Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

As i posted already, i agree with dunphy who says you might as well burn the money rather than give every irish club 2m.

I dont think the appetitie is there for the national league in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

Dont forget a banner against the healy raes too.

Can they read ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

It's interesting that the mods have allowed pretty much open season in this thread, and are overlooking posts containing abuse and trolling.

Anyone seen Dots. His splutterings about the reality of the context of the situational realities were the funniest efforts yet. Thread needs laughs.

I mean you have the chairman of Sport Ireland openly saying before a dail committee that they underfund soccer. Would seem even amidst the Delaney story that it would be something to discuss; the “situational reality” as you put it. The context. But no, on here, it’s a “funny effort”.

Ive now added you to the ignore list as I don’t want to talk to you further so don’t bother replying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

You have been asked on numerous occasions,

What have the FAI ever done for the League of Ireland?
    Why were clubs that were struggling not helped?
    Why did the FAI give away TV rights for free?
    Why do the FAI charge treble the fees for yellow/red cards than the English Premier League?
    Why is the prize money so low and the fees to get into the league so high? Why is near 1/5 of the league games played in 1 Month?
    Why are clubs fined for Anti FAI banners?
    Why do the FAI withold Prizemoney from clubs?
    Why do the FAI organise friendlies (for English sides in Aviva) and then refuse Limerick playing a big friendly?
    Why did the FAI force Dundalk to play a cup final just over 24 hours after arriving back from St Petersberg (a game the FAI helped us to get to :rolleyes:)
    Why did the FAI make Finn Harps (semi pro team) play in Dublin 2 Mondays in a row (one a re-fixture) when both clubs said they prefer a differnet arrangement?

Il await your answers

In fairness a lot of that Delaney would consider below his pay grade to be bother too much about. That would be Fran Gavin's bag to do what he likes with. Its all about the grassroots with Delaney dont ye know:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

As i posted already, i agree with dunphy who says you might as well burn the money rather than give every irish club 2m.

Really going in to super troll mode now chancer:eek:

Nesta99 wrote: »
    Really going in to super troll mode now chancer:eek:

Oooo k. Is dunphy trolling also when he says that?

Or is everyone who doesnt agree with you a troll?

I know there’s a few on thread spats going on between a few posters and I kinda skim over those posts.

Would you mind giving me your take on what’s going on presently, how things got to this stage and how relations can be fixed?

Please don’t take take as a loaded question. I’d genuinely like to know :)

The problem with this thread is that it became a point scoring mess. Very little valuable discussion was had. Good discussions have people addressing each other’s points respectfully. Bad discussions have posters making attacks on each other and points are only dismissed or ignored rather than addressed.

Deise Vu wrote: »
    Ok, so you are saying delivering a map to the voters with instructions from MHR to vote for DHR indicates that MHR didn’t know of his brothers plans and didn’t help him?

Thanks for clearing that up. Let’s get back to Delaney now.

Well obviously he knew of his brothers plans...after he made those plans. I mean, it was kinda all over the news and his name appeared on the ballot paper. That's precisely why I referred to a fait accompli.

I appreciate that you're not alone in assuming the Healy Raes are bosom buddies. it's just...completely wrong. The next generation, Maura, Johnny, Jackie etc. would pull together much better alright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Did I say anything about giving clubs €2Millions.

How about using the Icelandic FA's approach on building a professional league from scratch basically?

You never answered any questions as per. Your mates used that one yesterday and are a national embarrasment now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,192 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I think this will be interesting

It will give us a view into how deep support the the FAI/Delaney does or actually does not go.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0411/1042043-league-asks-clubs-for-views-on-delaneys-future/
    RTE wrote:

Leinster Senior League asks clubs for views on FAI Board's future

The largest junior league in Ireland has asked its member clubs whether or not they think the FAI Board should resign.

In an email seen by the Irish Independent, the Leinster Senior League (LSL) asked its members across 23 divisions about the future of the FAI board.

Former CEO John Delaney and the FAI board are currently under scrutiny following their appearance before an Oireachtas committee to explain a €100,000 loan Delaney gave to the association before his sideways move to the role of FAI Executive Vice President.

Up until now the grassroots of Irish soccer has appeared to be united in its support of Delaney and the board.

However, the LSL are the first to break ranks and ask their clubs what they think.

ADVERTISEMENT

LSL Secretary Pat Kiernan sent an email stating: "The committee of the Leinster Senior League, the biggest adult league in the country, would like to seek the views of our members regarding their confidence in the board of the FAI following the events of the last few weeks, and with the contradictory statements issued, and the withdrawal of funding by Sport Ireland for grassroots projects.

"Do we believe the board should resign and allow the association to go in a new direction?"

Oooo k. Is dunphy trolling also when he says that?

Or is everyone who doesnt agree with you a troll?

Of course Dunphy's a troll and any football fan who takes what he says seriously needs their head examaned.

He went on a rant in 2016 about how good Dundalk were and the great football they played, 3 weeks later in interview he admitted to only seeing goals from their European Games

Cool. Im a troll. Dunphy is a troll. Any disagreements is trolling. Good man

Any chance of answering the questions on the FAI on the league or cant you answer them because when you read them, you know yourself the FAI are a joke

Il try again

What have the FAI ever done for the League of Ireland?
    Why were clubs that were struggling not helped?
    Why did the FAI give away TV rights for free?
    Why do the FAI charge treble the fees for yellow/red cards than the English Premier League?
    Why is the prize money so low and the fees to get into the league so high? Why is near 1/5 of the league games played in 1 Month?
    Why are clubs fined for Anti FAI banners?
    Why do the FAI withold Prizemoney from clubs?
    Why do the FAI organise friendlies (for English sides in Aviva) and then refuse Limerick playing a big friendly?
    Why did the FAI force Dundalk to play a cup final just over 24 hours after arriving back from St Petersberg (a game the FAI helped us to get to )
    Why did the FAI make Finn Harps (semi pro team) play in Dublin 2 Mondays in a row (one a re-fixture) when both clubs said they prefer a differnet arrangement?

Dots1982 wrote: »
    The problem with this thread is that it became a point scoring mess. Very little valuable discussion was had. Good discussions have people addressing each other’s points respectfully. Bad discussions have posters making attacks on each other and points are only dismissed or ignored rather than addressed.
    If you want to bury your head so far up your arse that you give politicians a completely free ride for how they’ve spent your money then that is completely your right. But don’t say you haven’t been told.

:D:D

And course that started Chancer repeating "head up arse, head up arse".

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I mean you have the chairman of Sport Ireland openly saying before a dail committee that they underfund soccer. Would seem even amidst the Delaney story that it would be something to discuss; the “situational reality” as you put it. The context. But no, on here, it’s a “funny effort”.

Ive now added you to the ignore list as I don’t want to talk to you further so don’t bother replying.

I trust you watched the Tonight Show last night, where Niall Quinn - a former representative on the Sporting Council - now known as Sport Ireland - stated that a lot of the reasons for the funding being so low is that the IRFU and GAA both came before the committees in charge of funding with presentations on how the money would be used.

The FAI on the other hand, simply put their hands out saying 'Give us the money'.

They make no effort to try to improve their national league. A post a page or two back detailed that the clubs in the LOI pay more money in than they would receive in prize money.

How on earth is that sustainable whilst also trying to run a professional club, sign players on contracts, develop their stadiums.

It has been said for years. Delaney and the board have failed Irish soccer on numerous fronts.
    They hide behind this idea they contribute to grassroots - when in fact that is exactly their remit.

5 of the sitting board members have been present for 13 years - in breach of basic corporate governance rules.

The honorary treasurer doesn't apparently even know how many bank accounts the FAI have.

Delaney himself in the past month and a half has:
    Attempted to block information on a financial discrepancy becoming public through an injunction.
    Then amazingly commission a report that advised he step down and into an Executive Vice President role, a new role created yet not advertised.
    Stonewalled members of the committee with phony bullsh1t about 'legal advice', instead of simply answering the question.

The issue here is not that we can't discuss the issue normally, it's that you and Chancer refuse to comment on these multiple issues and instead run around trolling the thread with nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

That's all very well and we're all - well, I presume most of us - are in favour of a reasoned debate. But I think you are, at best, being very disengenous

I don't really have a problem with people arguing for the other side in this case. For instance I can understand the legal argument for Delaney staying largely silent yesterday. I don't agree with it and I think he should have spoken, but I do understand that he may have been advised not to. While I think his silence about many issues spoke volumes, that, in and of itself, isn't enough to hang him with. And there's no doubt good work being done by good people in the FAI. So I'm not just anti FAI or Delaney just for the sake of it.

But reading through the thread in the last while I really don't think you've lived up to your own supposed high standard. You've resolutely backed the FAI to the hilt, even in the face of mounting evidence that they have, at the very least, serious questions to answer about transparency, corporate governance, accounting practices, etc, etc. And it's not just the posters of Boards.ie that have questions at this stage, it's state bodies, the Oireachtas and all of the media organisations in the land.

But the more these questions mount, the more entrenched you seem in your willingness to bend over backwards to defend the conduct of the FAI. Yesterday was farcical, the FAI representatives were evasive under questioning, amazingly selectively aware or un-aware of pertinent matters, full of delaying tactics, unable to correctly answer basic questions about the organisation - the honoury treasurer who didn't have a clue how many bank accounts the FAI had!

The charitable interpretation of this would be that the FAI is a badly run organisation. The uncharitable interpretation would be to suggest that the FAI are hiding something and are putting all their efforts into damage limitation and ducking and dodging. If they've done nothing wrong why then are they trying so hard to look guilty?

And yet your main takeaway from yesterday was nothing to do with this but praise for MHR for "telling it like it is."
    Honestly? How can I read that and presume that you speak in good faith? There was hours worth of talking points from yesterday and you selectively ignored them and cherry picked one tiny aspect of proceedings to talk about.

And that sums it up for me. You cherry pick facts to suit what you want to say and your responses and "arguments" have become more childish and divorced from reality as things have gone on. You say this is because you can't get the reasoned debate you actually want and so there's no alternative but just to not engage seriously with people here. In actual fact the truth is one of two things. You are either (a) too commited to your line of thinking in relation to the FAI that you can't allow yourself to question it, even in the face of increasing evidence to the contrary, so it's easier just not engage properly with the issues in anything but pithy responses. Or, (b) you're trollin' hard.

Arghus wrote: »
    That's all very well and we're all - well, I presume most of us - are in favour of a reasoned debate. But I think you are, at best, being very disengenous

I don't really have a problem with people arguing for the other side in this case. For instance I can understand the legal argument for Delaney staying largely silent yesterday. I don't agree with it and I think he should have spoken, but I do understand that he may have been advised not to. While I think his silence about many issues spoke volumes, that, in and of itself, isn't enough to hang him with. And there's no doubt good work being done by good people in the FAI. So I'm not just anti FAI or Delaney just for the sake of it.

But reading through the thread in the last while I really don't think you've lived up to your own supposed high standard. You've resolutely backed the FAI to the hilt, even in the face of mounting evidence that they have, at the very least, serious questions to answer about transparency, corporate governance, accounting practices, etc, etc. And it's not just the posters of Boards.ie that have questions at this stage, it's state bodies, the Oireachtas and all of the media organisations in the land.

But the more these questions mount, the more entrenched you seem in your willingness to bend over backwards to defend the conduct of the FAI. Yesterday was farcical, the FAI representatives were evasive under questioning, amazingly selectively aware or un-aware of pertinent matters, full of delaying tactics, unable to correctly answer basic questions about the organisation - the honoury treasurer who didn't have a clue how many bank accounts the FAI had!

The charitable interpretation of this would be that the FAI is a badly run organisation. The uncharitable interpretation would be to suggest that the FAI are hiding something and are putting all their efforts into damage limitation and ducking and dodging. If they've done nothing wrong why then are they trying so hard to look guilty?

And yet your main takeaway from yesterday was nothing to do with this but praise for MHR for "telling it like it is."
    Honestly? How can I read that and presume that you speak in good faith? There was hours worth of talking points from yesterday and you selectively ignored them and cherry picked one tiny aspect of proceedings to talk about.

And that sums it up for me. You cherry pick facts to suit what you want to say and your responses and "arguments" have become more childish and divorced from reality as things have gone on. You say this is because you can't get the reasoned debate you actually want and so there's no alternative but just to not engage seriously with people here. In actual fact the truth is one of two things. You are either (a) too commited to your line of thinking in relation to the FAI that you can't allow yourself to question it, even in the face of increasing evidence to the contrary, so it's easier just not engage properly with the issues in anything but pithy responses. Or, (b) you're trollin' hard.

I respect Niall Quinn as a man of good faith but it must be years since he was in the ISC.

Here is chairman of SI speaking to Ruth coppinger in committee last week about the funding they provide to the FAI. It flies completely in the face of Quinn’s sentiments.

Kieran Mulvey: after 2008; my first year, as the chairman of Sport Ireland..Irish Sports Council at the time. I had to meet with the heads of the three field sports and cut their budget in one year by 30% of all three. It has never been restored to 2008 levels. The FAI at that time were in receipt of approximately 4 plus million. It’s now at 2.565. So now, in a sense over the last 10 years, they’ve been at a steady state. The first year we got an increase in our budget was actually this year...the FAI would have a very strong argument, with us, that we are underfunding soccer in ireland at that level and I would have to agree with them. And they make good use, irrespective of the corporate issues that we’ve discussed today; the FAI make extraordinary use of the monies we give to them. And they put a lot of matching funding above and beyond; 3 or 4 times the funding we put into the programme. So I will have to say that in their defence as an organization.

Quoted the wrong post there, was a reply to Necro.

I respect Niall Quinn as a man of good faith but it must be years since he was in the ISC.

Here is chairman of SI speaking to Ruth coppinger in committee last week about the funding they provide to the FAI. It flies completely in the face of Quinn’s sentiments.

Kieran Mulvey: after 2008; my first year, as the chairman of Sport Ireland..Irish Sports Council at the time. I had to meet with the heads of the three field sports and cut their budget in one year by 30% of all three. It has never been restored to 2008 levels. The FAI at that time were in receipt of approximately 4 plus million. It’s now at 2.565. So now, in a sense over the last 10 years, they’ve been at a steady state. The first year we got an increase in our budget was actually this year...the FAI would have a very strong argument, with us, that we are underfunding soccer in ireland at that level and I would have to agree with them. And they make good use, irrespective of the corporate issues that we’ve discussed today; the FAI make extraordinary use of the monies we give to them. And they put a lot of matching funding above and beyond; 3 or 4 times the funding we put into the programme. So I will have to say that in their defence as an organization.

Yeh they charge LOI clubs more to enter the league than prize money for 16 out of 20 teams!

Give their leader JD a ridiculously high salary, pay his rent, pay for his court injunctions while letting league clubs like Monaghan etc go bust without a care in the world.

Great lads

Yeh they charge LOI clubs more to enter the league than prize money for 16 out of 20 teams!

Give their leader JD a ridiculously high salary, pay his rent, pay for his court injunctions while letting league clubs like Monaghan etc go bust without a care in the world.

Great lads

Yeah the FAI **** on the LOI. Not the point I’m arguing though.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I've seen the quote, you must have posted it about 10 times at this stage.

You're also ignoring this point and focusing on the underfunding:
    I had to meet with the heads of the three field sports and cut their budget in
    one year by 30% of all three. It has never been restored to 2008 levels.

Three field sports - not just one.

So the IRFU, the GAA, and the FAI all had their funding budgets cut - and none of the three have had it restored to 2008 levels.

So you could equally argue that either of the other sports - both of which are thriving in Ireland - are also underfunded.

Yet somehow they're more successful than ever, and the FAI are in crisis mode, and indeed have their funding completely cut off now due to financial breaches of Sporting Ireland's rules.

So how you can still sit there and say that the FAI board should stay as is - it completely baffles me tbh.

Necro wrote: »
    I've seen the quote, you must have posted it about 10 times at this stage.

You're also ignoring this point and focusing on the underfunding:

Three field sports - not just one.

So the IRFU, the GAA, and the FAI all had their funding budgets cut - and none of the three have had it restored to 2008 levels.

So you could equally argue that either of the other sports - both of which are thriving in Ireland - are also underfunded.

Yet somehow they're more successful than ever, and the FAI are in crisis mode, and indeed have their funding completely cut off now due to financial breaches of Sporting Ireland's rules.

So how you can still sit there and say that the FAI board should stay as is - it completely baffles me tbh.

You said the FAI were disorganized when it comes to applying for funding. The chairman of SI couldn’t put it in stronger terms that the opposite is true.

If you want to completely ignore that then fine but I’m just telling you what SI say about the funding they provide the FAI as you spoke like someone who didn’t know.

Yeah the FAI **** on the LOI. Not the point I’m arguing though.

Its not just the LOI they **** on. Its Irish football in general.

Imagine Delaney cut his wages by €100,000 Per Year last few years. That money could have went into employing 3 full time coaches per year to go around schools.

His €3,000 Rent also paid for could have went to another full time coach.

That could have been 4 counties with a full time coach going around schools etc...

Necro I have never said the board should remain as it is. If you want to put words in my mouth then what is the point of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Delaney said it himself yesterday that they were hours - hours! - away from going over the cliff, when he was supposedly informed about the issue. An organisation with a 50 million euro turnover needed a last minute dig out from an employee - whose rent they were already paying! - to keep the lights on. Is that not enough to make any reasonable person ask what the hell is actually going on there?

And everything about the whole business with this loan: how it wasn't properly recorded, who knew about it or didn't know about it, the FAI going to absurd lengths to keep it all private and their complete and utter lack of transparency why such a situation arose in the first place and what even the money was needed for? This stinks! There's too much there alone to not ask questions!

You said the FAI were disorganized when it comes to applying for funding. The chairman of SI couldn’t put it in stronger terms that the opposite is true.

If you want to completely ignore that then fine but I’m just telling you what SI say about the funding they provide the FAI as you spoke like someone who didn’t know.

That they make good use of their government provided funds you mean?

I should bloody well hope so :D

Necro I have never said the board should remain as it is. If you want to put words in my mouth then what is the point of this?

My point is I don't really understand your position on the clear and obvious issues that have been mentioned much more clearly and succinctly by posters other than me.

You claim the FAI is underfunded - ok, fair enough. I'd counter that with all three major organisations in field sports being in the same boat.

SI chairman says they make good use of the funding - that is to be expected.

It still doesn't clear up the major issues, primarily:

Why won't they answer questions on the 100k, and indeed take extraordinary measures to keep the public and committees in charge of asking these questions in the dark?

The non promotion of the LOI, including the overcharging/underpayment and indeed withholding of prize funds.

5 board members being in situ for 13 years - breaching basic corporate governance guidelines on turnover of board members.

The honorary treasure not knowing that the FAI have more than one bank account - or if he did, why lie about it directly to the oireachtas committee yesterday.

The list goes on and on.

I dont think anybody is disputing the loan was very unusual

We dont, and may never know, the reason for it.

As regards the LOI , personally i dont think its worth much imvestment.

If the FAI gave them more money, most of it would probabaly go on paying players more. Id have zero interest in seeing the LOI players on more money.

I know others disagree, thats their perogative. Seems the FAI agrees with me moreso. Although they have helped develop facilities of numerous clubs.

Im much more aligned to the FAI vision of improving resources, coaching and facilities at underage level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Nobody is talking about throwing money at LOI clubs other than Chancer and Dunphy. Not handicapping LOI teams would be a major start.

Necro wrote: »
    My point is I don't really understand your position on the clear and obvious issues that have been mentioned much more clearly and succinctly by posters other than me.

You claim the FAI is underfunded - ok, fair enough. I'd counter that with all three major organisations in field sports being in the same boat.

SI chairman says they make good use of the funding - that is to be expected.

It still doesn't clear up the major issues, primarily:

Why won't they answer questions on the 100k, and indeed take extraordinary measures to keep the public and committees in charge of asking these questions in the dark?

The non promotion of the LOI, including the overcharging/underpayment and indeed withholding of prize funds.

5 board members being in situ for 13 years - breaching basic corporate governance guidelines on turnover of board members.

The honorary treasure not knowing that the FAI have more than one bank account - or if he did, why lie about it directly to the oireachtas committee yesterday.

The list goes on and on.[/QUOTE

Yes those points are all valid. But Niall Quinn’s clearly wasn’t. That’s really all I’m saying right now.

My focus as I’ve been reasonably clear about is how do we make Irish football better. I’ve made suggestions how to do this on this thread and others.

The FAI need to do better.
    The government need to do better
    The Irish public need to do better.

If pristine financial governance gets us better results on the pitch I want the best financial governance in the world

If it doesn’t then I still want it but I wouldn’t be as fixated on it.