2019 World Snooker Championship (Mod Note Post One)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Pissartist wrote: »
    Hendry is the greatest champion, but the best player of all time is O'sullivan.
    Hendry himself has admitted the fact.

I've seen him being pestered before by some on the BBC on this subject. I'm sure privately he has a different opinion. I think some people forget just how good he was. At his best, he was untouchable. He was almost like a machine. Yes, sure his game later in his career was nowhere near the same. He could have played on but it must have been hugely frustrating for him knowing that he wasn't the same player. But at his best, and O'Sullivan at his best, I'd pick Hendry every single time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭spurshero

Think I don’t like about Ronnie is his attitude if he’s doing us all a favour by playing . Snooker has made him a lot of money and if he Forgets that imo. I knows he’s great to watch but he dosent make himself very likable at times and I think that’s why people either are a fan or not . There’s not much middle ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

I’ve only seen a bit of this Trump match, but he seems a bit out of sorts at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Trump hasn't been great and he's under huge pressure now. Un-Nooh has played some decent stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Trump leading on every stat that Eurosport showed yet he’s 6-3 down. I think he’ll come back and win it tomorrow though, he showed his ability to recover his form this time last year so I fancy him to do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,132 ✭✭✭Lavinia

I’ve only seen a bit of this Trump match, but he seems a bit out of sorts at the moment
    wouldn't be the first time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

sligeach wrote: »
    I've seen him being pestered before by some on the BBC on this subject. I'm sure privately he has a different opinion. I think some people forget just how good he was. At his best, he was untouchable. He was almost like a machine. Yes, sure his game later in his career was nowhere near the same. He could have played on but it must have been hugely frustrating for him knowing that he wasn't the same player. But at his best, and O'Sullivan at his best, I'd pick Hendry every single time.

If there's one thing that can be said about Stephen Hendry, it is that he is brutally honest! There's no way he would just say something to please a BBC presenter..

It's the really refreshing thing about him that he is so honest and doesn't hold back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

sligeach wrote: »
    But at his best, and O'Sullivan at his best, I'd pick Hendry every single time.

Pick them to do what though?

If it's for me to sit down and watch, it's o sullivan all day. At his best, means a 147 in 5 mins :)

In my opinion, obviously, o sullivan has done things hendry just couldn't do, and they are far more interesting to me than what hendry could do that Ronnie couldn't, that is keep his head together and dominate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭melon_collie

I'm not a Ronnie fan. I acknowledge that he's the most talented player to ever pick up a cue. No question about that. It's his behaviour off the table that annoys me. I'm disappointed that he's gone out of the tournament as this will result in s drop of TV viewer numbers. However there's a part of me that's glad he was taught a lesson. In the past has he shown a total disregard for lower ranked players. . . . . Referring to them as "numpties". He thinks he's above everyone.

Yes I agree with this. I find him extremely rude in every interview he does to be honest.

And the disregard for the lower ranked is frustrating for me, when he talks about how he lives his life it doesn't line up with how he treats others at times I feel. The refs, and other opponents at times. He talks the talk :)

But hitting balls around a snooker table, I've never seen better or enjoyed watching anyone as much so hate to see the best, imo and surely other's second best after hendry, go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Pissartist wrote: »
    Hendry is the greatest champion, but the best player of all time is O'sullivan.
    Hendry himself has admitted the fact.

Lots of people call others the greatest ever. Nicklaus thinks Woods is the greatest, whereas Woods thinks its Nicklaus.

Its a form of self modesty if you will.

Lots of people call others the greatest ever. Nicklaus thinks Woods is the greatest, whereas Woods thinks its Nicklaus.

Its a form of self modesty if you will.

Yeah sure Ronnie has said hendry and John Higgins lots of times.

it's the kind of thing there's no real answer as such. They achieved different things and have had amazing careers.

Its like Ronaldo v Messi argument etc :)

Hendry wins on the nice guy front for me though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,872 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Shambolic from Ronnie.

Great to see Cahill not break under pressure at the end. A not-arsed Ronnie didn't deserve to win that.

I think Ronnie had a very heavy cold/virus or something the real irony is that in his post match interview. He said that he felt great mentally but terrible physically.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Yeah sure Ronnie has said hendry and John Higgins lots of times.

it's the kind of thing there's no real answer as such. They achieved different things and have had amazing careers.

Its like Ronaldo v Messi argument etc :)

Hendry wins on the nice guy front for me though!

Hendry nice guy? Sure he dumped his wife of 20 plus years for a virtually identical younger model when his career was winding down.

Inviere wrote: »
    Ronnie has done things Hendry couldn't even dream of to be fair. The closest Hendry got to #1 at 43 years of age was a urinal just outside the commentary box. Ronnie has been elite far, far longer than Hendry was, and for me that makes the difference.

Hendry is an all time great, and there's merit in the discussion for sure. I think he's excellent as a commentator, was devastating in 90's, and raised the standard of the entire game. Ronnie has done all that too, for far longer though. He hasn't fizzled out, and barring this most recent showing, is still at the very top of the game almost 30 years after turning professional. Hendry did fizzle out after the 90's, whereas Ronnie has just kept going. The difference of two world titles is more than made up for considering the level of competition these days.

Steve Davis said after the game that he does not think O'Sullivan will reach Hendry's record of Seven worlds now. But he does think he is capable of winning tournaments in his 50's.
    It sounded like bit of a contradiction to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

I think Ronnie had a very heavy cold/virus or something the real irony is that in his post match interview. He said that he felt great mentally but terrible physically.
    David Gilbert is sick too, caught it from his 1 year old daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,132 ✭✭✭Lavinia

Steve Davis said after the game that he does not think O'Sullivan will reach Hendry's record of Seven worlds now. But he does think he is capable of winning tournaments in his 50's.
    It sounded like bit of a contradiction to me!
    worlds is the hardest tournament to win so maybe ronnie does not have it in himself anymore, does not mean he cannot win shorter format tournaments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

The WC just doesn't suit him anymore. Doesn't have the focus for the longer matches, and Dale made the point that Ronnie views it as a pressure cooker, as he carries the tournament on his back and there's nowhere to hide in Sheffield as the place is just snooker central for 3 weeks.
    He can definitely win every other tournament for probably another 10 years but I can't see him winning another WC. Six years of not getting the single table setup is a pretty big sample to draw on.

Hendry nice guy? Sure he dumped his wife of 20 plus years for a virtually identical younger model when his career was winding down.

I don't know the ins and outs of his relationships, I'll pick up Heat magazine tomorrow :) , just mean how he speaks to people in interviews I watch. He ain't rude to folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

And the long storied pro career of Jimmy White finally at an end with 4-10 loss to Ali Carter. Doubt it'll be the last we'll see of Jimmy though, probably head to q school now and can see the odd invite next season.

Jimmy has got his tour card renewed.

White speaks so endearingly it prompts a cliched question. If he had the chance would he do anything differently? “I would have prepared differently before big matches but I wouldn’t change my life. I’ve had a right crack. On my 50th birthday the Rolling Stones played at my party at Grosvenor House. That’s not bad for a kid from Tooting.”
    We swap contact details and I smile when I see his number ends in 147147. It seems just right for the maestro but I fear the end for White. Q school is a notoriously difficult route into the main tour as it is filled with hungry young players from around the world.
    On Saturday evening, as a beautiful day fades away, my phone pings. I see White’s name. He needs two tries to send me the glorious news as the first text suggests he has won a “tool” card. I imagine him chuckling as he rails against predictive text in his second message. Then, saying “I’m delighted”, the polite old charmer confirms he did not need a wildcard to avoid Q School. World Snooker, knowing how much they need his enduring popularity, have returned his full tour card. He will be back playing after the world championship.
    I think of Alex Higgins shouting “I’ve got nine lives, baby!” after their drunken car crash. His great friend has escaped the end again. Jimmy White, the Whirlwind from Tooting, will savour every last drop of life he has left in snooker.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2019/apr/23/jimmy-white-interview-alex-higgins-world-snooker-championships

That's great for Jimmy, but like Neal Foulds, I think there really should be clear and fair criteria for giving out tour cards. He's taking a spot on the tour from other players that have to earn it.

I agree Jimmy should earn it like every other player at least start playing well etc.

Otherwise is just a cynical marketing exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Yes agree with all that. Its good news for Jimmy and of course he remains a draw even if he's lower down the rankings, but it doesn't say much for hearn and his level playing field for all. Pretty much just makes up the rules to suit as he goes along.

Dont know if i can see Mark Allen winning this one. Just looks vulnerable of late and his opponent is no kind of mug. Already two down and could get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,417 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yes agree with all that. Its good news for Jimmy and of course he remains a draw even if he's lower down the rankings, but it doesn't say much for hearn and his level playing field for all. Pretty much just makes up the rules to suit as he goes along.

As long as it's only a couple of tour cards, what's the big deal. Adds a bit of interest and the young lads are climbing a very greasy pole as it is, given the huge numbers of young players coming out of Asia the competition can only get fiercer and a couple of tour cards taken off Jimmy or Ken won't make any difference.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

As long as it's only a couple of tour cards, what's the big deal. Adds a bit of interest and the young lads are climbing a very greasy pole as it is, given the huge numbers of young players coming out of Asia the competition can only get fiercer and a couple of tour cards taken off Jimmy or Ken won't make any difference.

Sure, it doesn't make any difference to me, but I'd say it makes a difference to the guy or guys who would have earned tour cards had jimmy (or anyone else) not been handed them. Not saying that it's a huge deal, but barry hearn is the one who always talks about earning and creating a level playing field and this just smacks of hypocrisy imho. But it's jimmy and jimmy is a lot more popular than some unknown amateur who would have got that place so nobody is going to make a fuss about it - apart from some nonentity on boards that is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

It really should be transparent, and within some clearly defined parameters.
    I'd have no problem if it was that getting to 4 world finals or winning X Triple crowns gets you a card until your 60th birthday or something, but it would have to equally apply to Dott or Murphy or Ebdon if they 'fit' the parameters.

As Irish sports fans we've also seen recently that it's inherently wrong to have a board/supremo who doesn't have to answer to anyone and can make up the rules as they go along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,095 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Mark Allen struggling here.

Another upset on the cards?

Bingham just lost a frame, by the "3 miss" rule, against Dott. Dott was 8-1 down, now 9-7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭blackcard

Is Bingham trying to throw this match?