Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Non book readers" - Season 8 Episode 3 "The Long Night" - Spoilers post 2 forwa

• 27-04-2019 6:18am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Note anything after this post may contain spoilers for the episode; do not read or open this thread until you have watched the whole episode!!!

This is ONLY about the specific episode! No information from any other source but listed below are allowed to be posted but book related information is allowed as well as the lore from the DVDs. Anything relating to interviews or articles directly related to this episode can be posted with a spoiler tag.

The "Next Episode" and any speculation on what may come in the future episodes should be put in the appropriate stickied Season 8 speculation thread; any funny pictures from the episode should be posted in this thread until Wednesday rather than the funny picture thread.

Note - No spoiler tags required for the current episode in this thread.

Note Mod warning in post 942.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Oh boy oh boy dem dothraki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭pah

Off we go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Where is Ghost?!!!???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Hard to see what's happening in some parts it's so dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Had to turn up the brightness on my TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭pah

Thought it might be the TV here in work, very dark in places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

It's really poorly lit at some points. Like watching a cam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

This is very very very poor.
    Maybe 8’m tired and kranky

Way to go Lyanna!

He’s even sexier when he smiles!

That was......I don't even know. It wasn't what I was expecting. Was genuinely hard to follow in parts it was so dark. Didn't think it was great.

That episode DID NOT disappoint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,268 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Another filler episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Epic

Thought it was dark at the beginning and I did wonder was it my tv but the suspense - oh my good lord of light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

It was a bit Disney but the ending was epic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

One of, if not the greatest episode of TV I've ever watched...

Just.... Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

I thought it was great, the second half especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

That was pretty unbelievable for an episode of a TV show...

What a production. Could have been a bit brighter of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Best episode of the entire show

muddypaws wrote: »
    It was a bit Disney but the ending was epic

Very Disney alright. Some aim on Drogon to avoid setting Jon on fire.

J. Marston wrote: »
    Another filler episode.

This post sits on the Iron Throne.

Very Disney alright. Some aim on Drogon to avoid setting Jon on fire.

Maybe an element of 'he can't be set on fire'?

How the fùck do I go to sleep after that? I'm buzzing and have to be up at 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Well how is a man supposed to sleep after that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Well that was intense. Jorah goes down a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

I can understand why it was so dark, it's to put the viewer i the characters shoes. Definitely added to the suspense. My word, what an episode. Surely the best episode of TV ever? That battle was chaotic. And that ending. Still. it looks like only 100 fighters survived. Not good. At least both dragons did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

You can tell these things are shot on million dollar cameras and edited on thousand dollar monitors. They think we all have OLEDs to watch it on for all the darkness. No worse than other episodes though.

That aside. Just. Bloody. Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Fantastic though, how it was all to keep Arya alive, not Bran, brilliant misdirection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

There are no words

Lads I’m stressed. I can’t even process that. Who’s dead? Who’s alive? Arya? What? How?

I don’t think I breathed for the last ten minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Didn't think it was as good as other big battle episodes they've done. Also, so fecking dark!

I'm actually a bit underwhelmed, though I'll watch it again on Monday night to see how I feel after a rematch.

Is Rhaegal dead?

Lyanna Mormont, what a way to go out. Almost covered my eyes when she was being squeezed to death.

There is too much to process!

Thousands of theories, hundreds of play outs, millions of fans - no one predicted Arya was Azor Ahai.

Too hyped to sleep. I’m gonna watch it again!

J. Marston wrote: »
    Lyanna Mormont, what a way to go out. Almost covered my eyes when she was being squeezed to death.

There is too much to process!

Delighted she got got, was a great way to go though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

Maybe an element of 'he can't be set on fire'?

He burnt his hand in season 1 throwing the lamp at the wight attacking the Lord Commander. So he can be burnt. My guess would be because he isn't an inbred Targaryen.

The dagger that was to end brans life ended up saving him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Oh my god that was amazing

I was guessing after the lingering looks between Arya and Melisandre at the start, that it would be Arya to be the chosen one to take down the Night King, and their chat later confirmed that to me. But for a brief second at the end I was thinking that was all misdirection, and Arya getting killed would be the gut punch at the end. But no, the little ninja did it. Mind you, if she didn't then they were all fecked.

Absolutely shocked that both Brienne and Greyworm survived, thought both were goners after last week. Theon and Jorah went out honorably as heroes, after going through full redemption arcs.

Fantastic episode, though I must admit I'm a little surprised that the Night King is gone already, as he was a great villain and they built him up so much. 3 more long episodes to regroup and settle the Iron Throne. Alot of the main players are still alive but they seem to have hardly any of their army left, so not sure how they'll go up against Cersei. A few twists and turns yet no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭LastLagoon

Man that was a bit of an anti climactic end to the whole white walker/night king story.
    Also way too few main characters died , show runners have wussed out, this is Star Wars now, last scene is gonna be Arya , brienne and the hound et al always getting medals like the end of A new hope

The shots of the dragons above the clouds in the moonlight were amazing.

Any thoughts on how Arya got past all the generals? Just raw pace, agility and guile...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭nix

Ugh, ill have to watch that again, i hope i can see more of whats going on in a HD version..

So who did we lose?

Lyanna
    Eddison
    Jorah
    Melisandre
    Theon

That it?

Oh and every other no named character that wasnt in the crypt..

Srsly, theres no army left after that, although im sure if by magic there will be a 1000 or more to be the actual survival numbers..

Will be interesting to see how the rest plays out..

The logic would be to just send Arya in disguise to take out Cersei, bag herself a Queen to match her king kill :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

Big question is what was Bran doing during the battle. He warged into some ravens and flew away. Why? There has to be more to that.

I also would have liked to see characters like Jaime and Brienne fight and kill some of the white walkers with their dragonglass weapons.

nix wrote: »
    Ugh, ill have to watch that again, i hope i can see more of whats going on in a HD version..

So who did we lose?

Lyanna
    Eddison
    Jorah
    Melisandre
    Theon

That it?

Oh and every other no named character that wasnt in the crypt..

Srsly, theres no army left after that, although im sure if by magic there will be a 1000 or more to be the actual survival numbers..

Will be interesting to see how the rest plays out..

The logic would be to just send Arya in disguise to take out Cersei, bag herself a Queen to match her king kill :pac:

Beric too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭nix

shrewdness wrote: »
    Beric too.

How could i forget Beric! :eek:

Did Gilly die in the crypt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Any thoughts on how Arya got past all the generals? Just raw pace, agility and guile...?

No one knows