"Non book readers" - Season 8 Episode 3 "The Long Night" - Spoilers post 2 forwa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Is Rhaegal dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Lyanna Mormont, what a way to go out. Almost covered my eyes when she was being squeezed to death.

There is too much to process!

Thousands of theories, hundreds of play outs, millions of fans - no one predicted Arya was Azor Ahai.

Too hyped to sleep. I’m gonna watch it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

J. Marston wrote: »
    Lyanna Mormont, what a way to go out. Almost covered my eyes when she was being squeezed to death.

There is too much to process!

Delighted she got got, was a great way to go though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭jebidiah

Maybe an element of 'he can't be set on fire'?

He burnt his hand in season 1 throwing the lamp at the wight attacking the Lord Commander. So he can be burnt. My guess would be because he isn't an inbred Targaryen.

The dagger that was to end brans life ended up saving him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Oh my god that was amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

I was guessing after the lingering looks between Arya and Melisandre at the start, that it would be Arya to be the chosen one to take down the Night King, and their chat later confirmed that to me. But for a brief second at the end I was thinking that was all misdirection, and Arya getting killed would be the gut punch at the end. But no, the little ninja did it. Mind you, if she didn't then they were all fecked.

Absolutely shocked that both Brienne and Greyworm survived, thought both were goners after last week. Theon and Jorah went out honorably as heroes, after going through full redemption arcs.

Fantastic episode, though I must admit I'm a little surprised that the Night King is gone already, as he was a great villain and they built him up so much. 3 more long episodes to regroup and settle the Iron Throne. Alot of the main players are still alive but they seem to have hardly any of their army left, so not sure how they'll go up against Cersei. A few twists and turns yet no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭LastLagoon

Man that was a bit of an anti climactic end to the whole white walker/night king story.
    Also way too few main characters died , show runners have wussed out, this is Star Wars now, last scene is gonna be Arya , brienne and the hound et al always getting medals like the end of A new hope

The shots of the dragons above the clouds in the moonlight were amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Any thoughts on how Arya got past all the generals? Just raw pace, agility and guile...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭nix

Ugh, ill have to watch that again, i hope i can see more of whats going on in a HD version..

So who did we lose?

Lyanna
    Eddison
    Jorah
    Melisandre
    Theon

That it?

Oh and every other no named character that wasnt in the crypt..

Srsly, theres no army left after that, although im sure if by magic there will be a 1000 or more to be the actual survival numbers..

Will be interesting to see how the rest plays out..

The logic would be to just send Arya in disguise to take out Cersei, bag herself a Queen to match her king kill :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

Big question is what was Bran doing during the battle. He warged into some ravens and flew away. Why? There has to be more to that.

I also would have liked to see characters like Jaime and Brienne fight and kill some of the white walkers with their dragonglass weapons.

nix wrote: »
    Ugh, ill have to watch that again, i hope i can see more of whats going on in a HD version..

So who did we lose?

Lyanna
    Eddison
    Jorah
    Melisandre
    Theon

That it?

Oh and every other no named character that wasnt in the crypt..

Srsly, theres no army left after that, although im sure if by magic there will be a 1000 or more to be the actual survival numbers..

Will be interesting to see how the rest plays out..

The logic would be to just send Arya in disguise to take out Cersei, bag herself a Queen to match her king kill :pac:

Beric too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭nix

shrewdness wrote: »
    Beric too.

How could i forget Beric! :eek:

Did Gilly die in the crypt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Any thoughts on how Arya got past all the generals? Just raw pace, agility and guile...?

No one knows

There was a woman being mauled in the crypt who I thought looked like Gilly alright, I was wondering if I was imagining things. Still not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Parkour :P Was a bit handy she arrived just in the nick of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

RickBlaine wrote: »
    Big question is what was Bran doing during the battle. He warged into some ravens and flew away. Why? There has to be more to that.

I also would have liked to see characters like Jaime and Brienne fight and kill some of the white walkers with their dragonglass weapons.

I think what he did was he baited the Night King to come to him, since he can see things past and present (I think) I reckon he did that knowing Arya would kill him. That's my theory. I probably missed something. But the moment the NK arrived, he came to.
    GB Gaming Logo 2023 [FINAL] FULL.png

youtube.com/@gb.gaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

No one knows

Think it was hinted that she was disguised as a white walker?

Although earlier we did see how much of an expert Sam Fisher she was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

I'm pretty sure I saw her in that group of survivors in the crypt. She was on the right hand side of the screen.

I think the girl who got mauled by the wright was a random extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

muddypaws wrote:
    It was a bit Disney but the ending was epic

Very Disney alright. Some aim on Drogon to avoid setting Jon on fire.

Ah would you ever feck off you miserable killjoys.

It is literally the best TV ever made.

So far... :pac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Plot armour really strong in this episode.

I just hope Ghost survived! Did he just start following Jorah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

shrewdness wrote: »
    Fantastic episode, though I must admit I'm a little surprised that the Night King is gone already, as he was a great villain and they built him up so much.

The Night Kings best quality was that he was an unknown; a lingering, silent and somewhat invisible threat and the enemy you can't see is always more terrifying than the one you can.

He was an excellent villain but I'm glad he's gone as narratively it would be tricky to keep him as interesting without the mystique and after him 'playing his hand'.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Plot armour really strong in this episode.

I just hope Ghost survived! Did he just start following Jorah?

Ghost survived, 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I thought it was ok. They needed to do a big battle and that can get a bit monotonous after a while. Beginning was good, middle a bit meh and it got very good again towards the end. When Mel talks to Arya I knew she had a role but I was too absorbed into everything that was going on towards in the last few moments I totally forgot about her. I knew someone was coming when one of the whitewalkers looked aside but Arya showing up there was a surprise. I thought that was done very well.

Also judging by the look Tyrion gave to Bran at the beginning I think he knows who Jon is.

I thought that was awful (maybe not all tv show awful but game of thrones awful)

Very disappointing the first half an hour pretty much unfollowable, I get what they were doing but tbh I reckon they over did it to save on money

After it was ok but it really set the whole watching experience off on the wrong foot.

Barring everyone else next to no one died.

And the intensive scenes barring the last were scripted so you knew exactly what was happening. (dani staring into a fire looking unhappy and O the knight knight survives wow)

Also 7 seasons of people being very clever to outwit one another and we got some really poor decision making my many.

The closer in fighting reminded me of a bad zombie movie.

I dont think anything tv wise has dissapointed me as much as that last episode

The shots of the dragons above the clouds in the moonlight were amazing.

the best thing of the episode