Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

irishgeo wrote: »
    he put the 5 million his own and his cronies on the board pockets.

Get your evidence to the investigation committee asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

As much as I dislike Ruth Coppinger and her party, she really did a good job today and represented the taxpayer's position quite well. That's what an elected representative of the people should do when placed in a position of such responsibility as she was today.

MHR, christ almighty. If were a Kerryman (or woman) I'd be feeling a little embarrassed today.
    He has undoubtedly placed himself on the wrong side of history today, of that I have no doubt. Absolutely shameless carry on, he is Celtic Tiger era politics personified.

I Actually I think the Delaney will be looked back on pretty positively in the future.

Consider this
    The Aviva stadium
    Hosting a major European final
    Hosting games at Euro 2020
    A major world name as manager in Tarppatoni
    Soccer clubs up and down the country with floodlit astro turf facilities
    LOI clubs making the group stages of the Europa League

All of the above was done while Delaney was in charge

That is a legacy and a decent one

Now I know within the next 10 seconds people will be on here saying that Delaney had nothing to do with anything of the above, that's the default response around here.

But that's obviously not true, he had a lot to do with all of it.

Now of course there are negatives, like Stan, LOI clubs in financial difficulty, the way he carries himself etc

But in years to come I think the time that he was CEO will be seen as one of progress.

Much and all as most here don't like the thought of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

100% agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

I Actually I think the Delaney will be looked back on pretty positively in the future.

Consider this
    The Aviva stadium

Now I know within the next 10 seconds people will be on here saying that Delaney had nothing to do with anything of the above, that's the default response around here.

Now of course there are negatives, like Stan, LOI clubs in financial difficulty, the way he carries himself etc

But in years to come I think the time that he was CEO will be seen as one of progress.

Ok with all that great stuff then why do the fai refuse an independent forensic audit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Consider this
    The Aviva stadium

That really is like something out of father Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Consider this
    1.The Aviva stadium
    2.Hosting a major European final
    2.Hosting games at Euro 2020
    3.A major world name as manager in Tarppatoni
    4.Soccer clubs up and down the country with floodlit astro turf facilities
    5.LOI clubs making the group stages of the Europa League

Now I know you are expecting this...but however...
    1. The Aviva is co owned and if I am not mistaken at the end of the day it will be the IFRU who actually own the whole thing.

2. Fair play to him for getting the games...however one should not forget the positive press that Irish fans got at the EUROs in Poland and France. Add to that the tourist destination Dublin, drink, safety and craic....UEFA had no risk.

3. Trap was more than well paid and one should not forget his wages were only affordable because of external support. Question is at the end of the day what that support actually cost elsewhere.

4. Facilites mostly paid by public money where JD played God...

5. Ask any LOI club who played in Europe what the FAI had to do with them being there......the FAI do nothing for clubs out of the godness of there hearts.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,318 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Consider this
    The Aviva stadium

Ok so about one of these can legitimately be seen as an achievement and that's the easiest one which is a major European final.

The Aviva is not his legacy, its moreso down to the IRFU who will be eventual owners whilst the FAI are lessees.

Hosting games at Euro 2020 could wind up being incredibly embarrassing if Ireland don't qualify. Also aren't like multiple nations hosting games in a cross Europe spectacle?

Trappatoni... major world name.... I guess that's fair BUT it was in the twilight of his career where he was shown to be a dinosaur who left a very poor state of affairs behind him.

Soccer clubs with facilities is basically the remit of the FAI, not an achievement. That is what they are supposed to do with the funding that Sporting Ireland provide.

He deserves absolutely NO credit for the LOI clubs success. That is done in spite of the FAI, not because of it.

So congrats John for getting your buddies to give you a match and hosting the Euros with a bunch of other countries.

What a great leader :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Aidric wrote: »

The same and only comittee member that accepted/showed up at the FAI/U21 gig last week, got tickets to world cup final from HD. Friends trying to help friends....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Consider this
    The Aviva stadium

I have heard sickening reports he shifted his bird during the national anthem and the players saw it so all of the above is invalid.

Arghus wrote: »
    I think in the case of MHR it really is the wise man that plays the fool.

I wouldn't underestimate his intelligence: he's as cute as they come; he managed to get his idiot brother elected to the Dail, he's a very capable political operator.

I'm not endorsing the guy - I do think he is a disgrace and symptomatic of the dysfunction of the Irish political system and more - but I wouldn't for one second doubt his brains.

He certainly didn't get his brother elected.

Away from the cameras, they don't like each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Do you really think Danny Healy-Rae would be a sitting TD today if he hadn't Michael for a brother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Dots1982 wrote: »
    I have heard sickening reports he shifted his bird during the national anthem and the players saw it so all of the above is invalid.

I heard that the former CEO for some reason gave a 100k but that him and two other board members didn't tell anyone else and didn't lodge it in the books or let auditors know.

I also heard that he stepped down from his CEO role but got a vp job that wasn't advertised.

If you honestly believe that his behaviour is acceptable then more fool you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Sounds like you're a bit jealous. Slacked off a bit on here this week and he moved onto someone else.

Did he?

It was a very weird and surreal time. He really thought his relationship was of public interest, a man playing out his Lester Burnham mid life meltdown across the media. It was both pathetic and hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,819 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

LOI clubs making the group stages of the Europa League.

What was the 'lot' he had to do with LOI clubs making the group stages of the EL?

Arghus wrote: »
    Do you really think Danny Healy-Rae would be a sitting TD today if he hadn't Michael for a brother?

Michael certainly did not know Danny's plans or want Danny running. Michael's profile helped Danny, but he did not "get Danny elected" in the sense of helping his campaign.

The joke in Kilgarvan is if you want to make sure Michael doesn't get a message, drop it into the bar.

Danny was a master stroke by Michael

Danny makes Michael look like Abraham Lincoln.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

People will rightly say that clubs reaching the group stages of a European competition had little to do with Delaney. It is quite possible though that he helped things with domestic fixtures to offer the best chance for the clubs at those times but tbh that would have had more to do with Fran Gavin.

The Aviva Stadium is also not the best eample of where something was achieved. The disasterous vantage scheme aside lets not forget than in about a decade or so the Aviva will have full ownership returned to the IRFU and the Republic of Ireland will return to renting a stadium from another organisation. So the FAI will have paid approximately 90million (when all is done and dusted down the line and possibly that figure will be higher due to the rejigging of the debt) to have a 25 year part lease and then return to the status quo of old and have to borrow a ground from another organisation. Even regional or smaller grounds the FAI will be renting facilities that they have little or nothing to do with eg Tallaght Stadium (SDCC owned), Turners Cross (MFA) Sligo Showgraounds (Sligo Rovers FC), ED Park (Galway FA). No ground development in this country above grassroots/Junior football has been FAI led.

Yes there is prestige in holding international competition, but, especially with the U17 Euros it wont be a first. There are also lists done up of less positive things that have happened under JD and indeed lists on what hasnt been done. I am quite willing to give credit where it is due but I cant agree that history will look favourably on FAI administrators of this era. We can all cherrypick 'achievements' or negatives to suit out angle but tbh I expect more to have been done and achieved. The vast majority of assistance to small clubs, floodlights etc. has been done via LSPs/Local Authorities and would have happened irrespective rather than because of John Delaney. There hasnt been significant growth in finances bar that that has occured in general in the European and International game. TV rights are now done centrally by UEFA now and even today international exposure of the League of Ireland was mentioned as a result of FIFA tv not a FAI deal struck with SKY, BT sports or whomever.

Im not disagreeing with your angle per sé just that as you argue for what JD has done there is plenty that he hasnt done. One thing for sure that he hasnt done is fostered trust in the FAI. There has been a PR mess one after another - 33rd WC team, unannounced 5mil from FIFA, Vantage scheme, questionable levels of salary, drunken videos, the last few weeks and so on. Companies would have gotten rid of their CEO for less if you are honest in your assessment of things. In my opinion these things outweigh what may be considered as achievements and thats without the anecdotal stuff on hopping in and out of court for gagging orders or the belief that or that dissent from the JD way could lead to repurcussions be that blocking grant applications or whatever. As I said above the general public has a negative opinion of the FAI and its is historical and JD has done nothing to allay that belief.

osarusan wrote: »
    What was the 'lot' he had to do with LOI clubs making the group stages of the EL?

At the time Delaney was FAI CEO LOI teams progressed further than they ever did previously in European club competitions, Irish soccer got a new stadium, hosted a major European final, and hosted games in Euro 2020.

In the years before Delaney was CEO the FAI Irish soccer could only dream of the above.

Read that back in 2039 or 2049.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

At the time Delaney was FAI CEO LOI teams progressed further than they ever did previously in European club competitions, Irish soccer got a new stadium, hosted a major European final, and hosted games in Euro 2020.

In the years before Delaney was CEO the FAI Irish soccer could only dream of the above.

Post hoc ergo propter hoc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

LOI teams did it in spite of him. Doesn't take much to see that and to suggest otherwise is ridiculous.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,318 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Again and this question needs to be answered if it's an achievement.

What exactly did Delaney do in regards to the LOI clubs qualifying for Europe?

Please be specific.

Was it... providing funding...? Nope.
    They actually withheld Dundalks prize money which has been documented repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,819 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

At the time Delaney was FAI CEO LOI teams progressed further than they ever did previously in European club competitions
    That doesn't answer the question though. The fact that it happened under his tenure doesn't necessarily mean he had 'a lot' to do with it.

So my question remains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

mugsymugsy wrote: »
    I heard that the former CEO for some reason gave a 100k but that him and two other board members didn't tell anyone else and didn't lodge it in the books or let auditors know.

I also heard that he stepped down from his CEO role but got a vp job that wasn't advertised.

Didn’t lodge it in the books ? What do you mean ? Unless they gave up reconciling their bank accounts there was a record of it , it wasn’t disclosed in a note to the accounts is what you mean I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

mugsymugsy wrote: »

Shocking stuff. Untold damage to irish football’s present and future will be his legacy from the lack of financial governance we have seen. If we don’t qualify for the Euros the players won’t be able to help but think if only .. if only there had been more financial governance when it came to loans from the ceo to meet short term cash flow issues then how things could have been different.

Cyrus wrote:
    Didn’t lodge it in the books ? What do you mean ? Unless they gave up reconciling their bank accounts there was a record of it , it wasn’t disclosed in a note to the accounts is what you mean I think.

Ah sure look, the honorary treasurer only thinks the FAI have one bank account, talk about an incompetent buffoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

For the sake of balance...self praise and all that :p

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_nhTMK9BemU

osarusan wrote: »
    That doesn't answer the question though. The fact that it happened under his tenure doesn't necessarily mean he had 'a lot' to do with it.

So my question remains.

If you bothered to read my opening post about this you would see that I am talking about legacy.

I don't know the answer, I could not give a f%%k about the answer, I'm saying that in years to come history will be better to Delaney than it is right now

Dots1982 wrote:
    Shocking stuff. Untold damage to irish football’s present and future will be his legacy from the lack of financial governance we have seen. If we don’t qualify for the Euros the players won’t be able to help but think if only .. if only there had been more financial governance when it came to loans from the ceo to meet short term cash flow issues then how things could have been different.

Well given under his governance the FAI breached Sporting Ireland regulations - which has led to suspension of all funding... then you could actually be correct, as facetious as you're attempting to be for whatever reason.