Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

I don't think garaging a 6 cylinder BMW is the worst idea. How many lads sent E30 325i's off in the 2000s for scrap or even mk1 and mk2 escorts in the 80's and 90's?

It sounds like Alan's 6 cyl is likely soon to be for sale if you are tempted.
    How many lads today regret not stockpiling mk1 and mk2 escorts in the 80's and 90's :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Augeo wrote: »
    It sounds like Alan's 6 cyl is likely soon to be for sale if you are tempted.
    How many lads today regret not stockpiling mk1 and mk2 escorts in the 80's and 90's :)

I know I regret letting a clean and tidy 1987 e30 318is get away for €1500 in 2011. I already have an E36 tucked away, an upcoming wedding followed by an emigration puts paid to any more additions to my collection sadly! Storing one car is already proving difficult!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Having owned one for 60k miles - why?
    Nostalgia or appreciation? Genuine question as it can't be for the driving experience.

Both. They were one of my favourite cars as a slightly older child/early teen.
    Have a carina E in storage, a white one, I posted photos of it a while ago in the post a pic thread. I love it for many factors but you're right, the driving experience is not one of them :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I know I regret letting a clean and tidy 1987 e30 318is get away for €1500 in 2011. I already have an E36 tucked away, an upcoming wedding followed by an emigration puts paid to any more additions to my collection sadly! Storing one car is already proving difficult!

I sold an e36 318is for approx 33% of that around the same time for banger racing. We all make mistakes :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

ELM327 wrote: »
    Both. They were one of my favourite cars as a slightly older child/early teen.
    Have a carina E in storage, a white one, I posted photos of it a while ago in the post a pic thread. I love it for many factors but you're right, the driving experience is not one of them :D:D

I had 3 of them back in the day, 94 XLI, 96 1.8 GLI followed by a 97 D Turbo Executive which I wish that I never sold! It had some spec that time and really nice to drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Got driving an old 2.0 petrol car over the weekend. Haven't stopped looking them up on donedeal, I want one. Yellow full beams and all, thinking it'd be too short of time to shift some stuff on of mine to buy one. Thankfully, they're not as rare or pricey as a Ford RS200

Time for me to drift back to my hiatus. Smoke and mirrors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is it French?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,593 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I got a lift from the airport today with the boss of the company I work for... He owns a '14 Porsche 911 Turbo and he gave it the beans a few times as well to show me what it can do :D:D:D

It goes straight to the top of my list for "best car I've ever been a passenger in" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Interslice wrote: »
    Wheel bearing wouldnt be so bad would it? A diff bearing i could understand you throwing in the towel.

If you went to BMW with this problem, you certainly would be writing off the car, because BMW will tell you the diff is one part and the whole thing needs to be replaced.

Fortunately, you can buy a type 188k diff rebuild kit for them, which is a rather more palatable €450 although there is still 5-6 hours garage labour after that. You can rebuild everything bar the pinion, that part cannot be purchased new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Satan's Quasqai

666.jpg

Insurance is up on the Lexus soon and my premium is over 900 which is double that of last year...:( Tax is up too the same week so that's 2.5K for the pleasure of doing tiny miles.. Should I keep it and park it up or flog it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Truckermal wrote: »
    Insurance is up on the Lexus soon and my premium is over 900 which is double that of last year...:( Tax is up too the same week so that's 2.5K for the pleasure of doing tiny miles.. Should I keep it and park it up or flog it?

Try sertus/rsa through chill
    Or cornmarket if you know anyone who's a civil servant.

Try sertus/rsa through chill
    Or cornmarket if you know anyone who's a civil servant.

How does that last bit work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

colm_mcm wrote: »
    How does that last bit work?

If you've a family member a teacher, nurse, garda or civil servant then they will be a member of a Public Service trade union. Cornmarket are linked to the unions and provide insurance and financial products to members and their families. Car insurance tends to be extremely keenly priced, so much so I've had other brokers tell me they won't even bother quoting as they know they won't beat Cornmarket.

I may forget about a LS460 as they are really loading for engine size and age too, any average LS is 12 years old now so no point!

Might try and get my hands on a early LS and go down the classic route..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Truckermal wrote: »
    I may forget about a LS460 as they are really loading for engine size and age too, any average LS is 12 years old now so no point!

Might try and get my hands on a early LS and go down the classic route..

Good shout, the first of the ls400s turn 30 next month too ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

What would normally cause a drivers footwell to become wet - but yet rest of interior appears dry with no apparent entry route.

Car was left outside in all the heavy rain on Sunday/Monday - but footwell aside seems dry.

Heater matrix was suggested but I can't YET see any sign of the coolant level dropping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Has it got a sunroof?

No unfortunately. :(

What car is it?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What car is it?

It's a 1999 Corolla diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Could be a door seal or the windscreen.

I’d be checking the bulkhead to see if that’s wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Old diesel wrote: »
    It's a 1999 Corolla diesel

Nice!

Also, what colm said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

What are peoples thoughts on the Mazda 6? Specifically the platinum model.

Looking to upgrade from a 2011 Passat CC that has all the trimmings so I like the features & look of the car for the cost involved. If it doesn't come with NAV then I'd like it to be Android auto compatability and I'm not sure if that's possible with the 2016 model I'm looking at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭bennya

All Mazda 6 models with the MZD connect infotainment system but without satnav just need the nav SD card adding - all the hardware is already there. Not cheap from the dealer, but easy to source elsewhere.

Likewise, Android Auto/Apple Carplay is only standard from 2018 or so on, but can be retrofitted to MZD connect models by replacing the USB hub in the armrest and running some cables to the head unit. Some how to videos can be found on YouTube.

Just bought a 161 6 Platinum myself a few weeks ago, and am enjoying it so far. Only annoying thing is the clang when you close the doors, which I believe can be solved by applying Dynamat to the inside of the door skins.

D'Agger wrote: »
    What are peoples thoughts on the Mazda 6? Specifically the platinum model.

Looking to upgrade from a 2011 Passat CC that has all the trimmings so I like the features & look of the car for the cost involved. If it doesn't come with NAV then I'd like it to be Android auto compatability and I'm not sure if that's possible with the 2016 model I'm looking at.

To the best of my knowledge Mazda diesels still give issues.

Theres a guy on here - ROR who had some on the fleet - he's in the leasing business - and he had issues.

It wasnt just the cars giving issues which was a big problem in itself.

But also the fact that the backup from Mazda was/is poor - so a car could be off the road for weeks waiting for parts I think.

You will get some people saying their cars were fine etc - but I think the term ROR used in a post on here was "we call them the lucky few".

It's frustrating as they are a lovely looking car and when they work have a reputation for being a really nice drive.

I'd be looking at another VAG again unless you had a bad dieselgate fix experience that would put you off.

They have a car to meet most needs from Octavia VRS right up to Audis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Day off, beer in fridge, Grand Tour on TV. **** yeah...

IMG-20190418-133244.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Do you always piss into a pint glass on your days off? :P