men for the last 10 minutes, drastic changes needed in that forward line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Syferus wrote: »
    The best team to never win the AI.

Perhaps but with only one top class forward over the last few years (plus a great season from Moran that coincided with a mixed one from COC) I don't think we can have too many complaints either. Struggling to recall an All Ireland winning side that didn't have 4 plus top forwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Perhaps but with only one top class forward over the last few years (plus a great season from Moran that coincided with a mixed one from COC) I don't think we can have too many complaints either. Struggling to recall an All Ireland winning side that didn't have 4 plus top forwards

Eh, I think in just about any other era Mayo would have at least one AI. It’s very hard to keep a core group of lads together these days and between 2011 and now Mayo did that. It’s not really an amateur pursuit anymore. I remember the pissing rain and wind in 2011 at the Hyde when this Mayo team under Horan were essentially born. The year after losing to Longford, then struggling over London after extra time and we were defending Connacht champions. A brutally physical contest that could have went either way.

If this really is the effective curtain call for that core there is something fitting about it ending the way it started. Rain, wind, and a bounce of a ball.

The result rests squarely on Horan. His lack of faith in this evening's subs bench was clear when they weren't really used. Also why wasn't Harry moved off of Cox or taken off as he was getting an utter roasting.

Would it have been worth a punt throwing Regan back on just to take the free?

In fairness that Cox is a bull of a man that Kerry will regret letting go before this year is out, Even with Roscommon losing games in this years league, he has been consistently good. They amount of no hope ball during the league they lorried in at him that he won and scored from was impressive so I would not be to critical off his marker.

Roscommon looked like a team that have been eyeing this game from a long way out, identified the weakness in Mayo at the back, knew what they had to exploit that and came to Castlebar with a very precise game plan. Running at Higgins was one aspect, the other was to work at leaving Cox one on one inside with whoever was marking him and when they had that to hit him with any kind of ball knowing that he had the ability to win it and take a score. For me he was their go too man all day and Mayo management failed to see that and react to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

In fairness that Cox is a bull of a man that Kerry will regret letting go before this year is out, Even with Roscommon losing games in this years league, he has been consistently good. They amount of no hope ball during the league they lorried in at him that he won and scored from was impressive so I would not be to critical off his marker.

Roscommon looked like a team that have been eyeing this game from a long way out, identified the weakness in Mayo at the back, knew what they had to exploit that and came to Castlebar with a very precise game plan. Running at Higgins was one aspect, the other was to work at leaving Cox one on one inside with whoever was marking him and when they had that to hit him with any kind of ball knowing that he had the ability to win it and take a score. For me he was their go too man all day and Mayo management failed to see that and react to it.

Cox only scored 3 points from play at the end of the day so it was hardly a disaster. In fact all 3 were top class efforts from long range or on his weak foot. Harrison wasn't the reason we lost the game.

We dominated possession so the 2 goals conceded were a killer as well as our missed chances, frees especially. That's all the analysis needed really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Not to take anything away but Donaghy called the match, Cox's impact and also his shortcomings (in terms of playing for Kerry) before the match. He's very confident and has a pop whenever he can, not always the correct choice but when they come off, they do lift the team. While rating him, you could tell that he didn't think he was up to Kerry standard. Think he mentioned that it could cost a team in the latter stages of Championship in an intense game. Think he's right about that as was he right about the Rossie win.

Very poor display from Mayo. Could only watch the first half and that was enough. Concession of early goals and a failure to take our own, our downfall again. Vaughan incredibly important to the way Horan plays, a big loss yesterday.

Mayo management failed to see that and react to it.

A common theme with Horan

Must have been punch drunk last night drowning my sorrows.

Of course what I meant to say last night was how on earth did those 2 umpires give our lads a point when it was blatantly obvious the ball had gone wide.

The sideline official on the stand side had a perfect view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭muddle84

Must have been punch drunk last night drowning my sorrows.

Of course what I meant to say last night was how on earth did those 2 umpires give our lads a point when it was blatantly obvious the ball had gone wide.

The sideline official on the stand side had a perfect view.

That was a joke. It must have been 2 metres wide????

So we're in the hat tomorrow morning?

Are all the qualifier games played on the Saturday?

I'm supposed to be heading to Slane.:mad:

So we're in the hat tomorrow morning?

Are all the qualifier games played on the Saturday?

I'm supposed to be heading to Slane.:mad:
    I’ll be in Portugal !