Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boyracers at petrol stations

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I have chronic insomnia so I get a bit grouchy when my pathetic sleep is shattered by the same two lads revving the guts out of their car at night. Nobody wants to pee on their parade but being woken up is annoying. At times they drive way too fast for the road conditions (it's basically a boreen). Usually at night when there is less traffic but still...

This thread is getting great mileage
    I reckon a lot of the people bothered by it are just jealous

I have a really nice daily driver and a couple of classic cars. Why would I be jealous of a subaru impreza? It's not like nobody else could go out and whizzz up and down in one if they really wanted to?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

I have a really nice daily driver and a couple of classic cars. Why would I be jealous of a subaru impreza? It's not like nobody else could go out and whizzz up and down in one if they really wanted to?

Congratulations ;)
    Just a theory on the jealousy nothing specific or personal

Congratulations ;)
    Just a theory on the jealousy nothing specific or personal

I wasn't being smug..I know it's nothing personal but I'm not a jealous person and find it hard to see why people would be. Being a 'boy racer' doesn't seem like an unattainable dream, so why would anyone secretly be jealous? Maybe you're right, I dunno!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

I wasn't being smug..I know it's nothing personal but I'm not a jealous person and find it hard to see why people would be. Being a 'boy racer' doesn't seem like an unattainable dream, so why would anyone secretly be jealous? Maybe you're right, I dunno!

I don't know either. Takes all sorts to make the world go round I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

All lined up side by side, not buying anything in the place, but just beeping at random people going into shop. Why do they do this ? :confused:

I bet this is in the Midlands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Ohbethehokey

A boyracer passed me at about 150mph yesterday. I passed him about 5 mins later, car rammed into a ditch. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭liam7831

A boyracer passed me at about 150mph yesterday. I passed him about 5 mins later, car rammed into a ditch. :D

Didn't know a boy racer could afford a car that will do about 150mph

liam7831 wrote: »
    Didn't know a boy racer could afford a car that will do about 150mph

Well, you learn something new everyday, as they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I know a guy who would fit the profile, he was seeing a friend of mine. She was telling us about how he damaged a car in a 'drag race', when someone asked who he was racing 'oh he was just racing himself'....

By and large leave them off. Plenty worse things they could be doing. Young fellahs being enthusiastic about fast, loud, expensive things, and using it as a way to socialise and get some male bonding. It's hardly new.

Any fecking eejit can drive like a fecking eejit, not restricted to them at all.

Well, you learn something new everyday, as they say.

Not if its crap, as they say

Was it yourself? Just getting a closer look at the soccer pitch with the horizontal drivers seat? :pac:

Im guessing your in the United States of America as thats where they play soccer....
    They have soccer pitches in ireland too! Unrecline your sest and Grab a cushion for yourself if you can't see out the window

Where are the soccer pitches in Ireland, I think in your making a silly mistake confusing soccer and football.

Now stop derailing this thread and get back on topic.

Where are the soccer pitches in Ireland, I think in your making a silly mistake confusing soccer and football.

Now stop derailing this thread and get back on topic.
    Lame

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

So a bunch of folk who don't enthuse about as you say"boy racers " your opinion are a bunch of old folks on a bus moaning a ringing Duffy?
    To not "enthuse" is one thing, being "down with this sort of thing" is another. And yes in among the extremely understandable "WTF are these muppets doing doughnuts at 3 in the morning" opinions, we also have the "I don't understand this, therefore it must be wrong and I will condescend and whinge about it" opinions. I have found whinging almost always follows condescension. In place of wit and debate it is the easy route to take. Which is perfectly grand for what it is, but it's hardly surprising others will read that, push back and think quite logically "out of touch/humourless killjoys/were they ever young?". After that it's also hardly an unsurprising leap to Joe Duffy callers.

The age thing seems to be another thing boiling your spuds. I seem to recall - though my memory such as it is.. - that you're younger than me. Ok… Dunno what to do with that TBH.
    People are entitled to their opinion,
    No? Really? :eek: Well I never… You don't say. Must have missed that memo. Oh wait… nope... I didn't. That you go full fail on missing the irony of this statement and railing agin opposing opinion says much. Bless.
    Lame
    Oscar Wilde will hardly be troubled in his Parisian resting place with that retort. Is your pony limping, or are you aping an American loan word?
    I have a really nice daily driver and a couple of classic cars.
    Nice. *thumbsup* OK you have your classics and god knows how many dopey Jeremy Clarkson types might think of you as a flat cap wearing old fart addicted to breaking down. In winter. And how daft would they be? Very. That's the thing W, your "Boyracer" of today is much more likely to be the classic car nutter like yourself of tomorrow. Both of you breath exhaust fumes like it's ambrosia and blood sacrifice chickens to ward off the tinworm. :D You are both cut from the same cloth.
    Why would I be jealous of a subaru impreza?
    Again, cast your mind back W. I'm quite sure there were people flipping out about guys and gals whizzing about in MG T's and those treacherous Austin Healeys. Actually no quite about it, there were. Letters to the Times and such. And Oh My God, those RS Escorts and Alfa Spiders were the very devil in metal. See what I mean? The Scooby Impreza/Mitzi Evo/Civic Type R/etc are the Austin Healey of another generation. And rightfully so.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Soccer is an English word. It comes from association. Less donuts and more education is needed for the boyracers.

Wibbs wrote: »
    That's the thing W, your "Boyracer" of today is much more likely to be the classic car nutter like yourself of tomorrow. Both of you breath exhaust fumes like it's ambrosia and blood sacrifice chickens to ward off the tinworm. :D You are both cut from the same cloth.

Hmm, an interesting idea. If we end up with driverless cars, they will be, won't they..
    I do feel solidarity with them because I assume they like driving as much as I do. I suppose I just need my sleep at my age, what with all of the breakdowns at the roadside and so on...

You have a lovely turn of phrase. I might borrow the lame horse remark someday.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

My brother and his friends would have been considered "boy racers" when they were younger. Two of his buddies are mechanics now and one is a rally driver. I know a bit about cars because of them. And always have someone to sort out my car if anything needs done! Like only this morning my brother fixed a scratch for me. They never cause any trouble.

Only thing that does annoy me about boy racers is the sound of exhausts. Feckin hell. I'm from Killarney and had to endure boy racers that came around for the rally of the lakes every year. Non stop vroom vroom for 3 days.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,395 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I suppose he died.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

I saw a girl racer earlier in Topaz.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I suppose he died.

No, luckily he didn't, car was in sh!t though

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Bronco Bullfrog

One should address boy racers (with dodgy cars) with the following quip:-

Nice Car! When are you taking it back to the Circus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

One should address boy racers (with dodgy cars) with the following quip:-

Nice Car! When are you taking it back to the Circus?
    One should also wear a stab proof vest while doing so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Autecher wrote: »
    One should also wear a stab proof vest while doing so.

And a time machine for getting back out of this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

A 3 year old thread bumped with what reads like a 3 year old joke.

It’s a bittersweet symphony.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,138 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Thank fcuk these tools are history.

Along with the ‘yella boots in Spar,the NY shopping sprees, the builders with the van covered in coffee cups and invoices, the teachers buying into shopping centers,the lads with the two or three places in Bulgaria,the taxi man with the property in Portugal.........alll fcuking gone......

And no fcuking loss, band of tossers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,192 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Thank fcuk these tools are history.

Along with the ‘yella boots in Spar,the NY shopping sprees, the builders with the van covered in coffee cups and invoices, the teachers buying into shopping centers,the lads with the two or three places in Bulgaria,the taxi man with the property in Portugal.........alll fcuking gone......

And no fcuking loss, band of tossers.

The tiger has been back with a few years now. Also a fierce amount of Toyota Dynas have re-appeared after sitting in the shed for years

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

All lined up side by side, not buying anything in the place, but just beeping at random people going into shop. Why do they do this ? :confused:

Because as anyone who has worked in any kind of retail will tell you ...the general public are FREAKS!