"Non book readers" - Season 8 Episode 3 "The Long Night" - Spoilers post 2 forwa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Brilliant episode - must have cost a crazy amount of money to shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,937 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I don't get how people didn't enjoy the show because not enough main charcters died. (Apart from Theon, Beric, Edd, Lyanna Mormont, Melisandre and Jorah Mormont, but people seem to ignore that).

However, you don't know until the end if they survive or not.

Several times throughout the show I thought many of them were goners and it was thrilling.

I don't see how their survival makes the show weak.

I thought it was amazing TV. Calling it Marvel etc is ridiculous as this is the season where the sh1t gets sorted so there was bound to be a massive battle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

murpho999 wrote: »
    I don't get how people didn't enjoy the show because not enough main charcters died. (Apart from Theon, Beric, Edd, Lyanna Mormont, Melisandre and Jorah Mormont, but people seem to ignore that).

However, you don't know until the end if they survive or not.

Several times throughout the show I thought many of them were goners and it was thrilling.

I don't see how their survival makes the show weak.

I thought it was amazing TV. Calling it Marvel etc is ridiculous as this is the season where the sh1t gets sorted so there was bound to be a massive battle.

Does it not get tiring when you know characters are safe?

When every time characters are in danger they somehow get saved at the last second?

It removes all tension because nobody believes they are actually in danger. How many times this episode alone did Sam almost die? It's extremely cheap and it is something the show never resorted to when it was actually good.

Awful episode for too many reasons to go into.

I thought the WW were going to have a much bigger part to play after being built up for years.
    I thought the whole point was that the humans were wrong for taking the wall / knights watch for granted and for not believing in the WW.

I got the impression that the humans were been stupid worrying about a throne when an army of the dead exists.

Turns out the WW were just a thorn in the side for the humans to take care of so they can go straight back to their petty squabbles over a throne.

How Arya managed to just get past all those WW was a bit ridiculous.

Hopefully the final 3 episodes are better.

marvin80 wrote: »
    Brilliant episode - must have cost a crazy amount of money to shoot.

not really. just a load of blackout blinds :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Have to say, love this bit of music from the episode

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭ogsjw

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Everyone still giving out about a fight at night being too dark?
    Is no one able to adjust the picture on their tv's?

Literally 15 seconds and it's sorted...

You still trying to make people look stupid in threads but making yourself look stupid instead?

My monitor was at full brightness. No light source behind me. I still spent the entire episode looking at my own reflection... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,110 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Just finished. Don't really know what to say. Will need to watch it again as it was so relentless.

Dany has lost everything anyway.

Jon Snow offered sweet f**k all but lots of mindless running about.

What were Bran's Ravens doing? Will that have some relevance?

Kinda surprised that so many of them survived in the end.

It was always going to be Arya really! Is that the end of the entire army of the dead? What next then? Cersei marching North?

I'd have to say I think GOT has kinda lost its way. It's doing the usual network business of looking after the stars... I know this is no longer the work of GM so that probably explains why so many of them survived that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Mokuba wrote: »

When every time characters are in danger they somehow get saved at the last second?

It removes all tension because nobody believes they are actually in danger. How many times this episode alone did Sam almost die? It's extremely cheap and it is something the show never resorted to when it was actually good.

I generally dislike Sci-Fi and Marvel type stuff specifically for this reason. I was drawn in by GOT because it broke all those rules in the first few seasons. It's become just like all the other predictable good vs evil shows now though. Really disappointing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I have a good TV (not OLED though) with good black levels and I watched it at night and it was OK. Dark obviously, but I was well able to see everything....but I would imagine on some laptop screens, or run of the mill TV's, etc it could be problematic most definitely. They kinda screwed that up I think, probably shot and produced without due consideration for the average screen.

The episode itself? What can I say, entertaining as hell, visually just great...but also incredibly disappointing.

GOT can do much better than this, will reserve full judgement until the seasons actually over but it's fallen off a cliff edge quality wise since the end of S6. I've spoken on it a few times in other threads so no point rethreading old ground entirely but basically it's turned from an intelligent, dialogue driven fantasy drama into a flashy Lord of The Rings style affair since the start of S7.

I mean seriously - by the end of this episode, it's literally our merry catalogue of heroes as the last men/woman standing, the convenient last valiant line of defence of a vanquished army. That's great Hollywood sure, but it's most definitely not Game of Thrones. At least, it didn't use to be.

Doesn't mean it's still not enjoyable or entertaining, but it's just not really Game of Thrones anymore and S7 and S8 thus far feel like a bad but entertaining sequel to an original masterpiece (Even though I thought S5 was pretty medicore, the pacing and tone was in line with S1-6).

If Game of Thrones had been like this from the start it'd be a total non-discussion, but it wasn't, and it wasn't like this until very recently when they shot S7 out of a cannon at 100mph.

We'll see what's to come in the next 3 episodes I suppose. Still time for them to pull a little back and deploy some of that infamously unforgiving 'noone is safe' narrative that used to define the show, once upon a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I weighed in with a bit about the lighting earlier, but as regards the episode in general:

I've read so much here that I don't know if I've much new of any substance to add but anyways -

Most people seem to be resolutely defending one position or the other as regards to the episode's quality. It was either (A) the single greatest episode of Game of Thrones and anyone who says different is an idiot, or (B) a complete let-down and anyone who says different is an idiot. As per usual, the truth is somewhere in the middle. There's numerous things to praise about the episode, which I'll get into, and there's unfortunately a lot things that just didn't work, which I'll definitely get into....

First of all, you gotta give the episode props for its scale and ambition. It's a bit of a cliche to say that now, even less than a day than it was broadcast, but I can't deny that the episode pound for pound - disregarding everything else - delivered in terms of action; considerably delivered. It was a pretty full on sustained 80 minutes of propulsive visceral action - we haven't seen anything on that scale before on television, never mind just on Game of Thrones. I have criticisms about the lighting and the editing and other things, but I can appreciate outstanding craftsmanship and ambition when I see it. If I was to plonk someone, who'd never watched the show before, in front of their TV and made them sit through the episode I'm pretty confident they'd be amazed at the spectacle, probably stunned really that this is the state of the art in television production. I can't consider my prior lofty expectations on the action front to have been un-met.

I think the episode had great moments too - Arya delivering the knife in the guts, The Night King smiling away after emerging from the flames I thought the tracking shots were excellently done, Lyanna Mormont's heroic exit. The performances were brilliant and the parallel editing between different sub-stories was fairly masterful. Ah, there was a lot to like, there was really. If I was to just look at the positives I'd rank that amongst the very, very best episodes of GoT.

But, unfortunately, I have to be honest...

For all of the praise the episode rightly deserves, I must admit, that the one feeling I had - above all others - in the immediate aftermath of watching the show earlier today was of faint disappointment. The episode delivered a lot, loads, but, man, it could have been so much better.

A few things first - As much as it pissed me off I can overlook the poor lighting to a large extent. Obviously, it's a black mark against the enjoyment of the episode, but the show is ultimately about the narrative and the characters, so I'd forgive it that up to a point if I felt like the stuff that I'm not fully able to see on screen at all times is still worthwhile and plausible in theory.

Plus, the people giving out about the millitary tactics. Lads c'mon, I think you're watching the wrong show...

Game of Thrones is fantastic. I love it. It's the best thing on television, but this episode absolutely made it clear to me - and it's been there to see since roughly the end of season five - that fundamentally the show has lost the balls that made it the mighty beast it once was.

There should have been more death. That statement might seem laughable in the face of an eighty minute onslaught of practically nothing but people being hacked and slashed with extreme prejudice, but, fck me, a lot of the blood-letting was, in terms of story, remarkably safe and predictable.

Characters you knew weren't going to make it didn't make it and those you kinda hoped wouldn't die didn't die.

Just to be clear, I'm not a homicidal maniac, I'm not gripped by an insatiable blood-lust to see these characters butchered en-masse, I don't want the cast decimated. But in an episode such as this, at such an advanced stage of the whole saga - when the inescapable fact of death seemed inarguable - to have all of our big hitters walk away in the end, merely a bit pooped after a hard night's work facing insurmountable odds, felt cheap in the extreme and reeked of fan service.

To see a few meaningful on-screen demises would have underlined the gravity of stakes of the episode and set the tone for the remainder of the show. When the battle gets going there's a moment where Brienne looks like a goner. She was collapsing under the onslaught of white walkers and was roaring out; shit was well and truly getting out of hand. I was up off the couch - "BRIENNE NOOOOO!" - and yeah, in the moment, I was a relieved viewer when she was miraculously plucked from the jaws of death, but think about it: in that moment the pitiless death of a beloved character would have hit home hard. It would have sent the message that all bets were off; this was for real. The episode was by and large a chickening out of resolve on the part of the story writers. Or take the moment when Jon makes a snap decision not to try to save Sam - how the fck did Sam survive, seriously - because there's no time. If Sam had actually bought it then, that would have had such impact. But, it didn't happen. I wasn't rooting for the character to die, but it would have reinforced the gravity of the situation - it would have been brave; it would have been like the old show

GoT was a character driven story that would completely blind-side you and take your breath away: no-one was safe, the show had a vicious edge and didn't play by the established rules. That more than anything else - more than the scale, sets, blood and tits and ass - made it so great. But, as time has gone on, it has inevitably become safer and conscious of viewer expectation - and this episode was the poorer for that.

Finally, I feel an incredible sense of anti-climax having watched the threat of The Night King just go *poof* suddenly. I'm not going to lie, I've never been truly behind The White Walker sub-plot. The Night King was a one-dimensional villain. The multi-dimensional dick moves of the humans in the show were always far more interesting in comparison. But, the threat of The NK was pushed and pushed to the foreground of the story until almost everything else felt like an afterthought and now after all that endless foreplay... a quick knife in the guts? Even if it was a surprise and I'm glad it was Arya that sealed the deal, but didn't all of it feel a bit neat? Ah, well, turns out he wasn't unstoppable after all. Sorry about the eight season build up...

Maybe the remaining episodes will be mind-blowing, now that it's back to Cersi Vs. The World, but I sincerely hope they throw us some curve-balls from here on out - and try to remain true to what originally made the show what it once was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭policy75

Bran's character is totally for the birds

They kinda screwed that up I think, probably shot and produced without due consideration for the average screen.

These lads edit and colour grade in pitch black rooms on multi-thousand euro monitors, episode probably looked fantastic for them :pac: but they gave not a thought to the rest of the plebs...

I wonder if there's enough of a stink about it on social media if they'd re-grade the episode for digital distribution platforms...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

ogsjw wrote: »
    You still trying to make people look stupid in threads but making yourself look stupid instead?

My monitor was at full brightness. No light source behind me. I still spent the entire episode looking at my own reflection... :rolleyes:
    Should probably get a better monitor so, or watch it on a TV.
    My 6 year old TV didn't have much of an issue, changed the picture settings from true cinema to normal and off I went, able to see everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Surely somebody has already made a gif of Dani jumping over the army of the dead atop a giant shark

The NowTV version which I think is 720p was fine. But I've a new TV. The only dodgy bit was at the very start where that army of the dead were hidden in the dark. But that passed quick enough.

ogsjw wrote: »

No issues here on a 55" Panasonic.
    Hopefully not the last battle of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,409 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I take it everyone complaining about the brightness tried turning their lights out?

It worked a treat for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rezident

Epic episode. Very good overall, although Jon snow's dancing with the blue dragon was a bit silly. The action was very good, the slow-mo zombies indoors were a bit weird but changed the pace and added tension, I suppose.

Epic ending too, we knew lots of people would die, we just didn't think it'd be the Night King, GoT does it again, tremendous finish.

And thank goodness Theon is finally gone, I never welcomed him back.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Originally Posted by silvervixen84
    I'm thinking Arya will use her new spear to kill a white walker from a distance (perhaps at the edge of the battle), cut off its face with her Valyrian steel dagger, and use her Faceless Man tricks to get close enough to the Night King to stab him in the heart with the dagger.

I said this on the Speculation thread last week - I wasn't far off the mark!

Enjoyed the episode, great to have an epic battle to bring things to a head before the final fight for the Iron Throne. I agree with the darkness issue, was watching on my laptop and had to turn the brightness right up.

Sam shouldn't have been in the battle, he was constantly getting saved by everyone else and that's why poor Ed got skewered. I'm glad Jorah got his heroic ending though, he's one of my favourites.

Arya in the library reminded me of the scene in Jurassic Park where the kids are hiding from the Velociraptors :pac:

But you don't know they're safe until they actually survive and at any moment they could die so I don't see how the tension is removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

My thoughts at the beginning of the episode.

How am I meant to see anything?
    Well... at least it's realistic.
    Oh, the Dothraki all have flaming swords! That must be so that we can see what's going on in the battle. That's a clever way to... oh.

---

I think that The Door, Hard Home, and Blackwater were better episodes. These didn't feature many named characters dying. Hodor.... the walking joke. The Lord of Bones. Davos' son, whose name I cannot remember. These were the casualties in those episodes, and yet they were really hard hitting. The lack of punch in this episode wasn't due to Tyrion or Danerys not dying, it was a different thing altogether.

As for Night King biting the dust? The ending was fine, the problem was, it wasn't earned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I actually said it to my gf more then once half joking before there gonna do something ridiculous and have super ninja Arya kill the Night King or similar bull**** but Jesus i never taught they would actually go threw with it!!

To say i was so pissed off when it happened would be an understatement :pac:

Just cant defend the bull**** of her just managing to dodge every ****ing one of the white walkers a big group of wights and the Night king himself!!! without one of them coming across her before she got to him.

Even then you would kinda a little bit okay with it if she fails at the very last second as it looked like was going to be the case but no more bull****. Catching the dagger and stabbing him just pure cheese and a ****ing pathetic way to end the story of the Night King the guy whos army have being built up since the very start of the show as the biggest threat to everyone and to there survival. A ****ing huge dragon blasting flames all over him doesn't even make him move but no poxy Arya Stark and her blade bring him down....

I have defended any minor and potential plot holes in this show because i love it and it usually always pays you back for any little downfalls it produces but this ****e will leave a major shadow over the entire series for me anyway when its all said and done.

Three episodes left i just hope something can make up for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,066 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Jesus some people really do over analyse and look for any small detail to whine about. Excellent episode of quality television entertainment. Epic in scale for TV. Story carries on and moves forward toward its denouement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rezident

bilston wrote: »
    I take it everyone complaining about the brightness tried turning their lights out?

It worked a treat for me anyway.

Is that why they're crying about the lighting? Looked fine to me. They were probably on the iPad and phone, texting furiously and missed half the show. Has to be lights out for GoT.

So why didn't the flames do anything to him then?

How can it get tiring or remove tension when you don't know whilst you're watching if they're safe or not?

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Should probably get a better monitor so, or watch it on a TV.

My monitor is IPS, very colour accurate and perfectly fine for all other content. This episode was graded far too ****ing dark. There are umpteen people saying it. Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

This is it wrote: »
    The more I read here and think about it, the more I think it was a little disappointing, in particular the fact that almost all of the main characters survived. While I loved the Arya and NK scene, I'd love to know how Arya managed to get past everyone with such ease

Have you watched the full series? You remember Arya trained to become an assassin? You remember the scene in this episode where she was sneaking around a library full of wights without them noticing her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Am I missing something with Arya and the ending of the NK... I took it straight away that she had become one of the WW with the help of the many face god (Brown eyes, Green eyes, BLUE EYES) and stood alongside the NK and she was the one who turned its head near the very end before jumping on the NK as Arya?

Have I totally this wrong? :)