MetzgerMeister wrote: » Do you always piss into a pint glass on your days off? :P
Deco99 wrote: » Failed NCT for dangerous tyres,.. got the sticker, so got a tow, changed the tyres, is it still considered dangerous? Still have a 12 days on old NCT cert. Was illegal to drive with the worn tyres, they're change so is it still illegal to drive?
Alanstrainor wrote: » NCT prep'd for tomorrow. Oil was only topped up a tiny amount and I've probably covered 2000km since the last oil change so I was pleasantly surprised by that. Coolant needed about 100ml I'd say, but I haven't check that in a long long while so that's fair enough. Interior was cleaned for the first time in I don't know how long, it looks well for it. I'll wash it this evening or tomorrow so it looks well for the test. Honestly I am prepared for a fail, but I've done all I can do to prep so lets see what tomorrow evening brings! :fingerscrossed:
wotzgoingon wrote: » Before it got dark I was working on my car and had to take one of the main engine mounts out. When I was putting it back together one bolt just spun so no grip and it is a bit rusty/flaky. What are my options? Get a bit cut out and fresh metal welded in with some sort of nut welded on to connect the engine mount bolt to? Where would you even go to get something like that done?
Interslice wrote: » Whats it not threading into? Are you sure there wasnt a nut or a different hole.. nearly dark and late, can happen. Sounds like it would easier to go up to the next size bolt. Rethread the hole and drill though the mount. DIYable with a tap kit.
wotzgoingon wrote: » The steel part above the wheel. It just threaded into the steel. You can't even access it with a nut unless you cut into the steel. I was thinking about a larger bolt alright. I may have to invest in a tap to rethread sounds like a better idea.
wotzgoingon wrote: » No.
Deco99 wrote: » Thanks. One follow up, I have the retest date out until 18/05/19, my current cert is out the 29th April but mechanic can't fix til 30th. He said I have til the 18/05 and can show guards the retest date. That sound right?
Alanstrainor wrote: » I thought it only failed on tyres? Is that not just a visual inspection?
Alanstrainor wrote: » She only feckin' passed! Your man points at the mileage on the pass sheet and says "Is that right?" (145,555miles), to which I reply yeah... he looks up and says "jaysus that's a clean one, fair play". Yahoo!
James Bond Junior wrote: » Congrats, I was waiting to see what the outcome would be. Will you still think about replacing it or will you drive it on for another year?
Alanstrainor wrote: » No this time I think it's done... tax is due at the end of the month, but I think I'll only tax for 3 months. Need to decide what I'm doing.
CIP4 wrote: » Anyone ever use this stuff. Looking to give the leather in my cars seats a going over as it’s starting to get on a bit age wise and I don’t want the leather to dry out and crack.https://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductMobileDisplay?catalogId=15551&langId=-1&categoryId=212473&productId=758291&storeId=11101
colm_mcm wrote: » It should be very very difficult to cross thread an engine mount bolt I would have thought. Check the length of all bolts.
CIP4 wrote: » With all the good weather see a good few cars going around with sunroofs open. Always thought there is something quite cool about a car with a sunroof. Never had one on a car but would like to get one at some point to see what they are like. Not sure if it’s a case that it would be a novelty for a while and then never be used. You don’t seem to see them that much on newer cars the Mk7 golf seemed to have them for a while on the HL spec you would see the odd one going around.