The National No Excuses Campaign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,643 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Hal3000 wrote: »
    Yeah how about a campaign to stop letting people back out after pathetic sentences ?

That would require actual action by the state. They dont do actions they do PR.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

What about one to "remind" scrotes not to rob, beat, intimidate or vandalise.

Then when the solicitor stands up in court and says "even though x has 216 previous convictions he is sorry and is trying to get his life back on track" the judge can say...."you saw the video...15 years in the joy".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheDiceMan2020

Where's the diversity? Or are sexual offences strictly the preserve of white Irish urbanites?

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    Why does it have to be one of the other?

There has been enormous cultural change in how Ireland views sex in the last 30-40 years and how it’s talked about in the media is a huge part of that.

It only ever seems to be the one and never the other. Garda watching rapists who are released in case they immediately reoffend... video aint gonna do a damn thing about predators.
    This pr nonsense makes it seem like government is doing something when reality is the opposite.

pinkyeye wrote: »
    An unwanted sexual advance is not assault??

I thought the poster was referencing the part of my post where I spoke about the trouser prank in school, in fact the poster was referencing something else.

Of course, not every unwanted sexual advance is a crime. But all of those in the video could be, even if nobody's seriously going to prosecute any of them.

• Site Banned Posts: 51 ✭✭Brendan Delaney

The girl at the end should learn to drink responsibly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

Getting drunk isn’t a crime. Sexual assault is.

the guy at the end should be less rapey

Yeah but the girl should not drink herself into such a state that she is totally defenseless.

I thought the poster was referencing the part of my post where I spoke about the trouser prank in school, in fact the poster was referencing something else.

Of course, not every unwanted sexual advance is a crime. But all of those in the video could be, even if nobody's seriously going to prosecute any of them.

Lets focus on what we can prosecute. Show them in video. State what offence has been committed. Showing that video to judges would have more effect than predators. Predators pay more attention to actions like number of convictions... length of sentence... things like concurrent sentencing for multiple crimes.

Video means nothing without the real work... detection prosecution sentencing.

But this government doesnt do real.

Getting drunk isn’t a crime. Sexual assault is.

Agreed but don't get so wasted that you're defenceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

It's really not clear what he is, it's the overall context of the video that suggests he might be up to no good. He could be a good Samaritan for all we know as it's just a snippet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,946 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Yeah but the girl should not drink herself into such a state that she is totally defenseless.

That's the message that stood out about that incident?

Women shouldn’t have to be on guard to fight a rapist off.

But they do. We will always have rapists and scum. Don't make yourself vulnerable. Only in Clown World can that be a controversial statement.

Videos about being 'rapey' ... and when actual rapists are caught even serial rapists they are let out after joke sentences. Its the pathetic response of a weak state... may as well raise a white flag as far as protecting innocent people.

But they do. We will always have rapists and scum. Don't make yourself vulnerable. Only in Clown World can that be a controversial statement.

It is a controversial statement.

You never hear it said after a lad gets his head kicked in on a night out “he shouldn’t have got so drunk and left himself defenceles”

In that scenario you blame the guys who kicked his head in.

They shouldnt. But if this is the best the state can come up with in terms of protection... well they would more be more prudent to rely on their own vigilance.

You never hear it said after a lad gets his head kicked in on a night out “he shouldn’t have got so drunk and left himself defenceles”

No I say the same regardless of the sex of the victim. There are a lot of predators out there unfortunately.

If I am mugged walking home through a park at night all moral and legal blame attaches to the mugger.
    Would I advise / warn others to avoid that park... hell yes.

Advising someone to get a house alarm does not mean they are to blame if broken into.

No I say the same regardless of the sex of the victim. There are a lot of predators out there unfortunately.

Well I’ve never heard of what the victim was wearing or how drunk they were used to victim blame when it’s a man the crime was committed against.

So she got fall-down drunk - are you saying that’s never happened to you? Never gone out for “one or two” and ended up a bit twisted?

odyssey06 wrote: »
    If I am mugged walking home through a park at night all moral and legal blame attaches to the mugger.
    Would I advise / warn others to avoid that park... hell yes.

Women are not parks, or cars in dodgy areas, or unlocked houses or whatever other inanimate objects people would like to compare us to when this conversation comes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Well I’ve never heard of what the victim was wearing or how drunk they were used to victim blame when it’s a man the crime was committed against.

So she got fall-down drunk - are you saying that’s never happened to you? Never gone out for “one or two” and ended up a bit twisted?

Yes I have got stupidly drunk many times and I've resolved to never let it happen again. I am lucky nothing bad ever happened to me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

That video hit me hard anyway.
    I don't drink much,so alcohol is rarely a factor for me but yep.I have had similar situations over the years happen to me, to several of the scenarios outlined there.I work in a male dominated industry and you can pick the creeps out a mile away, even when they are sober.I can only imagine how much worse it could get for women who are drunk.I have to put the boundary up in social scenarios because honestly, many men don't.
    I don't know if it's an Irish problem, but what is an Irish problem is alcohol, and straight away a lot of people seem to feel that introduces a grey area into a lot of scenarios.Sure she/I had a few drinks, somehow that makes it all ok.
    Until we change our attitude to drink, i think we will struggle to change our attitude to many of the scenarios shown.

I have.

Its wrong either way.

I know of several instances a drunk or drugged guy was scammed beaten or killed. The usual response is 'He should have known', or he seemed 'dodgy'.

He was on drugs he was obviously a lowlife etc.

Its WRONG either way.

Obviously if someone is drunk you can't take what they say or do seriously they cannot agree to anything you can't persuade consent out of a drunk person you can only get compliance.

I'm pretty sure anyone here would sign up for anything while high.

I don't drink myself at all by the way never have.

Women are not parks, or cars in dodgy areas, or unlocked houses or whatever other inanimate objects people would like to compare us to when this conversation comes up.

Seriously? Women are not parks? Wtf?
    How is someone being mugged an inanimate object??? You are locked in on this victim blaming concept regardless of logic or reality.

Meanwhile back in the real world people need to be aware of the dangers that are out there and not put any faith in pr videos like this.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Seriously? Women are not parks? Wtf?
    How is someone being mugged an inanimate object??? You are locked in on this victim blaming concept regardless of logic or reality.

Meanwhile back in the real world people need to be aware of the dangers that are out there and not put any faith in pr videos like this.

“That girl shouldn’t have got so drunk” is absolutely, very clearly blaming the victim for the crime that (presumably) happened to her.

We are women we cannot escape this .. the dodgy areas follow us around.