Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Do you always piss into a pint glass on your days off? :P

Only when I am happy. :D Of to fill my pint with piss again! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

NCT prep'd for tomorrow. Oil was only topped up a tiny amount and I've probably covered 2000km since the last oil change so I was pleasantly surprised by that. Coolant needed about 100ml I'd say, but I haven't check that in a long long while so that's fair enough. Interior was cleaned for the first time in I don't know how long, it looks well for it. I'll wash it this evening or tomorrow so it looks well for the test. Honestly I am prepared for a fail, but I've done all I can do to prep so lets see what tomorrow evening brings! :fingerscrossed:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Finished!!! My back is ****ed! Was worth it! By far my favorite Lego set. Just a little bit of Technic stuff at start, which is great. Photos do not do it justice, it's so detailed and a lot bigger then I thought.

Haven't done the performance build of it. It's going tp wait, I need beer and food now. Misses back home too.

IMG-20190418-190537.jpg

IMG-20190418-190617.jpg

IMG-20190418-190552.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Failed NCT for dangerous tyres,.. got the sticker, so got a tow, changed the tyres, is it still considered dangerous? Still have a 12 days on old NCT cert. Was illegal to drive with the worn tyres, they're change so is it still illegal to drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Deco99 wrote: »
    Failed NCT for dangerous tyres,.. got the sticker, so got a tow, changed the tyres, is it still considered dangerous? Still have a 12 days on old NCT cert. Was illegal to drive with the worn tyres, they're change so is it still illegal to drive?

No.

Before it got dark I was working on my car and had to take one of the main engine mounts out. When I was putting it back together one bolt just spun so no grip and it is a bit rusty/flaky.

What are my options?

Get a bit cut out and fresh metal welded in with some sort of nut welded on to connect the engine mount bolt to?

Where would you even go to get something like that done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

NCT prep'd for tomorrow. Oil was only topped up a tiny amount and I've probably covered 2000km since the last oil change so I was pleasantly surprised by that. Coolant needed about 100ml I'd say, but I haven't check that in a long long while so that's fair enough. Interior was cleaned for the first time in I don't know how long, it looks well for it. I'll wash it this evening or tomorrow so it looks well for the test. Honestly I am prepared for a fail, but I've done all I can do to prep so lets see what tomorrow evening brings! :fingerscrossed:

Sounds like your keeping it another few years ;)

Before it got dark I was working on my car and had to take one of the main engine mounts out. When I was putting it back together one bolt just spun so no grip and it is a bit rusty/flaky.

What are my options?

Get a bit cut out and fresh metal welded in with some sort of nut welded on to connect the engine mount bolt to?

Where would you even go to get something like that done?

Whats it not threading into? Are you sure there wasnt a nut or a different hole.. nearly dark and late, can happen. Sounds like it would easier to go up to the next size bolt. Rethread the hole and drill though the mount. DIYable with a tap kit.

Interslice wrote: »
    Whats it not threading into? Are you sure there wasnt a nut or a different hole.. nearly dark and late, can happen. Sounds like it would easier to go up to the next size bolt. Rethread the hole and drill though the mount. DIYable with a tap kit.

The steel part above the wheel. It just threaded into the steel. You can't even access it with a nut unless you cut into the steel. I was thinking about a larger bolt alright. I may have to invest in a tap to rethread sounds like a better idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

That Lego car looks the business :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I see he finished the pint of p1ss too....:P

The steel part above the wheel. It just threaded into the steel. You can't even access it with a nut unless you cut into the steel. I was thinking about a larger bolt alright. I may have to invest in a tap to rethread sounds like a better idea.

Once there is enough space to get in a rethread it shouldnt be to bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It should be very very difficult to cross thread an engine mount bolt I would have thought. Check the length of all bolts.

No.

Thanks. One follow up, I have the retest date out until 18/05/19, my current cert is out the 29th April but mechanic can't fix til 30th. He said I have til the 18/05 and can show guards the retest date. That sound right?

Deco99 wrote: »
    Thanks. One follow up, I have the retest date out until 18/05/19, my current cert is out the 29th April but mechanic can't fix til 30th. He said I have til the 18/05 and can show guards the retest date. That sound right?

I thought it only failed on tyres? Is that not just a visual inspection?

Tyres were deemed dangerous so it was illegal to drive it until they were changed. Also had a major fail on rack and pinion worn. Mechanic will need time to order the parts so I'm wondering is my deadline the 18/05 retest timeline or the original NCT valid until date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Got 2 wheels refurbished was going to put a coat of polish on them before putting the tyres on. Or should I wait a few weeks and let the paint gas out a bit?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Let them gas out first. Get a dedicated wheel sealant rather than just polish. It will last longer and be a tougher coat.

She only feckin' passed! Your man points at the mileage on the pass sheet and says "Is that right?" (145,555miles), to which I reply yeah... he looks up and says "jaysus that's a clean one, fair play". Yahoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

She only feckin' passed! Your man points at the mileage on the pass sheet and says "Is that right?" (145,555miles), to which I reply yeah... he looks up and says "jaysus that's a clean one, fair play". Yahoo!

Congrats, I was waiting to see what the outcome would be. ;)

Will you still think about replacing it or will you drive it on for another year?

Congrats, I was waiting to see what the outcome would be. ;)

Will you still think about replacing it or will you drive it on for another year?

No this time I think it's done... tax is due at the end of the month, but I think I'll only tax for 3 months. Need to decide what I'm doing.

At least you have time to make an informed decision. You need a what to buy thread pronto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Anyone ever use this stuff. Looking to give the leather in my cars seats a going over as it’s starting to get on a bit age wise and I don’t want the leather to dry out and crack.

https://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductMobileDisplay?catalogId=15551&langId=-1&categoryId=212473&productId=758291&storeId=11101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

CIP4 wrote: »
    Anyone ever use this stuff. Looking to give the leather in my cars seats a going over as it’s starting to get on a bit age wise and I don’t want the leather to dry out and crack.

https://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductMobileDisplay?catalogId=15551&langId=-1&categoryId=212473&productId=758291&storeId=11101

I use the wipes for Leather furniture. Best one I've found has beeswax in it. Only a few quid for a pack.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It should be very very difficult to cross thread an engine mount bolt I would have thought. Check the length of all bolts.

I didn't cross thread it. The inside wheel arch was more rusty than you would think but then again it is a 21 year old car.

Forums are fantastic including this one! I had a small but annoying rattle on the driver's door on my car where the glass would rattle a bit on a rough surface...

I googled it earlier and it took me straight to a Lexus forum which included all the instructions to sort it out! Only took 15 minutes and now I'm back to silence...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

With all the good weather see a good few cars going around with sunroofs open. Always thought there is something quite cool about a car with a sunroof. Never had one on a car but would like to get one at some point to see what they are like. Not sure if it’s a case that it would be a novelty for a while and then never be used. You don’t seem to see them that much on newer cars the Mk7 golf seemed to have them for a while on the HL spec you would see the odd one going around.

I wish I had ohe too all my older cars back to 1998 had one up to my 01 Avensis but they are a expensive option new! My buddy has a new S5 with a Pano roof it's the dog's dangles!

Sunroof is a nice addition. Better if you need to get rid of the smell of farts fast than opening the window I find!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Not so nice when a bird **** drops onto you through the panoramic sunroof as happened to me yesterday!