"Non book readers" - Season 8 Episode 3 "The Long Night" - Spoilers post 2 forwa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Necro wrote: »
    The darkness was clearly there because the battle took place:

A: at night

B: during winter

C: during an ice storm as it progresses.

Why do people not get this? If they made it bright and summery there would actually be more room for complaint tbh.
    I fail to see how this is hard to follow.

Watched it this morning, noticed in the first ten seconds that it was quite dark.
    Picture settings, change brightness from true cinema to normal, sorted. Can see fine now.

Regarding the scene of people around the fire and then not dying:
    Anyone ever think that might be D&D ****ing with everyone a bit, only to kill them in a later episode, the ol bait and switch as it were?
    They did it to a degree with Rickon in Season 6.

I thought it was great, disappointed I didn't see zombie Hodor, Summer or Rickon though. Next weeks looks interesting from the preview

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    He didn't though? Like, when the Night King raised the dead, it was only a few moments until Drogon and Dany saved him? Then he was running towards the Godswood rather than fighting, just stabbing and killing when he had to. Hell, he even shut a gate behind him to stop himself being overrun. Of all the things that could be seen as bad and poor, this isn't one of them.

I'll have to watch it again but I completely disagree. Dany and Drogon saving him is equally ridiculous. He was literally walking over the dead there were raised. He was completely surrounded. Anyway, not worth nitpicking over.

I kinda missed what Messilandre said to Arya? Something about different eye-colours then Arya walked off? What was that all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,323 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

The Ravens found the Night King and goaded him out into the field. He didn't show himself until then.

He not lame, the term is disabled. :pac:

Did they? How? Did they bird poop all over him?

I don't know, every episode we are waiting for some reveal from Bran but all he does is well nothing. He doesn't even offer any insights into the weakness of the NK.

NuMarvel wrote: »
    I thought that too, but Bran kept warging long after the Night King entered the fight. I think those ravens were going somewhere else.

Maybe we will see some Children of the Forest now that the NK is dead.
    Tbh I was expecting them to come into the fight at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

I kinda missed what Messilandre said to Arya? Something about different eye-colours then Arya walked off? What was that all about?

Melisandre way back in s3 met Arya and said that she saw a darkness in her, and "in that darkness, eyes staring back at me, brown eyes, blue eyes, green eyes... Eyes you'll shut forever".

She repeated that to her when she saw her again, the implication being that Arya would kill the Night King (blue eyes) and shut/kill those eyes forever (ie the blue eyes of the night king and all the other eyes of the dead). They were the darkness.

It made Arya remember and realise what she had to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,053 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

She had told her this when they last met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

markodaly wrote: »
    Could have killed off a few more characters, namely Sam.

Also, Bran. What is the point of him? He fecked off on a flight with his ravens for ages to do what exactly.
    Being a 3 eyed raven is pretty lame.
    Well, we don't know what he saw when he was away. Maybe next episode he will say "It's not over, we still have to do "X" to finish the Night King for good."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Re: the darkness.

They were fighting the NIGHT KING. Night is not known for its brightness. It was intentional, come on lads.

markodaly wrote: »
    Maybe we will see some Children of the Forest now that the NK is dead.
    Tbh I was expecting them to come into the fight at some stage.

Aren't they all dead?

The Night King's death and lack of more info is in keeping with how little back story the Children of the Forest provided. The symbol they kept leaving with dead body parts and carved into Dragonstone cave walls, had no real purpose in the show ultimately for all the fan theories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I guess the NK was a plot device to even the armies before the battle for the iron throne. Trident 3 or whatever. Dani is down a couple of dragons, her Unsullied and Dothrahki. On the flip side she's probably earned a few heroes who wouldn't have supported her cause otherwise.

I'd say the next episode is gonna focus on Kings Landing.

The episode was grand. The previous episode was much better. Maybe I'm too much of a killjoy for battle sequences where hordes of unnamed soldiers get brushed away easily but basically none of our heroes die unless they're in the process of saving another. I guess I'll wait for the books for the details.

There is a lot I still don't get. If Bran is the bait why put him behind everyone else? If the NK just wants bran dead why is he the only one he feels the need to personally kill. Is it a selfishness thing? The white walkers did nothing in the end? They're a sort of bodyguard for the main dude rather than lieutenants or generals as such. All the debate about whether there were 98 of them or 900 of them becomes sort of redundant.

I'd have preferred if the WW had fought. If at times WW being killed had caused some wights to fall and given characters some rest bite for meaningful moments or a chance to assess the battle and maybe give us an idea of what the hell was going on.

I'd be sickened if I'd spent 55 nights in Belfast filing practical sequences and some dick made them almost invisibly dark in post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

This is directed at a few people as they have commented on it......

The reason people are slightly disappointed most of the main characters lived is because they made it out like a lot of them wouldn’t so don’t be giving out that people had too many expectations when the writers gave us those expectations, and you can’t claim it was intentional to surprise us because again it’s a bad decision because a lot of people are disappointed instead of relieved.

There’s a level of dismissal in here because people who love it don’t want people like me who have issues with it ruining it for them but don’t blame my disappointment on me when it’s clear the writers set up something and didn’t pay it off. Whether they purposefully did it or mistakenly did it, they did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

I definitely won't be staying up to watch it any more, after the first 2 underwhelming episodes I really hoped for a great 3rd one. And it was just nonsense. Longest battle scene ever wow great too bad it made no sense how things played out.

And the darkness didn't have the effect intended. It didn't add to the danger and suspense it was just frustrating.

The Arya thing is just a joke. A total retcon, possibly spurred on by the current 'girl power' movement which I'm all for but find really disingenuous the way Hollywood and TV have latched onto it. All the new superhero or heist fils now are all women based now.

The most fearsome villain in the show killed by not just a woman, but the smallest character in the show, a young girl basically. Nonsense. The writers just did this for shock value. If Brienne wasn't going to die I'd have been fine with her being the one to kill him. Despite the training Arya received I just don't buy her as a dangerous assassin or warrior at all.

The writing this season has been atrocious. That's the problem with the show, they just don't have the writing talent that Martin has, or even close to it. They try, but it's nothing near his quality. Clunky dialogue, odd pacing, scenes cut before they're done, foreshadowing that leads to nothing, retconning.

It's like watching Lost at this point you feel like theyre just taking the wee out of viewers. I no longer care what's going to happen. I wish HBO luck with the reported 5 spinoffs, but rather than complain about how much it sucks I'll just cut my losses now and find another show. I felt like i HAD to watch before but not any more.

errlloyd wrote: »
    There is a lot I still don't get. If Bran is the bait why put him behind everyone else? If the NK just wants bran dead why is he the only one he feels the need to personally kill. Is it a selfishness thing? The white walkers did nothing in the end? They're a sort of bodyguard for the main dude rather than lieutenants or generals as such. All the debate about whether there were 98 of them or 900 of them becomes sort of redundant.

I'd have preferred if the WW had fought. If at times WW being killed had caused some wights to fall and given characters some rest bite for meaningful moments or a chance to assess the battle and maybe give us an idea of what the hell was going on.

I'd be sickened if I'd spent 55 nights in Belfast filing practical sequences and some dick made them almost invisibly dark in post!

It makes sense that the WW didn't fight as if they were bested in battle then any Wights they turned would have falled and their numbers diminished. It's annoying not to see them in action like at Hardhome, as that was badass and is what sets it apart from this battle. But it makes complete sense from the Night King's perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,416 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Aren't they all dead?

The Night King's death and lack of more info is in keeping with how little back story the Children of the Forest provided. The symbol they kept leaving with dead body parts and carved into Dragonstone cave walls, had no real purpose in the show ultimately for all the fan theories.

Well one of the theories was that the symbol is similar to the Targaryan sigil. If The Night King was originally a Targaryan before he was made into the Night King by the Children of the Forest, it'd explain why he could ride the dragon (aside from being the one to revive it and it being under his control), but also how he survived Drogon's fire in this episode.

We didn't get any confirmation about it, but it does fit that theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

dusty bin wrote: »
    he's not dead, just very badly burned with no eyebrows left

Actually he has no eyelids, having no eyebrows is probably the least of his problems :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Is there anything to be said for them subverting expectations by not killing of one or more of the major characters in this episode being a smart decision

Everyone expected some of the big names to be taken down here, because of what was set up in the last episode and because of the expectations GOT has set down the years

Would the deaths of Jaime, Brienne or anyone else you could "predict" or "expect" hold half as much weight as the surprise deaths that make us expect death at every corner of GOT like Ned Stark, Joffrey or all of the Red Wedding

Aren't they all dead?

I suppose this is the main issue with the NK story.

The Children of the Forest created him to try and help them battle against The First Men, but it backfired somewhat. Why did the NK need to go off and try and kill ALL life? It's more or less a Zombie plot wrapped in a fantasy story.

I would have thought that the children of the forest or Bran would have had more of a say in the final outcome but alas, nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭nix

The battle of blackwater was dark but at no point did i complain that i couldnt see what was going on at any point and it was the same with "The Watchers on the Wall". There is no reason that we "the viewer" should be that blinded watching an episode. Sure keep the start the way it was, the Dothraki charging into the darkness was actually done fairly well. But when the undead charged in, they should have made an effort so that we "the viewer" could see what the **** was going on..

And the magic of all of those named characters surviving could have been handled better by just having the battle less one sided, and actually showed the human army actually kicking some ass at times, making good tactical plays etc

Heck throw in Jamie/Brienne taking on a white walker or two, mix it up, the white walkers literally done nothing at all for the entire episode, except that one that nearly heard Arya.. Srsly, how is everybody not disappointed at that? They have been the big evil for 8 seasons and they literally did nothing but stand there :(

They could have easily made something just as nerve wrecking and alot more coherent, than what we got, and it probably would have cost a whole lot less in doing so :confused:

And dont just label me a negative nancy.. thats just lazy :P

I enjoyed a lot of parts in the episode, but again they were just overshadowed by the dumb parts..

They had two years to make this, and each episode this season has a budget of $15million. The blackwater episode cost $8million and is miles better.. Heck battle of the bastards was a lil over 10million..

HAHA WTF! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Beric Dondarrion

The most fearsome villain in the show killed by not just a woman, but the smallest character in the show, a young girl basically..
    Tyrion???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

nix wrote: »
    The battle of blackwater was dark but at no point did i complain that i couldnt see what was going on at any point and it was the same with "The Watchers on the Wall". There is no reason that we "the viewer" should be that blinded watching an episode. Sure keep the start the way it was, the Dothraki charging into the darkness was actually done fairly well. But when the undead charged in, they should have made an effort so that we "the viewer" could see what the **** was going on..

And the magic of all of those named characters surviving could have been handled better by just having the battle less one sided, and actually showed the human army actually kicking some ass at times, making good tactical plays etc

Heck throw in Jamie/Brienne taking on a white walker or two, mix it up, the white walkers literally done nothing at all for the entire episode, except that one that nearly heard Arya.. Srsly, how is everybody not disappointed at that? They have been the big evil for 8 seasons and they literally did nothing but stand there :(

They could have easily made something just as nerve wrecking and alot more coherent, than what we got, and it probably would have cost a whole lot less in doing so :confused:

And dont just label me a negative nancy.. thats just lazy :P

I enjoyed a lot of parts in the episode, but again they were just overshadowed by the dumb parts..

They had two years to make this, and each episode this season has a budget of $15million. The blackwater episode cost $8million and is miles better.. Heck battle of the bastards was a lil over 10million..

HAHA WTF! :pac:

Exactly, just because it's dark doesn't mean you should be squinting at the screen trying to make out who's who and what's happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

GSPfan wrote: »
    This is directed at a few people as they have commented on it......

The reason people are slightly disappointed most of the main characters lived is because they made it out like a lot of them wouldn’t so don’t be giving out that people had too many expectations when the writers gave us those expectations, and you can’t claim it was intentional to surprise us because again it’s a bad decision because a lot of people are disappointed instead of relieved.

There’s a level of dismissal in here because people who love it don’t want people like me who have issues with it ruining it for them but don’t blame my disappointment on me when it’s clear the writers set up something and didn’t pay it off. Whether they purposefully did it or mistakenly did it, they did it.

This is such a misinterpretation of what happened. The scenes were there because the characters, based on what they knew, were convinced they were going to die. The writers didn't give anyone expectations, they just created a perfectly logical scene which was 100% reasonable given the horror of what the characters thought would happen. This was good storytelling.

If the episode ended with them falling to their death and the next episode, they stood up unaffected, then you would be completely right to be aggrieved. That's bad writing and misleading.

This wasn't. The writers didn't set up for them to die. They set up a scene where the characters thought death was imminent and they reflected together. There is a HUGE difference.

If you saw the characters sitting there happy out pre-battle, you'd claim it was ridiculous that they were so calm.

leggo wrote: »
    Re: the darkness.

They were fighting the NIGHT KING. Night is not known for its brightness. It was intentional, come on lads.

you're confusing setting and cinematography

I definitely won't be staying up to watch it any more, after the first 2 underwhelming episodes I really hoped for a great 3rd one. And it was just nonsense. Longest battle scene ever wow great too bad it made no sense how things played out.

And the darkness didn't have the effect intended. It didn't add to the danger and suspense it was just frustrating.

The Arya thing is just a joke. A total retcon, possibly spurred on by the current 'girl power' movement which I'm all for but find really disingenuous the way Hollywood and TV have latched onto it. All the new superhero or heist fils now are all women based now.

The most fearsome villain in the show killed by not just a woman, but the smallest character in the show, a young girl basically. Nonsense. The writers just did this for shock value. If Brienne wasn't going to die I'd have been fine with her being the one to kill him. Despite the training Arya received I just don't buy her as a dangerous assassin or warrior at all.

The writing this season has been atrocious. That's the problem with the show, they just don't have the writing talent that Martin has, or even close to it. They try, but it's nothing near his quality. Clunky dialogue, odd pacing, scenes cut before they're done, foreshadowing that leads to nothing, retconning.

It's like watching Lost at this point you feel like theyre just taking the wee out of viewers. I no longer care what's going to happen. I wish HBO luck with the reported 5 spinoffs, but rather than complain about how much it sucks I'll just cut my losses now and find another show. I felt like i HAD to watch before but not any more.

Lol see you in the next thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭fash

If everyone died in that room, people would claim it was far too predictable and telegraphed.

If not everyone died in that room, people would claim that the scene was pointless and misleading.

You can't win with people who want to feel aggrieved.
    there are options in between "all" and "none".

Penn wrote: »
    Well one of the theories was that the symbol is similar to the Targaryan sigil. If The Night King was originally a Targaryan before he was made into the Night King by the Children of the Forest, it'd explain why he could ride the dragon (aside from being the one to revive it and it being under his control), but also how he survived Drogon's fire in this episode.

We didn't get any confirmation about it, but it does fit that theory.

This actually was confirmed by the director of an episode but I won't mention it as arguably a spolier and its best left up to the viewer's imagination imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,774 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

The poster was saying wight, not white walker.

Yes Arya appearing out of nowhere to kill the NK was very unsatisfying.

Perhaps having the NK standing in front of Bran surrounded by his bodyguards, lifting his sword to kill Bran then having his hand grabbed mid air by one of his allies.

Maybe the smile the NK had earlier shown is now replaced by a look of shock or even fear before he's impaled by his ally.

Arya then revealing her true identity to Bran as the army of the dead falls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

The Night King being a Targaryen due to the symbol and fire not burning him is actually very interesting. I hope that’s confirmed somehow.

I'm absolutely furious we didn't get to see Ned Stark rising from the crypt :pac:

It was a long shot but I was really hoping for it. It dawned upon me halfway through that it was very unlikely his body and head (last seen on a pike) was transported north in the middle of a war.

• Administrators Posts: 56,308 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

errlloyd wrote: »
    I guess the NK was a plot device to even the armies before the battle for the iron throne. Trident 3 or whatever. Dani is down a couple of dragons, her Unsullied and Dothrahki. On the flip side she's probably earned a few heroes who wouldn't have supported her cause otherwise.

I'd say the next episode is gonna focus on Kings Landing.

The episode was grand. The previous episode was much better. Maybe I'm too much of a killjoy for battle sequences where hordes of unnamed soldiers get brushed away easily but basically none of our heroes die unless they're in the process of saving another. I guess I'll wait for the books for the details.

Ha! Good luck with that!